Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,205 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Czarcasm wrote: »
    What the feck is happening to Boards now! :confused:

Server problems, I'll warrant. I'm an IT god, so I know. Probably the Server-y equivalent of a dead badger in the airbox. They get everywhere this time of year, they're after the warmth y'know. That or the hamster is looking for his Benchmarking. :D

This is a trivial thing that doesn't so much annoy me as it does make me laugh.

Every time I hear references made on the news to "PAC", all I have in my head is:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

jimgoose wrote: »
    Server problems, I'll warrant. I'm an IT god, so I know. Probably the Server-y equivalent of a dead badger in the airbox. They get everywhere this time of year, they're after the warmth y'know. That or the hamster is looking for his Benchmarking. :D

I hope they kept the receipt for those hard drives they replaced a few weeks ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭Wotsername

"IT God"? Explain yourself Sir,
    Where were you when, I and millions of others prayed to you, Nay Beseeched, you to help us?
    I scoff at your attempts to blame your lack of knowledge of your science on the nearest and most obvious by-stander.
    IT God Indeed!:D

Wotsername wrote: »
    "IT God"? Explain yourself Sir,
    Where were you when, I and millions of others prayed to you, Nay Beeseched you to help us?
    I scoff at your attempts to blame your lack of knowledge of your science on the nearest and most obvious by-stander.
    IT God Indeed!:D

Silence! Blaming the guy/creature/superintelligent shade of the colour blue who doesn't speak English is the first hallmark of the IT deity. Y'see, if you were yourself an IT God you'd know that. But you're not. So you didn't. S'physics, innit? Or summink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,545 ✭✭✭murphyebass

People who are convinced that the outer lane of the M50 is actually a fast lane and come steaming angrily up behind anyone who dares to use it for overtaking, while not going at 200 mph.

if people in the outer lane actually used it as an overtaking lane as apposed to staying the same speed ad the car in the lane next to them all would be fine but unfortunately more often than not people insist on either staying the same speed just using it as another lane or incredibly slowly over taking! Don't get me started on some of the appalling driving i see day in day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

People that quote a post with 4/5 pictures only to add a one-line comment.

Silence! Blaming the guy/creature/superintelligent shade of the colour blue who doesn't speak English is the first hallmark of the IT deity. Y'see, if you were yourself an IT God you'd know that. But you're not. So you didn't. S'physics, innit? Or summink.

Did'ja forget to add "Oh ye of lesser Gods"? Did'ja?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Steve F

Newsreaders and weather presenters being referred to as "Stars" or "Legendary" No they are NOT!!! They read out loud from an Autocue and tell us the weather.Drives me potty!! Anyone else feel the same?

Did'ja forget to add "Oh ye of lesser Gods"? Did'ja?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Old wans with those tartan shopping trolley things to put all their 'messages ' in , take a look at them and you just know they'd buy and sell you in a half second if you ever crossed them , just because they're old doesn't mean they're not c***s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

The whole Garth Brooks phenomenon. I just don't get it, it's like people have lost the run of themselves. You gotta love the publicity photos, they must be 20 years old, I'd sue for false advertising, Garth Brooks, putting the c*nt into country:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Anyone that knows the Greenhills Road will understand this.

The Turn into Ballymount where Fashion City is.......People, don't indicate left if turning into the garage until you pass that Ballymount turn :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

The whole Garth Brooks phenomenon. I just don't get it, it's like people have lost the run of themselves. You gotta love the publicity photos, they must be 20 years old, I'd sue for false advertising, Garth Brooks, putting the c*nt into country:D

The whole camping outside ticket stores and getting up at the crack of dawn to stare at a screen to get tickets to any event or camping outside a games store to get a new release of a game annoys me. Have to wonder about the sanity of some people sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,952 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Being told what the defendant wore in court, who cares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

aujopimur wrote: »
    Being told what the defendant wore in court, who cares.

The only suit that should be talked about as regards a court case is a lawsuit.

I'll get my coat :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,915 ✭✭✭✭Eeden

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    As soon as you finish making the eggs, put a load of fairy liquid and hot water into the saucepan. Whenever you go to clean it, it won't be that bad.

People who make scrambled eggs in the microwave. It's just gross. It might be quicker but it does not taste the same.

I've heard that hot water is a bad idea, cold water is better (hot water cooks the eggs even more, making them stick to the saucepan...?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

KKkitty wrote: »
    The whole camping outside ticket stores and getting up at the crack of dawn to stare at a screen to get tickets to any event or camping outside a games store to get a new release of a game annoys me. Have to wonder about the sanity of some people sometimes.

I would probably do that 'camping and queuing' if Roger Waters, David Gilmour, Nick Mason, Andy Brown (Substitute for Richard Wright RIP) announced a Pink Floyd reunion for a series of gigs, most definitely.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

Eeden wrote: »
    I've heard that hot water is a bad idea, cold water is better (hot water cooks the eggs even more, making them stick to the saucepan...?)

Good rule of thumb that has stood well for me has been, If there is a fat content, ie. eggs, use hot water. If not, ie. porridge, then use cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

This is a trivial thing that doesn't so much annoy me as it does make me laugh.

Every time I hear references made on the news to "PAC", all I have in my head is:

All I keep thinking is...

:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭BillJ

Came across something really trivial and annoying last week and said to myself 'Oh, that would be great for the annoying trivial thread, i'll get all the thanks'

and now I can't remember it but it's on the tip of my tongue, now that's annoying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Yer wan on the cycling awareness ad, she is stopped and getting ready to turn right, kinda cocks her ass in the air and looks over her shoulder at car behind as if to say "whaddya think of that?"

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    Yer wan on the cycling awareness ad, she is stopped and getting ready to turn right, kinda cocks her ass in the air and looks over her shoulder at car behind as if to say "whaddya think of that?"

She always looked to me like someone on a day pass. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

She looks like she's going to torture your man. Real sinister looking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

I'm going to need a YouTube link before I can express the full extent of my trivial disapproval :p

Speaking of adverts though, and I was thinking about posting about it this morning, but decided not to. However, it's been bugging me all day -

"WASHLETS"!

They're like baby wipes for adults! The adverts just make me cringe. There's a whole Channel 4 "Andrex washlets challenge" campaign being run around it too, Dawn Porter asking "unsuspecting members of the public" -

"Do you dry wipe?"

Euch! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Czarcasm wrote: »
    I'm going to need a YouTube link before I can express the full extent of my trivial disapproval :p

Speaking of adverts though, and I was thinking about posting about it this morning, but decided not to. However, it's been bugging me all day -

"WASHLETS"!

They're like baby wipes for adults! The adverts just make me cringe. There's a whole Channel 4 "Andrex washlets challenge" campaign being run around it too, Dawn Porter asking "unsuspecting members of the public" -

"Do you dry wipe?"

Fuucken dee scustin!!

Looking at the ways ads have gone , especially anything to do with hygiene, its only a matter of time before we actually see someone wiping their ass and comparing product A to product B, and showing the results:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,217 ✭✭✭maximoose

So close, so very close, but they just had to add an apostrophe.

• Site Banned Posts: 63 ✭✭Carrie Madshaw

I used to have a sh*tty Amstrad computer with lame games such as Olympic ski jumping and trivial pursuit. I wanted to knock the B*llocks off the little man in trivial pursuit who starts pacing the room and tapping his foot if you take too long to answer a question.
    Anyone who's played online trivial pursuit (is a nerd) will know who I mean!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

Apologies if this has been done to death before, but bad grammar, in particular misuse of the words "seen" and "done"

No, you did not "seen" something. The proper word is "saw" or "have seen".