People going to the cinema on there own?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

I dont talk to the missus during the movie but its nice to know you are there with someone.
    Why? It's not even remotely a social setting.
    After it we talk about it, we discuss what we liked and what we didnt like. If you go by yourself who do you share the expierence with.
    What's this nonsense about sharing an experience? I'm there to experience a film, not worry about whether or not the person next to me likes it. Also it's better afterwards because I can properly process what I watched, forming my own opinion and not be influenced by what the person I begrudgingly dragged along thought.
    I think if you want to see a movie but you cant find anyone to go with it, like anyone! Then you should just wait until it comes out on dvd & blu ray
    What a ridiculous point. "Oh you want to experience the film on a huge screen with surround sound? Well you've just have to wait for the DVD to come along, just because." Is the image of somebody taking their own initiative to go out and independently watch a film that disturbing to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭Its All Wright

bluewolf wrote: »
    If you're at that sh!te during a movie you'll be kicked out

I have said that i dont talk during the movie but its nice to be able to discuss the movie with someone after, maybe over a coffee. Its called socialising

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

As people we are becoming more and more deprived of human contact. Everything now is txting, instant messaging & facebooking. What has happened to talking to people face to face, engaging in conversation and sharing expierences together. If we cant even tolerate going the cinema with someone now then its a bad path that society is going dowm

People have been going to movies on their own since cinema began. It's got nothing to do with modern society and the prevalence of social media. Your point is ridiculous. You are making assumptions about people without knowing anything whatsoever about their lives. Lots of them probably have twice as many friends and a much better social life than you. They just have the confidence to occasionally do something on their own, and are capable of enjoying their own company from time to time.

e_e wrote: »
    Why? It's not even remotely a social setting.

What's this nonsense about sharing an experience? I'm there to experience a film, not worry about whether or not the person next to me likes it. Also it's better afterwards because I can properly process what I watched, forming my own opinion and not be influenced by what the person I begrudgingly dragged along thought.

What a ridiculous point. "Oh you want to experience the film on a huge screen with surround sound? Well you've just have to wait for the DVD to come along, just because." Is the image of somebody taking their own initiative to go out and independently watch a film that disturbing to you?

So are you saying that everyone should go the cinema on there own and not discuss with anyone else because your opinion is the only one that matters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭AidanadiA

So are you saying that everyone should go the cinema on there own and not discuss with anyone else because your opinion is the only one that matters?

How could you take that from what was said?

Yep, the people with the stigma are clearly showing their own insecurities and lack of confidence.

Hell of a straw man there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

bluewolf wrote: »
    If you're at that sh!te during a movie you'll be kicked out

Wrong, Irish people are too polite for that. They'll just silently fume about it and then give out sh!te about it afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

I work away from home sometimes and would spend overnights in Belfast or in England. I've often gone to the cinema on my own to punch in an evening.
    Don't see what's weird about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭whereto now

Love going to the cinema on my own, I'm a grown up I have no problem going places on my own, if people think its weird thats their problem not mine,................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,574 ✭✭✭ZiabR

Temaz wrote: »
    I do it from time to time and never felt self conscious about it. I'm there to see a movie, not to socialize.

Agreed, don't see an issue with it.

Thing is that film is my main interest and I wouldn't even get to see a portion of what I wanted if I had to rely on others to tag along, especially the more independent and non-conventional films.

Why should I wait months to see something just because of some bull**** stigma that I don't believe in for a second? I'd argue that you're not all that into film if you don't take more of an initiative to watch certain films regardless of the tastes of your friends and family.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 36 Liger vs Tigon

Interestingly enough, I don't recall ever seeing or knowing of a woman going to the cinema by themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Who goes to the cinema on there own? Own up! I went to the cinema last night to see The Wolf Of Wall Street which was fantastic by the way. I went my with the missus but i seen 2 or 3 men there on their own, nobody sitting beside them, a complete empty seat. Perhaps all 3 of them got stood up and they taught sure look im here now il wander in, but i found it very odd that someone would go to a movie by themselves. I spent a lot of the movie feeling sorry for them, the only company they had was a popcorn bucket & a large coke. One had just a packet of Minstrels

what they could do is seat all the people who are on there own together, make an announcement before the movie starts that if your own can sit in row 6 & we'll find you some company or have a cornered of section for them

Do you find it odd or am i odd to find it odd?

You're odd to find it odd or to even care. Strange for a grown man to care so much tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Puzzle35

As people we are becoming more and more deprived of human contact. Everything now is txting, instant messaging & facebooking. What has happened to talking to people face to face, engaging in conversation and sharing expierences together. If we cant even tolerate going the cinema with someone now then its a bad path that society is going dowm

It's very different in new York to Ireland. I have been to the cinema twice on my own. Your post has made me decide to do it more often for the remainder of the winter. I'll start with wolf of wall street tonight!

How on earth did you come to that conclusion? :confused:

Interestingly enough, I don't recall ever seeing or knowing of a woman going to the cinema by themselves.
    I both know and have seen women that do this. No big deal.

e_e wrote: »
    Thing is that film is my main interest and I wouldn't even get to see a portion of what I wanted if I had to rely on friends and family. Especially the more independent films that I often go to.

Why should I wait months to see something just because of some bull**** stigma that I don't believe in for a second? I'd argue that you're not all that into film if you don't take more of an initiative to watch certain films regardless of the tastes of your friends and family.

Why do you feel the need to talk to someone during the movie if your with company? You dont have to. When going the cinema i might have lunch/dinner first, then we go to the cinema, see the movie without talking and disturbing others and when the movie ends we might go for a tea or coffee and discuss the movie.

While going on your own, its you and your own taughts,Nothing else. No interaction with anyone. People saying the cinema is not a social setting? It is and has been for years! People go with friends & dates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 SizzlerB

Ihave often gone on my own too.. esp when i had am agro with my ex! i would be gone missing for ages, happy days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Do you find it odd or am i odd to find it odd?

I find it odd that you think it's odd, so yes you are odd.

I'm a female and have gone to the cinema on my own in the afternoon a couple of times - mainly because I've missed so many films I really wanted to see because by the time a few of us had got around to finding an evening that suited us all, the film wasn't showing any more.

Why do you feel the need to talk to someone during the movie if your with company?
    Why do you feel the need to respond to points I didn't even make? I don't talk during movies.
    People saying the cinema is not a social setting? It is and has been for years! People go with friends & dates.
    The lunch/dinner before/after is a social setting, talking the foyer is a social setting. Sitting in a dark room looking at a screen is NOT social.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Anyone who goes to the cinema on their own is obviously a deviant and a weirdo and should be killed twice. John Waters told me, so I knows.

Why do you feel the need to talk to someone during the movie if your with company? You dont have to. When going the cinema i might have lunch/dinner first, then we go to the cinema, see the movie without talking and disturbing others and when the movie ends we might go for a tea or coffee and discuss the movie.

While going on your own, its you and your own taughts,Nothing else. No interaction with anyone. People saying the cinema is not a social setting? It is and has been for years! People go with friends & dates.

But some people just want to see the film. They're not interested in using the occasion for social interaction. How is it any different from staying in on your own to watch a programme you really want to see on telly instead of going down to the pub with your friends.

No interaction with anyone.
    Good, that's one of the perks of going alone tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭AEDIC

When I am away travelling with work I will often go to the cinema by myself. It is much better than sitting in a hotel room bored sh*tless with the tv and a nice alternative to trying to make small talk in a bar or something.... dont see a problem with it myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Puzzle35

Why do you care so much about such a trivial issue. Do you think people should not be able to go for a walk alone or go to the gym alone? God forbid they go to a restaurant or holiday alone. horror of horrors !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

It is a little bit of a weird hangup OP. I'm curious how far you'd take it, if there was a movie you really wanted to see but all your friends either weren't interested or had seen it in a week you were away for work or something, would you miss the movie till it comes out on bluray, just so as not to be seen along for an hour and a half?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭AidanadiA

You can still discus a good movie (without spoilers) to someone who hasn't seen it. I've popped into my friends on the way home and had a grand chat about the movie i've just seen.

It can be a great place to go with friends, a terrible place for a date in my opinion. Going on your own isn't for everyone but its also not a woeful thing to do.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I hope you at least go to the jacks by yourself. Or is the solitude of the porcelain bowl too much for you to handle as well?