Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Publishing and the peer review process

Options
  • 27-01-2014 10:32pm
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,994 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Taking my scientific brain / scientific writing hat off for a few moments:

The whole publishing and peer review process is a pile of poo :mad:

And being rational again...

How do others feel about the entire process?

I'm an early stage researcher (read: unemployed post PhD) and am using my time "constructively" to get the final push on the publishable data from my PhD. I've 3 out already and 2 submitted.

We got word back today from one journal who requested some minor changes (structural - update figure legends, standardise a few bits) and that they would welcome a resubmission, but that as of yet they have not accepted it for publication as it is their policy to only accept without revision. This irritates me hugely for some reason. Okay it's not going to be a lot of work to get it to their new expectations, but if they are going to publish it (both reviewers said "publish with minor revisions"), why could the editor not just say that?!

I think the process (not this journal, in general) is flawed. I mean I've reviewed papers on behalf of my PI. I'm sure my papers were reviewed by other PhD students! In the current form for some journals they send the paper out to 10/12 people and accept the first 2/3 people to get back to them.

I don't know, maybe I'm just being critical.

Anyway, rant over.