Gardai harrasing me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Next one that harasses you, chin him.

Word will spread, they will back off. *

* This is not true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Chucken wrote: »
    I think that rule is for pregnant women in England.

What if the pregnant English woman isn't wearing a hat? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Chucken wrote: »
    I think that rule is for pregnant women in England.

It's always the women and da feckin' English getting da good treatment, where's my hat to take a sh1te in??? :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

You can crap on her head. It's the law. It's a sh1t Law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭urabell

Offences against the state act my friend, section 19(1) you can lawfully punch a member of AGS in the cajones if you are under the honest belief he is masquerading as a Gard to subvert the power of the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

They didn't think that law through very well, did they?
    It's always the women and da feckin' English getting da good treatment, where's my hat to take a sh1te in??? :mad:

I'll knit you one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Carry a book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

biko wrote: »
    Carry a book.

Just not "Mr. Nice"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Stop molesting the sheep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Each time you are stopped, politely ask the Garda to see ID, and ask for his badge number. Keep a note of the time, date and location and badge number and after a while building this info up, bring it to the sargeant or someone else in a higher position in the local station.

This and failing that the ombudsman. The gaurds don't need anymore problems right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

have you considered calling the guards?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Record them on your phone a few times, go to the papers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭The other fella

A friend of mine was searched on his way home from fishing and arrested for having a pliers on him.Its ridiculous.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

fishing for keys or phishing for credit car numbers ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 nunchuks

well have you even offered the guard a roalie? maybe he keeps coming back hoping your manners will improve

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Ask if you can become a Garda too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

masti123 wrote: »
    Basically every 1 or 2 weeks I get stopped and searched by the Gardai, for no reason all i'm doing is walking, they always come up with excuses as to why they're searching me eg. 'I thought you were smoking a joint' (It was a rollie), 'That field you came out of is well known for drug use' etc. What can i do/say to stop this? thanks

Were you trying to do a house or were you disposing of a weapon in da feee-yald?

All that aside, I imagine you are a non-violent, upstanding citizen who .. de temps en temps, takes to explore Dublin's fair common grounds...in search of rare yet prized fungal forms.

Lest an officer of the law, nay state, demands your business, then you are required as a citizen to demand his business as much as he demands yours.
    Failure to comply on heretofore mentioned part will most admirably result in your pardon at the behest of a magistrate.

It would, however, be wise to learn how to instruct the agent of the state that a "rollie" may not necessarily constitute what I would imagine he or she may have suspected, i.e. illegally imported tobacco and filters from Romania.

Nodin wrote: »
    ...then you're in their favourite demographic for stop and hastle. Back at around your age for one or two years I had to take a long route home (ironically past the cop station) because of the constant grief from patrols on the direct way. Questions would be asked with batons drawn etc. It eases off when you get older is the only consolation I can give ye. That, and ye'll learn their habits and how to avoid them.

Great til they "catch you" taking the long way home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,101 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

just be grateful they were to lazy to do you for under-age smoking.

There is no law (as far as i can recall) that allows someone under the age of 16 to be "done". I can't even find the law that states Gardaí can take cigarettes off persons under 16. I'm fairly sure under-age smoking is not illegal...

As for getting stopped, you need to give more information:

- What way to do you dress?
    - Have you been done before for something?
    - What kind of company do you keep?
    - Have you the head and haircut of a scumbag?
    - Do you walk with a put-on swagger to make you look cooler?

Etc, etc. You can always write a letter to the local Super, explain your circumstances, ask why, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭somuj

Basically every 1 or 2 weeks I get stopped and searched by the Gardai, for no reason all i'm doing is walking, they always come up with excuses as to why they're searching me eg. 'I thought you were smoking a joint' (It was a rollie), 'That field you came out of is well known for drug use' etc. What can i do/say to stop this? thanks

Are you in good shape? Their probably gay and just get turned on by you and using the excuse of stopping and searching you to cop a quick feel. You should feel flattered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Learn a Garth Brooks songs and sing it continuously. Garth Brooks to Gardai is like them Sonic Repellers to Young Wans hanging round shop corners.

Guard : Good Afternoon Sir, I'm going to conduct a search of your person under Section......

You : ♫ Blame it all on my roots, I showed up in boots and ruined..... ♫

Guard : Arrghhhh Jaysus, never mind, on your way Sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,972 ✭✭✭abff

There is no law (as far as i can recall) that allows someone under the age of 16 to be "done". I can't even find the law that states Gardaí can take cigarettes off persons under 16. I'm fairly sure under-age smoking is not illegal...

As for getting stopped, you need to give more information:

- What way to do you dress?
    - Have you been done before for something?
    - What kind of company do you keep?
    - Have you the head and haircut of a scumbag?
    - Do you walk with a put-on swagger to make you look cooler?

Etc, etc. You can always write a letter to the local Super, explain your circumstances, ask why, etc.

This is just about the only practical response I've seen to the OP. The 4th question is unfortunately worded, but it seems more likely that they are stopping the OP for a specific reason or reasons rather than just wasting their time harassing him for no reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,060 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Are you Nidge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,992 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Legal smoking age is 16

There is no "legal smoking age." The use/consumption of tobacco products is not restricted by age.

It is illegal to sell tobacco products to someone who is under the age of 18, but there is nothing in legislation which prevents under-18s from smoking (whether they are 5 of 15!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,346 ✭✭✭No Pants

'That field you came out of is well known for drug use' etc.
    I don't understand why they don't just arrest the field.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,397 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Are you doing that stupid walk? The one with the shoulders? Also, try not to be a minority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭michael.dublin

next time just ask for a lift home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I bet it's not a Garda at all, just some randomer wearing a costume for ****s and giggles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Rasheed wrote: »
    There's a guard around town that I wouldn't mind harassing me.

Big ridable hoor........
    With charm like that, she's bound to fall into your arms!