Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Conor556

1300 here :0 guess that's the type of car too. Never known any different though

1750 here for first time insurance on my own name a few months ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Conor556 wrote: »
    1750 here for first time insurance on my own name a few months ago.

I had a 306 when I started driving and I think it was nearly 2300, only had provisional

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

I had a 306 when I started driving and I think it was nearly 2300, only had provisional

I had a 306 van and was giving the same when I started.

Was that diesel? Mine was petrol and would use an unbelievable amount if it

Ya twas diesel, it would go on fumes but it was as dead as a maggot. Was giving 2500 to insure a civic after that. Pure madness in hindsight.

Mine was dead out too I blew the head in her, acting the magot of course :D. Re did it and she was as good as nee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

When I was in college a few years ago insurance company wouldn't cover me as car was northern Ireland for most of the time stayed with the same company just change red to there UK branch insurance went from 1400 e to 480 pound

Mine was dead out too I blew the head in her, acting the magot of course :D. Re did it and she was as good as nee

I wrecked the 306 in about six months at the same crack, hit a jump on a back road one night and broke the back axle. The civic ended up a foot shorter in a double stone wall. I got sense after that :rolleyes:

Plenty of lads did the same. Wanted to get a diesel one to do a bit of messing in but they were all wrecked from being turned up at the pump.
    I was planning on doing that anyway ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Plenty of lads did the same. Wanted to get a diesel one to do a bit of messing in but they were all wrecked from being turned up at the pump.
    I was planning on doing that anyway ha

Oh aye up north there's plenty of wee ol d turbos screwed out hai :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

You've been watching too much fast and furious :p.
    I've an 08 seat Leon, two sisters are insured, but never let them drive it unless they bust the sump on it. Two of them only have provisionals so pushing the price up a good but

1.8t?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Used to rent out houses for student accommodation. A big contingent of Donegal women every year down doing hairdressing and vetinerary nursing courses. At least half had Civics, usually with a big pipe and sprayed pink or gold etc. Mad as hatters! :)

Money for petrol and drink was no problem. The rent WAS a problem.

Timmaay wrote: »
    1.8t?

Its the FR edition. 2.0 diesil. Fair poke in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Its the FR edition. 2.0 diesil. Fair poke in it

Must be well worth it to have them jerseys :D, fr Leon is a nice yoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Sorry what am I on about its 1.6
    trying to up the image are ya :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Used toaj's t out houses for student accommodation. A big contingent of Donegal women every year down doing hairdressing and vetinerary nursing courses. At least half had Civics, usually with a big pipe and sprayed pink or gold etc. Mad as hatters! :)

I was fixing up sewers in a students house a couple of weeks ago , 5 women in the house . We asked them not to use the loo's at the back of the house - They still did , we set in a few aj's and told them not to walk on them - they pulled wheelie bins over them and rooted them up . To top it all I had bags of cement under one of the windows and went in one morning to find one of them in her bra and knickers puking her ring out the window down on top of them , she waved and closed the window not a bother on her :eek:

In fairness their parents are paying the rent though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Conor556

Mine is a G6 corolla, its straight from the manifold no middle box and goes into the back box, she wont be around for long, once ive the full will be bora or toledo hopefully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭mikefoxo

Insurance went from 2100 last year (on a provisional) to just over 600 this year with the full license! Bit their hand off :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Used to rent out houses for student accommodation. A big contingent of Donegal women every year down doing hairdressing and vetinerary nursing courses. At least half had Civics, usually with a big pipe and sprayed pink or gold etc. Mad as hatters! :)

I am sure you thought of other ways to get the rent........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

naughto wrote: »
    I am sure you thought of other ways to get the rent........

Jail-bait .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭C0N0R

1300 here :0 guess that's the type of car too. Never known any different though

I'd be happy with a quote of 1300 when I get home on something decent, probably won't happen though, been away for more than two years so lost my irish no claims bonus, fingers crossed they accept New Zealand ones! Cars out here are crazy cheap to insure, twin turbo Subaru is costing me about $400 a year!

C0N0R wrote: »
    I'd be happy with a quote of 1300 when I get home on something decent, probably won't happen though, been away for more than two years so lost my irish no claims bonus, fingers crossed they accept New Zealand ones! Cars out here are crazy cheap to insure, twin turbo Subaru is costing me about $400 a year!
    some difference there

Reggie. wrote: »
    some difference there

Ridiculous difference, insurance isn't even a legal requirement!

C0N0R wrote: »
    Ridiculous difference, insurance isn't even a legal requirement!
    why not a legal requirement

Your not required by law to have insurance, completely up to each individual, I think most people do though. No idea why it's like that.

I would imagine its alot less because the same claim culture isn't there. They would only insure me third party though and not theft unless I installed an alarm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭Bactidiaryl

ACC. (Accident compensation corporation) it's compulsory in NZ and everyone is a member. Sub comes out of your wages.

dont no if any of ye buy clothes on line
    but there is some serious cleap sh1te on this site

http://eu.spf.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,666 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Just back in internet land so a quick question before I catch up on all the posts that I missed over the last few days.
    We sold some stock this evening all bulls with the exception of one freemartin. She is 19 months old. Do we need to get her blooded?
    We normally only have bulls/bullocks here but she came in a bunch of weanlings that we bought in.
    I was going to do the movements tonight but I thought that since she is female then we may need to blood her. Also it is too late to phone the vet and ask.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

Base price wrote: »
    Just back in internet land so a quick question before I catch up on all the posts that I missed over the last few days.
    We sold some stock this evening all bulls with the exception of one freemartin. She is 19 months old. Do we need to get her blooded?
    We normally only have bulls/bullocks here but she came in a bunch of weanlings that we bought in.
    I was going to do the movements tonight but I thought that since she is female then we may need to blood her. Also it is too late to phone the vet and ask.

she's ok up to 24 months

whats a freemartin?