Cadbury's cream egg tastes crap now compared to years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

While we're on the subject, Nestle ruined Yorkie bars. The bastards.

They made it all girly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Cadbury's has tasted sh!t for quite some time now, like margarine with a hint of chocolate, thanks Kraft you multinational shower of b*stards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Above link is pretty much how I feel about most things I like/used to like...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,787 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Guess what. Someone saying in 2006 that creme eggs don't taste liked they used to. It is probably that peoples taste buds change.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=51183049

would of loved one as a kid but i don't know what it is but creme eggs do not taste the same as the use to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭notnumber

Always tasted crap,same with wagon wheels ..our palettes have evolved over the years whilst the candies haven't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

SamAK wrote: »
    Back in the day, Cadburys Dairy Milk bars used to come wrapped in gold foil, and the choccy itself used to have a powdery coating on it......you know what I mean, it was proper fvcking chocolate.

I've completely given up on Cadbury now, fvck those **** at Kraft, ruining a great brand.
    I actually thought I was imagining that Cadbury chocolate has gotten worse, thought it was rose tinted glasses but seems to be a few people on here confirming it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

While we're on the subject, Nestle ruined Yorkie bars. The bastards.

I remember a time when you could beat a man to death with a chilled yorkie bar, now you'd have a tough time giving a budgie a concussion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

I actually thought I was imagining that Cadbury chocolate has gotten worse, thought it was rose tinted glasses but seems to be a few people on here confirming it.
    Apparenly the gold foil bars are nicer than the stuff they get in UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Dr Robotnik

Rancheros used to be brilliant until all the nice additives got banned by the EU. Wonder if the same happened to creme eggs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭AerynSun

... thought it was rose tinted glasses ...

Hope it wasn't the new coffee flavour one you tinted your Roses glasses with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Cadbury goop egg more like.

Thank god nestle hasn't messed with the crunch bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

The 'creamy' part, as mentioned above, is not creamy any more - it's pretty solid and almost...grainy.

And also, Wham bars are sooooo much smaller nowadays, rabble rabble rabble.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Gatling wrote: »
    Now what you want is a creme egg brownie

Something like this? My friend's blog :D

http://cookiescakesandbakes.wordpress.com/2013/03/27/cadbury-creme-egg-brownies/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Was thinking like these might give them a try during the week not my typical type bake

http://scarletscorchdroppers.com/2013/03/12/creme-egg-brownies/

But thanks for the link some nice stuff in the blog ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Gatling wrote: »
    Was thinking like these might give them a try during the week not my typical type bake

http://scarletscorchdroppers.com/2013/03/12/creme-egg-brownies/

But thanks for the link some nice stuff in the blog ;)

Oh she does some amazing stuff. She lives in Scotland which might be a good thing in a way. If she lived near me I'd probably be twenty stone by now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

notnumber wrote: »
    Always tasted crap,same with wagon wheels ..our palettes have evolved over the years whilst the candies haven't.

You take that back right now. The cheek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭PinkFly

I think the real travesty over the years has to be Monster Munch. Why did they mess with them...Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

Cadbury's chocolate tastes much better in the North. The eggs have got smaller though..:mad:

op where have you been all this time

everything gets smaller & thinner :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

Ya and the Cadbury's cream easter eggs were always a crippling disappointment too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 720 ✭✭✭DrGreenthumb

They changed some yoke in the factory thats why it tastes differant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭eqwjewoiujqorj

I don't buy Cadbury since they changed the recipe.

I now buy chocolate in Aldi, cheaper and tastes better.

Cadbury's is now over sweet expensive dross.

From another thread
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057058226
    They HAVE changed the recipe.

They now use English produced cocoa butter imported to Ireland and English mass.

They closed the facility in Coolock.

I'm not sure when the "English" chocolate will hit the retail shelves here,but sometime soon.

Even the English said our Dairymilk tasted much better then theirs.

I think Cadburys may have shot themselves in the foot,although in the grand scheme of things we are only a small market.

Mass is whats produced after compressing the cocoa beans,you get cake and cocoa butter.

The cake is milled down and and mixed with cocoa butter to get a liquid mass which is mixed with milk and sugar and put into huge ovens to get "crumb".

This crumb is then whats used to make chocolate.this is what made the chocolate made in Ireland unique.

They closed this facility in the Cadburys Dublin factory in June,its all being imported from England now,which will make our Dairymilk etc taste like the English chocolate.

They have a different process.

I also don't like the new packaging:

BnuRJ2R.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Rancheros used to be brilliant until all the nice additives got banned by the EU. Wonder if the same happened to creme eggs?
    PinkFly wrote: »
    I think the real travesty over the years has to be Monster Munch. Why did they mess with them...Why?

Any of those corn snack type "crisps" have become plasticy in texture and had the taste dumbed down. Snax is a great example, they used to be fantastic about 10 years ago now, I wouldn't feed them to the crows. I remember Rancheros and Monster Munch having so much flavour on them you'd wince with the taste explosion. Now you only wince as you try to expel them from your system due to them breaking down and becoming like a glue on your internals.

I got excited when they said they were bringing back Tayto Spring Onion for a while, they too got the modern treatment and tasted bland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭eqwjewoiujqorj

Plazaman wrote: »
    Any of those corn snack type "crisps" have become plasticy in texture and had the taste dumbed down.

Snax is a great example, they used to be fantastic about 10 years ago now, I wouldn't feed them to the crows.

I remember Rancheros and Monster Munch having so much flavour on them you'd wince with the taste explosion. Now you only wince as you try to expel them from your system due to them breaking down and becoming like a glue on your internals.

I got excited when they said they were bringing back Tayto Spring Onion for a while, they too got the modern treatment and tasted bland.

Had a thread on the Tayto Snax changes about a year ago.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=85239504#post85239504

They're just plain awful now, haven't bought them since.

They got a lot of bad feedback on facebook as well, I wonder did they do much market research before they changed them.