Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

is it sugar beet? Im on about 10kgs day per head and the cattle go straight onto it in TMR. If feeding seperate suppose start with 4 or 5kgs

Yes sugar beet, I'm sorry tmr?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

simx wrote: »
    Yes sugar beet, I'm sorry tmr?

total mixed ration, aka diet feeding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭DMAXMAN

is it sugar beet? Im on about 10kgs day per head and the cattle go straight onto it in TMR. If feeding seperate suppose start with 4 or 5kgs
    definitely no more than 5 kgs per head/day to start. be sure they are all eating too as very easy to sicken cattle with it, can even kill them. once started you can increase them a little every two or three days until you reach the level you want

total mixed ration, aka diet feeding

Oh right I'm with ya now, will be feeding seperate so I'll start with 4kg I suppose, load coming tomorrow, like a child before Christmas, just something new coming ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,622 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

decided to go to the gym with the OH to do my training and afterwards decided to try out the jacuzzi....... half an hour later i felt like a boiled spud :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Reggie. wrote: »
    decided to go to the gym with the OH to do my training and afterwards decided to try out the jacuzzi....... half an hour later i fed like a boiled spud :D

Stick a fork in him, he's done :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭feartuath

Just down from putting the kids to bed and reading story about cat and fiddle and the cow who jumped over the moon

Was she a limousin and what bull was she out of ?

Stick a fork in him, he's done :pac:
    took some effort to get out of the damn thing :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Cow was out of a Friesian dam (probably by Primsland Playboy) and a Limo bull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

feartuath wrote: »
    Just down from putting the kids to bed and reading story about cat and fiddle and the cow who jumped over the moon

Was she a limousin and what bull was she out of ?

There was money out of beef in them days. Beef wasn't as high since.:D

Was someone looking for a lock of these a while back http://www.donedeal.ie/farmproduce-for-sale/calf-hutches/6331444

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Was someone looking for a lock of these a while back http://www.donedeal.ie/farmproduce-for-sale/calf-hutches/6331444

It was me cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Not here two hours and I'm ran out of the place because lightning hit next door:eek:

Who needs sleep anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Not here two hours and I'm ran out of the place because lightning hit next door:eek:

Who needs sleep anyway!

Lightning? Sure that only stray voltage. Your cell count will go up now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Who needs sleep anyway!

If we hear of a "Midlands Witch Trial" we Will know its you,....:)

your not travelling with that earless cat , I hope?

Who needs sleep anyway!

You can be brought no where

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    If we hear of a "Midlands Witch Trial" we Will know its you,....:)

your not travelling with that earless cat , I hope?

Good lord no, stretching an ear myself at the moment so that's enough. I'm away now anyway. If any of ye see a reddish haired lass at the ring say hello!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,145 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Came home from a weekend in Limerick to find the first calf of the season. a nice APZ heifer. We had our suspicions that the cow wasnt in calf at all she looked so light but she put on a late spring and popped out a fair sized calf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Would it be wise to buy that sort of thing second hand. Calves can pick up any disease quick and ye don't know what the previous owners calf's got

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Would it be wise to buy that sort of thing second hand. Calves can pick up any disease quick and ye don't know what the previous owners calf's got

If you went around with that taught through life, you would never have a missus :o

Got a car insurance renewal letter there on Friday, €590 ! For a fella like me never had a claim or an accident, ha! Just after getting a policy with another company for €390.

Pulled out 15 fr bullock weanlings this morning. 3 are a bit small but we're going to throw a bit of barley at them for two weeks and see what they are like and then mart them.
    Is it early yet for lads to buy weanlings for grass or will I be in at the right time.
    Two of them are near stores, there last autumn bullocks

Pulled out 15 fr bullock weanlings this morning. 3 are a bit small but we're going to throw a bit of barley at them for two weeks and see what they are like and then mart them.
    Is it early yet for lads to buy weanlings for grass or will I be in at the right time.
    Two of them are near stores, there last autumn bullocks

Bit early I reckon, what weight ya think they are?

simx wrote: »
    Bit early I reckon, what weight ya think they are?

I'd say the two bigger lads are 370/380 and the weanlings around 300, lot are Feb born. And the other 3 are 240 possibly there march born ones and had no silage or hay or straw when they were on milk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Got a car insurance renewal letter there on Friday, €590 ! For a fella like me never had a claim or an accident, ha! Just after getting a policy with another company for €390.

Who with for the €390. Just had a quote of €570 from the company I was with and a full NCB and all. Reckon it will be got much better elsewhere.

1300 here :0 guess that's the type of car too. Never known any different though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Who with for the €390. Just had a quote of €570 from the company I was with and a full NCB and all. Reckon it will be got much better elsewhere.

Got one from insuremyvan.ie for 360 last week for the jeep . I dont know if the do cars but id say they would be worth a shout

AXA, I put herself on the policy too which brought it down a lot. Anyone you get a quote from tell them you got another cheaper elsewhere, chance your arm basically!

AA is another to get a quote from. Forget liberty, bloody dear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

1300 here :0 guess that's the type of car too. Never known any different though

The dump valve in your car should give you a reduction in insurance, because all its probably doing is dropping the boost pressure and losing ya power :p.

Duno what my insurance is 5/600ish, but i priced up an s2000 (250bhp, and fairly light) last yr, only 800, i really got to pickup one at some stage!

Timmaay wrote: »
    The dump valve in your car should give you a reduction in insurance, because all its probably doing is dropping the boost pressure and losing ya power :p.

Duno what my insurance is 5/600ish, but i priced up an s2000 (250bhp, and fairly light) last yr, only 800, i really got to pickup one at some stage!
    You've been watching too much fast and furious :p.
    I've an 08 seat Leon, two sisters are insured, but never let them drive it unless they bust the sump on it. Two of them only have provisionals so pushing the price up a good but