Is it too late to study?

• 26-01-2014 10:43PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5

I'm doing the Leaving cert and to be honest I haven't worked as hard as I should've at all. There's only a month left to the mocks and I'm so unbelievably unprepared and have done close to nothing for them. Im fairly smart and do good when I actually study for tests, but I'm just so lazy and have no motivation. Is it too late to try and aim for 500 points at this stage of the year?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5 Tennis Ball

Ellenk456 wrote: »
    I'm doing the Leaving cert and to be honest I haven't worked as hard as I should've at all. There's only a month left to the mocks and I'm so unbelievably unprepared and have done close to nothing for them. Im fairly smart and do good when I actually study for tests, but I'm just so lazy and have no motivation. Is it too late to try and aim for 500 points at this stage of the year?

Just do your best from here on in, quit making excuses. Get off boards and study.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Feck the mocks. You've ages to the real thing - loads of time to study.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭WellThen?

If your looking for the "don't bother, it's too late go have a pint" response you won't get it. You have enough time, work your ass off for the next few months, it will be worth it instead of wasting the year an repeating.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,673 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

I didn't study a tap and I turned out fine.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

You've loads of time, and seeing as your only 17 or 18 you already know it all anyway,just wait till your in your mid 30s like I did, then you'll realise you actually knew fcuk all, so my advice is turn off that ****in computer and start studying :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Exam papers, do them ad nausium between now and june.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,677 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

You've plenty of time. The mocks are just that - mocks. Don't worry about them.

Get the head down now, put in some hard work and you'll be fine.

• Site Banned Posts: 6 DJango brekfast roll

it's comming up to 10 o'clock, get an early night and start tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Yep OP, before you know it you'll be saying "do you want fries with that".

Seriously though. Loads of time. Just don't panic make a start and you'll be fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Plenty of time. Start studying now though if you wanna break 500

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,887 ✭✭✭dmc17

Give it your best for the next couple of months and it'll be worth it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Absolutely not. You could get 600 points if you started now.

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Plenty of time. Start studying now though if you wanna break 500

In my school though if you messed up your mocks the teachers wouldn't allow you to do the subjects to get higher points. So maybe that's something the OP should think about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Just get all the exam papers from previous years and spend an hour or so each evening doing them from now until the leaving. Put on some music or podcasts or something you like in the background if you're too antsy to concentrate and just drill them into you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭WhatNowForUs?

Feck the mocks. You've ages to the real thing - loads of time to study.

If you start now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Dj Stiggie

Do some exam papers between now and the mocks. Then use your results as a guide to how much you think you can improve. If you want 500 points then if you get over 400 or so in the mocks, its realistic with work. If you get less than 370, have another look at the CAO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Ellenk456

Thanks everyone :) Do you think I should write out notes and stuff then look at exam papers or just concentrate on doing exam papers and learning the answers off without writing any notes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,887 ✭✭✭dmc17

Thanks everyone :) Do you think I should write out notes and stuff then look at exam papers or just concentrate on doing exam papers and learning the answers off without writing any notes?

Make notes. It'll help you remember it and you'll have notes to read over closer to the exams

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭sawdoubters

its not too late as you over 4 months to june,get some one to help you

you don't want to repeat for another year

ask your teachers for help

https://www.google.com/#q=ireland+leaving+exam+help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭jimboblep

Dont stress about the mocks use them as a way to highlight what you need to work at most for the real thing

In my school though if you messed up your mocks the teachers wouldn't allow you to do the subjects to get higher points. So maybe that's something the OP should think about.

Are you saying that they wouldn't allow you do the higher paper, if so, they don't have the final say in that you do.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

if you are going down the learning off the answers route then you aren't ready until you can write down all the answers without looking at books or notes

Are you saying that they wouldn't allow you do the higher paper, if so, they don't have the final say in that you do.

They don't have the final say but if you failed higher in the mocks and done ordinary from mock to LC you'd have to be pretty stupid to to try the higher.

I remember an eejit in my class done it with maths and he ended up failing the subject and tried to blame the school!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

I started studying properly the weekend before my leaving cert. I used to do my homework all the time, but I'm just not a studier and it's not in me. I still got all Bs higher level.

It's not too late. Make out flash cards and get revise wise books and only take out the information you need and that is relevant. So in the end you're left with a small pile of flash cards and not a mountain of books filled with 70% junk information you don't need (biology was notorious for over stuffing information you never needed)

You'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Don't worry too much about the mocks - see them for what they are supposed to be: a swift kick up the hole for people like yourself (and myself too back in the day). Stop making excuses and put the head down for the rest of the year - the LC is a load of balls (I'd rather saw a leg off than do that again - I remember it well!) but if you put the work in you'll only have to do it once and you'll thank yourself when you get to college (which is honestly as awesome an experience as you can imagine it to be - absolutely nothing like LC hell).

Get off boards, knuckle down and get your head into a book OP - the more discipline you put into this thing (and we're only talking about a few months at the end of the day), the more it will pay off and the less pressure you'll be putting yourself under by the end of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

OP you're gonna get a lot of people who are 'older and wiser' posting stuff like 'you'll be grand' 'I did a week/ weekend of study and did fine' etc. etc. and they are all absolutely right.

If someone actually did well-focused study, even ALL their homework with some well-focused study, consistently until the leaving cert, assuming medium brain activity, they'd be well into 500+ points if not close to 600.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Wish I'd the internet back in the day for advice like this; I didn't have a clue where to start. Was completely overwhelmed at the time, so gave up.

Good luck with it, OP. Get your head down and study. The LC isn't the be all and end all but getting into the course you want now will make life so much easier long-term. :)

They don't have the final say but if you failed higher in the mocks and done ordinary from mock to LC you'd have to be pretty stupid to to try the higher.

I remember an eejit in my class done it with maths and he ended up failing the subject and tried to blame the school!

So if you failed your honors mock they would kick you out of the honors class and into a pass class?
    Anyway I would imagine that most of the course would have been covered by the time of the mock exams and surly you'd be able to go it alone from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,073 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Do what works for you when you get high marks, some people write lots of notes and learn by rote, others don't.

I never studied, I'd teach myself by learning the fundamentals, the exceptions, then figuring everything out from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Polka_Dot

You'll be fine, I got 490 in my mocks and failed the higher maths paper, in June I got 560 and a B3 in higher maths. Just keep on top of your homework and practice exam papers. Don't learn answers off, understand the course.