Useless Weekend Nighsts in Rural Pubs

• 25-01-2014 10:43PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭

Is it just me or are poor weekends in rural pubs something that is a trend in the last while. I know, I know, the rural pub trade has not been what it was for the last 10 to 12 years but the last six months or so, it has been really dire.

I don't want to mention any specific pubs or towns but I am talking about the East/Mid Cork area and the comparison between Cork city and the rural villages and towns is amazing. I like to get out of Cork city for weekends to enjoy country pubs and have also gone back to Waterford (where I was in college) and found a similar trend: city pubs are doing fine, rural are not. Even this time last year, things were far better.

To give you an idea of what I mean:

I was in a village in East Cork and it was Saturday. 2 people in 1 pub, only me in the other when I walked in. Closing time was 12.30 but it closed well before as no one was coming in I'd say! I was gone at 11. And this is not just January: it has been like this since August. This time last year, that pub was doing fine and had music and music sessions and lots of sing songs.

I was in a small town on the Cork/Limerick border and found the cards, karaoke, pool tournaments, darts and trad session all cancelled. They were doing well this time last year.

I was in a Waterford village and all the pubs were closed at 11.30 Saturday. Last year, you would be hard pressed to get them out at closing time.

I was in a Kerry village and 2 of the pubs are closed. They were great last year.

What is the reason for this? It is depressing and I can't see what caused it like now??? Recession/corruption economy, smoking ban, cheap booze in supermarkets, drink driving, etc. are around with years and despite all this, popular rural pubs held their own. Is this only a Cork and area thing or is it the same everywhere????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Clearly the only connecting factor is you OP. You are killing the pub trade, you should stay home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

MadsL wrote: »
    Clearly the only connecting factor is you OP. You are killing the pub trade, you should stay home.

I don't think it is me lol! It is happening with or without my contribution!!!

How do you know? Perhaps people get word that you are on you way and scarper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

Of course the city pubs do better, there's more people living there.

The rural pubs where I'm originally from have tried to compete with the nearby bigger towns by putting on taxi bus services to collect people and drop them home, but the younger people especially will always gravitate towards the bigger towns/cities for a night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,887 ✭✭✭dmc17

Are you sure it was last year all this was happening and not six years ago?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Quiet rural pub pint > noisy, packed! overpriced pint in shiny bar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭shedweller

Yawn.
    Obvious thank whore is obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Zackdickensdog

What i dont get is the enforcement of the licencing laws, the guards will be in if the pub is open a few minutes late but they can close two hours early with impunity.

shedweller wrote: »
    Yawn.
    Obvious thank whore is obvious.

Daww...upset you didn't get in first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

In smaller towns,Sunday is the new Saturday especially these days when so many don't have work on a Monday.Mate of mine runs a taxi & said that apart from the usual nightclub trade on Saturday night it's quiet but Sundays he's flat out.
    Even one local that I drink in did away with live music etc. on Saturday nights as it was busier on the Sunday.Lads playing GAA or Soccer went out after games instead of Saturday nights so the pub was full on the Sunday.
    There's one pub in my town that has started doing live music on Mondays as it's packed due to €3 pints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Hire a minibus to pick up people in the surrounding area who want a pint but have to drive and charge a few quid a head to cover it. Run some offers on beer on alternate nights. Think of social events for pub.

Or

Run crying to local gombeen politician

What i dont get is the enforcement of the licencing laws, the guards will be in if the pub is open a few minutes late but they can close two hours early with impunity.

Sure if the pubs close then where are the Guards to drink after hours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭ElecKtrA

Is it just me or are poor weekends in rural pubs something that is a trend in the last while. I know, I know, the rural pub trade has not been what it was for the last 10 to 12 years but the last six months or so, it has been really dire.

I don't want to mention any specific pubs or towns but I am talking about the East/Mid Cork area and the comparison between Cork city and the rural villages and towns is amazing. I like to get out of Cork city for weekends to enjoy country pubs and have also gone back to Waterford (where I was in college) and found a similar trend: city pubs are doing fine, rural are not. Even this time last year, things were far better.

To give you an idea of what I mean:

I was in a village in East Cork and it was Saturday. 2 people in 1 pub, only me in the other when I walked in. Closing time was 12.30 but it closed well before as no one was coming in I'd say! I was gone at 11. And this is not just January: it has been like this since August. This time last year, that pub was doing fine and had music and music sessions and lots of sing songs.

I was in a small town on the Cork/Limerick border and found the cards, karaoke, pool tournaments, darts and trad session all cancelled. They were doing well this time last year.

I was in a Waterford village and all the pubs were closed at 11.30 Saturday. Last year, you would be hard pressed to get them out at closing time.

I was in a Kerry village and 2 of the pubs are closed. They were great last year.

What is the reason for this? It is depressing and I can't see what caused it like now??? Recession/corruption economy, smoking ban, cheap booze in supermarkets, drink driving, etc. are around with years and despite all this, popular rural pubs held their own. Is this only a Cork and area thing or is it the same everywhere????

East Cork???....ahh....come on..we all know there is no life in Whitegate :-P

Cork City isn't that much better to be fair! Yes ..there are a few more pubs and clubs but they are rarely packed on a non-bank holiday/normal weekend! I'm afraid I'm afraid if you want some atmosphere then it's good aul Dublin...imo :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭shedweller

Daww...upset you didn't get in first?
    I am! Awfully dissapoint!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

*I am from Dublin and other pubs are bad...*

anncoates wrote: »
    Hire a minibus to pick up people in the surrounding area who want a pint but have to drive and charge a few quid a head to cover it. Run some offers on beer on alternate nights. Think of social events for pub.

Or

Run crying to local gombeen politician

Rural pubs are odd in the fact that they haven't copped onto the fact that people will drink other beers than the usual 'big 3' if they are cheaper.I drink in a rural pub sometimes and it's cheaper to drink in town.Many pubs down my way serve other brands at 3 for €10 or less.Rural pub has Bud,Heineken & Carlsberg as the choice of lager on tap and that's it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

zerks wrote: »
    In smaller towns,Sunday is the new Saturday especially these days when so many don't have work on a Monday.Mate of mine runs a taxi & said that apart from the usual nightclub trade on Saturday night it's quiet but Sundays he's flat out.
    Even one local that I drink in did away with live music etc. on Saturday nights as it was busier on the Sunday.Lads playing GAA or Soccer went out after games instead of Saturday nights so the pub was full on the Sunday.
    There's one pub in my town that has started doing live music on Mondays as it's packed due to €3 pints.

ah the old Monday club,most towns have at least one of these with €3 pints and maybe a bit of entertainment.Always packed too.

Yep,most of the clientele used to take Mondays off during the boom as they made enough over the other 4 days to justify it,the same lads are still there on a Monday.

Rural pubs may move with the times and adapt or die,especially these days when it's more attractive financially to drink at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭cuana

Loads of reasons really!

Lifestyle habits are changing people are doing a lot more entertaining at home

Cost: finances for some are still limited

Transport: If you want to have beers there are usually little or no services getting home

Entertainment: Often if I wanted to head out at home there is little or no entertainment on a Saturday night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Based on my own experiences a lot is to do with emigration. A few years ago there was around 12-15 of us from our area that would go out regularly in the local, if not all of us then at least 6-10 of us would be out on a Friday/Saturday night. There's only 4 of us left in Ireland and none of us can really afford to be heading out as much. I know plenty of similar groups of lads in my area and nearby villages where the same thing has happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Hello_MrFox

Rural nightclubs are a dying business altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Rural nightclubs are a dying business altogether.

Main clientele seems to be teenyboppers without transport to travel to the nearest big town/city and all some are missing is sawdust on the floor. Godawful kips most of them.

My local town used to have about 30 pubs up until maybe the 60s, not there's just over a half doz. There must have been some population of suppies back in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭One_More_Mile

Went for a pint this evening with my 2 young fellas, 1 Pint of guinness for me, 2 club oranges for them- 2.65 each, 4.50 for my pint - bones of 11 quid. Value for money??/ hardly. not when 8 cans in dunnes is 12. Moral of the story -- price people out -expect people to stay away

How do you know? Perhaps people get word that you are on you way and scarper?

Somehow no! No matter where you go and no matter if I show or not, it makes no difference! This damn thing is outside my control!

dmc17 wrote: »
    Are you sure it was last year all this was happening and not six years ago?

Yes, 2012 and 2013. Not six years back.

It is more and more common that pubs in rural areas close 2 hours before time some nights. In a way, I can't blame the owners. They are there all day and night, and waiting for someone to show. Some pubs have no one in at all all night.

True. Sundays are better than Saturdays in many pubs. Not all are unemployed and many are even up at 7 in the morning and still come out that night instead of Saturday!!

ElecKtrA wrote: »
    East Cork???....ahh....come on..we all know there is no life in Whitegate :-P

Cork City isn't that much better to be fair! Yes ..there are a few more pubs and clubs but they are rarely packed on a non-bank holiday/normal weekend! I'm afraid I'm afraid if you want some atmosphere then it's good aul Dublin...imo :-)

Dublin is better than Cork, Cork is better than Limerick/Waterford/Galway/Kilkenny, they are better than Longford/Carrick on Shannon/Clonmel/Wexford/Carlow/Cavan/etc, they are better than rural areas near cities and main towns, they are better than total rural areas. East Cork is a mix of all. Dead overall since last year really. Cork city is not Dublin but is lively in comparison to 15 miles out of it.

Rural pubs are odd in the fact that they haven't copped onto the fact that people will drink other beers than the usual 'big 3' if they are cheaper.I drink in a rural pub sometimes and it's cheaper to drink in town.Many pubs down my way serve other brands at 3 for €10 or less.Rural pub has Bud,Heineken & Carlsberg as the choice of lager on tap and that's it.

That is true. A lot of Cork city pubs are far cheaper than Cork county I find. There are certain Cork city pubs that even feel more like a good country pub than the rural pubs do and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 58,686 ✭✭✭✭Necro

Dublin is better than Cork, Cork is better than Limerick/Waterford/Galway/Kilkenny, they are better than Longford/Carrick on Shannon/Clonmel/Wexford/Carlow/Cavan/etc, they are better than rural areas near cities and main towns, they are better than total rural areas. East Cork is a mix of all. Dead overall since last year really. Cork city is not Dublin but is lively in comparison to 15 miles out of it.
    Just back from my local (and supposedly dying) rural pub. Great crowd, great craic, reasonably cheap beer... what more could you ask for? I hate big towns and cities with their horrible swill most pass off as beer, loud music and large crowds. Worst thing is I'm only 27. Is something wrong with me?