Funny when nerds try to claim masculinity for themselves

• 25-01-2014 02:02AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭

Anybody noticed this in the past few years, aka. nerds trying to redefine what comprises masculinity? Traditional stuff thought of as masculine such as tough physical labour jobs, beards, acting like a real bloke, love of the outdoors, a few drinks etc etc. Think of manly blokes and what comes to mind is probably something like Russell Crowe or Bruce Willis.

However I've noticed over the years nerdy blokes trying to hillariously redefine the terms of masculinity. Stuff like "maths and science are too logical for women", "women can't handle IT like men can", "girls just don't get Star Wars" or some other crap. Who do these lads think they are fooling, they were and always will be just nerds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

NERD!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Should be nice to nerds mate, chances are you'll be working for one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

donvito99 wrote: »
    NERD!!!!!!!

If I hadn't left my inhaler at home you'd be in big trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Who the **** talks about nerds on this side of the Atlantic??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

JK91 wrote: »
    However I've noticed over the years nerdy blokes trying to hillariously redefine the terms of masculinity. Stuff like "maths and science are too logical for women", "women can't handle IT like men can", "girls just don't get Star Wars" or some other crap. Who do these lads think they are fooling, they were and always will be nerds.

You seem to be describing misogynists, who just so happen to be "nerds", and I fail to see how your examples are evidence of "nerds" trying to redefine masculinity.

Also, one can like science, math, Star Wards, as well as traditionally masculine activities. Honestly you are being a bit silly. Most people aren't stereotypes, and are into all sorts of stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

However I've noticed over the years nerdy blokes trying to hillariously redefine the terms of masculinity. Stuff like "maths and science are too logical for women", "women can't handle IT like men can", "girls just don't get Star Wars" or some other crap. Who do these lads think they are fooling, they were and always will be just nerds.

Sounds more misogynistic than masculine to be honest. Although I can't say I've seen or heard anything like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

In all seriousness though, it's just the latest fad. Stupid people wearing O'Neill's will be in again soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Anybody noticed this in the past few years, aka. nerds

I didn't know 'the past few years' was also known as 'nerds'.

If that's the case then for nerds I have been unemployed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭dpofloinn

Should be nice to nerds mate, chances are you'll be working for one of them.

I wouldnt worry about being nice to nerds because most people end up working for D*ck Heads.So remember folks be nice to d*ck heads because you will most definitly end up working for one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

I've never heard of that OP. I'm still struggling with "real men wear pink"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,106 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

It's like Nietzsche, the nerds are swapping the values of society so being dorky is now the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Vin Diesel is a geek. Wouldn't fuck with him. Same with Adrien Crenshaw. Funny when some people are so neurotic that they need to try and make others feel bad in order to gain a bit of self worth.

EDIT: On a personal note, I have a friend who is a programmer, ergonomist and MMA fighter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Anybody noticed this in the past few years, aka. nerds trying to redefine what comprises masculinity? Traditional stuff thought of as masculine such as tough physical labour jobs, beards, acting like a real bloke, love of the outdoors, a few drinks etc etc. Think of manly blokes and what comes to mind is probably something like Russell Crowe or Bruce Willis.

Some blokes are twits. Theres no escaping that fact.

Im a hacker and a geek. Some people categorise me as a nerd. Meh. Im not bothered what other people think. I have a full social life. I can talk to women and have a very successful relationship. I like Star Wars and Star Trek but I also like fishing and shooting.

My partner was, until recently a senior Unix Administrator for IBM. She likes Star Wars and plays World of Warcraft. The guys you are talking about are idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Sounds like someone's got e-peen envy. Lookin' at you OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

jacksie66 wrote: »
    Im a self confessed nerd who loves xbox, star trek and battlestar galactica.
    I also love fanny, have a kick ass beard and would bate the ****e out of any of ye..

I doubt its as nice as my beard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I break all the chicks down with my excel skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Aidric wrote: »

You'll be spreading their sheets in no time.

syklops wrote: »
    I doubt its as nice as my beard.

I'll bet mine is better than all of yous guyses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,370 ✭✭✭b757

Sorry :( :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

There is a lot of different types of masculinises man like to portray.

Masculinity is just made up by how society thinks men should act.

Within masculinity you get loads of different types fighting to be seen as the most acceptable form of masculinity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

http://www.cbsnews.com/news/reservists-called-up-or-on-notice/

"Staff Sgt. Max Fightmaster, a computer technician, "

....Don't really need to add any comments to this do I?

Aidric wrote: »

x = sin^3(t); y = 13cos(t) - 5cos(2t) - 2cos(3t) - cos(4t).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,239 ✭✭✭donegal_man

You mean actors who have "people" to do all the hard physical labour like cooking their macrobiotic meals, driving them around and taking care of their every need
    What sort of morons do you spend your time listening to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭Sheldons Brain

The Nerds will inherit the Earth and the little people will become extinct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Shakti

Sounds like regular traditional sexism/misogyny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭chrissb8

I'm also not liking these "emotions". All of a sudden if you're not into revealing your feelings you're dubbed closed off and not "deep". I'm plenty deep! I just don't cheapen what I have to say by blurting it out to any so and so. Maybe I'm just cautious about who I say these things too! As for being a "MAN". I think there is a certain standard. Respect, degree of self assurance, strength in character and a good sense of morality and kindness. Men of these traits built and persevered. Just because it's the 21st century doesn't mean men have to be different. If you don't like how it is then tough don't bother with society because that's what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Stupid nerds, thinking they are jocks. KNOW YOUR PLACE NERDLINGERS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

I am female.

I can't grow a beard. I can do everything else you mention if I cared to ( I just don't care to) so i would stick with growing a beard if I were you. Keep it trim now!:)

Sexism is not masculine...REAL MEN DON'T DO SEXISM...my dad doesn't you don't get more real masculine than dads ..fact