Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭harpsman

Mayo repeatedly failing to produce anywhere close to their best in finals. You wouldnt mind losing while playing to your potential but theyre not doing that. Personally i think that its partly a mental thing and denying that is just whislting past the graveyard. I think youd be more likely to win one if you faced up to that and dealt with it. Having said that theres not many better teams and always a decent pool of younger talent so you never know. Over and out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Peaking before AI finals has been suggested before i think the 2013 AI final had two sides that played their best football before it but Dublin seem to have a little bit extra to get over the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

I think it is some sort of nervous tension on the big day as the Mayo teams I have watched playing in the leagues and championships over the years are well capable, able, dedicated and imo well able to beat Dublin. One point is just a kick of the ball, that's how tight the game was for me. No matter the analysis of the play, the lads did not drop their heads and kept fighting to the end. I hope to see the same sort of spirit this year and perhaps culminating in getting that extra point. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

Any of yee Mayo season ticket holders looking to join season ticket groups this year, or willing to set up a group and invite other Mayo supporters to join (up to 10 per group) Some groups are filling up, they are looking for more to join.

http://mayoclub51.com/club-51-seating-groups/

Club-51-logo.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

Mayo team to face Roscommon on Sunday.

R.Hennelly

K.Keane
    G.Cafferkey
    C.Boyle

B.Harrison
    S.McHale
    D.Drake

T.Parsons
    A.O'Shea

D.O'Connor
    A.Moran
    A.Gallagher

K.McLoughlin
    A.Freeman
    D.Coen

Subs B.Walsh, K.Rogers, J.Gibbons, B.Gallagher, C.Carolan, M.Conroy, E.Varley, L.Keegan, C.Freeman, K.Higgins

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Strong team that.
    When did Tom Parsons come back, thought he had left Ireland? Or is that someone else?

Any word on Barry Moran?

Apparently Parsons was last on the Mayo panel in 2011 (changed team now) he was U21 in 2009 making him around 25,26. Barry Moran held back for the club AI semi final i'd say.

Haven't seen the Roscommon line up however that strong Mayo team named should win by around 4-6 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Apparently Parsons was last on the Mayo panel in 2011 (changed team now) he was U21 in 2009 making him around 25,26. Barry Moran held back for the club AI semi final i'd say.

Haven't seen the Roscommon line up however that strong Mayo team named should win by around 4-6 points.

Oh, really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Quite a poor performance by Mayo.First half we won a bit of ball and tagged on a few scores.Andy Moran was outstanding in the half,2 lovely scores and a wonderful playmaker.
    Whatever the rossies did at half time seemed to work,totally ceased the initiative,dominated the second half.
    Thought Colm Boyle was lucky not to get a black card in the first half,the infuriating spectacle of Robert Hennelly taking 45s continues.Alan Freeman had an off day taking frees on the ground,strange logic given the conditions.
    Mayo forwards were ponderous,over elaborating and passing responsibility for taking a score.Kevin McLoughlin and Jason Doherty were largely anonymous.
    Thought the backs did quite well,under a lot of pressure.Shane McHale stood out in the first half.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Thought there was very little movement among the forwards especially in the second half, and the play was far too direct and down the middle. At many stages the full and half forward lines for mayo were in a straight line down the middle of the pitch with no runs or movement into the space or the corners.

Today highlights the difference in quality between a full strength starting 15 and the rest of the squad. Without O'Shea today it could have been a lot worse. In fairness Parsons was solid for most of the match beside him but faded late on.

K4t wrote: »
    Thought there was very little movement among the forwards especially in the second half, and the play was far too direct and down the middle. At many stages the full and half forward lines for mayo were in a straight line down the middle of the pitch with no runs or movement into the space or the corners.

Today highlights the difference in quality between a full strength starting 15 and the rest of the squad. Without O'Shea today it could have been a lot worse. In fairness Parsons was solid for most of the match beside him but faded late on.

Thought both were well beaten. Maybe one forage forward by AOS and a few passes. The dirty ball around the middle will always be a problem for a man of AOS's size. Probably Mayo's weakest sector overall today.

Yeah i was wrong very wrong with that prediction, i'll wait for the Roscommon line up in the future ;)

In fairness Murtagh,Cathal Shine could be two big players for Roscommon this year.

Cathal Shine has always had the talent, now that he's fully fit after his back injury he's coming on in leaps and bounds.

Andy looks back to his best and Adam Gallagher was as impressive as I expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

Missed the match today as was heading abroad. Lost radio receptn at 6 point s to 3. What happened after that.

Not to push any red buttons too early . Sorry I'm trigger happy. But where is Evan regan .he seems to be the Suarez of scoring at the moment but no county experience. Next and I know this is expected to leave out Barry Moran but after club commitments he needs to be in midfield. Sorry aiden. But well done on giving young down and oconner starts.

I'm thinking there are good forwards coming through but just to realise them now .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 whocares

Whats is the story with Conor OShea. He seems to be injured for a very long time. Will he be available to play for the Mayo U21s this year. How come if injured he was carried on Mayo team all last summer and brought to Dubai on holidays etc, when evan regan who had recovered from injury and was playing well was dropped.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

whocares wrote: »
    Whats is the story with Conor OShea. He seems to be injured for a very long time. Will he be available to play for the Mayo U21s this year. How come if injured he was carried on Mayo team all last summer and brought to Dubai on holidays etc, when evan regan who had recovered from injury and was playing well was dropped.

He was on the NUIG team there so isn't injured. Maybe because he is a better option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

Slightly off topic, the Allianz Prediction league is up and running again this year. Will there be a boards.ie mini league? For anyone that wants to join Mayo Club 51's mini league, details here;

http://mayoclub51.com/allianz-prediction-league-2014/

yop wrote: »
    He was on the NUIG team there so isn't injured. Maybe because he is a better option.

Did he actually play for NUIG or was he just a sub. I cannot remember when he played his last full match club or county.

He was on mayo panel all last year and got absolutely no game time in the league or FBD, yet the likes of Evan Regan, Brian Gallagher, Alan Murphy etc who were all considered good enough to bring on in league semi final (or was it final) against Dublin got dropped.

I am not giving out about the lad but cannot see how he got kept on panel all last year when he had what appears to be a long term injury. I just think the likes of Regan who was playing awful well for his club when he got dropped would have been more valuable on the panel last September when Cillian had such a bad shoulder injury and Freeman had the flu, than a man who was carry long term injury.

Did he actually play for NUIG or was he just a sub. I cannot remember when he played his last full match club or county.

He was on mayo panel all last year and got absolutely no game time in the league or FBD, yet the likes of Evan Regan, Brian Gallagher, Alan Murphy etc who were all considered good enough to bring on in league semi final (or was it final) against Dublin got dropped.

I am not giving out about the lad but cannot see how he got kept on panel all last year when he had what appears to be a long term injury. I just think the likes of Regan who was playing awful well for his club when he got dropped would have been more valuable on the panel last September when Cillian had such a bad shoulder injury and Freeman had the flu, than a man who was carry long term injury.

Sadly that's not what happened. Even I don't want to open that can of worms again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭grainuaile

Syferus wrote: »
    Sadly that's not what happened. Even I don't want to open that can of worms again.

You can sing that Syferus :) felt the old rage boiling when I read that line but feck it its over and done with......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,804 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Would appreciate a PM with the details of the Freeman thing, never heard the truth of that story!

For what its worth I don't believe he had the flu either and I don't think anybody else does. Just making the point that I don't understand carrying an injured player on the panel all year.

Interesting to see that Freeman went on team holiday. Don't think that Richie Feeney did though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Got my Cairde Maigh Eo season ticket today, roll on Newbridge!

For what its worth I don't believe he had the flu either and I don't think anybody else does. Just making the point that I don't understand carrying an injured player on the panel all year.

Interesting to see that Freeman went on team holiday. Don't think that Richie Feeney did though.

Are you sure about that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Castlebar training for AI Semi maybe?

So had Tom Cunniffe and Barry Moran but they went

So he definitely didn't go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Are you sure about that?

Thought he'd a family wedding and flew out a few days afterwards?Subject to correction.

seligehgit wrote: »
    Thought he'd a family wedding and flew out a few days afterwards?Subject to correction.

I was waiting to hear from whocares who seems to know the ins and out of the Mayo team going by his first few posts ;)

Yip he went, I was out with him the night before he went out with them. Its a bit like the story of his fallout with Horan in the AI final.
    Sometimes you'd swear people were more concerned with gossip and trying to discredit the Mayo team including manager and players instead of ignoring all the BS that comes out pub talk etc.

League in a couple of weeks now and hopefully we get a good run in it. Tough start to it with 2 away games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

League in a couple of weeks now and hopefully we get a good run in it. Tough start to it with 2 away games.
    can't wait