Quinn assistant who said he had 'no work to do' in line for €33k rise and promotion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

LeBash wrote: »
    He had all his work done. 66k raises for all!
    Who said anything about a 66k raise for anyone?
    eviltwin wrote: »
    What exactly does a 'special assistant' do? Is it mostly an admin job? Regardless of whether he was finished his work or had none to do the salary is excessive.
    It seems to be, but the rot starts at the top - people shouldn't be buying into the spindo taking shots at the easy target of someone down the ranks.
    pundy wrote: »
    ah, good oul' Ireland.
    What does that even mean?
    stmol32 wrote: »
    I had a look at the comments on the Independents site..... ho lee fook.
    Seriously, don't do that to yourself. Very very unhappy, angry, nasty people out there - epitomised by Independent.ie's reader comments section.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,004 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Ah for the love of the flying spaghetti monster.... I'm the first one to complain about public sector inefficiency but even I'm not gonna have a go on a different form of social media, during a quiet patch in my own Friday evening's work about a public sector worker who cleared his inbox on a Friday evening and tweeted about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Idbatterim wrote: »
    moderators feel free to move if this is being discussed elsewhere. Came across this article earlier, its actually mind blowing, I know people working their asses off for just over 20,000 a year. Here you have somebody showing up for work, doing SFA else, bragging about it and getting 47,000 for the privilege?

If he got his workload finished in time for the weekend, what's the issue here? OP and the Indo are being a tad unreasonable methinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

What does that even mean?

it means there are several pockets of this countries society that think they are empowered middle/upper class citizens with their money ruling their happiness. they feel like their opinion is the ultimate definition on things.
    all this sh!te goes on in this country all the time, and it's because of ar5e-hole money-obsessed, title-obsessed, lifestyle-obsessed nut jobs who have nothing joyous in their lives so feel the need to berate everyone else with their smug attitudes and unrealistic arguments.

my point is, this doesnt shock me in the slightest to see.. there's a lot of cvnts in this kip of a country that deserve to be shot over the way they go on. if you feel empowered, you're probably not at all. you dont deserve to be, and you are down in the gutter with the rest of the scum, walking in the p!ss.

so there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Never mind all that, did you hear there's someone on the dole getting €188 a week while looking for work :mad: the **** and *** *****

*sarcasm for the thickwits here* :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

He should be shot. We should all be shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

Seriously, don't do that to yourself. Very very unhappy, angry, nasty people out there - epitomised by Independent.ie's reader comments section.

I know now, in my naivety I thought there'd be the same type of commenters as boards, never again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

He had no work to do at 5pm on a Friday afternoon, because he'd got it done.
    What exactly is the problem?

Maybe we shouldn't promote people who can efficiently get through their workload?
    The clean desk brigade?
    They don't work, or delegate it, and then go and brown-nose the boss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    If he got his workload finished in time for the weekend, what's the issue here? OP and the Indo are being a tad unreasonable methinks

This.

The Indo are legendary are stirring up sh*te to have people at each others throats.

Fair play to him for getting through the workload. Enjoy the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

The half a billion that is to be saved on procurement, more pocket change. Why wasn't this targeted years ago? fair play for getting through the workload? That or he doesn't have much to do...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,649 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

the real pity is that luke byrne has nothing better to do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

He had no work to do at 5pm on a Friday afternoon, because he'd got it done.
    What exactly is the problem?

Maybe we shouldn't promote people who can efficiently get through their workload?

This whole story annoys me. It was a headline in the Indo. How people can't see through it i'll never know. The headline made out that the guy has no work to do. When in reality he just got through his workload and tweeted about it in happiness. I know the feeling every few months you get on top of your workload completely and its great to look at your in tray with nothing in it.

Somebody efficient?! Fire him!!

Having a small bit of knowledge of the type of work this is too (I didn't work in the same role, but I had dealings with people working such a role) it involves a huge amount. If it gets quiet though, what is the employee supposed to do? Create work out of thin air?
    pundy wrote: »
    it means there are several pockets of this countries society that think they are empowered middle/upper class citizens with their money ruling their happiness. they feel like their opinion is the ultimate definition on things.
    all this sh!te goes on in this country all the time, and it's because of ar5e-hole money-obsessed, title-obsessed, lifestyle-obsessed nut jobs who have nothing joyous in their lives so feel the need to berate everyone else with their smug attitudes and unrealistic arguments.

my point is, this doesnt shock me in the slightest to see.. there's a lot of cvnts in this kip of a country that deserve to be shot over the way they go on. if you feel empowered, you're probably not at all. you dont deserve to be, and you are down in the gutter with the rest of the scum, walking in the p!ss.

so there.
    What... does that have to do with this non story?
    diomed wrote: »
    The clean desk brigade?
    They don't work, or delegate it, and then go and brown-nose the boss.
    And then there are people who just do their work efficiently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

eviltwin wrote: »
    What exactly does a 'special assistant' do? Is it mostly an admin job? Regardless of whether he was finished his work or had none to do the salary is excessive.

So you don't know what the job entails but you do know that the salary is excessive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Hope the OP has never worked in England.

A lot of people don't come back from the pub lunch on a Friday. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

All I know is: one tweet rejoicing at a quiet Friday (which never happens in the private sector, ever) = solid proof

Wrong. My current job is private sector and most employees are just killing time until half 3 on a Friday due to not having enough to do/not wanting to do it. The private sector isnt always the slave-fest busy machine its often made out to be. Far from it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

I've nothing to do after 5pm every day. I'm quite proud of that. Mainly as it means I got it all done before 5. Which is the time I finish doing stuff. That makes a waster? I thought that makes you a realist and efficent. It's the people still slogging away after 5 I wonder about. Ye had all bloomin day lads, was it not enough for ye?

Wrong. My current job is private sector and most employees are just killing time until half 3 on a Friday due to not having enough to do/not wanting to do it. The private sector isnt always the slave-fest busy machine its often made out to be. Far from it.
    Oh I know, I was being ironic. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

I've nothing to do after 5pm every day. I'm quite proud of that. Mainly as it means I got it all done before 5. Which is the time I finish doing stuff. That makes a waster? I thought that makes you a realist and efficent. It's the people still slogging away after 5 I wonder about. Ye had all bloomin day lads, was it not enough for ye?

It wouldn't matter to me if i still had work to do at 5. I'm out the door once the clock hits 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Where is the evidence that he is efficient? It could be a case that he's vastly overpaid already. I'm not saying that is the case but is there evidence that he is indeed efficient?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Fair play to him I say.he got his work done on time and obviously he's a good enough worker that they want to hold onto him and give him a raise. I'd like to think they wouldn't be long sending him on in sure if he was useless but this is the public sector so I remain somewhat sceptical.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    is there evidence that he is indeed efficient?
    Yeh, he got all his work done before end of day Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Hunchback

5starpool wrote: »
    People in making a big deal over nothing shocker.

No offence to you my friend, but I am so fkcuking sick of people using that "x in a y shocker' phrase....aaaaargh!!!!

Yeh, he got all his work done before end of day Friday.

How much work was that? Work is a variable and efficiency is dependent on time and work.

Not meaning to be too logical about this but I would be interested how much work gets done in X amount of time to warrant a 33k pay rise. That's a ludicrous amount. We are meant to be quite broke at the moment with major cuts on the health and education services in this country. A 33K increase for one man is ludicrous without good reason.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    How much work was that? Work is a variable and efficiency is dependent on time and work.
    How would it mean not being efficient though?

It wouldn't mean not being efficient at all. I'm not saying he wasn't I'm just saying there no evidence to say that he is. He is getting a 33k pay rise which is more than a lot of people in this country earn in the first place. People seem to be justifying that saying he is efficient. Efficiency is a measure of work in x amount of time. We don't know how efficient he is without knowing how much work he had to do.

The other side of that is an empty email box shouldn't mean zero work.

Others are keen to believe he's not efficient because it's public sector. It's a strange bitterness.

That's true as well.