2 shot, 1 dead, for texting in a Florida cinema

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

Who brings a gun to the movies?

Americans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

People texting while you trying to watch a movie is annoying, but not that annoying 0.o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭whats the point

God bless America..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

tbh though, people on their mobile in the cinema is fcuking annoying

:mad:

Not sure I'd shoot someone over it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

WTF?

Who brings a gun to the movies?

How else can you open a can of Coke????:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I'm going to hazard a tiny guess that the shooter was a lunatic and wasn't expressly prompted into doing it by the texting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    tbh though, people on their mobile in the cinema is fcuking annoying

:mad:
    Not sure I'd shoot someone over it though.
    An argument started when the male victim was texting during the previews before a showing of Lone Survivor, Nocco said.The male suspect, who was sitting behind the couple, took out a gun and shot them both, Nocco said

Wasn't even during the actual movie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

People using their phones when they went to watch a film is very irritating...shooting someone is a bit much.

Ironically, they were previewing a film called "Lone Survivor". One died and one lived...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭fatbhoy

Americans.

Ah here...

wexie wrote: »
    Wasn't even during the actual movie?

Gotta make things clear early on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭SimonLynch

Had a giggly group behind me in the Metro during Stop Making Sense, can't remember what I said (Beam me up Scottie) but it was a bit Psychokiller, they shut up.

Gotta make things clear early on.

Show 'em who's boss like?

He should have found a different way, going to be a long time before he sees the movie now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

The **** is wrong with some people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

Someone ruining your movie experience, the best way to deal with it is shooting them.

Yeah because then you can go back to enjoying the movie :confused:

The **** is wrong with some people?

That's why nut cases and guns don't mix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

SimonLynch wrote: »
    Had a giggly group behind me in the Metro during Stop Making Sense, can't remember what I said (Beam me up Scottie) but it was a bit Psychokiller, they shut up.

I hate people when they're not polite.:(

Fair play to the person who stopped him. For all he knew it could have been another mass murder incident about to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,367 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Shoot me a text
    I'm sure the guy thought he was doing right thing by shooting him.And maybe will be found innocent in a court of law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

fatbhoy wrote: »
    Ah here...

Nope, not here, luckily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,367 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Fair play to the person who stopped him. For all he knew it could have been another mass murder incident about to happen.

Was at cinema, texting in mass annoying too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,098 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Would the shooting not be louder and more distracting than the texting?

Just realised this wasn't a story from The Onion!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭Tugboats

USA USA USA!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

They'll probably ban cinemas before they ban guns...:rolleyes:

Was at cinema, texting in mass annoying too

Can't laugh at your attempt at trying to be funny, because it wasn't funny.

I was just thinking that. Must be a very brave individual.

The shooter was likely unhinged anyway and if guns weren't around it'd be his fists, a samurai sword, a kitchen knife or an iron bar instead.

Candie wrote: »
    I was just thinking that. Must be a very brave individual.

The shooter was likely unhinged anyway and if guns weren't around it'd be his fists, a samurai sword, a kitchen knife or an iron bar instead.

I'd prefer my chances outrunning a knife more than I do a bullet 0.o

wexie wrote: »
    Show 'em who's boss like?

He should have found a different way, going to be a long time before he sees the movie now.

He'll see it before the dead guy.

I'd prefer going to the cinema and not be knifed, bludgeoned, stabbed, shot blown up or otherwise harmed.

Y'know....like we used to do in Ye Olden Days

You might never see it coming.

You weren't there man! You don't know!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭Courtesy Flush

WTF?

Who brings a gun to the movies? The shooter was captured, the person sitting next to the gunman disarmed him and held him until police arrived.

http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation/2014/01/13/wesley-chapel-florida-shooting-movie-theater/4457907/

http://abcnews.go.com/US/wireStory/shot-tampa-bay-area-movie-theater-21517384

The right to bear arms eh