Annoying Grafton Street preformers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Every day I get off the luas and here this busker chap singing fast car. If you are reading this please stop.

Also no busker needs an amp. Its not busking if you use one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

I agree with the person above that the buskers themselves don't bother me so much as the giant perimeter they create bang in the middle of the street.

My sole exception to this is the incredibly obnoxious magician dude who sometimes sets up outside Stephen's Green. I watched him because a friend wanted to see him. He took forever to do one trick and had the ****tiest attitude to the public I've ever seen, just an out and out tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Every day I get off the luas and here this busker chap singing fast car. If you are reading this please stop.

Also no busker needs an amp. Its not busking if you use one.

ah i think you might be referring to a mate of mine there,his repetoire is,as follows. 1.Fast Car,2.Mad world,3.wonderwall. That's it. Nothing else. Just those three.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Its the ones who have baloons and other bits and bobs they give to children, then hassle you for a euro. I still tell them to fück off - really get on ky t!ts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

My only complaint with street performers (and chuggers) is that they go out of their way to be 'in the way'. I realize there are some tourists who might want to go someplace and see some lively Dublin street performers and all - but Grafton street is a big shopping center. Most people I see aren't paying any attention to the performers, they are trying to shop.

The performers seem to want to interject themselves between you and where you want to go.

Maybe I'm wrong, but I'd love if they picked a different location. Give a small section a small section in the park and let people who want to appreciate their performances walk across the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

UCDVet wrote: »
    but Grafton street is a big shopping center..

Just to stop you there, It's a street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

Bambi wrote: »
    Just to stop you there, It's a street.

You're splitting semantical hairs....and you're not even correct. Words and phrases frequently have multiple meanings.

It's not a 'shopping centre' in the sense that Stephen's Greens shopping centre is or Stillorgan shopping centre is. But it's certainly a shopping center.

Go to Google and type in:
    define: center (notice that there will be several results :) )
    a place or group of buildings where a specified activity is concentrated

The specific activity is 'shopping' and I don't think anyone would claim that Grafton street is not a place or group of buildings where shopping is concentrated.

Wikipedia agrees - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grafton_Street
    Grafton Street (Irish: Sráid Grafton) is one of the two principal shopping streets in Dublin city centre, the other being Henry Street...

// The more you know....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

for a narrow street like Grafton street there should be rules. The crowds need to cop on too. It's impossible to walk down the street sometimes!

I'm surprised nobody has used the "but U2 did it" argument yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yeah Shop Street can be pretty bad at times too but we just grin and bear it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,158 ✭✭✭✭Degag

The best one is that fella dressed as a sultan who looks like he's floating in mid air.

Think I have him figured out though:pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

some buskers are on the streets hail rain or snow out of necessity and not just for the craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

There's 1 gimp on shop street in Galway who tries to beatbox through a digeridoo and just sounds like a spastic. Yet, at the other end of shop there is usually a great group who do a lot of Irish folk and trad led by a guy who is the spit of Luke Kelly in both looks and sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭chrissb8

The original statue guys were ok, but these days they wear masks and stuff which is cheating imo.

I love the fact there is a standard for you for people standing still. I laughed at that,thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

biko wrote: »
    Yeah Shop Street can be pretty bad at times too but we just grin and bear it.

I have to say that the busker quality in Galway (on average) is much much higher. Especially on arts week.

During Xmas i thought some of the charity buskers were a little cheeky. The choirs were grand but some of the people collecting while they sang were a bit too aggressive & over enthusiastic. I know it was for a good cause but there's no need to be in peoples faces

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭kevin65

Schwiiing wrote: »
    There's 1 gimp on shop street in Galway who tries to beatbox through a digeridoo and just sounds like a spastic. Yet, at the other end of shop there is usually a great group who do a lot of Irish folk and trad led by a guy who is the spit of Luke Kelly in both looks and sound.

Totally agree, that assh*le with the digeridoo is pure sh*te, sounds like a constipated dog farting down a drainpipe.

Think that banjo player is a member of a group, the Atlantic Pirates, they are excellent alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

bonzodog2 wrote: »
    I got a filthy look from one of these guys when I told him "Psst, you're on TV". Made him look round!

They say it puts 10 pounds on people alright

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

kevin65 wrote: »
    Totally agree, that assh*le with the digeridoo is pure sh*te, sounds like a constipated dog farting down a drainpipe.

Think that banjo player is a member of a group, the Atlantic Pirates, they are excellent alright.

This post caused me to shoot tea out me nose .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

FAS should do a busking course with certification. Dublin CC should require certification to busk in a public area. It would cover basic things like not being annoying, crap or too loud.

They should also do a cert in internet whinging. The stander is quite low sometimes, I feel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

EyeSight wrote: »
    I'm surprised nobody has used the "but U2 did it" argument yet

considering how Bono turned out, that'd be the perfect argument against allowing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭kevin65

This post caused me to shoot tea out me nose .

If you can do that, you should get yourself down to Grafton Street:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

The sand sculpting buskers are the best. Anytime you walk by its always a finished design like a dog laying down and your man pretending to touch it up with the brush :pac:

Of course they always put the mould back away in their bag :pac:

vektarman wrote: »
    I think some of it is good!

Jayus - I just realised junkies are vastly superior dancers than I will ever be - they've got some nice feet movement :)

• Administrators Posts: 56,569 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

The sand sculpture guy makes the exact same dog every single day. Does he just make it once during the day and sit pretending to be finishing it off for the remainder so that every single person walking past gets to see it just as he supposedly finishes it?

Or maybe it's just coincidence for all the times that I walk past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,060 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

gvn wrote: »
    That Japanese guy with his "authentic" dress and dance accompanied by disturbing guttural noises.

Think he might be a Mongolian doing tuva

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

awec wrote: »
    The sand sculpture guy makes the exact same dog every single day. Does he just make it once during the day and sit pretending to be finishing it off for the remainder so that every single person walking past gets to see it just as he supposedly finishes it?

Or maybe it's just coincidence for all the times that I walk past.

I used to think it was just a coincidence when I walked by too. But its not. Seen him too many times at different points of the day. Has to bust out a sand-mould when ever he starts, who cares if a few hundred passing by see what he does because when he is finished the thousands of people walking by later on will think its such a beautiful piece of work and will throw a few quid :pac:

Smart. Good on him.

Nothing against teenagers busking with limited talent. That's the beauty of Grafton Street, in that anybody with a bit of practice and a pair of b*lls can turn up on a Saturday, have a go and earn a bit of pocket money.

Sort of like Dublin's version of Hyde Park Corner.

Negativity has quelled many a talent in the cradle