If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

SoccerManager.com (#2) The Boards.ie World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

Couldn't care less either way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

JamboMac wrote: »
    Couldn't care less either way.

Good for you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

GT_TDI_150 wrote: »
    Pompey,

I here by offer you first dibs on Giggs at face value.

FCP

The above was offered @ 10:00.

Portsmouth went onto SM but Giggs was unavailable at the time, I made him available, almost immediatly. Pompey have been online since I made him available and havent bid.

I offered Pompey first refusal and am a man of my word. He has until 10:00 tomorrow to bid, after that I'm offering him to all D2/3/4 clubs that want him. If pompey do bid after that time they will go into a draw same as the other teams in the lower leagues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭TheGunns

Finally D2 counted as lower leagues :P

See, it's where I started ;)

Peoplez ...

I'm after a young 89-90 DC or DMC or MC ... gimme a shout if ya have one parked up somewhere

Porto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭Peanut Butter Jelly

Portsmouth went onto SM but Giggs was unavailable at the time, I made him available, almost immediatly. Pompey have been online since I made him available and havent bid.

I offered Pompey first refusal and am a man of my word. He has until 10:00 tomorrow to bid, after that I'm offering him to all D2/3/4 clubs that want him. If pompey do bid after that time they will go into a draw same as the other teams in the lower leagues.

Don't mean to be rude, but he's had 24 hours at first refusal, and if he's been online in that time after Giggs was set to available, then he has, IMO, had his fair chance. I don't think he should be included in the draw if it goes ahead.

TSC ... you on chat over on SM?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Danger781

I'd gladly take Giggs at face value.. Gladly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Looks like Giggsy being raffled!

Ok, the 10:00 deadline has passed ...

Here's the deal:

Portsmouth had 24hrs to stick in a bid but didnt so GIGGS is now available to teams in all D2 / D3 / D4 ( going by the D's people will be in for S3)

I will do a draw for this ( have no webcam but will send one person the list of teams and will ask another person to pick a number at random.

One difference from previous sales like this:

Giggs is valued @ 5.75m

People can offer as much or as little as they like, even p/x (but I will consider the players offered and might be countering the offers if not happy with p/x(i.e dont go offering a 33yr old 79rated ;)) just make sure it meets minimum value. Be smart, dont go offering too much :cool:

Giggs record for me in 2 seasons:
    Club Comp App GS Ass MoM AvP YC RC
    Porto League 53 (4) 5 3 0 7.06 4 0

Good Luck.

PS: I'll be accepting the winning bid Sunday after 22:00 so get you're offers in before then

Division 2 teams you say.....

Jaysus you like to make it complicated! :D

Al Capwned wrote: »
    Division 2 teams you say.....
    in the interest of fairness I cant exclude one team from a division just because of their riches but ... there is always said club managers integrity which might refrain him from bidding ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭Value Hunter

Bit of a cynical attitude Wilberto,

I hardly came on here to say i'm leaving in the hope someone offers me a player for essentially nothing, would make me look very stupid if no one offered and I was then left with just my bluff wouldn't it....

I came here to explain my reasons for leaving, a lot of you see them as valid, with the squad I have I feel i've worked wonders.

All those complaining I could have signed better players by pointing out the crop of the best deals for 89's are using 20/20 hindsight

And anyway, €17 million won't get me much, its not 89 players you need in Division 2, its 90+

I haven't one 90+ player

Those saying I could of gotten Ferdinand or similar ancient players, I suggest you re- read my posts - I specifically pointed out how all I could possibly hope to get was 35+ age players rated over 90, who will obviously drop rapidly soon - Ferdinand is a classic example ironically

I'll still be leaving this game world, a massive thanks to the Porto manager for his generous offer, and to Tupac for his encouragement

All i'm waiting for is the rule to be changed on buying from unmanaged clubs before I resign

Edit: why don't some of my critics take over Pompey? Lets see how yous fair with a club with a 20,000 seater and 88 average squad in Division 2?

I hardly came on here to say i'm leaving in the hope someone offers me a player for essentially nothing, would make me look very stupid if no one offered and I was then left with just my bluff wouldn't it....

I came here to explain my reasons for leaving, a lot of you see them as valid, with the squad I have I feel i've worked wonders.

All those complaining I could have signed better players by pointing out the crop of the best deals for 89's are using 20/20 hindsight

And anyway, €17 million won't get me much, its not 89 players you need in Division 2, its 90+

I haven't one 90+ player

Those saying I could of gotten Ferdinand or similar ancient players, I suggest you re- read my posts - I specifically pointed out how all I could possibly hope to get was 35+ age players rated over 90, who will obviously drop rapidly soon - Ferdinand is a classic example ironically

I'll still be leaving this game world, a massive thanks to the Porto manager for his generous offer, and to Tupac for his encouragement

All i'm waiting for is the rule to be changed on buying from unmanaged clubs before I resign

Edit: why don't some of my critics take over Pompey? Lets see how yous fair with a club with a 20,000 seater and 88 average squad in Division 2?

To be fair to Pompey I had asked him not to take the option on Giggs if he was leaving so I could offer him to all the lower divisions.

Seems he didnt just make an offer for the sake of it ...

btw, if you do leave ... remember where we are ... yo u can always come back

I was at Sao Paulo for 3/4 of the last season in div 2. They spent a few weeks with no manager, were stripped of their good players and still finished above you, as did the 2 other promoted teams. I did my stint at a lower team and my reward was a move to Bayern, as was the Barca, Madrid, Milan, etc managers.

The lost 10 key players from December onwards, when the season was practically over. Hardly fair to insinuate that they finished 10th with their current squad is it? But sure just tweak the facts to suit yourself mate

in the interest of fairness I cant exclude one team from a division just because of their riches but ... there is always said club managers integrity which might refrain him from bidding ;)

The lost 10 key players from December onwards, when the season was practically over. Hardly fair to insinuate that they finished 10th with their current squad is it? But sure just tweak the facts to suit yourself mate

Even if they lost no players at all, they were an 88 rated team that finished above you as did the other two promoted teams. Like I said, you can login all you want but if you're not doing anything, ie signing players, then you may as well not login at all

The facts are, you haven't signed anyone in 2 months, that's about 16 games or more. If you made an effort I'd have no problem with your original post but you didn't, so I do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

I haven't one 90+ player

Would you not consider taking a division 4 team and sticking around? See how far up the rankings you get?

MrMac84 wrote: »
    Would you not consider taking a division 4 team and sticking around? See how far up the rankings you get?

Not very far if he only signs someone every 2 months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

PM on SM for you ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭TheGunns

Why does everyone think you have to sign players all the time as a sign you're doing something? Just curious as I never thought of it like that as I've signed 1 player between September and January, don't really feel disadvantaged though. If anything I feel like my squad is stronger (although I have probably overpaid massively at times) and although relegation threatened I managed a top half finish. Largely I think this was down to tactics I changed mid season and spent quite some time trying to pick the best one. So I don't think it's necessary to sign players consistently and be changing your squad a couple times a season.

For someone like Portsmouth though, I think relegation might have benefited them more as Div 3/4 get more rub of the green ;)

TheGunns wrote: »
    Why does everyone think you have to sign players all the time as a sign you're doing something? Just curious as I never thought of it like that as I've signed 1 player between September and January, don't really feel disadvantaged though. If anything I feel like my squad is stronger (although I have probably overpaid massively at times) and although relegation threatened I managed a top half finish. Largely I think this was down to tactics I changed mid season and spent quite some time trying to pick the best one. So I don't think it's necessary to sign players consistently and be changing your squad a couple times a season.

For someone like Portsmouth though, I think relegation might have benefited them more as Div 3/4 get more rub of the green ;)

It's not the only sign but it's one of them. If my team went an a crap run I'd change tactics, if it still didn't work I'd look to bring new players in. I wouldn't come on giving out about not being able to sign good players when there are clearly plenty of players to be signed

In the 3 months before you left Sao Paulo you signed one player....

And you paid 9 million in cash for him and a young guy worth 2.8 million

In exchange you got a 88 worth 7.8 million

Oh yes, your the transfer king

I think it's the fact that he said 17m gets you nothing, and then been shown what value you can get if you look in the transfer lists.

I'm not complaining about signing players... You are. I didn't feel the need to sign players as I was doing fine with Sao Paulo. I did win div 3 ;)

If you bought players, you'd realise that the "Worth" stands for pretty much nothing from 88 rated and up. The player could be sold for 2-3 times that.

I think it's the fact that he said 17m gets you nothing, and then been shown what value you can get if you look in the transfer lists.

Exactly