Garda Recruitment- The Waiting to Apply Room

• Site Banned Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Raider190

Scouser wrote: »
    what im getting at is theres no reason for anybody to approach anyone for a reference at the mo as theres nothing to be filled in or submitted

at the end of the day, senior management will be asked to supply reports on conduct and service of GRs for HR regardless. These reports maybe glowing or they may be damning

we'll never know

and at the end of the day, anybody, regardless of GR or Civvy can put down ANY member of AGS on their form that they may wish and its not for you to comment on nor is it an abuse. its on the form so therefore is allowed and acceptable

you would want to be careful with your corruption claims my good man[/QU

Spot on. Making such comments just demonstrates a complete lack of knowledge. and understanding

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Raider190 wrote: »
    Same old stuff from you Cruz nothing new if you were even applying I would give your comments some credence but you have stated your not so why waste serious posters time with such innate scribblings

So you seriously believe that a person in the Garda Reserve that has not performed well has the same chance of being successful in the competition as a Garda Reserve that has performed well and made a good impression on the supervisors.
    I think common sense would say otherwise.

And think about the amount of them in the past with that attitude who applied and who actually got the jobs....................some of them currently cant even tuck their shirts into their pants

They are in and you are not so show a little respect they are the men and women who ensure you can walk safely on our streets

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    So you seriously believe that a person in the Garda Reserve that has not performed well has the same chance of being successful in the competition as a Garda Reserve that has performed well and made a good impression on the supervisors.
    I think common sense would say otherwise.

More nonsense you are not a reserve and have no intention of applying to either the reserve or the full time so what is it you are exactly doing in this forum apart from trolling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

There is some s***e being talked by the the two of you AGAIN. Ye are heading for another ban so just get over ye're dick measuring and grow up. The forum would be better off without all the knowledge and brilliance that ye think ye have!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Jimmymcnulty86

I'm actually cringing reading through these Garda forums, there is a couple posters who should never be given any of the powers of being a Garda, would be dangerous

thekopend wrote: »
    There is some s***e being talked by the the two of you AGAIN. Ye are heading for another ban so just get over ye're dick measuring and grow up. The forum would be better off without all the knowledge and brilliance that ye think ye have!

Who asked you old man when I ask for your input you will hear from me. Otherwise keep your lap top bravery to yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scouser

draw the line here the lot of yas

this isnt good for anyone

Scouser wrote: »
    draw the line here the lot of yas

this isnt good for anyone

I am posting from a position of knowledge and experience. Look at what I have posted (apart from the odd swipe) you will see what I post makes sense.
    Don't throw me in with you know who

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Raider190 banned for two weeks for personal abuse.

This thread needs to stay on topic and remain civil, or others will follow in his foot steps.

D Trent wrote: »
    Have a glance at this for BS. Makes me so angry

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/gardai-cleared-of-assault-but-face-14k-bill-254569.html?fb_action_ids=10202240998340305&fb_action_types=og.recommends&fb_ref=.Us0yKyvqZlo.like&fb_source=other_multiline&action_object_map=%5B701032663262708%5D&action_type_map=%5B%22og.recommends%22%5D&action_ref_map=%5B%22.Us0yKyvqZlo.like%22%5D[/QUOTE]

It makes a lot of people angry. It dosen't help Gardaí to have much confidence in GSOC impartiality if that is the way they are going to push prosecutions.
    Is it any wonder that Gardaí are reluctant to get involved with GSOC?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Shady Tady

Raider190 wrote: »
    More nonsense. No reserve I know does a four hour shift. It proves your ignorance of the subject you are constantly commenting on. You are not a reserve so what exactly qualifies to comment. As for banging on about GSOC, grow up and submit some constructive posts.

You fudged the whole question, you know it is corrupt but you won't even address it, enough said!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Hitchroun

ANYWAY, which of you lads are planning to apply this intake?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭D Trent

Ridiculous that there will be no open day in Templemore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

D Trent wrote: »
    Ridiculous that there will be no open day in Templemore

Why would you need an open day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 jemaro

join the military do 4 yrs and when u get out you're ready to take the test and go on or, take the test while in the military and get put on a military list if you are called with with the NYPD and when u r discharged from the military just take your medical and physical and you're in. Sometimes they can push up the waiting time for citizenship while in the service. If you have to worry about billboards and wanted posters the job ain't for you. All cops carry Glocks w/18 clip magazine w/2 extra clips if you're worried about wanted posters :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Hitchroun

jemaro wrote: »
    join the military do 4 yrs and when u get out you're ready to take the test and go on or, take the test while in the military and get put on a military list if you are called with with the NYPD and when u r discharged from the military just take your medical and physical and you're in. Sometimes they can push up the waiting time for citizenship while in the service. If you have to worry about billboards and wanted posters the job ain't for you. All cops carry Glocks w/18 clip magazine w/2 extra clips if you're worried about wanted posters :cool:

Yeah carrying Glock's is great and all, only problem is every thug has a gun too.

Like I said, if everyone worried about dieing in this world we would be all paralyzed not just mentally but physically, I do believe a few Garda lost their life by drowning, was it last year.. Police work is a profession but a dangerous profession. Airplane flying is dangerous too. NYPD raised the age limit to 35 but you must be appointed before your 36th birthday. You get credit for military time as an add on after 35. Mandatory retirement is 62 for everyone. The NYPD just graduated a class of 1200 recruits in December.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,893 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Folks I've just deleted too many posts that are either personal attacks, reactions to moderator affairs, or feeding the troll.

You're ALL here long enough, with the exception of one, to know that you don't respond to moderator business on-thread, you don't engage in personal abuse, either direct or indirect, and you don't feed the troll.

Stop allowing yourselves to be drawn in by a troll, because you're responsible for your own posts, even the knee-jerk posts. Hit 'Report Post', let the Mods do the job, and don't feed the trolls.

No comment on this post please, just get the thread back on topic.

Thanks,

Shield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Can hardly compare the two forces

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭thestar

Could anybody tell me if the report writing on the day of the interview is still part of the recruitment process? Dont see it mentioned anywhere

Can hardly compare the two forces

As far as?

as far as nobody cares. I asked a serious question and I'm still waiting for an answer? Also just so other fellow posters know, I am not all about questions, I have a lot to offer here but I need to be utilized in the correct manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

thestar wrote: »
    as far as nobody cares. I asked a serious question and I'm still waiting for an answer? Also just so other fellow posters know, I am not all about questions, I have a lot to offer here but I need to be utilized in the correct manner.

Yes the report writing will more than likely be included. It always has been and I can't see any changes to that. The info book says report writing could be one of the components of the testing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭D Trent

thestar wrote: »

Haha 'i need to be utilized in the correct manner' what are u a condom or something??

And you hardly expect to get instant multiple responses to your Q that you decide to ask at this hour of the morning

No surprisingly enough I'm not a condom!! Hows the study going for every1? I hate the idea of doing if from my laptop at home, much prefer to in an exam setting..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

Anyone else sh1tting it that the wifi will go on their laptop half way through the test!? Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭ann.lewis

Only a few more hours to go folks :)

Have to say not looking forward to the online tests one bit but so be it. Got to do what we gotta do I guess.

Hopefully they'll give us some info and prep material shortly after the closing date

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Faith and Justice

ann.lewis wrote: »
    Only a few more hours to go folks :)

Have to say not looking forward to the online tests one bit but so be it. Got to do what we gotta do I guess.

Hopefully they'll give us some info and prep material shortly after the closing date

I'd imagine the two online tests are to get rid of the people that aren't serious about the job.

The people that just applied for the sake of it are the ones that are unlikely to prepare, and more likely to fail. Plus a percentage of people won't even do the online tests.