Dublin Bus

1235»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Free cardboard boxes. I'm not completely heartless.

In all seriousness, the down and outs aren't the only people in society. The government have a responsibility to protect decent people too, by not leaving them taxed to the eyeballs and barely able to pay their mortgage while some other family could be dealing drugs, causing mayhem for their neighbours, getting plenty of taxpayers money and benefits in kind (free medical, free transport, uniform allowance on top of children's allowance ect) they have no responsibility for themselves. If they think drugs or being anti social is worth more than a home, leave them off to the Phoenix park and let them brave a few weeks of sleeping rough.

You seem slightly jealous of their fun packed lives

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,825 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Yes, none of it should ever happen but drivers are not security guards. I'd rather just stick to sitting downstairs, or ignoring the idiots because they generally leave you alone if you leave them alone.

The drivers are told to stay downstairs. Once a garage controller got on the Phibsboro radio to tell a 37 driver that there was a fight on his bus and to stay in his cab. The driver wasn't aware of the fight..

I've seen a syringe once on a bus...the nice and quiet 54A in 1999. It was noticed by a young girl, reported and the bus was taken out of service at the next terminus.

The 27 and 13 I use regularly and no such thing happens. Even the wild west of the 40. I certainly have never ever seen the bus covered in blood. Nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

You seem slightly jealous of their fun packed lives

I am. I'm so disappointed I wasn't sprogged at 15. I'm 25 now so I could have at least 6 kids by now, what a waste of a youth! :( now ill have to buy my own home and pay for my own things out of my own money and I can't even afford to have a drug problem.

My rights! Nobody cares for my rights

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

I cant understand the sympathy of some posters to some of the so called vulnerable when in reality they are nothing but drug addicted mutants. The city center is ruined by them, especially O'Connell street which is a main drop off point for tourists. Robberies and assaults are occurring on a daily basis. Many of these junkies are getting their drug money through social welfare with no questions asked. As a taxpayer it absolutely sickens me that this is where a huge chunk of my money is going.

Id be in favour of busing them off to a Hamsterdam type area so we can reclaim our beautiful city. Dublin CC is like the walking dead at the moment and the gardai couldnt give a flying f**k and want nothing to do with it although it can be argued they currently dont have the resources. They (the junkies) have f**ked up their lives so tough ****! Get them out of sight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

I am. I'm so disappointed I wasn't sprogged at 15. I'm 25 now so I could have at least 6 kids by now, what a waste of a youth! :( now ill have to buy my own home and pay for my own things out of my own money and I can't even afford to have a drug problem.

My rights! Nobody cares for my rights

at least you wont have to remember 6 different surnames!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

No surnames needed.
    Mercedes, Chardonnay, Chanelle, Chantel, Beyonce and Baby Gaga

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

I'm from Dublin originally, moved away a good few years ago.

When I was younger I was getting the 79A or the 79 (whichever one goes by Liffey Valley), we got to the second last bus stop in Ballyfermot (near the railway bridge coming into Inchicore), the bus driver pulled over for 2 scummers standing at the bus stop and some other passengers. All the other passengers paid their fares and sat down like normal human beings, the two scummers first said they had passes, the bus driver asked to see them, they said they were after leaving them at home (any regular users of Dublin Bus will be familiar with that line), the bus driver insisted that they either get off the bus or pay the fare, one of them started punching and kicking the wall of the bus that runs under the stairs, he then started pulling at the bus driver's little door (this was before the fancy set up they have now) and the door looked like it might give way, in the meantime his buddy said he was going to run down to the garage for change (in fairness it only took him about 90 seconds to do this but get your **** together before you get on the bus!), so everyone on the bus sat there while one of them punched and kicked the bus and the other fella went to get the money.
    When the other fella came back with the money they paid their fares and were about to go upstairs on the bus when a man behind me said very quietly under his breath "about time", one of the scummers heard it come from my direction, turned around, swung a punch in the general direction and broke my nose, himself and his friend legged it, the bus driver had been slow to close the bus doors as it was the middle of summer and quite warm and as any regular bus user will remember the doors on the old buses were so bloody tempermental!

I had horrible black eyes for ages afterwards, loads of pain, and my nose is still crooked.

Initially when I went to the gardai about it I was treated as though I was an idiot for travelling on that bus route and not expecting to get punched in the face. I pressed the gardai as much as possible to find the two guys and have them prosecuted, they were very laidback about the whole thing, anytime I called the station I was told the prosecuting garda was on holidays, on sick leave etc etc, the usual run around, in the end the gardai let time run out before serving the summons and didn't bother applying for, issuing or serving another summons, they said it was a waste of time with his type. I felt very let down by the gardai at that time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Well what we are doing now, which is basically babysitting grown ass people and having the useful people in society work to support the worthless, isn't working.

Roughly 33% of the states expenditure is Social Welfare. How is that considered normal? And people wonder why there is overcrowding in our schools that are mottled together with prefabs and people dying on trolleys in infection-riddled, understaffed hospital corridors.

We're too busy paying Antos rent and dole/disability so he doesn't rob people for drug money.

But wait! He's still robbing people! Don't worry. He'll get a fair go of it in court because of the social workers and legal aid that we're all paying for.

The system works!

Amen to that. Bloody sick of it. Yeah ill just work my bollix off to pay my mortgage while the family 3 houses up get their house of the council and don't bother working a day in their lives and continue to breed like rabbits. Why do i have to support that laziness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

I'm from Dublin originally, moved away a good few years ago.

When I was younger I was getting the 79A or the 79 (whichever one goes by Liffey Valley), we got to the second last bus stop in Ballyfermot (near the railway bridge coming into Inchicore), the bus driver pulled over for 2 scummers standing at the bus stop and some other passengers. All the other passengers paid their fares and sat down like normal human beings, the two scummers first said they had passes, the bus driver asked to see them, they said they were after leaving them at home (any regular users of Dublin Bus will be familiar with that line), the bus driver insisted that they either get off the bus or pay the fare, one of them started punching and kicking the wall of the bus that runs under the stairs, he then started pulling at the bus driver's little door (this was before the fancy set up they have now) and the door looked like it might give way, in the meantime his buddy said he was going to run down to the garage for change (in fairness it only took him about 90 seconds to do this but get your **** together before you get on the bus!), so everyone on the bus sat there while one of them punched and kicked the bus and the other fella went to get the money.
    When the other fella came back with the money they paid their fares and were about to go upstairs on the bus when a man behind me said very quietly under his breath "about time", one of the scummers heard it come from my direction, turned around, swung a punch in the general direction and broke my nose, himself and his friend legged it, the bus driver had been slow to close the bus doors as it was the middle of summer and quite warm and as any regular bus user will remember the doors on the old buses were so bloody tempermental!

I had horrible black eyes for ages afterwards, loads of pain, and my nose is still crooked.

Initially when I went to the gardai about it I was treated as though I was an idiot for travelling on that bus route and not expecting to get punched in the face. I pressed the gardai as much as possible to find the two guys and have them prosecuted, they were very laidback about the whole thing, anytime I called the station I was told the prosecuting garda was on holidays, on sick leave etc etc, the usual run around, in the end the gardai let time run out before serving the summons and didn't bother applying for, issuing or serving another summons, they said it was a waste of time with his type. I felt very let down by the gardai at that time.

Jeepers that's horrible, you poor thing! I've not spent much time in Dublin (don't like it) but going by the stories I hear IRL and on threads like this the difference between it and the rest of the country is huge, even accounting for it's size. (But like I said I don't like Dublin anyway so there's probably some confirmation bias going on.) The phrase "beyond the pale" is becoming ironic!

Although I heard an interview with the mayor of Limerick and he reckoned heroin hadn't gotten a good grip there yet, so maybe it'll catch up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

Amen to that. Bloody sick of it. Yeah ill just work my bollix off to pay my mortgage while the family 3 houses up get their house of the council and don't bother working a day in their lives and continue to breed like rabbits. Why do i have to support that laziness?
    It's pretty much impossible to put in a workable system that differentiates between the deserving welfare recipients, and the ones who people judge as not deserving - so, people end up supporting them, in order to support all of the people who genuinely do need support

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

"Social inclusion".

Basically, some people get to opt out of the responsibilities of being part of society but they get to have all the advantages of being part of a society because they are "entitled" to them.

It's what will eventually cause the downfall of western society. Too many people putting their useless hands in the till and not enough people to pay for it.

"Social inclusion".

Basically, some people get to opt out of the responsibilities of being part of society but they get to have all the advantages of being part of a society because they are "entitled" to them.

It's what will eventually cause the downfall of western society. Too many people putting their useless hands in the till and not enough people to pay for it.
    As my post above says though, there is no workable way to cut out those who people judge as undeserving of welfare payments, while still providing welfare to those who do really need it.

Maybe the guy with 20 odd convictions for public order offences, mugging etc. who wouldn't pass a drugs test isn't all that deserving of getting paid and housed for doing **** all by the state to feed his habit while he preys on the rest of us.

But i'm sure some hand-wringing social-worker will tell me he needs his free money and he'll get magically better because the state facilitates his lifestyle and expects exactly zero from him :pac:

Maybe the guy with 20 odd convictions for public order offences, mugging etc. who wouldn't pass a drugs test isn't all that deserving of getting paid and housed for doing **** all by the state to feed his habit while he preys on the rest of us.

But i'm sure some hand-wringing social-worker will tell me he needs his free money and he'll get magically better because the state facilitates his lifestyle and expects exactly zero from him :pac:
    Sure, lets say they're undeserving: Under what exact circumstances do you cut someone off though? Having an unclean drug record? Having a previous conviction?

You can't really set it into law, without the conditions being completely arbitrary, and triggering some form of collective punishment on people who don't deserve it.

Sure, lets say they're undeserving: Under what exact circumstances do you cut someone off though? Having an unclean drug record? Having a previous conviction?

You can't really set it into law, without the conditions being completely arbitrary, and triggering some form of collective punishment on people who don't deserve it.

We need to do something about it though. maybe i don't have all the answers but the current situation is crazy.

We are rewarding people for being irredeemable pieces of garbage and removing the consequences to irresponsibility because we are so wrapped up in being a touchy-feely caring society whilst being tough on the people who are paying the bills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

Free cardboard boxes. I'm not completely heartless.

In all seriousness, the down and outs aren't the only people in society. The government have a responsibility to protect decent people too, by not leaving them taxed to the eyeballs and barely able to pay their mortgage while some other family could be dealing drugs, causing mayhem for their neighbours, getting plenty of taxpayers money and benefits in kind (free medical, free transport, uniform allowance on top of children's allowance ect) they have no responsibility for themselves. If they think drugs or being anti social is worth more than a home, leave them off to the Phoenix park and let them brave a few weeks of sleeping rough.

You have clearly given this a lot of though. I'm sure a few weeks sleeping rough will cop them on, because history has shown us that that is exactly how it works :rolleyes:

If you think the heroin problem is bad now it's nothing compared to what it would be if we implemented what you are saying.

I'm not saying the status quo is ideal but it's a hell of a lot better than what you are suggesting. I don't like how much tax I pay but I know my quality of life would be a hell of a lot worse if the bottom feeders of society were cut off and had to find alternative means of fixed for food and drugs. It wouldn't be likely to reduce how much tax I pay either because more money would have to be put into policing the situation.
    Well what we are doing now, which is basically babysitting grown ass people and having the useful people in society work to support the worthless, isn't working.

Roughly 33% of the states expenditure is Social Welfare. How is that considered normal? And people wonder why there is overcrowding in our schools that are mottled together with prefabs and people dying on trolleys in infection-riddled, understaffed hospital corridors.

We're too busy paying Antos rent and dole/disability so he doesn't rob people for drug money.

But wait! He's still robbing people! Don't worry. He'll get a fair go of it in court because of the social workers and legal aid that we're all paying for.

The system works!

The state expenditure on social welfare is only so high because of the recession. Unemployment was very low before the crash. The vast majority of people on social welfare are genuine people who lost their jobs and pensioners. I'm not saying there are no scroungers but don't make it out to be a bigger issue than it is.

Support is the only way to fix the issues. Very few people want to be scroungers. I saw this article linked on Reddit the other day, it's a great example of whats possible when people are given opportunities.

http://pegasus.ucf.edu/story/rosen/

TLDR: A rich man adopts a poor neighbourhood with a high crime rate, by giving people access to free childcare and scholarships to university.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

agreed, kindof.....If we arbitrarily set a cut off point of 40 convictions then you could hardly say that some poor unfortunates are going to accidentally get cut off.

I get the idea though, a workable solution would be pretty tricky indeed.
    But how long can the status quo remain before a **** solution is still better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

It defiantly looks to be staged, unless of course the addicts were shooting blood into their arms instead of heroin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭masti123

I use the 13 nearly everyday and I could write a book about all the stuff I've seen, junkies sniffing solvents, snorting coke, two gangs of travellers fighting at the back of the bus and the list goes on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,922 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Well they're providing addicts with a free warm place to shoot up. Maybe run a heroin bus! A bus for scummers with their welfare passes, and people who pay for their fare can go on the other one
    and were going to get the money for that where?

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,922 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

I also think de vulnerable should be drugs tested before recieving any social welfare or free houses
    and were going to get the money and resources to do that where?

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

LexieOnRail banned for 2 weeks for trolling.

Thread closed because picture is a load of nonsense.