Father Ted or Mrs Brown's Boys?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Father Ted, of course. It's one of the comedy greats. Mind you, it is a vintage comedy now and is untouchable. The other thing is populist drivel but it's appeal is so huge, even the sniffy critics are acknowledging it these days.

I prefer Moone Boy. Nostaligic without being passe and warm hearted without being twee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

MBB isn't great, but it's often worth a look for a cheap laugh.

Father Ted, at its best, is very good and will be remembered long after MBB is gone (it'll be like Dad's Army, Only Fools and Horses etc like that).

But Father Ted has been shown to infinity and beyond, given the choice, I would prefer to watch a MBB I hadn't seen (whihc is most of them) over a repeat of Father Ted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I think both are crap, FT being a good bit less crappy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

old hippy wrote: »
    Father Ted, of course. It's one of the comedy greats. Mind you, it is a vintage comedy now and is untouchable. The other thing is populist drivel but it's appeal is so huge, even the sniffy critics are acknowledging it these days.

I prefer Moone Boy. Nostaligic without being passe and warm hearted without being twee.

Ah Moone Boy is great. Very funny but also very sweet. And very very Irish without being stage-Oirishy, so it transfers across the pond well too. Can't wait for the new series.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Meangadh wrote: »
    Ah Moone Boy is great. Very funny but also very sweet. And very very Irish without being stage-Oirishy, so it transfers across the pond well too. Can't wait for the new series.
    It also helps that Chris O'Dowd has been scientifically proven to be impossible not to like.

And Peter McDonald (yer man from I Went Down) is great as his dad. Everyone's pretty solid in it actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Billy86 wrote: »
    It also helps that Chris O'Dowd has been scientifically proven to be impossible not to like.

This is so true.

And he is an absolute genius for playing the nicest guy you could meet (the cop from Bridesmaids) in his first big, big movie role. He's basically endeared himself to all the women in the english-speaking world (and most of the men tbf) with that role. The kid will go far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

Deirdre O'Kane and Steve Coogan in the Mary Robinson episode are so good. Coogan's Irish accent is brilliant- I know he spends a lot of time in Ireland but still, he had the humour and accent down to a T.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,442 ✭✭✭shamrock55

I think mbb is the biggest heap of ****e to ever appear on a tv screen

God, Ted. D'you remember that feller who was so good at fashion they had to shoot him?

Meangadh wrote: »
    Deirdre O'Kane and Steve Coogan in the Mary Robinson episode are so good. Coogan's Irish accent is brilliant- I know he spends a lot of time in Ireland but still, he had the humour and accent down to a T.
    I only saw that one the other day, somehow had missed it previously - the scene with the hose is still haunting me!!

My favourite episode was the wall one though... they've just nailed the whole idea that O'Dowd (in the pink high heels) IS the kid's imagination brilliantly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

So simple but it makes me laugh every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,380 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Have any ted jokes made it into MBB?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭RoboRat

I'd rather steam iron my nutsack whilst gouging my eyes out with a rusty spoon than watch Mrs. Browns Boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

And Peter McDonald (yer man from I Went Down) is great as his dad. Everyone's pretty solid in it actually.

Everybody to their own. Again, I cant argue with his popularity, but I dont think he is all that good, and I thought Moone Boy was woeful. It would be very boring if we all likds the same singers/bands/actors/comedians, and I respect other peoples views on same. But when you say anything negative about MBB, you get accused of being a begrudger, paddy bashing etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

shamrock55 wrote: »
    I think mbb is the biggest heap of ****e to ever appear on a tv screen

Come off it, there's far, far worse muck on TV, I've seen an episode or two of MBB and it's not half as bad as people in here make out.

That said there is obviously no comparison between MBB and Father Ted and I would genuinely wonder at the mental health of someone who would think that MBB is in any way better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

God, Ted. D'you remember that feller who was so good at fashion they had to shoot him?

Well I'm very cynical as you know Ted..

There are some utterly genius one liners in that show, considering there was only what 20 odd episodes? it's definitely quality over quantity. then you get American sitcoms with 24 episodes a season that barely have a memorable line.

krudler wrote: »

There are some utterly genius one liners in that show, considering there was only what 20 odd episodes? it's definitely quality over quantity. then you get American sitcoms with 24 episodes a season that barely have a memorable line.

Apart from Seinfeld

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

There are a few exceptions, and when the Americans get comedy right, they really nail it, but I agree, by and large its crap.

Any remember Mel Brooks' "When Things Were Rotten"? A classic....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

I'd be 100% Fr Ted and Killinaskully person myself. 2 of the best comedies from Ireland. Dermot Morgan is severely missed. One of the best talents ever. Fr Ted helped to launch many's career inclusive of Ardal O'Hanlon, Pat Shortt, Jon Kenny, Pauline McGlinn and Graham Norton.

Mrs Brown is certainly ok but I think it relies too much on vulgarity whereas both Fr Ted and Killinaskully didn't. Mrs Brown seems like a female Fr Jack but as the central rather than support character!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    Come off it, there's far, far worse muck on TV, I've seen an episode or two of MBB and it's not half as bad as people in here make out.

That said there is obviously no comparison between MBB and Father Ted and I would genuinely wonder at the mental health of someone who would think that MBB is in any way better

I'd agree 100% with this. MBB is not the worst and can be either over or under rated depending on where one is from. I remember in 2011 when it first came to prominence it being a welcome relief from the likes of The Frontline and all this other maudlin, depressing political muck that dominated our screens. The biggest faults of MBB is that each episode is basically the same, the characters are one dimensional and the whole thing seems a little amateurish with the camera men often seen.

Fr Ted however is a timeless classic. Very well made and excellently acted. Each character has a purpose and especially Dermot Morgan's portrayal of the title character. Cameos by Pat Shortt, Graham Norton and even Richard 'Victor Meldrew' Wilson are there to enhance it as well. Each episode has a great and funny story and it is overall a very well rounded show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,385 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

I was in the AA there for a while, but the insurance was very expensive. I had to crash the car to get the money back and they had witnesses who said they'd seen me steer it towards the wall you know. There was talk of me going to jail for a while!

old hippy wrote: »
    Apart from Seinfeld
    I loved Seinfeld but it hasn't aged all too good (still decent to watch though) - I reckon Arrested Development has the best one-liners and running jokes of any American sitcom I can think of, including maybe my favourite line ever...

See, I like AD but I never got it like I did with Seinfeld, or Larry Sanders.

Currently, I'm adoring 2 Broke Girls - which is not my usual thing but (don't hit me) I prefer it to the latest AD series...

I only got started on the newer AD series, one episode in so I can't really comment on that. Modern Family's a bit of a copy of it in some ways, but I'm a pretty big fan of that. And 30 Rock was also excellent until near the end. Not sure why, but I can't stand 2 Broke Girls in the 2 or 3 episodes I have seen... beyond yer wan's set of course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,946 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

If I want something crude and vulgar but funny I'll watch Strutter.
    Father Ted is comedic gold IMO. Unique plot, funny characters outrageous storylines. Just the right amount of wit and simple dry humor.
    All at a time of pivotal change regarding church and state too.

BO'C was funny.....when I was 12. I'd never begrudge a fellow Finglasman success, but the humor is not my cup of tae.

I only got started on the newer AD series, one episode in so I can't really comment on that. Modern Family's a bit of a copy of it in some ways, but I'm a pretty big fan of that. And 30 Rock was also excellent until near the end. Not sure why, but I can't stand 2 Broke Girls in the 2 or 3 episodes I have seen... beyond yer wan's set of course!

Modern Family. Love that show. 30 Rock, am only 3 seasons in & so far it hasn't faltered.

2BG is an aquired taste, for sure. I saw an episode on a plane & was bemused. I was thinking "do I actually like this?" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Bishop Brennan running across the field towards the house with this gigantic cape still makes me burst out laughing. Some of his lines are fantastic as well. "They've even coming from Gidansk to see the film!" never fails to make me laugh, Jim Norton's comic timing is brilliant in the role.

totally agree X 100

my fav character in fr ted, pity he didn't feature in more episodes

"...theres this little island off surinam.....and crilly you're going to love this, theres these two tribes and they being knocking the sh!t out of each other for the past 200 years but i think you are the very man to bring them together in a form of christain harmony" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,964 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Ah, I love a bit of Len...

Whenever it's on, I watch it, even though I know the damn thing off by heart at this stage. Even when it falters, it's still feckin ( ;) ) brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Jonkenji

fryup wrote: »
    totally agree X 100

my fav character in fr ted, pity he didn't feature in more episodes

"...theres this little island off surinam.....and crilly you're going to love this, theres these two tribes and they being knocking the sh!t out of each other for the past 200 years but i think you are the very man to bring them together in a form of christain harmony" :D

Ted: That's not really my area...
    Len: Nothing is your area Crilly, you do not have an area, unless it's a kind of a play area with sandcastles and buckets and spades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

father ted definitely

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.