Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Atheism/Existence of God Debates (Please Read OP)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭Brian Shanahan

because jesus exists

[citation needed]

Out of curiosity, what evidence do you have?

• Site Banned Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭MilanPan!c

[citation needed]

Out of curiosity, what evidence do you have?

Maybe a donkey told him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭marienbad

MilanPan!c wrote: »
    Maybe a donkey told him?

Don't be such an ass !:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭randomperson12

anyways is atheism a pagan kind of religion because it doesnt look like one anyways no one ever says what it is
    im just trying to learns stuff like what do ye believe in etc but nothing will stop me from believing jesus christ ever

anyways is atheism a pagan kind of religion because it doesnt look like one anyways no one ever says what it is
    im just trying to learns stuff like what do ye believe in etc but nothing will stop me from believing jesus christ ever

Atheism has nothing to do with Paganism, which is closer to Christianity.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

It is a fine thing to have a strong faith to build a foundation. To expand on that may I suggest the various resources such as are on the thread stickies on the forum to help in the learning.

what is it and watch what your saying about my religion because youll go to hell or what ever ye call it

i asked originally what is atheism and etc

okay

what is it and watch what your saying about my religion because youll go to hell or what ever ye call it

i asked originally what is atheism and etc

I'm not scared of your "hell". I believe it's as real as a unicorn. (I'm not scared of them either.)

Atheists don't believe in god. They don't think it may or may not exist, but that it doesn't exist.

hell is where ye go cant believe ye dont believe in evil ....... Jesus will come sooner than we think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

oh god...

your after sinning anyways atheists is a PAGAN RELIGION IF YOU BELIEVE IN NOTHING BUT YOUR NOT LIKE THE PAGANS THAT LIVED HERE 800 YEARS AGO THEY AT LEAST BELIEVED IN SOMETHING LIKE TREES FOR AN EXAMPLE THE TOUGHT THAT THEY WHERE SPECUAL AND TREES ARE SPECIAL THEY GIVE AIR YOU SHOULD HAVE SEEN THAT SIENTOLOGY PROGRAM ON TELLLE THEY MADE AN EGIT UT OF A PERSON
    AND HE MADE ANOTHERE EGIT OF HIMSELF BY COONVERTING TO ISLAM AND THEN ATHEISM

BYE

hell is where ye go cant believe ye dont believe in evil ....... Jesus will come sooner than we think

This is your superstition. It's grand that you have superstitions, but you're superstitions don't scare me at all.

your after sinning anyways atheists is a PAGAN RELIGION IF YOU BELIEVE IN NOTHING BUT YOUR NOT LIKE THE PAGANS THAT LIVED HERE 800 YEARS AGO THEY AT LEAST BELIEVED IN SOMETHING LIKE TREES FOR AN EXAMPLE THE TOUGHT THAT THEY WHERE SPECUAL AND TREES ARE SPECIAL THEY GIVE AIR YOU SHOULD HAVE SEEN THAT SIENTOLOGY PROGRAM ON TELLLE THEY MADE AN EGIT UT OF A PERSON
    AND HE MADE ANOTHERE EGIT OF HIMSELF BY COONVERTING TO ISLAM AND THEN ATHEISM

I think you need to get your computer checked out.

BYEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

Bye?

You haven't even learned what atheism is and you're running away?

Hard to believe your faith is that strong if this tiny little questioning is scaring you off.

Best of luck with your caps lock problems. And your superstitions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

Mod: Randomperson12, don't post on this thread again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Oh you mean the user. Dang I thought you'd finally agreed with me that we should threaten to ban people randomly. :(

Some day, hopefully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭georgesstreet

Bye?

You haven't even learned what atheism is and you're running away?

Hard to believe your faith is that strong if this tiny little questioning is scaring you off.

Of course, that's what any thiests have to do when facts collide with their "beliefs". Most thiests like to pretend that their beliefs are based on facts, and this is a fundamental mistake they make, as facts and belief are diametrically opposed.

Manach wrote: »
    It is a fine thing to have a strong faith to build a foundation.

No it is not. It is highly stupid to build a system of ideas based on something you believe without any evidence. It invariably fails.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭georgesstreet

No it is not. It is highly stupid to build a system of ideas based on something you believe without any evidence. It invariably fails.

Unfortunately you, or we, can't decide for others what criteria they choose for evidence, or for what criteria others choose for what they consider a fine thing.

Reality invariably intrudes heavily on the kind of people who say "I believe this will work" without running through the necessary calculations.

I've no problem with people having faith, but to call a house of cards you've built with soggy paper "a fine thing" is taking the biscuit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

Jernal wrote: »
    Oh you mean the user. Dang I thought you'd finally agreed with me that we should threaten to ban people randomly. :(

Some day, hopefully.
    The Hunger Boards Games: Catching Trolls. No, wait, it's only the first one, Mockingtrolls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭Safehands

Faith may be misguided, it may have no basis in factual evidence, but when you are on your deathbed, if you really have faith, if you really believe you are going to a better place, then you are one lucky person. In the same way, if you have lost a loved one and if you really believe you will see them again some day, isn't that a wonderful gift?
    So we may knock it, and we do on this forum, but I would love to have the blind, unquestioning faith that many people are so lucky to have. A logical mind and blind faith are very poor bedfellows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,550 ✭✭✭antiskeptic

Empiricism, anybody?

Safehands wrote: »
    ... but I would love to have the blind, unquestioning faith that many people are so lucky to have. A logical mind and blind faith are very poor bedfellows.

And your way of dealing with the fact that the world is chock full of very intelligent, logical, scientific minds .. who also have faith (which they wouldn't dream of describing as blind) is...?

Faith may be misguided, it may have no basis in factual evidence, but when you are on your deathbed, if you really have faith, if you really believe you are going to a better place, then you are one lucky person. In the same way, if you have lost a loved one and if you really believe you will see them again some day, isn't that a wonderful gift?
    So we may knock it, and we do on this forum, but I would love to have the blind, unquestioning faith that many people are so lucky to have. A logical mind and blind faith are very poor bedfellows.

This is the old, "wouldn't a lobotomy be great" argument.

Lots of people choose drugs and booze and religion as means of avoiding reality; are they better than reality? It's hard to really know if happiness is better than truth.

When truth is defined as "that which can only be arrived at empirically" (when that statement itself cannot be demonstrated to be true, empirically or otherwise) then you wonder indeed about lobotomys

No, delusion is never a gift. It is delusion that causes people to accept their lot when there is much better available to them with enough effort.

As Karl Marx said: "Religion is the opium of the masses". It keeps them docile; unknowing of and unable to utilise their true power.