new speeding measures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Originally Posted by mitosis
    It has been demonstrated time and again that money collected does not cover costs.

Well they aim to remedy that, by putting cameras on the motorways.

Sigh your trying to make automation out to be something it's not ... it's Not massively labour intensive hence the word "AUTOMATION" Rolling out patches running backups on a standard company image is very easy can be done remotely or fully automated. You only need people to interact when stuff goes wrong.. but me thinks this is a little off topic.
    You just have to make sure that the hardware manufacturers and the software writers are following the same specification.
    It won't work very well if one system is in furlongs/fortnight and the other in miles per hour when the spec calls for kilometres per hour. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

Shhpedding is wrong, ye cant be doing that lads!

Always amusing to see people give out about speed cameras. You wont get caught if you don't speed.

Same way you wont get done for murder if you didn't murder someone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

They should make some crazy software that allows that allows the car to recognize what speed zone it's in so it can't over that limit. I'm sure it could be done but would cost a bomb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

You just have to make sure that the hardware manufacturers and the software writers are following the same specification.
    It won't work very well if one system is in furlongs/fortnight and the other in miles per hour when the spec calls for kilometres per hour. :pac:

or set to football instead of hurley :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

They should make some crazy software that allows that allows the car to recognize what speed zone it's in so it can't over that limit. I'm sure it could be done but would cost a bomb.

not really modern engine management systems could be programed to regulate the limiter on the car in conjunction with satnav

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Days 298

Shhpedding is wrong, ye cant be doing that lads!

Always amusing to see people give out about speed cameras. You wont get caught if you don't speed.

Same way you wont get done for murder if you didn't murder someone!

Speeding isnt murder. Peopledont complain about cameras in good places.

I dont see why they cant put average cameras on black spot stretches for 200 metres. Then no more speeding in the black spot.

But they wont because people wont speed in these areas which defeats the objective which is to catch as many as possible. Brandish a report. And clain success. Ministers exempt themselves from cameras :mad: Bunch of pricks.

Have decent limits in the first place and people wont speed. But again the objective of catching people 10 over the limit reduces.

Get learners off the motorway. And hand out bans to unaccompanied Learners drivers. NCT for motorbikes. Why should they be exempt? Speeding is the easy, headline grabbing way of getting attention.

kneemos wrote: »
    You could do 180kph and slow down to a really slow speed,that would fool them.
    When I used to live in Northampton, they had two pairs of average speed cameras along a section of dual carriageway with a roundabout in the middle, each section of road had a junction in the middle that was "invisible" to the cameras.

If you turned at one of these junctions you could boot it past one camera knowing that you'll be off the road and the second camera will never see you.

The local traffic police station was at one of these junctions and they were the worst offenders, off duty when arriving and leaving from work, they always exceeded the limit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Or the driver could read a road sign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

Report coming up on RTE News in 44 seconds, or thereabouts:

http://www.aertv.ie/#rte-one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,487 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

anncoates wrote: »

Personal responsibility? On AH? Are you insane?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

anncoates wrote: »

No sh!t but since when does everyone do that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

It could easily be done but it would be lunacy for manufacturers to implement it, and it would cost the Govt a fortune in lost VRT and Motor Tax

Filibuster wrote: »
    Yeah except when they randomly drop the speed limit on the M3 to 80km/hr on certain stretches.

There's nothing random about it. The reasons for reducing the limits in certain areas are actually very specific.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

No sh!t but since when does everyone do that?

Since they stopped being blind morons?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭animaal

What's next? A crack-down on cyclists who don't have a working bell on their bike? That's a legal requirement too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 602 ✭✭✭hotbabe1992

Ive seen these vans set up just as im driving into limerick,i usually see them when its just about too late,i got caught coming up to the radisson roundabout and once a while back on the condell road just after the coonagh roundabout..

The places they set up and ive seen them in other counties too driving on the roads,and they are typically not at accident blackspots..

Im just wondering what the deal with them is,i wonder are they on an easy number for handy money?

Ive seen these vans set up just as im driving into limerick,i usually see them when its just about too late,i got caught coming up to the radisson roundabout and once a while back on the condell road just after the coonagh roundabout..

The places they set up and ive seen them in other counties too driving on the roads,and they are typically not at accident blackspots..

Im just wondering what the deal with them is,i wonder are they on an easy number for handy money?
    I've often seen them on the (old) N4 near Enfield on the best section of the entire road and one of the few safe overtaking spots as well. The limit is 80kmh Used to be 100 but the road was renamed and magically the speed was dropped, might have something to the do with "encouraging" motorists to spend €2.90 on the parallel toll road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Ah. Enforcement. The dirty word of Irish public life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

If you are into speeding and driving carelessly and don't like being stopped and checked by gardai you will most likely call it a money making exercise to discredit it. If you are into road safety and want to see **** on the road penalised then you will see it as a road safety measure to save lives. I see this one as a particularity good one as it measures a drivers speed over a distance!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

This has nothing to do with road safety at all, it's just another money making scheme, any-one can see it.

How many more times do we have to be money-raped.

zenno wrote: »
    This has nothing to do with road safety at all, it's just another money making scheme, any-one can see it.

Baloney! Don't speed and you won't get caught! Simple

zenno wrote: »

If anyone can see it, then show us. Because any figures I've seen point to it losing considerable amounts of money,

When the Government went to tender for an operator, a report from consultants and an expert working group estimated that the annual revenue from speeding fines could be between €70 million and €40 million per annum.
    This was subsequently revised down to €27 million. However, last year Go Safe generated just €4.6 million in receipts from speeding fines. The cost of operating the system is €15.6 million per annum.
    According to the Comptroller and Auditor General, this created a “shortfall” of €11 million which was financed by revenues from fines for road traffic offences identified by gardaí.
    Under the contract, Go Safe is paid a fixed fee per hour of enforcement, meaning it does not matter how many or how few motorists it catches.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 602 ✭✭✭hotbabe1992

I've often seen them on the (old) N4 near Enfield on the best section of the entire road and one of the few safe overtaking spots as well. The limit is 80kmh Used to be 100 but the road was renamed and magically the speed was dropped, might have something to the do with "encouraging" motorists to spend €2.90 on the parallel toll road.

Yeah they are everywhere but at the blackspots,you never see them after humps in the road or on a series of dangerous bends etc..

They are plonked at the easy spots to extrapulate money from you..

Here here...

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

biko wrote: »
    Interesting as it kills the "money racket" argument.
    Sources?

One report here:
    When the Government went to tender for an operator, a report from consultants and an expert working group estimated that the annual revenue from speeding fines could be between €70 million and €40 million per annum.

This was subsequently revised down to €27 million. However, last year Go Safe generated just €4.6 million in receipts from speeding fines. The cost of operating the system is €15.6 million per annum.

According to the Comptroller and Auditor General, this created a “shortfall” of €11 million which was financed by revenues from fines for road traffic offences identified by gardaí.

Under the contract, Go Safe is paid a fixed fee per hour of enforcement, meaning it does not matter how many or how few motorists it catches.

If you are into speeding and driving carelessly and don't like being stopped and checked by gardai you will most likely call it a money making exercise to discredit it. If you are into road safety and want to see **** on the road penalised then you will see it as a road safety measure to save lives. I see this one as a particularity good one as it measures a drivers speed over a distance!
    Anyone who is the above needs to get "into" a different hobby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Ok fair enough if the government really do want to improve road safety, but how many years have we had fines etc for speeding?

Fines for speeding is not working as road deaths continue to happen, why isn't there a different approach such as improving the quality of drivers on the road, ie. not letting someone who has only done a theory test loose on the road, and re-testing drivers after a certain number of years, and actually improving the quality of the roads themselves?

Days 298 wrote: »
    Anyone who is the above needs to get "into" a different hobby.

No one said it was a hobby! Sometimes being at the scene of carnage and death on the road can get you INTO the concept of road saftey!

Are the people involved in the accidents ****?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

wazky wrote: »
    Fines for speeding is not working as road deaths continue to happen...

The number of road deaths has been falling steadily in recent years. We had the lowest number on record last year.

If you look at the drop and compare that with statistics on car ownership, it's hard to argue that enforcement isn't working.