Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

new speeding measures

• 29-12-2013 5:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/1229/495163-varadkar-speeding-measures/

Err yes yes it is to collect loads of fine's just like them Gatso vans stayed just on roads were people died (They did not) ? They never went directly into urban centres just to collect fines did they .... If it was anything to do with road safety and not a revenue stream they would stop removing peoples points wouldn't they, And they would actually stay on accident black spots and not just hang out on the end of the M50 catching the change for 110 to 50 ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/1229/495163-varadkar-speeding-measures/

Err yes yes it is to collect loads of fine's just like them Gatso vans stayed just on roads were people died (They did not) ? They never went directly into urban centres just to collect fines did they .... If it was anything to do with road safety and not a revenue stream they would stop removing peoples points wouldn't they, And they would actually stay on accident black spots and not just hang out on the end of the M50 catching the change for 110 to 50 ..

What's the problem? Just stick to the speed limits, its not that hard....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭Filibuster

Yeah except when they randomly drop the speed limit on the M3 to 80km/hr on certain stretches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Jonkenji

New speeding measures? It took me long enough to switch from mph to kph. Ah well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Definetly seems like a revenue generating exercises.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Money racket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

All for it. More please. Average speed checks are a brilliant innovation and about time we employed them nationwide. They cause no problems and take in no revenue if you just keep within the speed limit. It's easy really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

Definetly seems like a revenue generating exercises.

It has been demonstrated time and again that money collected does not cover costs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Filibuster wrote: »
    Yeah except when they randomly drop the speed limit on the M3 to 80km/hr on certain stretches.

And are these speed limit changes not signposted?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

mitosis wrote: »
    It has been demonstrated time and again that money collected does not cover costs.

Of a computerised system ? That does all the work ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Of a computerised system ? That does all the work ?

Computers aren't magical things that run by themselves you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mr McBoatface

It's nothing to do with safety at all, motorway deaths are a tiny %. It is a revenue generating scheme, they should be honest about it and not try to pull the wool over peoples eyes. If the where serious about road safety they'd target accident black spots and get an expert in charge of the RSA and not Gay Byrne ...FFS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

No. They are man-made things that run by themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

jobyrne30 wrote: »
    It's nothing to do with safety at all, motorway deaths are a tiny %. It is a revenue generating scheme, they should be honest about and not try to pull the wool over peoples eyes. If the where serious about road safety they'd target accident black spots and get an expert in charge of the RSA and not Gay Byrne ...FFS

You're missing the point. It's about exposure, the more people see the vans, the more conscious they will be about speeding.

Ah right I forgot in data centre's like Google you have 1 person for every server in the rack ... so that's at least what 2-3k people working in one data centre (not it's not)? Minimal user entry in an automated system in the car will not cost anything.... or did you not read the part about automated number plate recognition ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

If it is a dastardly fiendish plot to rob money from citizens, it's a unique one insofar as you can actually completely avoid it by driving your car at the speed limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

More enforcement on the M50 and N/M7 please. The amount of accidents that have been reported (by AA Roadwatch and Garda Traffic) on those roads in recent weeks is mind-boggling.It begs the question if Irish people know how to drive a three lane system at all.

Average speed cameras, on the safest sections of road in the country = revenue gathering!

I don't speed as it is, not because of the law but because fuel consumption goes through the roof!
    100kmh = 6.2l/100km
    120kmh = 7.1l/100km
    nearly an extra €2 for a journey between Athlone & Dublin.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

Pity they didn't invest more in driver training...this is the real problem.
    Just look at all the bad accidents when the weather was poor, especially on motorways, drivers need to be periodically trained and tested, say every 7-10 yrs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

You could do 180kph and slow down to a really slow speed,that
    would fool them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

Great idea......people drive way to fast on motorways.

Always see Mercs and BMW trying to hit the sound barrier and a big dirty Smokey Passat trying to catch up.

If you get caught at 1 camera and then again at the second you deserve a fine and a sticker for stupidity.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

it is VERY hard to stick to inconsistent and in some cases totally inappropriate limits that have very little to do with road safety and a lot more to do with things like forcing people on to tolled roads or facilitating planning permission for new development.

the old N2 is a classic example.as an N road 100kph was not an issue. Now as a lower user R road it is not even deemed safe at 80 kph and from Coolquoy to Kilshane has a limit of 60kph. If some statistics to justify this latest nonsense were provided, maybe, but the chances of that are about as good as the chancez of tunnel to the UK.
    It is clear that official policy is to force more people on to public transport. this is just another strand of that agenda.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

I've been driving motorways and dual carriageways for years here and have no points.

Maybe I just have magic immunity from these fiendish unfair traps that so many people get caught by.

No. They are man-made things that run by themselves.

Also entirely incorrect.
    Ah right I forgot in data centre's like Google you have 1 person for every server in the rack ... so that's at least what 2-3k people working in one data centre (not it's not)? Minimal user entry in an automated system in the car will not cost anything.... or did you not read the part about automated number plate recognition ?

I don't know about you, but I wouldn't trust the Irish government to run something like Google does. These things do require maintenance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mr McBoatface

You're missing the point. It's about exposure, the more people see the vans, the more conscious they will be about speeding.

I'm not missing any point at all, in terms of safety it's a useless measure unless traffic black spots are targeted. If what others here say about costs not being covered is true then it's worse than a pointless exercise.

Target bad drivers first, if they where not afraid of a grey vote blacklash they'd start by ordering a test for all the over 60,000 aul ones's and aul fella's who got the driver license issued without ever sitting a test back in 1979, after that enforce the current laws ever where especially blackspots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

mitosis wrote: »
    Interesting as it kills the "money racket" argument.
    Sources?

Also entirely incorrect.

I don't know about you, but I wouldn't trust the Irish government to run something like Google does. These things do require maintenance.

You mean 1 guy going round swapping out failed or dropped disks from raid arrays ? Or pulling a faulty psu out and replacing it ? motherboards very rarely go bang these days it’s all mostly hard disk replacement

You do realise software needs to be maintained too?

dudara wrote: »
    More enforcement on the M50 and N/M7 please. The amount of accidents that have been reported (by AA Roadwatch and Garda Traffic) on those roads in recent weeks is mind-boggling.It begs the question if Irish people know how to drive a three lane system at all.
    The M50 could be made safer simply by enforcing lane discipline and introducing the variable speed limits that the gantries are already installed for.
    All too often, the traffic starts "glugging" when traffic volumes lead to congestion and speeds vary rapidly between 100+ down to almost stop, this is what causes crashes.

With variable limits, the speed can be set down to say 60 or 80 on the approach to the congested section and this will almost eliminate the "glugging" as traffic is prevented from joining the queue at full speed.

You do realise software needs to be maintained too?

Sigh your trying to make automation out to be something it's not ... it's Not massively labour intensive hence the word "AUTOMATION" Rolling out patches running backups on a standard company image is very easy can be done remotely or fully automated. You only need people to interact when stuff goes wrong.. but me thinks this is a little off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Originally Posted by mitosis

Well they aim to remedy that, by putting cameras on the motorways.

Sigh your trying to make automation out to be something it's not ... it's Not massively labour intensive hence the word "AUTOMATION" Rolling out patches running backups on a standard company image is very easy can be done remotely or fully automated. You only need people to interact when stuff goes wrong.. but me thinks this is a little off topic.
    You just have to make sure that the hardware manufacturers and the software writers are following the same specification.
    It won't work very well if one system is in furlongs/fortnight and the other in miles per hour when the spec calls for kilometres per hour. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

Shhpedding is wrong, ye cant be doing that lads!

Always amusing to see people give out about speed cameras. You wont get caught if you don't speed.

Same way you wont get done for murder if you didn't murder someone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

They should make some crazy software that allows that allows the car to recognize what speed zone it's in so it can't over that limit. I'm sure it could be done but would cost a bomb.

You just have to make sure that the hardware manufacturers and the software writers are following the same specification.
    It won't work very well if one system is in furlongs/fortnight and the other in miles per hour when the spec calls for kilometres per hour. :pac:

or set to football instead of hurley :D

They should make some crazy software that allows that allows the car to recognize what speed zone it's in so it can't over that limit. I'm sure it could be done but would cost a bomb.

not really modern engine management systems could be programed to regulate the limiter on the car in conjunction with satnav

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Days 298

Shhpedding is wrong, ye cant be doing that lads!

Always amusing to see people give out about speed cameras. You wont get caught if you don't speed.

Same way you wont get done for murder if you didn't murder someone!

Speeding isnt murder. Peopledont complain about cameras in good places.

I dont see why they cant put average cameras on black spot stretches for 200 metres. Then no more speeding in the black spot.

But they wont because people wont speed in these areas which defeats the objective which is to catch as many as possible. Brandish a report. And clain success. Ministers exempt themselves from cameras :mad: Bunch of pricks.

Have decent limits in the first place and people wont speed. But again the objective of catching people 10 over the limit reduces.

Get learners off the motorway. And hand out bans to unaccompanied Learners drivers. NCT for motorbikes. Why should they be exempt? Speeding is the easy, headline grabbing way of getting attention.

kneemos wrote: »
    You could do 180kph and slow down to a really slow speed,that would fool them.
    When I used to live in Northampton, they had two pairs of average speed cameras along a section of dual carriageway with a roundabout in the middle, each section of road had a junction in the middle that was "invisible" to the cameras.

If you turned at one of these junctions you could boot it past one camera knowing that you'll be off the road and the second camera will never see you.

The local traffic police station was at one of these junctions and they were the worst offenders, off duty when arriving and leaving from work, they always exceeded the limit.

Or the driver could read a road sign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

Report coming up on RTE News in 44 seconds, or thereabouts:

http://www.aertv.ie/#rte-one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

anncoates wrote: »

Personal responsibility? On AH? Are you insane?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

anncoates wrote: »

No sh!t but since when does everyone do that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

It could easily be done but it would be lunacy for manufacturers to implement it, and it would cost the Govt a fortune in lost VRT and Motor Tax

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

Filibuster wrote: »

There's nothing random about it. The reasons for reducing the limits in certain areas are actually very specific.

No sh!t but since when does everyone do that?

Since they stopped being blind morons?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭animaal

What's next? A crack-down on cyclists who don't have a working bell on their bike? That's a legal requirement too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 602 ✭✭✭hotbabe1992

Ive seen these vans set up just as im driving into limerick,i usually see them when its just about too late,i got caught coming up to the radisson roundabout and once a while back on the condell road just after the coonagh roundabout..

The places they set up and ive seen them in other counties too driving on the roads,and they are typically not at accident blackspots..

Im just wondering what the deal with them is,i wonder are they on an easy number for handy money?

Ive seen these vans set up just as im driving into limerick,i usually see them when its just about too late,i got caught coming up to the radisson roundabout and once a while back on the condell road just after the coonagh roundabout..

The places they set up and ive seen them in other counties too driving on the roads,and they are typically not at accident blackspots..

Im just wondering what the deal with them is,i wonder are they on an easy number for handy money?
    I've often seen them on the (old) N4 near Enfield on the best section of the entire road and one of the few safe overtaking spots as well. The limit is 80kmh Used to be 100 but the road was renamed and magically the speed was dropped, might have something to the do with "encouraging" motorists to spend €2.90 on the parallel toll road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Ah. Enforcement. The dirty word of Irish public life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

If you are into speeding and driving carelessly and don't like being stopped and checked by gardai you will most likely call it a money making exercise to discredit it. If you are into road safety and want to see **** on the road penalised then you will see it as a road safety measure to save lives. I see this one as a particularity good one as it measures a drivers speed over a distance!