Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day part III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Mr.Fred wrote: »
    There has to be something up with that. 13,800 miles and €800 knocked off the asking.

Possible 2nd hand engine put in badly?

I think the milage it a typo. It says 138,000 in the body of the ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,752 ✭✭✭Bigus

Mr.Fred wrote: »
    There has to be something up with that. 13,800 miles and €800 knocked off the asking.

Possible 2nd hand engine put in badly?

It's 1200 now, seems legit ( not joking) and it states 138000 miles,

9 2015 NCT makes it a steal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    I think the milage it a typo. It says 138,000 in the body of the ad.

So many people just aren't capable of handling big numbers at all. God forebid any of them got a job in the IMF:)

Its in at €1200 now so must have being dropped in price again since nd posted the ad. He must be very eager to get shut of it. Not sure would I put too much trust in somebody who goes by the name of Volvo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

More Swedes,

1998 Volvo V70 7 Seater
    2.5 Petrol, manual
    175k Miles
    NCT December 2014, no tax
    €950€750
    €750 seems a bargain, just needs taxing and you're off

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volvo-v70-2-5-20v-seven-seat/4941567
    19429344.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Kaiser D wrote: »
    More Swedes,

1998 Volvo V70 7 Seater
    2.5 Petrol, manual
    175k Miles
    €950
    Maybe at €850 or so, it will make for a reliable and safe family bus.

19429344.jpeg

Price is 750 now. Depreciation has got vert fast on Volvos today!:pac:

Ah sure, thats just the way the country's gone now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,431 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Kaiser D wrote: »
    More Swedes,

1998 Volvo V70 7 Seater
    2.5 Petrol, manual
    175k Miles
    €950
    Maybe at €850 or so, it will make for a reliable and safe family bus.

19429344.jpeg

Great bus - one thing worth trying to suss out is whether that was a genuine 7 seater from factory.

I thought I heard or read - that on some of these cars it was possible to retrofit the 7 seat option afterwards

Maybe it isn't a big deal - but im led to believe that other manufacturers actually make changes to the shell - to make it stronger at back - when they fit the extra seats to estate cars from factory.

Still a great bus though especially if you didn't ever need the 7 seats anyway.

Id still buy it if I wanted a big estate :D

More estates,

Ford Mondeo TDDI
    2.0 Diesel, manual
    190k Miles
    NCT 9/14, no tax
    €1050
    The "open to reasonable offers" is a good sign. I reckon €950 drive this home. I had one before and it was very nice, even in standard spec.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mondeo-estate-tddi-long-nct/6075197
    25150808.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,581 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Bigus wrote: »
    It's 1200 now, seems legit ( not joking) and it states 138000 miles,

9 2015 NCT makes it a steal

If there is nothing wrong with that car, then it's the winner of the best bangernomics car of 2013, no contest!

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,752 ✭✭✭Bigus

unkel wrote: »

If there is nothing wrong with that car, then it's the winner of the best bangernomics car of 2013, no contest!

Free motoring, when you re sell it for more,it wouldn't be so cheap if it was nearer dublin and hadn't got an MO reg is the west awake ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Nixer Jim

unkel wrote: »

A quick Google of that lads phone number reveals this fella ....

http://www.adverts.ie/member/519565

.... and it's all postive feedback. The address (though) would scare the bejaysus outta me. Oh I've gone and said something wrong now :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Nearly €2000, nearly 19 years old and it doesn't look that clean.

No thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,212 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

nd wrote: »
    BMW 520i diesel, nct to april, 900 euro ono

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bargain-bmw/6184487

25691950.jpeg
    Sorry for n00b question, why arent people cheering this as the bargain of the year? Im seriously thinking about it and I havent even passed my test yet, it would be my first car :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Mr.Fred

Thargor wrote: »
    Sorry for n00b question, why arent people cheering this as the bargain of the year? Im seriously thinking about it and I havent even passed my test yet, it would be my first car :D

I could bet it won't be your first car so :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭jharr100

Thargor wrote: »

Its not diesel like the ad says . .
    Its 2.2 petrol
    Would make a great first car .. did you try and get an insurance quote?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

He wouldn't get one.

I'm 27 and been driving 5 years and I bet i'd get an absurd quote for it even.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Moneymaker wrote: »
    He wouldn't get one.

Don't be mad, it's a bottom level 5er, not an Enzo.

Get a load of this baby,

2001 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    2.0 Petrol, manual
    134k Miles
    NCT 7/14, no tax
    CN reg and everything just to add to it all. Not a bad car if you could get it for €900.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/01-chrysler-pt-cruiser/6186908
    25703541.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Moneymaker wrote: »
    He wouldn't get one.

You dont look around then :P FBD will insure this for an 18 year old on a full licence with a year NCB or Named Driver Experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭DeFinch89

BMW 520i diesel, nct to april, 900 euro ono

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bargain-bmw/6184487

25691950.jpeg

either the seller is completely clueless on all things BMW and bought it himself thinking it was a genuine diesel powered 520i :confused:
    uu(i meaning petrol in bmw talk) who previously bought off someone who swapped original 520i engine for a diesel and didnt declare or register as such.

or

seller knows well what hes flogging, could have carried out the dodgy engine swap himself and attempting to cash in on some poor eejit who could buy it thinking it a decent standard diesel 5er.

either way, personally I would avoid like the plague doesnt make good bangernomic's sense to me: lack of originality and a potential dodgy undeclared and unregistered engine swap has me completely turned off.

however as a banger off road drift/diff messing car if you got him down to half price then maybe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭jharr100

DeFinch89 wrote: »
    either the seller is completely clueless on all things BMW and bought it himself thinking it was a genuine diesel powered 520i :confused:
    uu(i meaning petrol in bmw talk) who previously bought off someone who swapped original 520i engine for a diesel and didnt declare or register as such.

or

seller knows well what hes flogging, could have carried out the dodgy engine swap himself and attempting to cash in on some poor eejit who could buy it thinking it a decent standard diesel 5er.

either way, personally I would avoid like the plague doesnt make good bangernomic's sense to me: lack of originality and a potential dodgy undeclared and unregistered engine swap has me completely turned off.

however as a banger off road drift/diff messing car if you got him down to half price then maybe...

Plus its not manual its automatic..
    The ad is totally misleading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

I'm clueless on bmws so posted it :)

love these audi a6s

a6 Diesel, nct to sep. 14, 2150 euro

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/car/6186632

25702402.jpeg

another

a6 diesel. nct to aug. 14, 2100 euro

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-a6-1-9-tdi/6186090

25699910.jpeg

05 rover 75, nct to aug 15, 1800 euro

pity it has that petrol engine

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/rover-75/6111300

25327304.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,757 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I'm clueless on bmws so posted it :)

love these audi a6s

a6 Diesel, nct to sep. 14, 2150 euro

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/car/6186632

25702402.jpeg

Why is there two wheelbarrow handles sticking out of the back of it?

In case it breaks down :pac:

1990 BMW 316i E30
    1.6 Petrol, manual
    148k Miles
    NCT 5/14, tax 1/14
    €1200
    It would make for an interesting, cheap to run daily driver at about €1k. Nice to see one looking so original.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/bmw-316i-e30/5985977
    24703783.jpeg