Are some people just born middle-aged?

• 28-12-2013 01:59AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

There's this girl I went to college with, she's about two years younger than me but for as long as I've known her she's acted about forty-five.

She's always had a complete disregard for things that occupy most teenagers'/young peoples' minds - music, nights out, popular TV shows, fashion, getting the ride (not a bad thing I guess). And her wardrobe and hair style is distinctly tweed, dated, "teacher / mammy"ish. The glasses alone add about a decade.

Her style of conversation is like that which I'd overhear if I sat in on a lunch with my mother and her old school pals - with all the 'old-fogey' phrases and nuances to go with it. Did you hear such-and-such bought a new house fair play to her, himself did well in the exams thank God, tis shocking what you'd see of a Saturday night down in those parts, twas a great mass on Sunday, great to see the local choir back in action.

FB posts tend to be equally banal:

"Had the pleasure of visiting (random town) today, tis a fab spot altogether, the flowers are only gorgeous"

"Absolutely thrilled to be shortlisted for (random gardening competition), tis fierce windy out there but our green fingers shall persist!"

I've always found myself censoring the swear words and adapting a more innocent, slightly more 'country' tone while engaging in conversation with her, as if I was talking to an old-fashioned aunt or grandparents of a friend or something. Even though I'd be talking to a nineteen year old, several years younger than me.

It's hard to imagine someone like this getting bollixed drunk and crying because "everyone hates me" or something, or having wild animal sex, or having a fag and some skittles for breakfast just for the hell of it...as is a rite of passage for most young people. They just seem so innocent and yet, paradoxically, completely middle-aged. Like they skipped the silly adolescent / 20s phase.

Anyone else know people like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Galway K9

Are you middle aged?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Nope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

She sounds hot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Not all of us 20 somethings want to act like morons all the time (skittles and fags for breakfast...lol)! You shouldn't be at her for being herself, and you never know what goes on behind closed curtains...the calmest ones are always the most volatile underneath it all ;)

Anyway, isn't it a 'middle aged' thing to natter on about other people behind their back? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

I think so, some people are just very innocent and sheltered, can think of a couple off the top of my head, one in particular is my age going on 40 in mindset imo. It's fine though as long as they're happy, they're entitled to it after all but they just wouldnt be the type i'd keep company with as i'd just get bored. Live and let live after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 LikeClockwork

So because she is a caring individual with hobbies that are different to your standard moron, she is middle aged? She sounds like a nice woman in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

beks101 wrote: »

No, she's from the future you see, and downloaded her consciousness from 40 years later into her younger self. It's all very complicated

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

Some people have different personalities. Get over it.

Cydoniac wrote: »
    Not all of us 20 somethings want to act like morons all the time (skittles and fags for breakfast...lol)! You shouldn't be at her for being herself, and you never know what goes on behind closed curtains...the calmest ones are always the most volatile underneath it all ;)

Anyway, isn't it a 'middle aged' thing to natter on about other people behind their back? :pac:

She's a dote, a really truly lovely girl. Just on a different wave length to most of her peers, seemingly of a wavelength a generation or two above her actual age.

Just fascinating is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

Lady in the street but a freak in the bed, guaranteed.

hair style is distinctly tweed

Also, how does someone have a tweed hairstyle?! I MUST KNOW THIS!

5uspect wrote: »
    Some people have different personalities. Get over it.

Aren't you a treat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

I know what ya mean. I've always wanted to shag one of those but I haven't developed the social maturity to bed them yet. Dunno if I want to either to be honest, can't imagine the sex being good with a stuffy mare like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

She's a dote, a really truly lovely girl. Just on a different wave length to most of her peers, seemingly of a wavelength a generation or two above her actual age.

Just fascinating is all.
    I salute her for doing something different, too many young people are afraid to show individuality lest they be seen as a bit odd.
    If I had to choose between getting 'bollixed drunk, eating skittles with fags, swearing and shagging, bitching about mates on Boards', and actually doing something I enjoy and pursue passions, well...
    Mint Aero wrote: »
    I know what ya mean. I've always wanted to shag one of those but I haven't developed the social maturity to bed them yet. Dunno if I want to either to be honest, can't imagine the sex being good with a stuffy mare like that.
    You don't exactly sound like Mr. Sex God yourself from the tone of that post :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Fentdog84

When she'll be 40 she'll probably be making up for lost time going around acting like a twenty year old riding young fellas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Knew a chap from Dalkey who was born fully grown, with memories but no experience to account for them and teeth already tobacco-stained.

So because she is a caring individual with hobbies that are different to your standard moron, she is middle aged?

Yes, this is precisely what I said.
    Thank you for clarifying for me.

Aren't you a treat

Oh noes, someone in the internet disagrees.

This girl isn't born middle aged. She's just got her own personality. I wish most people did this rather than follow the piss head herd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Hahaha are we friends with the same person?! She sounds like a girl I used to be friends with. We were like chalk and cheese and I think the only reason we became friends was cause I was the new girl and she had no friends so we bonded on my first day!

She's hilarious though, when she came out for a drink the first night with us, she had one and "knew her limits" after that. Me abc my friends wouldn't be a crowd that would recognise limits so I'd imagine she was disgusted.

She travels a lot and has all these pics up on Facebook and I do have to laugh at her in her 3/4 length shorts and her Ecco sandals haha.

She was home a few years ago (she's nursing in England) for Xmas and we all went out, **** ur Honda civic was BIG at the time and me and my best friend were drunkenly singing it to each other and she's all like what is this nonsense.

Knock some Craic out of her all the same though - although it'd be unintentional

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Cydoniac wrote: »
    You don't exactly sound like Mr. Sex God yourself from the tone of that post :pac:

Nope I'm frigid but I know the type the OP is on about and I just can't imagine the sex at all.

5uspect wrote: »
    Oh noes, someone in the internet disagrees.

This girl isn't born middle aged. She's just got her own personality. I wish most people did this rather than follow the piss head herd.

So you never find a common level of experience or maturity or developmental growth among a group of peers?

It's a passing observation btw, not a criticism.

You sound like someone who hates people generally.

I think I'm at odds with everyone. you're all feckin' weirdos, you hear? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

Ryna Tubridy was 67 when he was 14.

So you never find a common level of experience or maturity or developmental growth among a group of peers?

It's a passing observation btw, not a criticism.

You sound like someone who hates people generally.

Eh okay. You you accuse others of putting words in your mouth...

Yes, this is precisely what I said.
    Thank you for clarifying for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

life experience.

I was always more "mature" than my peers in alot of ways.
    And this was due to a great number of unfortunate events.

It's rare someone is just "older".

She may have spent much of her time with her grandparents/raised by them, which would also lead to an "older" likes/dislikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

*COLD WATER* SPLASH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 LikeClockwork

Hahaha are we friends with the same person?! She sounds like a girl I used to be friends with. We were like chalk and cheese and I think the only reason we became friends was cause I was the new girl and she had no friends so we bonded on my first day! She's hilarious though, when she came out for a drink the first night with us, she had one and knew her limits after that. Me abc my friends wouldn't be a crowd that would recognise limits so I'd imagine she was disgusted. She travels a lot and has all these pics up on Facebook and I do have to laugh at her in her 3/4 length shorts and her Ecco sandals haha. She was home a few years ago (she's nursing in England) for Xmas and we all went out, **** ur Honda civic was BIG at the time and me and my best friend were drunkenly singing it to each other and she's all like what is this nonsense. Knock some Craic out of her all the same though - although it'd be unintentional
    So, because she dresses differently, doesn't listen to the same music as you and doesn't get pissed every weekend you take the piss out of her and laugh at her facebook pictures? Christ I weep for humanity sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

So, because she dresses differently, doesn't listen to the same music as you and doesn't get pissed every weekend you take the piss out of her and laugh at her facebook pictures? Christ I weep for humanity sometimes.

I laugh at her Facebook pictures because they're hilarious

Hahaha are we friends with the same person?! She sounds like a girl I used to be friends with. We were like chalk and cheese and I think the only reason we became friends was cause I was the new girl and she had no friends so we bonded on my first day!

She's hilarious though, when she came out for a drink the first night with us, she had one and "knew her limits" after that. Me abc my friends wouldn't be a crowd that would recognise limits so I'd imagine she was disgusted.

She travels a lot and has all these pics up on Facebook and I do have to laugh at her in her 3/4 length shorts and her Ecco sandals haha.

She was home a few years ago (she's nursing in England) for Xmas and we all went out, **** ur Honda civic was BIG at the time and me and my best friend were drunkenly singing it to each other and she's all like what is this nonsense.

Knock some Craic out of her all the same though - although it'd be unintentional

You were 'friends' with a girl you took the piss out of because of how she dressed and actually laughed *at* her for entertainment?

Nice.