Not Quite Four Laps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Wednesday

14.5 miles @ 7.06/mi

Run home from work. First time I've ran it in the dark in a long time. It's not as good. Some of the paths round Killiney are quite badly lit too so I might look for an alternative winter route, just not back to the N11 again!

It's not as bad if you stick to the coast (take a right from Killiney hill Rd onto seafield Rd) http://connect.garmin.com/activity/401141540
    I did that tonight , hardly a car on those roads and pretty well lit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

Did you try the route through the parks? A little like this? Just watch out for the wookies if you head through the parks in the dark.
    menoscemo wrote: »
    It's not as bad if you stick to the coast (take a right from Killiney hill Rd onto seafield Rd) http://connect.garmin.com/activity/401141540
    I did that tonight , hardly a car on those roads and pretty well lit.

Thanks KC but the Google Map isn't showing up anything. Are there parks around there that you can run through at night?

Cheers Meno, that route looks like a quality alternative. I'll give that a go next week. Might be that bit more scenic too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭jfh

HI Kiely, was out running this morning & thinking to myself, how i'm going to get down from 2:49 to 2:45 for next year & it occured to me, that you had a bigger jump from 2:48 to 2:38. Sure why not aim for 2:40 :P
    Berlin in sept so loads of time but trying to structure my training year in my head. what plan did you do? any tips appreciated.
    what's your own plan, you going back to the marathons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,531 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Thanks KC but the Google Map isn't showing up anything. Are there parks around there that you can run through at night?
    It's showing up fine for me, but that may be because I'm running the latest google maps beta. Here, try this: MapMyRun. 10 Miles that will take you from Bray to Booterstown, mostly via parks. Must show you the backroads at some point (but it's not a great night-time run).

God, I never would have thought it possible to get so many parks in going to Booterstown. When there's a stretch in the evening (Half a bloody year from now), I'll have to give that one a go.

jfh wrote: »
    HI Kiely, was out running this morning & thinking to myself, how i'm going to get down from 2:49 to 2:45 for next year & it occured to me, that you had a bigger jump from 2:48 to 2:38. Sure why not aim for 2:40 :P
    Berlin in sept so loads of time but trying to structure my training year in my head. what plan did you do? any tips appreciated.
    what's your own plan, you going back to the marathons?

Alright jfh, why not aim for sub 2.40. You've made great strides this year already.

For both Dublin and London, I made out my own plans. This is what I did for London.

I followed a fairly simple plan that I structured to best fit in with my daily schedule. The basic setup was as follows:

Monday: Double - 5mi lunchtime & 6mi evening
    Tuesday: Club track session, 1-2mi w/u and w/d
    Wednesday: 13mi run home from work
    Thursday: Marathon paced run (Building up from 6 to 13mi, incrementing by a mile each week. 1-2 miles w/u and w/d
    Friday: Double - 5mi lunchtime @ 8mi evening
    Saturday 6-10mi easy
    Sunday Long run

That was the plan. As you'll see from the link above, this isn't exactly how it worked out in the end. For the long run, I varied it up a bit. I did one 24 miler on a hilly route to get a good 3 hours on my feet. I included MP miles in some. I had intended to do some 10 mile easy/10 mile MP long runs but didn't get them done. I did this for the previous marathon cycle for Dublin and found them good. I ran one long run at a steady pace (~6.40/mi) but most were done at an easy pace (7-7.30/mi).

I also ran a few races with the half marathon two months out being the main one. I didn't really taper for these so I wouldn't have taken the times as an exact indicator of where I stood. If I was able to hit my MP sessions, I felt I was doing okay and that the marathon goal wasn't a stretch.

A few things that I felt were important:
    • Try and pick routes where you can run continuosly for the whole session, especially on the long run
    • Build up the marathon paced run gradually. They are very tough but psychollogically it's easier if each one is only a mile longer than the previous one
    • Nearly all my long runs were on hilly routes. I felt this was good for mimicing the tired feet of marathon running
    • Remember all the hard training when you're struggling on the day. You'll have put in the hard work so use this when the going gets tough.

Best of luck with it. I would like to run in Berlin some day myself.

Not sure what my plan is at the moment. I'm just running a few XC and road races for the next while and I'd like to run some more track races next summer. DCM '14 might be a goer. A lot of runners at the club round the same level so we could have a group of 5 or 6 to train together for it, which would be a great help.

Friday

Rest

Saturday

BHAA BOI XC 4mi 22.04

Not sure if this time is right. A clubmate finished a second ahead of me and he timed himself at 21.48. This is the official time on the BHAA website so I'll go with this, although they've added on another 30 seconds since I checked yesterday so I'm not so sure. It's much of a muchness anyway, I guess.

The race itself wasn't great. I was struggling after a mile or so and the legs just felt so heavy. Cross country certainly isn't my strength but I'll perservere. I was really tempted to drop out for most of the race but was happy that I stayed going to the end. I started slowly and lost a lot of places in the first 100 metres. This was probably stupid from me because I had to slowly overtake these people for the first mile. When I started to suffer, I just settled in and let my clubmate slowly edge away without losing places to anybody else.

With about half a mile to go, I was just bringing it home and I went by the man that always let you know your place as you pass him in BHAA races (What a sound thing to do). He shouted out '15' as I went by and this was very quickly follwed by a shout of '16'. This surprised me because I thought I had a bit of distance to the next runner. It woke me out of my slumber and I upped the pace hugely. I was shocked at my turn of pace because I had been feeling so bad for so long in the race. My clubmate was way ahead but I thought if I kept this pace up I had a slight chance of catching him. I went past two runners and was eating up the ground on the clubmate but the finish line came too soon and he finished just ahead. He had just run the marathon two weeks before so that was some running from him so soon afterwards.

Sunday

Rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭jfh

Alright jfh, why not aim for sub 2.40. You've made great strides this year already.

For both Dublin and London, I made out my own plans. This is what I did for London.

I followed a fairly simple plan that I structured to best fit in with my daily schedule. The basic setup was as follows:

Monday: Double - 5mi lunchtime & 6mi evening
    Tuesday: Club track session, 1-2mi w/u and w/d
    Wednesday: 13mi run home from work
    Thursday: Marathon paced run (Building up from 6 to 13mi, incrementing by a mile each week. 1-2 miles w/u and w/d
    Friday: Double - 5mi lunchtime @ 8mi evening
    Saturday 6-10mi easy
    Sunday Long run

That was the plan. As you'll see from the link above, this isn't exactly how it worked out in the end. For the long run, I varied it up a bit. I did one 24 miler on a hilly route to get a good 3 hours on my feet. I included MP miles in some. I had intended to do some 10 mile easy/10 mile MP long runs but didn't get them done. I did this for the previous marathon cycle for Dublin and found them good. I ran one long run at a steady pace (~6.40/mi) but most were done at an easy pace (7-7.30/mi).

I also ran a few races with the half marathon two months out being the main one. I didn't really taper for these so I wouldn't have taken the times as an exact indicator of where I stood. If I was able to hit my MP sessions, I felt I was doing okay and that the marathon goal wasn't a stretch.

A few things that I felt were important:
    • Try and pick routes where you can run continuosly for the whole session, especially on the long run
    • Build up the marathon paced run gradually. They are very tough but psychollogically it's easier if each one is only a mile longer than the previous one
    • Nearly all my long runs were on hilly routes. I felt this was good for mimicing the tired feet of marathon running
    • Remember all the hard training when you're struggling on the day. You'll have put in the hard work so use this when the going gets tough.

Best of luck with it. I would like to run in Berlin some day myself.

Not sure what my plan is at the moment. I'm just running a few XC and road races for the next while and I'd like to run some more track races next summer. DCM '14 might be a goer. A lot of runners at the club round the same level so we could have a group of 5 or 6 to train together for it, which would be a great help.

Really appreciate the info KU, some steady running there. i didn't relise you were injured for 11 days at a vital stage. i see you put some rest days in after that.
    Did you do most of that training alone? apart from the Track.
    your easy runs are much longer than mine.(something i could improve)
    you did doubles, more miles, & your fast!

i dont do track but could do those long intervals on road but to get under 10 min for 10k would be nigh on impossible.(get fast)
    thanks again for the insight.

jfh wrote: »
    Really appreciate the info KU, some steady running there. i didn't relise you were injured for 11 days at a vital stage. i see you put some rest days in after that.
    Did you do most of that training alone? apart from the Track.
    your easy runs are much longer than mine.(something i could improve)
    you did doubles, more miles, & your fast!

i dont do track but could do those long intervals on road but to get under 10 min for 10k would be nigh on impossible.(get fast)
    thanks again for the insight.

The majority of the runs were done by myself apart from the sessions with the club. Had company for the odd easy run. I did that one killer 15 mile MP run on a horrible windy day in Phoenix Park with KC. That toughened us up for sure. I did a 26.2 mile run with KC towards the end too:p.

Getting under 10 mins for a 10k might be tough but I reckon you'd manage it for the 3k. I got just under 10 after running a similar time to yourself in DCM (the weather was a bit more forgiving in 2012 too). They're good fun to race as well.

Monday

Off

Tuesday

5 X 600m w/ 250m active recovery
    1.47, 1.50, 1.51, 1.51, 1.58

A couple of the lads were back to training after the marathon so the level was upped a bit. I figured they'd be taking it handy and easing themselves back in to the faster stuff so I stuck with them for the first rep. It felt okay for the first 400m but over the last 200m, I knew I couldn't keep this up for another 7 reps. I hung off the back for the next two reps but not enough really and they were still a little fast. It was my turn to lead out for the 4th lap and I reluctantly obliged. My chest was feeling a little tight at this stage and I was finding it hard to get the oxygen in. I made it round for the rep but my session was done. I kept the pace up for the first half of the next rep but then my lungs just gave up and it took me about five minutes to catch my breath once I finished it.
    I was a little worried by this because it's always been my legs that give up the ghost first and I've never had issues with breathing before. I thought I might have been coming down with a cold or something but in retrospect I just went out way too fast on the first rep and paid the price.

Wednesday

8 miles @ 6.47/mi

I was still worried at this stage that there was something up with my lungs but this run confirmed everything was grand. Really enjoyed it actually and the fast enough pace felt reasonably comfortable.

Thursday

3 X 8 mins hard w/ 90s rec, Pace: 5.28, 5.27, 5.31

Three of us ran this session. I was a little reluctant, as it was a similar group to the Tuesday session, which was a little hot for me. They were going to be racing at the weekend and agreed to take it handy enough so I was happy enough with this. The pace was quite fast and there was a stretch into the wind on one side of the hurling pitch that fairly took it out of you. After the first one, I had said that I'd hang back for the next two and make sure I finished it out. They suggested I cut corners if need be and this seemed a reasonable idea so I went with it. I stuck to the sidelines of the pitch and they took a slightly longer route round the corners so it worked out perfect and we kept together for the rest of the session. Really delighted with the paces as I didn't think I'd be able to hit anything near that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭smmoore79

Thats a nice fast week so far! Training with the fast lads is a real killer but a great way to make jumps in fitness. Im starting to worry myself that I may be rusty on the fast stuff when i get back into it next week :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 footrage

Tursday was way too hot a session for me too considering i was racing at the weekend, but i enjoyed it and i don't think it affected my race. looking forward to another good n hard tuesday session tomorrow. V

Friday

14.5 miles @ 7.06/mi

Run home from work. It was relatively uneventful until I got to East Link Bridge. The road and the path narrow quite a bit here. There was a father with his two kids walking towards me heading to the Ireland match. I slowed a little as I approached them and thought they'd make a bit of space for me but I don't think he saw me. Rather than stop, I took a quick step out on to the road and then back on to the path. It wasn't quite as smooth a move as I had hoped and I ended up getting flattened on the ground and getting a bad gash on my shoulder and nose. Could have been worse, I suppose. A bit of a lesson learned. I tend to take more risks, the longer I get in to a run. Will have to be more precautious in future.

Saturday & Sunday

Off

I was down with a cold all weekend so didn't get out.

Monday

8 miles @ 6.59/mi

Was feeling a bit better so got out for an evening run. Was feeling good so upped the tempo for a mile at halfway. Maybe I wasn't quite recovered but the pace was a little lower than I expected.

Tuesday

8 X 800m (90s rec)
    2.40, 2.37, 2.38, 2.38, 2.36, 2.35, 2.35, 2.32

Was hoping to hit the low 2.30s in this like the 6 X 800 session I had done a fortnight previously but the energy wasn't there for the start. I had to let the group away and basically ran all of them on my own. Still, a very good session and I think I got the most out of it. The final rep was a big effort.

Wednesday

6 miles @ 6.59/mi

I remember it being a struggle to get out for this one but managed it.

Thursday

w/u, 3 X 9mins hard, w/d - Pace:5.50/mi

I was glad when the group decided that this was going to be a comfortably hard session and not basically all out like the previous week. I was still unsure if I was fully recovered from the cold but this session went really well and I felt unusually strong. Good stuff.

Friday

14.5 miles @ 7.25/mi

This was horrible. I felt okay for the first few miles but then my stomach started acting up. It came and went until about 10 miles in when I had to stop and walk for for a bit. Ran on for a mile or two, had to stop again. Recovered for half a minute and made my way towards Irishtown stadium. Dropped in there for a little relief (to put things politely) and then ambled home. Boy was I glad to get in the door. Evening in front of the fire has been a treat.

My main plan from now on is to get more consistent. Going to make a plan that includes the club sessions starting in the new year. I'd do one starting from now but it will be hard to stick to a plan over the Christmas season and I don't want to start on the wrong foot. Might have the Ballycotton 10 as the crux of the plan.

Saturday

10.5 miles w/ abandoned hill repeats

After the run the day before, I really should have gave this session a miss but I had made a commitment during the week so didn't want to back out. I felt weak on the run down to the park and on the first mile repeat, I knew I wasn't well so abandoned the session. Ran a few at an easy pace and left it at that.

Sunday

6 miles @ 7.08/mi

Stomach gave me awful issues towards the finish of this run. Should have skipped this one too but wanted to complete my first full week of running in a long time. Was glad to accomplish this but it was a mixed bag of running really with the Thursday being the only decent run.

Monday to Wednesday

Off

Took a few days to recover from whatever I'd been down with over the past few days.

Thursday

w/u, 3 X 10mins, w/d (c. 5.45/mi pace)

Stomach was still a little bit iffy still on this one:mad: but I felt stronger as the session went on and was really happy to finish it out

Friday

6 miles @ 6.58/mi

Felt back to normal finally

Saturday

w/u, 5 X 1 mile hill repeats w/ 75s rec, w/d (5.22, 5.34, 5.37, 5.32, 6.20 (inc.50s break)

Ran down to Phoenix Park and running up the hill to the club meeting point, my legs felt really weak so I was worried I'd have to abandon the session again. After a short break, switching in to the spikes and doing the dynamic warm up, I was feeling better so lined up with the group at the starting point by the magazine fort. The other three were stronger runners (smmoore was in the group) so I decided I'd hang off the back and keep my own pace. I stuck right behind them on the first repeat and it felt surprisingly comfortable at 5.22. However, I knew I'd struggle to do 5 at this pace so I backed off on the pace a little bit and the next three were all around 5.35. I wanted the last one to be a little stronger so I hit the long steady incline section of the route pretty hard. A bit too hard in retrospect because when I got to the top, my legs were in a jocker and I had to take a 50s break to regain my composure. Smmoore and R+ came by at this stage and got me to tag along, so I finished off the repeat with them. I really should have stayed going and tried to recover on the downhill that was coming up but at the time, my legs were completely jellified and I wasn't thinking logically. Very good session overall and happy to work on an area of my running that I'm not particularly strong at.

Sunday

6 miles @ 7.16/mi

Smashing evening for a run.

Good session there KU; Id say looking at your splits the first 1 was very impressive but it did the damage. The trick is to get them consistent, Id say if ya took the first 1 conservatively you could average them out at 5 26-5 28 for the lot. Still, very good that you kept the rest in the 5 30's! We used to only do 4 reps so I wouldnt be too worried about the 5th :)

smmoore79 wrote: »
    Good session there KU; Id say looking at your splits the first 1 was very impressive but it did the damage. The trick is to get them consistent, Id say if ya took the first 1 conservatively you could average them out at 5 26-5 28 for the lot. Still, very good that you kept the rest in the 5 30's! We used to only do 4 reps so I wouldnt be too worried about the 5th :)

It must have been that magic warm up from R+ ;). I do try and take it easy on the first one as a general rule but that repeat just felt an awful lot easier than the time suggests. You seem to be getting that marathon out of your legs by this stage. It will be an interesting race on Saturday to see how everyone gets on.

I better update this before all the Christmas drinking wipes the memories from my head.

Monday

Off

Tuesday

w/u, 8 X 600 w/ active recovery, w/d (1.55, 1.52, 1.53, 1.53, 1.55, 1.51, 1.52, 1.43,w/d

I kept this reasonably controlled until the last one where I ran with a young lad from the club who's in great form at the moment. In retrospect I was thinking I might have been better off running them all around the 1.50 mark. Better to finish strong though than fade away.

Wednesday to Friday

Off

Saturday

Jingle Bells 5k in 16.06

Outside of the cross country, I hadn't run a race in a while so I was curious to see what my racing form would be like. There was a good crowd from the club running in this so after collecting the numbers we got in a good dynamic warm up with strides. I've really taken to the dynamic recently and I've made it a regular part of racing and sessions. Great way to get to the line feeling loose and ready.

While waiting for the start, I bumped in to PConn. He seemed in reasonably confident mood and rightfully so as he ended up romping home in the Dunleer duel. In your face RFR! I popped in to the sub 16 section, which I thought might be an outside chance on the day given the profile of the course. From looking around, I think some people were taking this sign a little lightly in any case.

The race kicked off right on time and I got in to a good rhythm early on. There were a good few people ahead of me that I knew I should probably be competing with but I didn't panic. Turning on to Chesterfield, there was a reasonably strong headwind so I accelerated to get to to a decent group up ahead and snuck on to the tail end. I was starting to feel the pace when we got to the turn off at the top of Chesterfield. I had no idea how far was gone and was delighted to see the 3k marker at this point.

Now, my familiarity with the park became a bit of an advantage. I knew it was mainly downhill from here and being used to long runs in the park, a mere mile and a bit seemed like no distance at all. I was making good ground and gaining places as we careened down the hill. Before I knew it, the finish line was around the corner so I upped the pace one more time until I was over the line in a heap.

I flashed a glance at the watch and saw I was just over the 16. I had thought that maybe I had done enough but it's going to be a tough nut to crack. If it was easy then, sure it would be no fun.

Sunday

Off

Monday

6 miles @ 6.40/mi

The standard out and back along the Clontarf seafront. I've got to start varying things up a bit but it is a lovely run.

Tuesday

w/u, 3 X 1 mile w/ 2 min semi-active recovery, w/d (5.15, 5.08, 5.16 pace/mile)

It's been a long time since we did the mile repeats in Sean Moore park so it was going to a good sign of how I was getting along. There was a really strong group running with basically all the XC crew down. We were given instructions to keep it relaxed but we flew off from the start. I just stuck in the middle of the group and it felt fast but manageable. On the second one I felt I should take the lead for a bit so I made my way to the front about half way in and I was feeling it towards the end. Thankfully we took it a small bit easier on the last one and I didn't feel fit to collapse at the end.

Wednesday

14.6 miles @ 7.34/mi

Ran home from work with a colleague and it was the perfect run after the tough workout on the evening previous.

Thursday & Friday

Off

Saturday

3.7mi w/u, 5 X 1 mile w/ 75s rec, 3.7mi w/d (5.56, 5.48, 5.52, 5.53, 5.46)

There was a low enough turn out for the hill session today and I ended up running them all on my own:(. Still, I got some kind of perverse enjoyment out of it. The wind was okay for most of the route but the last quarter mile along the acres was a real struggle. I was literally sprinting in to the wind at times but still barely getting above a saunter. I managed to get down in to the 5.40s for the last one, which was a big plus for me. I finished badly on my last hill session so it was good to see it out.

Sunday

Off

Monday

6 miles @ 7.21/mi

I was looking forward to this as I cycled home home work but the wind picked up at some stage in the meantime and it was a bit fresh on the return leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

Boooooooo.... Romping home, by a second?!! I think my performance was much better actually, given I had to pass out 800 people and started to race from a seated position 400 metres from the startline...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

and started to race from a seated position 400 metres from the startline...

I hope you wiped at least once??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

Super mile session ku. How do you do them in sean moore park? On the strava it looks like you run up and down the grass on the side near the road. Do you lose a lot of time turning around a hairpin?

Boooooooo.... Romping home, by a second?!! I think my performance was much better actually, given I had to pass out 800 people and started to race from a seated position 400 metres from the startline...

At least when you got to the line, you were a few pounds closer to your race weight.:D. That's got to count for some kind of advantage
    Super mile session ku. How do you do them in sean moore park? On the strava it looks like you run up and down the grass on the side near the road. Do you lose a lot of time turning around a hairpin?

Yea, we keep to that side of the park because it gets the ambient light from the street lamps. You probably lose a little time going around the tight turn arounds but we take a route around some trees so it's not as sharp as maybe it looks on the Strava. Will you be getting the Raheny run going again next year or has the football been knocked on the head at this stage.

Will you be getting the Raheny run going again next year or has the football been knocked on the head at this stage.

football dead :( couldnt get the numbers. Would be on for a few tempos etc. I dont work too far from sm park....

Well we're down there every Thursday at 6.45 or so if you ever want to join in. We should meet up for an auld run in the New Year's anyway. I'm considering moving over to that neck of the woods soon so it might be even handier.

Great drop me a line when yer over.

Tuesday

w/u, 3k Christmas Time Trial (9.34), w/d

Last Tuesday session of the year meant the 'No watch' 3k time trial at the club. This basically consists of guessing your time, running the race with no watch and the top three in their gender, closest to the right time winning prizes.
    I was only 4 seconds off my time but this was only good enough for joint 4th:mad:
    Nice event to finish up the club running year and great craic after too.

Wednesday to Sunday

Off

Monday

6 miles @ 6.54/mi

It was unusually quiet down by the strand in Clontarf this evening despite the decent weather conditions. It was good to get a run in however and hopefully should be able to get in a lot more running when I get down to Tipp for a few days.

Great drop me a line when yer over.

Will do. I'll be a man with a running plan again next year so we should be able to arrange something. Plus, you're still holding my t-shirt to ransom:D.

Tuesday

6 miles @ 6.40/mi

Had hoped to get out to Bull Island for a run as its one of my favourites to do when I have a bit of daylight to work with. The gale force winds put a stop to this and I had to settle for a route round Drumcondra away from the coast:mad:. Felt very sluggish.

Wednesday

5 miles @ 8.41/mi

Did a bit of a recce of the course with the brother and his wife for the following day's Charity Run. Really lovely crisp Christmas morning.

Thursday

w/u, 10k run in 35.49, w/d

Well, this is what all the year's training had been for:D. I had won the inaugural running of this event in aid of the local community centre last year and with it the unofficial title of 'Fastest man in town':p. Self proclaimed, of course. The St Stephen's night bragging rights were up for grabs again so it was time to toe the line with the best that the town of Borrisoleigh and the surrounding area could muster up.

Luckily enough, we had a cracking morning for the run considering how the weather turned later in the day although the clear skies meant some icy stretches along the route. It was a bit more competitive than last year but I went in to the lead after 2 miles and pulled gradually away to win by a minute or so in the end. Got a bottle of Champagne for my troubles and then back home to tuck in to the Christmas leftovers. Nice way to kick off the St Stephen's Day.

Friday

Off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Well done champ! :)

Good to see your ticking along over the xmas KU. itll stand to ya in the new year. im a bit of a disaster, havent run in 10 days but will hopefully get out today..

Saturday

8 miles @ 8.49/mi

Got out for a lovely scenic run with the brother and his wife before they headed back to Scotland. Here's a few pictures I took along the way

Sunday

Off

Monday

10 miles @ 6.32/mi

This was a good steady run around one of my favourite routes. It felt a lot tougher than it probably should, which I think was a a bit of a sign that I was coming down with something.......

Tuesday to Sunday

Off

....which I subsequently did.

Monday

6 miles @ 6.51/mi

I wasn't sure if I was fully recovered from the cold so I went out quite easy for the first mile or two to see how I felt. Was delighted to feel no ill effects. I had been going a little stir crazy over the weekend and it was great to get out on the pathways of Dublin again.

Tuesday

w/u, 8 X 600 w/ 200 active recovery, w/d (1.57, 1.59, 1.58, 1.55, 1.54, 1.53, 1.56, 1.54)

Despite the run from the day before going well, I was reluctant to go out too hard in this session. Smmoore and another lad lead out and I was happy enough to let them get away. After the first two or three reps, I felt I was ok so upped the pace a bit for the remaining ones. The recoveries on these were quite quick too (7-7.30/mi) so really happy with the session as a whole.

Wednesday

14.5 @ 7.15/mi

Was meant to run this with a lad from work but he had a bit of an injury so ended up on my ownsome :(. Then my mp3 ran out of battery about half a mile in so I didn't even have the soothing voice of Matt Cooper in my ears :(:(. So it was just me and my thoughts for an hour and three quarters.