WTF??? That is NOT punishment!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

I agree with the 10 years but the 7 years suspended is a disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Paul Carney strikes again... how is he still a judge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Carney of course standing for the devil incarnate...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

CaSCaDe711 wrote: »
    A man has been sentenced to ten years with the final seven years suspended for offences including raping his then four-year-old neighbour.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/1220/494138-man-rape-sentence/

The judge took into account he had no previous convictions....????? For fecking child rape??? We are not talking about shoplifting here judge....

I cannot seriously understand this legal twats position here. The law is an ass and this man is the glaring example. Disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

This is from back in 2002
    A former soldier was given a five-year suspended prison sentence by a judge at the Central Criminal Court today after a jury found him guilty of the manslaughter of the 18-month-old son of his first cousin.

Mr Justice Paul Carney said that a relatively small quantity of poteen had "a unique, inexplicable and extraordinary effect'' on John Reilly and "he had no control over his body or his actions'' and was functioning like an epileptic or diabetic in a bad state of a hypo or hyper.

The judge said that the case had been "unique in the criminal law of this country".

He said he was satisfied that a prison sentence would serve no purpose and he sentenced Reilly to five-years imprisonment suspended on Reilly's own bond of €1,000, on condition that he keep the peace for five years and that he does not carry a Leatherman (a multi tool knife used in the killing ) of any other similar device.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/man-convicted-of-babys-manslaughter-50398.html

As a parent I wouldn't even think that 10 years served is sufficient tbh. This is a 4 yr old we are talking about. Jaysus that is terrible.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Carney needs to face a court and explain some of the sentences he has been handing down, ****ing three years for raping a kid. Hell be out in 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭allym

How Paul Carney is still a judge is beyond me. It's seems like 9/10 times if there's a ridiculously low sentence given or lots of years suspended, particularly in cases of sexual crimes, it's him behind it.

If the punishment is meant to fit the crime, Justice Carney obvious considers child rape to be no biggie. Three years jail time is really an insult to the innocent little victim. She deserves better than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

says he was only 16 when he comitted the offense - which would have made him a minor.

Not excusing any of this, btw - just pointing out a possible reason.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭pm1977x

Our "justice" system is a sickening joke and a national embarrassment. Beyond belief how lenient the courts can be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭loubian

CaSCaDe711 wrote: »
    A man has been sentenced to ten years with the final seven years suspended for offences including raping his then four-year-old neighbour.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/1220/494138-man-rape-sentence/

I read about this earlier. How are people of the future generations going to ever learn what's wrong if they see murderers and rapists been given a jail sentence but have years suspended because of stupid reasons. Why is this even possible?

Read before of this guy who murdered someone, he got 15 years with 12 years suspended.. wtf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭HighClass

Going by all his convictions it seems Paul Carney has a soft spot for rapists.

Carney needs to face a court and explain some of the sentences he has been handing down, ****ing three years for raping a kid. Hell be out in 2.

This happens in the uk courts as well ( I'm from Norn Iron).

The legal profession (along with the banks) are the 2 things that need to be given an almighty boot in the balls by the public. Ie. us.

The legal eagles from judges to solicitors should be told yo wise up as they have been taking the piss out of joe public and laughing for a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,902 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Well, he'll be gone in a few months - off to collect his currently protected pension, [url]www.independant.ie:rolleyes[/url]:

pm1977x wrote: »
    Our "justice" system is a sickening joke and a national embarrassment. Beyond belief how lenient the courts can be.

Not just Irish btw, the British courts are exactly the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,902 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

He should be locked up a la the Lost Prophet:mad:.

loubian wrote: »

Read before of this guy who murdered someone, he got 15 years with 12 years suspended.. wtf?

Murder carries a mandatory life sentence. If he got 15 years the charge was most likely manslaughter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭loubian

Candie wrote: »
    Murder carries a mandatory life sentence. If he got 15 years the charge was most likely manslaughter.

Oh right! I can't remember the exact details of the case but the sentence really struck a chord on how ridiculous the justice system is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭diograis

is this the guy that handed out a ten thousand euro fine to a man that sexually assaulted a woman and had to be pulled off him by the victim's friend? Shocking stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,077 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

timthumbni wrote: »
    As a parent I wouldn't even think that 10 years served is sufficient tbh. This is a 4 yr old we are talking about. Jaysus that is terrible.

Ye because you need to be a parent to understand 10 years is not enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

First I've heard of this particular judge, did a quick image search to see if he looked like a wanker and was not disappointed:

carney.jpg

paul-carney2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

A Neurotic wrote: »
    First I've heard of this particular judge, did a quick image search to see if he looked like a wanker and was not disappointed:

carney.jpg

paul-carney2.jpg

The ould scrap of carpet on his head doesnt help..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,649 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

sure take account of age guilty plea etc but don't knock off so much of each element

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

Its about time we had universal sentences

75 years for rape or killing of a child (child being 0-12)

50 years for rape or killing of an adult

40 years for dealing any amont of class A

Big time may make people think twice

Manslaughter and statutory rape would be looked at individually

I dont claim it to be a prefect system but when gilligan gets 17 yrs and rapists get 6 something needs to be done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

says he was only 16 when he comitted the offense - which would have made him a minor.

Not excusing any of this, btw - just pointing out a possible reason.

Why suspend so many years though? Why not just give the guy 3 years and be done with it?

Giving 10 years and then suspending 7 is just stupid. Does the judge think most people dont have basic math skills?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

I'm inclined to agree with the outrage.

But - and hear me out, folks - there may well be circumstances here that we don't know about.
    Mr Justice Carney said the case warranted a ten-year term but took into account the man's pleas of guilty, lack of previous convictions, youth at the time and the fact that a historical case, like this going back 30 years, would have been difficult to prosecute without his pleas.

The sentence seems absurd, but there have been cases where this has to be balanced against walking free/putting the victim through the trial.

Wild speculation: the victim was dying, and without a guilty plea there wouldn't have been a court case.

More wild speculation: for whatever reason, the victim refused to testify, and the perpetrator would have walked free without some kind of implicit deal.

Even further wild speculation: the perpetrator is ill and will be dead within a fortnight, and his guilty plea will at least give peace of mind to the victim and all those that doubted her.

We could go on, but there is surely a lot more to this than meets the eye.

If there isn't, well....Christ, what an appalling sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

syklops wrote: »
    Why suspend so many years though? Why not just give the guy 3 years and be done with it?

Giving 10 years and then suspending 7 is just stupid. Does the judge think most people dont have basic math skills?

No idea - as i said, I'm just theorizing.

What's the maximun sentence a 16yo would get if he carried out the same crime today? Or what was it when he carried out the crime? Should it even make a difference that he was a minor?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,138 ✭✭✭jhegarty

But - and hear me out, folks - there may well be circumstances here that we don't know about.

The sentence seems absurd, but there have been cases where this has to be balanced against walking free/putting the victim through the trial.

Wild speculation: the victim was dying, and without a guilty plea there wouldn't have been a court case.

More wild speculation: for whatever reason, the victim refused to testify, and the perpetrator would have walked free without some kind of implicit deal.

Even further wild speculation: the perpetrator is ill and will be dead within a fortnight, and his guilty plea will at least give peace of mind to the victim and all those that doubted her.

It's because it was 30 years since it happened. All physical evidence is long since gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭HighClass

I'd be more inclined to think rationally about it like that if the judge wasn't already known for giving sex offenders very lenient sentences.