Trouble at Tiesto/Calvin Harris tonight at the o2

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

There used to be a series of free gigs in Dublin called The Lark In The Park and it neverfailed to end in violence.

You'd have punks fighting slkinheads,rockers fighting skinheads,punks fighting each other and blokes in canvas jackets fighting with everybody.

Where you get booze,music and youth there's gonna be trouble sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

mike65 wrote: »
    Is that a male one or female "wan"? Just checkin' :pac:
    hah Female , but when I was writing it out, this automatically came to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Festy wrote: »
    But you never hear of much trouble at any other concerts like you do these ones. Sure remember last year the amount of crap that happened at SHM. This type of music always seems to attract the wrong crowds.
    I just explained why though, these are just an extension of nightclub environments where the majority of people there are under 25 and just want to go a bit mental for the night. It comes with the territory. All these acts are the stuff you hear in most of the mainstream clubs and teenage discos. Other big gigs, say the likes of Beyonce or Muse, they won't attract this crowd because it's a different environment, people want to sing along, and have a good time, not a reckless one. This isn't representative of everyone there but obviously the loudest will outrun the others, and there happens to be more than not here.

Seems to be more of an Irish/UK thing than a European thing though which is kind of disappointing to be honest and a bad reflection on us as a nation, but there you go.

I am so grateful I am not the mother of the tweeter below. I have removed her name.

) tweeted at 11:53 PM on Thu, Dec 19, 2013:
    tiesto wuz class shifted 14 and got me hole ha least im not preggers cuz havent got puberty yet ha #GudTyms

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

I am so grateful I am not the mother of the tweeter below. I have removed her name.

tiesto wuz class shifted 14 and got me hole ha least im not preggers cuz havent got puberty yet ha #GudTyms

o2 Girl :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Oprahs_Vagina

Ah here, that has to be a pisstake ?

I really hope it is. P1sstake it not, some mad statement to come out with!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I'm not blaming the music. I'm pointing out theres a certain kind of music that attracts a certain kind of people.

Again its not the music, its the people. I like football and I like (ice) hockey. I went to football games in Central/Eastern Europe where the riot squad were there before the other team had arrived, and I went to Hockey games where guys brought there kids and we all drank beer and ate sausages and felt safe. Is football at fault here? A certain kind of football?

You didnt read my post re music. Handels Messiah caused riots, whereas November Rain tends to make people cry. I've shed the odd tear myself at it. Its not the music, its people.

If you read up about 2-3 tweets from that, said tweeter said they were at home and were taking the proverbial. Pinch of salt and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Aestivalis

What can you expect really. Every knacker and scumbag in the country between the ages of 10-17 will be at it.
    I can smell the hair gel and cheap aftershave from here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭xploderz

It's 5am, do you know where your kids are?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Aestivalis wrote: »
    What can you expect really. Every knacker and scumbag in the country between the ages of 10-17 will be at it.
    I can smell the hair gel and cheap aftershave from here.

By every knacker and scumbag you basically mean "teenager"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

stick-dan wrote: »
    I live up at the O2.

Witnessed one guy taking a full dump, oblivious to everyone around him.
    About a dozen lads pissing all over the place.
    One girl being advised to hide the naggin against her *use your imagination*

The luas was something else on the way up.
    A big bunch of lads doing the Yaya Toure/ Kolo Toure dance.

Similar to this, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_6ta37kgSBo

Whilst i'm sure it pissed off a lot of people on the luas it was as funny as hell.

That just looked like a sponsored mass epileptic fit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Blue Crystal

xploderz wrote: »
    It's 5am, do you know where your kids are?

Hand to phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭stick-dan

Smidge wrote: »
    That just looked like a sponsored mass epileptic fit.

I was impressed with how organised the lads were on the luas. Most regular commuters were just filming them. By no means the worst that went on tonight i'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Hand to phone

Talks to you in monotone…what a tune!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭xploderz

ottostreet wrote: »
    Talks to you in monotone…what a tune!

Pounding pounding techno music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

Sounds like the Yusef Islam/Cat Stevens gig a few years ago so.

(I kid you not)
    My brother was working there that night, he said it was mental.
    Some yank who was there with his mother broke my brother's nose when they tried to kick them out for running amok!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

stick-dan wrote: »
    I was impressed with how organised the lads were on the luas. Most regular commuters were just filming them. By no means the worst that went on tonight i'd say.

They would have to have been better than that lot in the youtube clip.
    That wasn't anything even related to dancing, that lot were just chucking themselves around the place :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

It's a pisstake. I know after reading some of her other tweets.

Typical what went on tonight at a dance gig. Funny how there is never any problems at a rock gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭Suzyq

skimpydoo wrote: »

Typical what went on tonight at a dance gig. Funny how there is never any problems at a rock gig.

Running riots the weekend of Bob Dylan in Slane '84?

It happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Yes, never in the history of rock music has there ever been a problem with alcohol and drug consumption :pac:

• Site Banned Posts: 263 ✭✭Rabelais

I blame Alan Shatter. Why hasn't he purged the country of this social menace? People coming together in large groups to listen to electronic music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Meh, was never gonna go any other way really!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

Without sounding like a grumpy old man at the age of 25, wasn't there quite the bit of trouble at Swedish House Mafia either this summer or last, including a couple of stabbings?

Similar genre of music. Similar type of crowd. I think it's more than just a coincidence
    And there has been plenty more concerts with the same kind of music that have gone without incident. Stop generalising based on an isolated incident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Those two acts, both who are in the charts and play dance-based music are always going to attract that type of crowd and in this country(unfortunately) it will nearly always end up in a row. The main thing to remember is the majority people at this gig are not a proper representation of Irish people who enjoy EDM.

You're joking right! Someone died of asphyxiation at V Festival a few years ago because of moshing. 11 fans died at a Who concert from being crushed. There's a ton more examples if you want them...slam dancing and moshing is so, so dangerous and happens all the time.
    baz2009 wrote: »
    Those two acts, both who are in the charts and play dance-based music are always going to attract that type of crowd and in this country(unfortunately) it will nearly always end up in a row. The main thing to remember is the majority people at this gig are not a proper representation of Irish people who enjoy EDM.
    Thanks, I think this was important to say. I'm massively into electronic music and I'm ashamed of crowds like this representing me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

I was in town earlier and seen four or five young girls heading down the quays going to this wearing hot pants, with the cheeks of their arses hanging out. I nearly got knocked down trying to keep up with them, tis fucking disgraceful!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 HomeLand5

wasn't like that back in my day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

Yes, never in the history of rock music has there ever been a problem with alcohol and drug consumption :pac:
    I have been to a lot of rock gigs and never seen an ounce of trouble. It seems to me that the Swedish House Mafia etc have scrotes for fans and that's why it happens.