Trouble at Tiesto/Calvin Harris tonight at the o2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭mackeire

Specialun wrote: »
    Were they pissed over the price of the pint

Too expensive to get pissed so no, no they weren't pissed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

mikom wrote: »
    "Play fuckin' peace train" was heard from members of the audience at one stage.

No..it was "Play Peace Train You Fcucking Bastard"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭mackeire

Who is Calvin Harris? Is he the Norwegian that brought the Mafia to someones house in the Phoenix Park? :confused:

Yeah that's him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

mikom wrote: »
    "Play fuckin' peace train" was heard from members of the audience at one stage.

Yup, worse gig I've ever been to ~ aging hippies wrecking the O2 was a sight to see :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Blue Crystal

Sigh... You weren't going to be attracting the same demographic as a Pavarotti concert now were they?

Owl ones scutterd on champagne as i recall....there was some telivised concert in Dame street a few years back...all the perma-tanned crones tottering about was a sight to behold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭stick-dan

I live up at the O2.

Witnessed one guy taking a full dump, oblivious to everyone around him.
    About a dozen lads pissing all over the place.
    One girl being advised to hide the naggin against her *use your imagination*

The luas was something else on the way up.
    A big bunch of lads doing the Yaya Toure/ Kolo Toure dance.

Similar to this, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_6ta37kgSBo

Whilst i'm sure it pissed off a lot of people on the luas it was as funny as hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Im not sure how to read that....

...it'd be a bit of a head fuck for the Garda in question too, I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Unacceptable…in the 80s.

I remember when Calvin Harris made 'fun' dance music, not the scumbag attracting crap he makes almost exclusively now.

As for Tiesto…well, he lost respectability a solid ten years ago now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

Why is it that skangers have awful taste in music ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Oprahs_Vagina

ottostreet wrote: »
    Unacceptable…in the 80s.

I remember when Calvin Harris made 'fun' dance music, not the scumbag attracting crap he makes almost exclusively now.

Ah now. Just Be. 2004.

ottostreet wrote: »
    Unacceptable…in the 80s.

You tell em!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,114 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Fieldog wrote: »
    Text from a journo mate of mine :

Btw there were arrests outside Calvin Harris gig at o2 tonight. One garda got gash on head after getting hit by one looney

yeah, heard it was an axe wound

What has the world come to?

...drunk young people at a gig that would attract hordes of young people.....society is gone down the tubes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 guineylab

finally copped on why people were going crazy outside at 6pm, the crowds coming back from the o2 are still slowly and loudly making their way along the luas line :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

It's almost as if theres a certain kind of music that seems to attract this crowd. If only we could identify it.
    Random IQ testing could work...

I see linkage with this suggestion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Festy wrote: »
    Why is it that skangers have awful taste in music ?
    I don't think that's necessarily fair to everyone there, I bet you there were probably just as many of the Roysch and 'my daddy works at KPMG' types down there getting hammered and causing trouble, and whatever stereotypes you want to create an image of. People going to these gigs don't go because they appreciate the music in any particular sense, they want a loud and fast show, go mental to their favourite anthems and they want to celebrate in a big group. They'll have heard the tunes in the nightclub so will equate that party atmosphere. Let's not do the whole 'scumbag' rant Boards seems to be so obsessed with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Without sounding like a grumpy old man at the age of 25, wasn't there quite the bit of trouble at Swedish House Mafia either this summer or last, including a couple of stabbings?

Similar genre of music. Similar type of crowd. I think it's more than just a coincidence

Imagine a field with 200,000 of these feckers in it...

the step change in society that could be wrought!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Ah now. Just Be. 2004.

Yep. That whole album was deadly. Just Be, A Tear in the Open, Love Comes Again…he has done pretty much nothing since apart from become a scrote magnet.
    chopper6 wrote: »
    You tell em!

Certainly will! I was a massive Tiesto fan back around 98-04, and I hate the way he turned his back on respectability, unlike the likes of his peers Armin and Ferry Corsten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Random IQ testing could work...

Don't you mean Random IQ Tiesto?

Without sounding like a grumpy old man at the age of 25, wasn't there quite the bit of trouble at Swedish House Mafia either this summer or last, including a couple of stabbings?

Similar genre of music. Similar type of crowd. I think it's more than just a coincidence

Drunk young people is the similarity, and where they are, there will be some ructions and stupidity.

Random bomb testing could work...

FYP :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I was once at a gig, first one too if I remember correctly, I was holding a pint for a friend while they went toilet when this scottish one comes up to me, and goes " Give us that pint, and I'll give you a blowjob".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

If there were ten of us together when I was a teen there was usually ructions. If you'd let a few thousand of us gather together we'd have wrecked the gaff. Does every new generation kid themselves that being a rowdy teen is a whole new and shocking thing?

After a naggin and a can or two, probably yeah....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

It's almost as if theres a certain kind of music that seems to attract this crowd. If only we could identify it.

There was a riot at the premier of Handels Messiah. Its not the music, its the people. Some people are just arse holes.

Cydoniac wrote: »
    I don't think that's necessarily fair to everyone there, I bet you there were probably just as many of the Roysch and 'my daddy works at KPMG' types down there getting hammered and causing trouble, and whatever stereotypes you want to create an image of. People going to these gigs don't go because they appreciate the music in any particular sense, they want a loud and fast show, go mental to their favourite anthems and they want to celebrate in a big group. They'll have heard the tunes in the nightclub so will equate that party atmosphere. Let's not do the whole 'scumbag' rant Boards seems to be so obsessed with.

But you never hear of much trouble at any other concerts like you do these ones. Sure remember last year the amount of crap that happened at SHM. This type of music always seems to attract the wrong crowds.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Yes that crowd is called skangers, pond life etc

I was once at a gig, first one too if I remember correctly, I was holding a pint for a friend while they went toilet when this scottish one comes up to me, and goes " Give us that pint, and I'll give you a blowjob".

Is that a male one or female "wan"? Just checkin' :pac: