Toilet Attendants - don't mind 'em or can't abide them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Never seen them in Ireland, but they're very common in Germany. Not just pubs, in shopping centres and stuff as well.

Never give them anything, it annoys the living daylights out of me that they are even there in the first place. Pure money-grabbing ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭guppy

Grayditch wrote: »
    Dandelion, and I think you should make a complaint. I've never seen an attendant actually ask for money, but I can't imagine management being ok with that.

No, it was the one the other end, william street area. I really should have at the time as she was so aggressive, but its really some time ago now, I can't imagine she still works there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

guppy wrote: »
    In the night club beside Stephens Green (can't remember the name) after id washed my hands and left, the female toilet attendant ran after me, grabbed me and told me "you need to pay". I turned around and told her that considering there was no toilet roll in the cublicles she could go f herself.
    Yep, I'm a right classy burd me!

Would have told her to fcuk off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,909 ✭✭✭blue note

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Think_then_talk

Once they are not to the determinant of hygiene standards. (ie) No paper/soap unless you pay.
    We had a family event in the Arlington hotel great meal & entertainment .
    However the loo's had no soap in the holders,toilet roll holders & hand towel holders all empty.
    They had a person selling splashes/soap this person also had control of a large roll of paper.
    Lucky we had two rooms booked upstairs but thinking of all the unwashed hands around us....:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

guppy wrote: »
    In the night club beside Stephens Green (can't remember the name) after id washed my hands and left, the female toilet attendant ran after me, grabbed me and told me "you need to pay". I turned around and told her that considering there was no toilet roll in the cublicles she could go f herself.
    Yep, I'm a right classy burd me!

If something like that happens again I'd talk to the manager straight away if I was sober enough...... the club pay for toilet roll most likely so if the attendant is taking it out they are fcuking with so much that they shouldn't be.

If too drunk, email the next day explaining it. Managers of nightclubs, depsite popular opinion..... listen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

Cant add much more than what has been said already. Its a farce to expect to tip anyone for what you are more than capable of doing yourself.

This was an idea imported from the states but tipping is part of the culture because they have customer service.

I know for some times are hard but how demeaning is to be stuck in a bog all night enduring drunken racist comments from drunks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Depends.
    I know in at least in one place in Dublin they don't actually technically get paid.
    So all they make is whatever they get in "tips". Given that they bought the aftershave, etc all, seems like a fecking terrible "job".

On the other hand, if they were getting the minimum wage and whatnot, I wouldn't really mind it at all.

It bothers me at times with the amount of abuse (mostly verbal) they'll take on any given night, though. Paid or unpaid, it's still pretty bad.

BTW, just finished reading through all the thread.
    As far as I know, you're not required to pay for anything (obviously if you try to take up their aftershave, it's common sense you should throw a euro down first).

As for the toilet roll business... the place I tend to go to does have the attendant holding it but once you ask for it, you get it.
    The reason I was told was that drunk people can be fast to cause problems.

Granted, I was never actually asked for money, ever, in that particular place so I dunno what it's like in other places but anytime me or a friend has had "issues" with an attended, I'd either ask the manager about it and if nothing good came from it, I wouldn't go back there.
    The place I go has the toilet attendants being very friendly and nice towards pretty much anyone so I'm happy enough there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Garzard

For me they're a complete pain in the arse on a night out. Can understand their purpose to an extent such as to make a few quid for themselves but it's uncomfortable to have them there while I'm doing my business and even more irritating the way they fall over themselves to assist you in the most basic tasks like washing / drying your hands and expect tips for it. I just do my best to ignore and not tip them.

That said, I wouldn't mind in the least if they instead set up outside the jacks. Only when they're inside do I have an issue with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

When I'm drunk I usually spend about 20 minutes talking absolute shíte to them.
    They were everywhere in Santa Ponsa in August. Had to pay one cúnt €2.50 to give me the toilet roll in one place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I'm disabled...leg disabled

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭6781

Thankfully I'm able to have a dump or a piss on my own and wash my hands without assistance so don't see the point in them. I try my best to avoid them and never tip. I think they would be better employed behind the understaffed bar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Oprahs_Vagina

What 2 euro to have someone stare at you from the side while you wash your hands ? I can reach the toilet roll on my own thanks.

• Administrators Posts: 56,584 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

When I was in Magaluf they always sang the same song to you when you came in.

"Freshen up for the punani, punani, punani" x 2
    "I love pussaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy"

To the tune of mary had a little lamb.

They're a minor irritant because of the guilt trip aspect but I've never had a bad experience with them. Would usually give them a euro or two once and that's it.

Its amusing to see pissed right-on types in deep conversation with the jacks attendant assuming they've come direct from some guerilla-infested war zone and the attendant lad is saying back oh yeah, it was so awful, brother (read: throw a fiver in there for a blast of Lynx you gullible student cunt).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

I know one bloke(a non-drinker) who refused on the night ever to go to the toilets due to the *insert profanity* of the attendant down there as he was extremely uncomfortable in their presence. He must have had some bladder to hold all those cokes :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭April O Neill II

Depends.
    I know in at least in one place in Dublin they don't actually technically get paid.

But they're completely unnecessary, so sorry to sound brutal, but I don't really care. In fact, I assumed they didn't get paid, why would an employer pay for that?

The main reason was/is to stop people running amok in the toilets.
    The one place I go to had an issue with people doing coke in the toilets. So having someone who was in there watching stuff, it deterred them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

anncoates wrote: »
    Its amusing to see pissed right-on types in deep conversation with the jacks attendant assuming they've come direct from some guerilla-infested war zone and the attendant lad is saying back oh yeah, it was so awful, brother (read: throw a fiver in there for a blast of Lynx you gullible student cunt).

I read that as if this guy was saying it :p

Daqster wrote: »
    I read that as if this guy was saying it :p

Do I know you in a previous life....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭April O Neill II

The one place I go to had an issue with people doing coke in the toilets. So having someone who was in there watching stuff, it deterred them.

And made other patrons feel uncomfortable, on the off-chance damage is done in the loos. I know you'll say what does that matter, but when you're on a night out, a time to relax, it does matter. Doubt a toilet attendant being present would stop someone determined to do coke, unless the attendant is in the cubicle with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Blue Crystal

Racist thread is racist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

I don't like them. They make me feel uncomfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

My view is that they are trying to make a few quid. So be it. Its my choice to tip them or not..... which being honest I do not. I can grab my own paper towels to dry my own hands thank you very much :)

Coke-heads snort lines on the cistern of a toilet. Do you really think some 'toilet attendant' is going to knock on the cubicle door when he hears a big snort? to fuck he is :pac: keep the head down and make a few quid ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I have witnessed these lads belting on cubicle doors when there was fellas snorting. Or else informing the bouncers about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭BrianG23

I wish they'd just back off from the taps and toilet paper and stand somewhere that isn't in direct view of your cock. Be better for them to just sell squirts of smelly stuff and lollypops. They are good when it comes to stopping arguments from ****heads though. But if you have a few to many -> get sick, there's a chance they get the bouncer in after you. I remember this one time in em..velvet in swords?(think its closed now), I fell asleep in the toilet for about an hour. It was a great nap. Couldn't do it these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

baz2009 wrote: »
    I have witnessed these lads belting on cubicle doors when there was fellas snorting. Or else informing the bouncers about it.

True, they generally do this. For stuff like that though I'd assume they're the guys getting paid an hourly wage on top of the tips.
    I dislike, intently the guys that switch the fuse off for the handdryers and then call the bouncers when you switch it back on. Last time it happened i had been in the pub since 5 (late kick off) and this was about 8. Hand dryers worked fine at 6.30!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Basically beggars.
    Is no more a service than the lads in America that rush out to wash peoples wind screens with rags and water.
    Uneccesary, imposed upon you and a nuisance more than anything.
    Actively avoid places that allow them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭camel jockey

I wouldn't be a fan of this phenomenon. I had hoped it would be killed off by the recession, but obviously not.

I would also have concern about the tax compliance of these individuals. Anecdotal evidence suggests they may be claiming social welfare and not declaring the earnings.