Define YOUR Christmas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Not to put a damper on things,

But my younger sister and my Dad died, and sadly Mam is ill Also.

We will make the best of it, but TBH, the thought of those two empty chairs this year has me in floods of tears.

For the kids sake we will motor on..

It will get better, in time, I know.

Hello and good thoughts to anyone else who has lost someone dear to them. It is an emotional time of year at the best of times. Hope you will be OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Watching it's a Wonderful Life, cooking the roast on Christmas eve, champagne cocktails, smoked salmon on soda bread.

never could fathom out why that film is popular...........at any time of year :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Hitchens wrote: »
    never could fathom out why that film is popular...........at any time of year :confused:
    :eek::eek::eek: You have no soul, get back under your rock:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,951 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Not to put a damper on things,

But my younger sister and my Dad died, and sadly Mam is ill Also.

We will make the best of it, but TBH, the thought of those two empty chairs this year has me in floods of tears.

For the kids sake we will motor on..

It will get better, in time, I know.

Hello and good thoughts to anyone else who has lost someone dear to them. It is an emotional time of year at the best of times. Hope you will be OK.

Sorry to hear that man, 2 years ago I lost my granddad 5 days before Christmas, genuinely the most difficult time of my life, But like you said we had to get through it for the sake of the kids in the family. No matter what though, walking downstairs that morning and seeing his chair empty was the worst gut-punch I've ever had.

So yeah, I know how you're feeling, and I know that it ****ing sucks, but let me tell me tell you, while it never gets "better" it does get easier to understand and while there'll always be that black cloud in time you may even enjoy it again.

Happy xmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Sorry to hear that man, 2 years ago I lost my granddad 5 days before Christmas, genuinely the most difficult time of my life, But like you said we had to get through it for the sake of the kids in the family. No matter what though, walking downstairs that morning and seeing his chair empty was the worst gut-punch I've ever had.

So yeah, I know how you're feeling, and I know that it ****ing sucks, but let me tell me tell you, while it never gets "better" it does get easier to understand and while there'll always be that black cloud in time you may even enjoy it again.

Happy xmas.

Thanks. That is a lovely post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

finish work on xmas eve, go home to mam n dad xmas morning... listen to them bicker while cooking dinner ... eat food... get in car and go back to my empty flat get up next morning and go to work. thats my xmas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

Xmas day swim! Brrrrrrrr :eek:
    Followed by roaring turf fire (using the old seasoned turf saved 2+ years), lots of fancy food, few beers, movie, bed, sexy-time!
    Long run on Stephen's Day to burn the 6000 calories!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Red Pepper wrote: »
    Xmas day swim! Brrrrrrrr :eek:
    Followed by roaring turf fire (using the old seasoned turf saved 2+ years), lots of fancy food, few beers, movie, bed, sexy-time!
    Long run on Stephen's Day to burn the 6000 calories!

1 mince pie = 1.5 hours walking off :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

Getting up at 8am to open presents, a fry-up breakfast, getting the glad rags on and having people over for drinks, lots and lots of crisps and chocolates, fancy steak dinner in the evening and then a DVD to fall asleep in front of.

Oh, and wine. Lots of wine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Up at around 11.
    Open some presents.
    Food
    Die Hard
    Food
    Home Alone
    Dinner
    Xbox
    Die Hard
    Food

All accompanied with cans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Wake up.

See that it hasnt snowed outside

Spend ages having breakfast, watch people eat sweet sugary stuff I dont like

Unwrap chinese sh1te people got me

Watch others unwrap chinese sh1te I got them

Think "wow the Chinese are doing well out of this fest they dont celebrate or believe in"

Watch people eat soup, maybe have a slice of bread to stave off the hunger

Ask does anyone want to go for a stroll?

"Yes but no more than 500 meters"

Everyone is kind of old and senile so nobody does strolls of any great lenght now.

Suffer cabin fever

Have a row with a family member.

Everyone else gangs up on me.. "Sure you have been in a grumpy mood all day, it has to be your fault and you're wrong"

Have dinner. The dinner is usualy quite nice in fairness. Though im not mad on the desert

Spend the rest of the evening on boards, can beside me while the rest of the familywatches downton abbey or similar depressing sh1te

Walk into the other room, which is about 30 degrees C by now.

"Are you still watching downturn abbey? Is there not enough misery in real life that you have to watch ficticious misery to supplement it?"

"No"

There is only one bathroom in the house. Which is grand but means the dash to the jacks starts about 9 and finishes at 12. The usual culprits taking up to an hour in there..

Go to bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

Wake up.

See that it hasnt snowed outside

Spend ages having breakfast, watch people eat sweet sugary stuff I dont like

Unwrap chinese sh1te people got me

Watch others unwrap chinese sh1te I got them

Think "wow the Chinese are doing well out of this fest they dont celebrate or believe in"

Watch people eat soup, maybe have a slice of bread to stave off the hunger

Ask does anyone want to go for a stroll?

"Yes but no more than 500 meters"

Everyone is kind of old and senile so nobody does strolls of any great lenght now.

Suffer cabin fever

Have a row with a family member.

Everyone else gangs up on me.. "Sure you have been in a grumpy mood all day, it has to be your fault and you're wrong"

Have dinner. The dinner is usualy quite nice in fairness. Though im not mad on the desert

Spend the rest of the evening on boards, can beside me while the rest of the familywatches downton abbey or similar depressing sh1te

Walk into the other room, which is about 30 degrees C by now.

"Are you still watching downturn abbey? Is there not enough misery in real life that you have to watch ficticious misery to supplement it?"

"No"

There is only one bathroom in the house. Which is grand but means the dash to the jacks starts about 9 and finishes at 12. The usual culprits taking up to an hour in there..

Go to bed.

it sounds like you love xmas then ;)

• Site Banned Posts: 263 ✭✭Rabelais

Back to Ireland to visit my parents and siblings. A wonderful day spent eating too much, wearing a silly jumper, falling asleep on the couch, before drinking about 12 cans of Guinness.

Up the next day to tattoo the back of the porcelain with a massive yuletide log, before sending it on its long journey down to Ringsend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

One of the things that sticks in my memory was the time about a week before Christmas was when my mother said each of us (five children) could choose what we wanted for breakfast on Christmas day.
    I remember I wanted Sugar Puffs, so she added that and what the others wanted to her shopping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,253 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Woken at 4 a.m by 3 small girls who fall in to my room with the "can we go downstairs and see if santa has come"

3 hours of shouting, fighting, screaming and messing and then it's a proper breakfast (after the selection box one at 4.30).

Everybody puts on new clothes and heads to mass - the atheist in me should be groaning but i secretly enjoy it.

Come home and listen to herself bitch about different ones at mass, their clothes, how they ignored her, they weren't singing etc...

And then this year - straight to the mother in laws for the mother of all dinners - an old school irish mammy who basically force feeds you for the entire day.

Sit down that night with a can of bulmers while watching some shite movie on rte.

It truly is the greatest day of the year.

...i once heard someone describe the roast dinner as the king of all dinners, and the christmas dinner as the king of all roast dinners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭Mar Mar Marmalade

mfceiling wrote: »
    ...i once heard someone describe the roast dinner as the king of all dinners, and the christmas dinner as the king of all roast dinners.

Haha, well said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Metacarpi

The dinner, it's literally the only day of the year where the whole family is around to share a meal so it's pretty special. Christmas eve is by far my favourite day though, I just love the buzz :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Bottle of Jack, tin of Quality St, Die Hard.

Oh yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,189 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Hitchens wrote: »

It didn't do particularly well on release.

Christmas is all about the dinner for me, used to be about the presents, now it's the dinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Getting up early, to the smell of turkey and trifle wafting around the house.

Opening presents

Watching the Christmas telly, usually movies I've seen 100 times, Back To The Future I, II, and III, Wizard of Oz, Indiana Jones etc

Getting the feed of turkey and a glass of wine then after eights and ferrero rocher and then trifle because its the only time of year you'd see them in my house. Followed by more Christmas telly and dosing off due to being full of food.

Picking at the boxes of roses and listening to the father complain about leaving the wrappers in the box!

Possible Christmas party in a relatives house, can involve a game of cards and a few drinks.

Just when you thought you never wanted to see another bit of turkey as long as you live, the mother comes in with a giant plate of turkey sandwiches which we all wolf down...well because it's turkey!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Christmas used to be spending Christmas Eve prepping whatever needed to be done for the following day.

Wrap the last of the presents and get them ready to put under the tree.

Chill out at fire with Xmas movies on tv, never missing the news with Santa on it.

Before my mom died we used to go to midnight mass, come back and we were allowed cut the Xmas cake, but since she died, me my dad and my brother would go to mass where she was buried and then go to her grave after mass.

Put the turkey in the oven before mass, dad and me cook dinner, get table ready.
    Have dinner late afternoon with lots of wine.

Clean up and chill out for the evening.

Drinking and chocolate til bedtime. Always feel sad on Xmas night for some reason, think it stems from the day not being what is anticipated.

Edit: presents always opened as soon as we woke up and my dad was finished work that morning, so about nine, all wait for each other, tear into the presents then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

I've purposely avoided watching any of the new season of the Walking Dead, 10 episodes of zombie gore, computer hooked up to the telly, should be a good way of spending the day.