Publicans and 12 pubs of Christmas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

April and Sparky should don seasonal jumpers and head out for a dozen pints together. In 12 different pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Meant to be heading out next week for this,trouble is when a group of us go out it's usually 4 pubs as we always end up having a few pints in each.

Stupidest thing we came across was one St.Stephens day when we all met up for drinks & one of the lads produced a pack of cards he got in a cracker,the things were tiny.Lo & behold the bar owner comes over & announces,"No gambling on my premises".His loss as we all walked out,we had planned on spending a few hours in the place.

There are some amount of knickers in a twist over this. It's only a bit of a laugh with friends. Everyone needs to lighten the heck up a bit. I doubt anyone thinks they are 'OMG sooooo whacky and full of the bants' because they've a jumper on. They probably just wanna have a laugh with the rest of their mates in a one-off setting.

Probably not to different from Boards beers. Except you're going with mates and not people you met off a forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

I've had one every year knitted by my mum since I can remember.

So how about you tone down that condescending attitude and realise that perhaps you and your immediate social circle were not wearing Christmas jumpers before their surge in popularity in the last few years, but other people were.

Certainly more than "one or two people in 1996", they're not a modern phenomenon get a grip. :rolleyes:

About 10 years ago the majority of people wearing Christmas jumpers now wouldn't been seen dead in public wearing one. Remember the sniggers when Mark Darcy appeared wearing his one in Bridget Jones?

Perhaps you're young enough to have gone from child innocently wearing cute Christmas jumpers to a teen ironically wearing one for the craic, as they were then all the rage but I'm old enough to remember a time when if one's mother/granny knitted you a Christmas jumper you'd maybe wear if for a few hours on Christmas day and it would never see the light of day ever again.... until it became fun and wacky to wear Christmas jumpers in public and you already had one hiding in the back of your wardrobe and didn't have to track onr down online - result!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

Twelve pubs...... I laugh at your twelve pubs ..... try ' The Circle Line ' !!

Which is every stop on the Circle line in London.

A lot of pubs on there will recognise you too .....and some get the hump if you are a little noisy .

Really , I am surprised that any pub is turning away good business TBH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Omackeral wrote: »
    There are some amount of knickers in a twist over this. It's only a bit of a laugh with friends. Everyone needs to lighten the heck up a bit. I doubt anyone thinks they are 'OMG sooooo whacky and full of the bants' because they've a jumper on. They probably just wanna have a laugh with the rest of their mates in a one-off setting.

Probably not to different from Boards beers. Except you're going with mates and not people you met off a forum.

Ah yes everyone thinks they are hilariously witty and fun to be around when they have a few scoops. The reality of the 12 beers is that it starts out as a group of people having a few drinks and Inevitably ends up with a bunch of loud obnoxious gob****es barging noisily into a pub, crowding around the bar (pushing people out of the way) shouting at the bar staff.

Singing idiotic songs and ringing bells/blowing whistles and generally making tits of themselves and ruining other peoples nights. If your pub is in the first 3 or four pubs then it's not so bad. If your pub is on the last 3rd of the list then you are better off not having them in.

Well I don't know about you but I don't hang around with any loud obnoxious gob****es, Just people I'd consider fun and/or witty regardless of if they've had pints or not.

And you don't have to be in a wooly jumper to be a complete tool btw, see plenty of them any given night out on the town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭April O Neill II

April and Sparky should don seasonal jumpers and head out for a dozen pints together. In 12 different pubs.

Scowling across at each other whilst scullin' pints. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭theholyghost

Davidth88 wrote: »
    Twelve pubs...... I laugh at your twelve pubs ..... try ' The Circle Line ' !!

Which is every stop on the Circle line in London.

The 12 pubs of Christmas & The Circle Line? Maybe for little old ladies. Try the 40 pubs of Lent if you are a serious drinker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

The 12 pubs of Christmas & The Circle Line? Maybe for little old ladies. Try the 40 pubs of Lent if you are a serious drinker.

I suppose Good Friday would be a good day to try that :-)

bumper234 wrote: »
    Ah yes everyone thinks they are hilariously witty and fun to be around when they have a few scoops. The reality of the 12 beers is that it starts out as a group of people having a few drinks and Inevitably ends up with a bunch of loud obnoxious gob****es barging noisily into a pub, crowding around the bar (pushing people out of the way) shouting at the bar staff.

Singing idiotic songs and ringing bells/blowing whistles and generally making tits of themselves and ruining other peoples nights. If your pub is in the first 3 or four pubs then it's not so bad. If your pub is on the last 3rd of the list then you are better off not having them in.

It's a massive money spinner for a lot of pubs though so it's mad turning away people.

I did it yesterday and some of the pubs wouldn't have 10 people in them on a normal Saturday night and last night some of these had a constant crowd of over 50 people with groups coming and going. That's a serious cash boost for a bar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

shows how dumb and sheepish some Irish people can be.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

I was out in town last night, I saw loads of groups doing the 12 pubs and I have to say that none of them were being assholes or obnoxious or anything other than just having a good time, fair play to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

Have been working in a bar all week with hundreds of 12 pubs people in, No real problems,Some groups a bit messy. Security in the bar though.
    Idiots will be idiots but don't think its right to tar everyone doing 12 pubs as one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭tellmesomethin

Minus Craic.

I did one in 2002- with 30 minutes including travel to the next pub, Guinness only. Was good fun but then again we didn't have to compete with 20 other groups to get to the bar.

Now a bit like the North face jacket pandemic in Dublin, we have the every arsehole you could imagine doing 12 pubs and wearing Christmas jumpers from Pennys thinking they are amazing.

12 pubs- it's just one drinking session now as everyone is doing it and the jumpers are pathetic.

Now you have to avoid Dublin City with organized groups from all over Ireland and scumbags who think it's so new. The mood of most pubs where it's usually laid back is one of violence about to kick off. Then of course you have girls stumbling around at 8pm and not knowing what year it is and guys puking into shop windows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Any students found posting a 12 pubs status or pictures should have their grant taken away. The price of 12 drinks and a jumper and a kebab. It's a disgrace Joe. The A & E is clogged up and our taxes paying for their liver transplants & unwanted babies. Shockin'.

I fcuking hate 12 pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 tadhgor

Has any1 seen or heard of pubs around Baggot street not letting people in that have xmas jumpers on or that they're part of a large crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭poisonated

I don't know specific ones but a girl I know said that the pubs around Baggot street are fairly strict. She said that they were refused from around five pubs....Actually doing the Baggot mile soon so I really hope its not as strict as it sounds.

Minus Craic.

I did one in 2002- with 30 minutes including travel to the next pub, Guinness only. Was good fun but then again we didn't have to compete with 20 other groups to get to the bar.

Now a bit like the North face jacket pandemic in Dublin, we have the every arsehole you could imagine doing 12 pubs and wearing Christmas jumpers from Pennys thinking they are amazing.

12 pubs- it's just one drinking session now as everyone is doing it and the jumpers are pathetic.

Now you have to avoid Dublin City with organized groups from all over Ireland and scumbags who think it's so new. The mood of most pubs where it's usually laid back is one of violence about to kick off. Then of course you have girls stumbling around at 8pm and not knowing what year it is and guys puking into shop windows.
    So, it was great when you did it but now that others are doing it its pathetic?

wow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭tellmesomethin

AdamD wrote: »
    So, it was great when you did it but now that others are doing it its pathetic?

wow

It was great when I did it but now it is truely pathetic now that EVERYONE is doing it....

Wow wee x :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Is this 12 pubs thing still going on? I need to know which pubs to avoid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,854 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Is this 12 pubs thing still going on? I need to know which pubs to avoid.

Yeah as far as i know its everywhere. Better to stay in.

You can bet your funky jumper I will!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Was in Dublin the weekend before Christmas last year and it was absolutely everywhere. Then went for a pint in the local in rural Donegal on the Sunday evening, pub was pretty much empty, pure bliss. Then a 12 pubs group showed up, they had rented a minibus to do it across a number of small towns. So basically, you're stuck with it no matter where you go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

After battling the Christmas jumper accounts department melee of last Christmas, I think I'll just head out in town between Stephens Day and new years eve instead of pre Christmas.

I saw a fella with flashing reindeer antlers knocking back the heino last Christmas. Absolutely bonkers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Iranoutofideas

I saw a fella with flashing reindeer antlers knocking back the heino last Christmas. Absolutely bonkers!

He's a bit of a psycho alright

Did ours last Saturday, a great day was had!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 stupid_is_as _stupid_does

I did 12 pubs once a few years ago and it was fun but I wouldnt do it again. I can understand somewhat where he is coming from. Most groups are well behaved but there are quite a few that are an annoyance to people in having a few drinks. I noticed the last couple of years groups in messing and shouting and generally making an unpleasant atmosphere in the pub.

I worked in bars for years and normally if you have a noisy group annoying other customers, having a quiet word with them and they will calm down as they want to stay in the pub. With some of the 12 pubs crowd its tougher to calm them down as they are only in for one drink and dont care if they are asked to leave. I wouldnt agree with stopping all of them but as they are getting more business they could well afford to hire security/extra security to make sure that ones who are very drunk arent getting in and keeping the ones inside from annoying regulars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It's probably not so much the practice itself as it is the fact that there are so many people doing it now. In the run up to Xmas, pubs are busy enough, but then two or 3 groups converge on a pub at once, and fill it literally to bursting capacity. This causes "normal" drinkers to go somewhere else or just not come in at all. Then 30 minutes later the groups are gone and the pub is half empty.

I can see the pubs' problem with it.