Gerry Adams : Terrorist or Freedom Fighter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Oprahs_Vagina

Funny that. The majority of it's inhabitants have kinda made their stance on that clear since 69'.

[URL="http://irishnewsreview.files.wordpress.com/2012/04/derry_free_derry.jpg"[/URL]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Adams isn't a world leader. I'd venture to say that 95% of the people in the world have never even heard of him.
    Thanks for clearing that up. If you google SABC Gerry Adams you only get a story about Martin McGuinness shaking hands with the Queen and before that Adams commenting on Margaret Thatchers death. Adams in South Africa is hardly headline news there. I would venture to say that 95% of South Africans haven't a clue who Adams is or what Sinn Fein is.

http://www.sabc.co.za/news/a/1d6818004bc584ee924d934e20b1a252/Britains-queen-shakes-hands-with-ex-IRA-chief-20122706

You seem to have a thing for 95%

5% are leaders of men .......... the other 95 follow women :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

moxin wrote: »
    And..what's the problem saying County Derry then?

I don't have a problem...... I call it county Londonderry. I'm sure nationalists call it county derry. What's the problem indeed???? None from my point of view...

I'm simply confirming that I and most of the people I know call my county "County Londonderry"

No biggie...

timthumbni wrote: »
    I have a healthy hatred of SF politicians as they are a bunch of low life's for the most part. I have experienced them all my life so I know what I'm talking about.

I would say the same about the loyalists political parties such as the pup etc but no one on the unionist side votes for them aside from a few freaks.

Sinn Fein have brought nothing but a dependence on welfare for large swathes of west Belfast. Job done for them I suppose.

But not for too long as the Nationalists, by and large, are outnumbering the Unionists in third level education. Look at the stats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Fair play to them for inviting Gerry. Mandela had huge respect for him and it was fitting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I'm simply confirming that I and most of the people I know call my county "County Londonderry"

I feel sorry for you that your sense of identity is so fractured that you must tag 'London' onto Derry in a vain attempt to differentiate yourself from your Irish brothers and sisters.

Don't be so childish. You're not doing a good job of representing moderate unionism.

You are doing a great job of representing southern republicans. Ie no one up here in Norn Iron gives a feck.

You are like a babes in the wood (love that phrase) southern republican who looks to the north when drunk and thinks they will push the British (ie me) out by posting nonsense on the old tinternet.

As I said you give me and my mates a bit of giggle me old china.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Both sides call it Derry though, it's like other city's in the UK such as Kingston upon Hull. Everyone refers to the city as Hull.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Why is this thread still going? Move it somewhere else.
    Even seeing his name annoys me.

Don't bring Presidential hopeful Norris into the scene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

I don't have a problem...... I call it county Londonderry. I'm sure nationalists call it county derry. What's the problem indeed???? None from my point of view...

No biggie...

Its about respecting your Nationalists neighbours but hey its obvious you do not.

I feel sorry for you that your sense of identity is so fractured that you must tag 'London' onto Derry in a vain attempt to differentiate yourself from your Irish brothers and sisters.

There never was a county derry uncles. Read my previous posts. I'm not talking about the city here. I live up here chuck. In this county you are referring to.

Again what would I know..??????? I only live here you wannabe. Lol

Its about respecting your Nationalists neighbours but hey its obvious you do not.

By your logic then they should refer to it as county Londonderry then to respect me???

Are you for real moxin??????? Really????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Tramps Like Us

MJ23 wrote: »
    Why is this thread still going? Move it somewhere else.
    Even seeing his name annoys me.

You have problems my friend. I suggest yoga

Ie no one up here in Norn Iron gives a feck.

And that's why SF are so popular?
    You are like a babes in the wood (love that phrase) southern republican who looks to the north when drunk and thinks they will push the British (ie me) out by posting nonsense on the old tinternet.

Nobody is trying to push you out because you pretend to be British. Good old Unionist paranoia is alive and well.
    As I said you give me and my mates a bit of giggle me old china.

I'm flattered that your mates are aware of little old me.

By your logic then they should refer to it as county Londonderry then to respect me???

Are you for real moxin??????? Really????

I'm for real alright, how about you starting to all it Derry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Tramps Like Us

Tim has been on the gargle, always gets him a bit unhinged

I doubt it. He's as dour as ever

He's just so Irish :D

And btw at least I know I'm Northern Irish. You appear to wish you were but by your own words youse left (when you were a young child) to go to another country to pursue a better life.

That's fair enough (my family stayed btw) but its a bit rich you coming on here like you are the king of the North when you haven't much (ie none) experience up here.

(Well I know you said you had so few uncles who lived up here.. Lol...))?

Maybe your Northern Irish uncles could post on here and then I might be able to take them more seriously. Just my opinion of course. Lol.

I'm for real alright, how about you starting to all it Derry?

To "all" it derry???? What does that mean.

Anyways I often refer to the city as derry but I call the county Londonderry. Hardly a shooting offence now is it moxin??

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    I doubt it. He's as dour as ever

Never underestimate a unionists's dourness.. How's yanksville going for you anyways ???

You are on here that much it appears you wish you were home....

And btw at least I know I'm Northern Irish. You appear to wish you were but by your own words youse left (when you were a young child) to go to another country to pursue a better life.

I'm Irish. It's that simple. If I'd lived all my life in the north I'd still be Irish. My extended family consider themselves Irish not nornIrish like you.

That's fair enough (my family stayed btw) but its a bit rich you coming on here like you are the king of the North when you haven't much (ie none) experience up here.

King of the North? Wtf are are you banging on about?

He's just so Irish :D

Hmmm. I'm way to bed uncles. And before you ask my kids are fine. (You appear to have referred to them numerous times earlier tonight)

Night...

To "all" it derry???? What does that mean.

Anyways I often refer to the city as derry but I call the county Londonderry. Hardly a shooting offence now is it moxin??

Who is going to shoot you upon you ignorantly call the county by its wrong name?

And before you ask my kids are fine. (You appear to have referred to them numerous times earlier tonight)

No. I was asking you if you'd bring your kids to sectarian parades. I was interested in your behaviour not that of innocent little kids.

You know Tim when I was a kid my folks used to set up a table in the front garden with sweets and lemonade on the 12 of July? Yep, my Catholic parents done their best to insulate us from the sectarian shite you seem to be comfortable with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,441 ✭✭✭Richard

Very well. Derry is about as UK as Cork is btw.
    I think you're about 92 years out of date.
    Derry is a proud city bursting with Irishness as was evident in the Fleadh Cheoil which brought in 400,000 visitors.

Part of the UK City of Culture celebrations.

No one is denying Derry is Irish (although its name is up for debate). It's just that it also part of the UK.

Now if people were calling Derry 'English' you'd have a point.

LordSutch wrote: »
    Talking of Derry, why was Derry the UK City of culture in 2013?

Either its bid was the best or it was chosen because of the city's troubled history and they wanted to bring people together.

What's the criteria to be chosen as a City of culture?

curious. and who's been chosen for 2014?

Hull. Or Kingston-upon-Hull. Another place with a dispute over the name. Maybe that's the criterion.

Nodin wrote: »
    No, it's solely because you're a dyed in the wool unionist. You have it in for the lads of 1916, the lads who fought in the war of independence....

The lads of 1916 had better watch out, then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Nodin wrote: »
    No, it's solely because you're a dyed in the wool unionist. You have it in for the lads of 1916, the lads who fought in the war of independence....

Didn't Irish Statesmen like John Redmond and John Dillon achieve Home Rule, are they just written off, Parnell etc. The 16 crowd as the Blueshirts would say were a motley crew with no mandate.

It's only when the Brits started executing them that opinion shifted.