Have you ever come face to face with a real racist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

Once upon a time, socially constructed racialized policies determined one's status in life.

Historical categories:
    Mulatto -- 1/2 Black
    Quadroon -- 1/4th Black
    Octaroon -- 1/8th Black

In some parts of the US, an Octaroon was considered a black person. In the Commonwealth of Virginia, these individuals could be classified as white. A few states would recognize you as a white person if you were 1/16th or 1/32nd black.

If I was 1/8th Black, living in the 1700s, I would be considered white if I lived in Virginia and black if I lived in Maryland.

A social construction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,114 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Auldloon wrote: »
    Yes I work with 2 who delight in using disgusting racist terms in front of me. They know it winds me up but they like to sn!gger away about it. Whatever, they're arseholes. Picture stereotypical glasgow rangers fans and you can picture the type.

:eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭camel jockey

I thought this was going to be about the OP seeing himself in the mirror. Disappointing thread.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

No..it's a biological fact that Caucasoidss have straight-growing teeth but Negroids teeth grow forward.

And posting up a chunk of some undergrad's bullshiit theses isnt going to change that.

Once upon a time, socially constructed racialized policies determined one's status in life.

Historical categories:
    Mulatto -- 1/2 Black
    Quadroon -- 1/4th Black
    Octaroon -- 1/8th Black

In some parts of the US, an Octaroon was considered a black person. In the Commonwealth of Virginia, these individuals could be classified as white. A few states would recognize you as a white person if you were 1/16th or 1/32nd black.

If I was 1/8th Black, living in the 1700s, I would be considered white if I lived in Virginia and black if I lived in Maryland.

A social construction.

What absolute popycock...do you know anything about biology or is it not mentioned in the sociology books you've read?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,442 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Me? wrote: »
    I had an encounter with a racist in London back in the early 90's. he was a scary individual. When he realised I was Irish he calmed down and backed off, turned out he only had hatred for the English honkies.

I had no idea at the time what a honky was.

A friend of mine was walking home from the pub in london one night when a black lad tried to rob him but let him off when he realised he was irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭johnny-grunge

A social construction.

Yea, down with racism and all that but still, I would say race is down to observation, not social ideas. There is clearly a difference between some pasty Scandinavian dude and a dark African dude, even though they're both homo sapiens.

shamrock55 wrote: »
    A friend of mine was walking home from the pub in london one night when a black lad tried to rob him but let him off when he realised he was irish

Racist ****ard probably assumed your mate had nothing to steal because he was Irish. Racial profiling / stereotyping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,442 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Racist ****ard probably assumed your mate had nothing to steal because he was Irish. Racial profiling / stereotyping.

Ha ha not quite, when he heard the accent he said he had no problems with the irish just hated the english:D

shamrock55 wrote: »
    Ha ha not quite, when he heard the accent he said he had no problems with the irish just hated the english:D

So he was racist against the English...disappointing attitude from this black lad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 226 ✭✭Frank Garrett

chopper6 wrote: »
    No..it's a biological fact that Caucasoidss have straight-growing teeth but Negroids teeth grow forward.

And posting up a chunk of some undergrad's bullshiit theses isnt going to change that.

Humans only evolved to have different appearances due to geographical location or geographical isolation.

What happens when Caucasians breed with Africans? Half-caste.

What happens when half-castes breed with Indians? One-quarter black, one-quarter white, half Indian.

When these so-called races continue breeding with each other, we'll eventually have the same appearance as the one race - which is exactly how we started off when monkey evolved into man somewhere in Africa.

Race is a social construct because it has no scientific basis. It's a concept the actually pre-dates science and any theory that pre-dates science is invalid; e.g.: religion.

Humans only evolved to have different appearances due to geographical location or geographical isolation.

What happens when half-castes breed with Indians? One-quarter black, one-quarter white, half Indian.

When these so-called races continue breeding with each other, we'll eventually have the same appearance as the one race - which is exactly how we started off when monkey evolved into man somewhere in Africa.

Race is a social construct because it has no scientific basis. It's a concept the actually pre-dates science and any theory that pre-dates science is invalid; e.g.: religion.

Meaning there is no such thing as racism.

Race is a social construct because it has no scientific basis. It's a concept the actually pre-dates science and any theory that pre-dates science is invalid; e.g.: religion

Why then are there scientific terms for the various races,charecteristics and differences?

And anything that predates science must be ignored because we're at the pinacle of evolution at the moment and science has an answer for everything?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Aye, jaysus forbid somebody confront your barely concealed leanings with facts.

Hitchens wrote: »
    ....and bring a mop and bucket :D

....o one would be needed, no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

It's only human nature to think that ones race is better than the others . It doesn't mean that you should disrespect others though because of their race .

Nodin wrote: »
    Aye, jaysus forbid somebody confront your barely concealed leanings with facts.

Welcome back.

We were worried something had happened to you.

Welcome back.

We were worried something had happened to you.

I doubt it, somehow.

Yea, down with racism and all that but still, I would say race is down to observation, not social ideas. There is clearly a difference between some pasty Scandinavian dude and a dark African dude, even though they're both homo sapiens.

010412_hollyscopes_gabrielle_reece_600120104114609.jpg?w=600

Gabrielle Reece. Blonde Haired, Green Eyed. And a Quadroon.

amy-poehler-rashida-jones-vanity-fair-oscars-party-04.jpg

Rashida Jones. Brown Haired, Hazel Eyed. And a Mulatto.

We've been conditioned to look at these women as white even though they are technically white AND black. Would your observation be that these were black women?

Actually here's a question .... Why do those originating from the orient and sub saharhan regions generally differentiate in physical appearance compared to Caucasians ?

Geographical factors...people have physically adapted to local conditions.

010412_hollyscopes_gabrielle_reece_600120104114609.jpg?w=600

Gabrielle Reece. Blonde Haired, Green Eyed. And a Quadroon.

amy-poehler-rashida-jones-vanity-fair-oscars-party-04.jpg

Rashida Jones. Brown Haired, Hazel Eyed. And a Mulatto.

We've been conditioned to look at these women as white even though they are technically white AND black. Would your observation be that these were black women?

Your plentiful use of the words "quadroon" and "mulatto" make you souund a bit strange.

And your willful ignorance lands you on my ignore list.

I'd do the same but i'm enoying your weird nonsense too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

FAAAAAAKE!!!!!!! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Once knew a German who refered to us (people who inhabit these islands) as 'Island monkeys' although this was only said when he'd had a few, and was in the company of his German mates. Still found it annoying when I overheard it though. He's not a friend anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dinorebel

As a white male every time I look in the mirror apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Oprahs_Vagina

Geographical factors...people have physically adapted to local conditions.

The slanted eyes, flat noses in sub saharhan africans, small height in those from the far east, how did those features come about from a more warm or humid climate :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 aRandomBloke

Depending if racist includes walking home from study quite a few times and being called "Harry Potter" by the same bunch of random clowns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

realies wrote: »
    Kinda, Was coming back from a soccer friendly in the old landsdown road stadium, 1970,s, Ireland were playing Spain,and me being of a very sallow complexion was set upon by a gang of Irish lads who taught I was Spanish :rolleyes: they beat the **** out of me.:(

Did you learn many Spanish words?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

The only genuine discrimination I have come across on a regular basis was against members of the travelling community, but then again there are reasons for that.