Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment- The Waiting to Apply Room

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭RANDOMUSER

jamesr123 wrote: »
    I thought I read any family member having conviction won't affect you?

In previous campaigns peoples associations with others who have a criminal past has affected their application. That side of things is dealt with by AGS HQ

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

RANDOMUSER wrote: »
    In previous campaigns peoples associations with others who have a criminal past has affected their application. That side of things is dealt with by AGS HQ

Makes sense, but I'd imagine they'd have to be hanging out with some serious criminals to affect the application :D

djor88 wrote: »
    It's not a case of passing the aptitudes, they'll go from the standard that's set by this bunch of applicants, in other words, they may take the top 5/10/20% etc, so the standard set really makes a difference, it's all about the competition around us.

Not necessarily, if 19,000 people pass the aptitude they have to place them on the Order of Merit, the cut offs for each of the individual aptitude tests you will sit have already been set. once you score above the cut of point you are placed on the panel. It is then decided to initially call X amount to interview and continually do so depending on demand. The interview boards will be reporting on the "quality of candidates" and this can help determine as to when to call a halt to the current panel and run a new campign.

What alot of people dont realise is the it costs a hell of alot of money to run these campaigns so they will try keep the panel going as long as the quality is there and of course the positons are there to fill

Makes sense, but I'd imagine they'd have to be hanging out with some serious criminals to affect the application :D

Usually its a case of a parent, sibling close relative being involved in crime. Im sure there is a level of common sense used by AGS based on the conviction etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

I'd say every social welfare office in the country is telling anyone suitable who's unemployed to apply. So that will boost the numbers applying even more

Devil08 wrote: »
    I'd say every social welfare office in the country is telling anyone suitable who's unemployed to apply. So that will boost the numbers applying even more

You'll also have the people who applied just to see what all the fuss was about!! Also dont forget the Mammies who apply on behalf of their "angels" even though said "angels" have no interest in ever becoming a member of AGS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

You'll also have the people who applied just to see what all the fuss was about!! Also dont forget the Mammies who apply on behalf of their "angels" even though said "angels" have no interest in ever becoming a member of AGS

Ah yea I'm sure there's a few mammies down in dingle telling little Seamus to go off and represent the parish and make a good man of himself. Little does she know young Seamus has been a raging alco since he was 15 and likes to dabble in brazzers

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Use a bit of sense here everyone. You have one candidate who does not mix with people who have criminal convictions and another candidate who does.
    It dosen't matter what the conviction is for, theft, assault, possession of drugs.
    Which candidate is shown the better judgement? That's the way whoever is processing the application will think.

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    Use a bit of sense here everyone. You have one candidate who does not mix with people who have criminal convictions and another candidate who does.
    It dosen't matter what the conviction is for, theft, assault, possession of drugs.
    Which candidate is shown the better judgement? That's the way whoever is processing the application will think.

and of course for any of that to matter you have to do the online test, the verification test, the aptitude test, score high enough on the aptitude to be called to interview, pass the interview and then after all that you can worry about the Garda Background checks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

Not necessarily, if 19,000 people pass the aptitude they have to place them on the Order of Merit, the cut offs for each of the individual aptitude tests you will sit have already been set. once you score above the cut of point you are placed on the panel. It is then decided to initially call X amount to interview and continually do so depending on demand. The interview boards will be reporting on the "quality of candidates" and this can help determine as to when to call a halt to the current panel and run a new campign.

What alot of people dont realise is the it costs a hell of alot of money to run these campaigns so they will try keep the panel going as long as the quality is there and of course the positons are there to fill

Can't see if working that way this time. You can have 19,000 applicants passing aptitude but when will the people at the bottom of this 19,000 get an interview, 10 years time? First of all they would not be kept on a panel for that long. I see it as we will take the top 5000 in the aptitude and tough **** to the rest.

thekopend wrote: »
    Can't see if working that way this time. You can have 19,000 applicants passing aptitude but when will the people at the bottom of this 19,000 get an interview, 10 years time? First of all they would not be kept on a panel for that l

they wont just because you are on a panel does not mean you are guaranteed an interview. They have to place you on the panel once you pass the aptitude test. You will receive a result letter saying you were placed X place on the order of merit we are currently calling an inital X amount to interview should we reach your place on the panel we will be in touch via the message board. Trust me, Ive been through a hell of alot of these campaigns and not as a candidate!

Well all I know is I sure as ffff don't want to be on a panel with 10000 people ahead of me on it. It would be years until you would even get a chance. Realistically I don't see anything over 10000 making the cut anyway, the fact that there are three different aptitudes now will cull numbers to what they would be in pervious campaigns or near enough.

Also I'd say nowhere near 30000 will apply. A lot of them registered interests are no longer interested. The regisistered interest stays on PJ until you take it down! And I can't see people who's circumstances changed to even remembering/bothering to do that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

and of course for any of that to matter you have to do the online test, the verification test, the aptitude test, score high enough on the aptitude to be called to interview, pass the interview and then after all that you can worry about the Garda Background checks!

And that's before you even get in the gate of Templemore and start the training!!

They would never go down a panel to 10000. Remember though to get say 300 recruits into templemore might mean going through 600 candidates or more. And that's after thousands being culled at the two exams. Its a fantastic opportinity for those who put their head down and really want it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scouser

They would never go down a panel to 10000. Remember though to get say 300 recruits into templemore might mean going through 600 candidates or more. And that's after thousands being culled at the two exams. Its a fantastic opportinity for those who put their head down and really want it.

it will be elimination after every round, each time the standard getting higher and higher

they will prob take a panel of 500-600 people that will be used over 2years as they see fit

very very select few, youll be doing very well to be in that number boys and girls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

My daughter, who has two law degrees but has had to work abroad for the last four years, [teaching] has been told she cannot apply because she lacks the residency qualifications.
    So, although she is Irish born and bred, and had the get up and go to earn a crust outside the country, she now finds herself excluded from this qualification process?
    Surely this is a mistake?
    Whoever told you this is wrong, read the info bookelt and you will see that applicants must be a citizen of a member EU state the other stipulations are if you do not satisfy the EU member than you must be x or x etc etc. She's Irish so she qualifies regardless of her being abroad.
    Thanks for that.
    You are indeed correct.
    I rang a number given to me by the Dept of Justice and the lady there read out the relevant section and, realising it was ambiguous, went off and got higher clarification.
    When my daughter rang them this morning from the UAE she was given the opposite info.
    Glad of your help in clearing it up!

I find it baffling that anyone with EU citizenship who has never set foot in this country can potentially join An Garda Siochana, bearing in mind their academic qualifications are deemed acceptable by QQI. Surely for a role such as this a person should have some sort of immersion in the country, its culture, its people etc. It is not what I would consider a normal job were people from all over europe and further afield apply and are successful in obtaining employment here on a regular basis. Must be there to satisfy an EU law. Just my two cents.

redout wrote: »
    I find it baffling that anyone with EU citizenship who has never set foot in this country can potentially join An Garda Siochana, bearing in mind their academic qualifications are deemed acceptable by QQI. Surely for a role such as this a person should have some sort of immersion in the country, its culture, its people etc. It is not what I would consider a normal job were people from all over europe and further afield apply and are successful in obtaining employment here on a regular basis. Must be there to satisfy an EU law. Just my two cents.

I think its the whole free labour movement within the EU. As long as they have the equivalent educational requirements they are free to apply. That applies to all open recruitment public sector positions.

Scouser wrote: »
    it will be elimination after every round, each time the standard getting higher and higher

they will prob take a panel of 500-600 people that will be used over 2years as they see fit

very very select few, youll be doing very well to be in that number boys and girls

The standard willbe set not by the tests but by the candidates. The tests all have a Max Mark same with the interview the competencies already would have a Mark as in all campaigns one Candidate will set the bar and it's up to everyone else to try better them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 JordanG990

Are the seriously not accepting LCA? Every document I got when I was in school said that LCA is perfectly acceptable for AGS which was one of the main reasons I chose it.

Really hoping this is not the case :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭DesertCreat_15

Yep, that is the case! Looks like taking the lazy route didn't pay off !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 JordanG990

People do LCA for other reasons than just being lazy, I asked about the Gardai recruitment, not your opinion on my life choices, thank you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭want2b

JordanG990 wrote: »
    Are the seriously not accepting LCA? Every document I got when I was in school said that LCA is perfectly acceptable for AGS which was one of the main reasons I chose it.

Really hoping this is not the case :(

They use to accept LCA but they have changed the requirements this time, the requirements is a very grey area if you ask me, its hard to know what's what some people say you can still apply with LCA but I don't know, best give them a ring yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭carzony

want2b wrote: »
    They use to accept LCA but they have changed the requirements this time, the requirements is a very grey area if you ask me, its hard to know what's what some people say you can still apply with LCA but I don't know, best give them a ring yourself.

They are not accepting LCA. I have phoned them and also emailed them. They can give me no credible explanation as to why that is the case.. I think it's a disgrace, I'm just lucky I have my level 5 fetac to fall back on..

I mean there are kids doing LCA now that will be rejected in the future. I wonder if complains were made would it make any difference? It makes no sense scrapping LCA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭Mark37

They should be accepting the LCA, I work in education and they take GCSE's, which is the same level as the LCA.

Mark37 wrote: »
    They should be accepting the LCA, I work in education and they take GCSE's, which is the same level as the LCA.

A merit or distinction is the exact same level 5 leaving cert as the traditional so why not accept it?

The email I recieved

Dear carzony

Grades attained in the Leaving Certificate Applied (LCA) do not meet the minimum entry requirements. Grades attained in the Leaving Certificate and Leaving Certificate Vocational Programme (LCVP) will be considered.

Regards
    Public Appointments Service

Mark37 wrote: »

There are also a lot of people disappointed with the foundation Irish scraped

want2b wrote: »
    There are also a lot of people disappointed with the foundation Irish scraped

That's a different story though. the lca is the leaving cert, just a different format.

I'v emailed them highlighting this point and also told them they need to change it as it discrimination...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭Mark37

Its very unfair for people to be honest - can people get on to there local TD's about it, the more pressure put on by everyone the better. Its a very unfair process at all stages to be honest!

carzony wrote: »
    That's a different story though. the lca is the leaving cert, just a different format.

I'v emailed them highlighting this point and also told them they need to change it as it discrimination...

Not different very same thing they changed the requirement that was used in the passed no difference. Not sure if you can call it discrimination because a person doesn't meet the educational requirements.