Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment- The Waiting to Apply Room

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Curly Judge

My daughter, who has two law degrees but has had to work abroad for the last four years, [teaching] has been told she cannot apply because she lacks the residency qualifications.
    So, although she is Irish born and bred, and had the get up and go to earn a crust outside the country, she now finds herself excluded from this qualification process?
    Surely this is a mistake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭kev-bt

pah wrote: »
    Starting pay after initial training used to be €27,100 now it's €25,745 but since the cuts the net amount is down way more due to USC etc.

Where did you get the figure €25,745 from? The only figure I seen on the document with the application form is €23k and something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭EmmaThomas

Hi

Need some help have computing degree but also have did the leaving cert applied so my question is would this meet the standard they need as i did the Irish in leaving cert applied ? i have emailed them put no reply any help would be great thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,743 ✭✭✭pah

kev-bt wrote: »
    Where did you get the figure €25,745 from? The only figure I seen on the document with the application form is €23k and something.

http://www.gra.cc/payscales.shtml

add about 20% for unsociable hours allowance, sat, sun nights etc so a little under €31k gross based on current rates. This would be on attestation AFTER training.

Student rate used to be about €180 a week with an allowance of €150ish extra when posted to station as a student iirc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭RANDOMUSER

My daughter, who has two law degrees but has had to work abroad for the last four years, [teaching] has been told she cannot apply because she lacks the residency qualifications.
    So, although she is Irish born and bred, and had the get up and go to earn a crust outside the country, she now finds herself excluded from this qualification process?
    Surely this is a mistake?

Whoever told you this is wrong, read the info bookelt and you will see that applicants must be a citizen of a member EU state the other stipulations are if you do not satisfy the EU member than you must be x or x etc etc. She's Irish so she qualifies regardless of her being abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Curly Judge

RANDOMUSER wrote: »
    Whoever told you this is wrong, read the info bookelt and you will see that applicants must be a citizen of a member EU state the other stipulations are if you do not satisfy the EU member than you must be x or x etc etc. She's Irish so she qualifies regardless of her being abroad.

Thanks for that.
    You are indeed correct.
    I rang a number given to me by the Dept of Justice and the lady there read out the relevant section and, realising it was ambiguous, went off and got higher clarification.
    When my daughter rang them this morning from the UAE she was given the opposite info.
    Glad of your help in clearing it up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭HighburyLad

Folks was just doing a bit of research on allowances individual gardai receive, found this link and it looks a bit out of date judging on the pay scales, but it shows allowances too, does anyone know if these are still accurate and will apply to those successful this campaign?

http://www.nospinireland.com/Gardai.html

Folks was just doing a bit of research on allowances individual gardai receive, found this link and it looks a bit out of date judging on the pay scales, but it shows allowances too, does anyone know if these are still accurate and will apply to those successful this campaign?

http://www.nospinireland.com/Gardai.html

The figures are a bit dated but the general jist of it is correct, the uniform and boot allowance is about €6 p.w. and rent allowance just under €80 p.w.

When I went for my mortgage in 2007 I calculated everything to a tee. i added nights/sat/sun/unsociable/rent/boot/uniform into one annual gross payment. it worked out at 26% on top of the basic figure, which wasn't bad at the time - around €37,500 before any public holidays or overtime. Hitting €40k gross wasn't looking too hard.

I guess it will depend on where you are based bu there will always be a little bit of overtime here and there but generally it's been scaled back so much you couldn't rely on it to calculate any potential earnings - public holidays depend on your roster - you could hit all or none of them. for instance i'll be working xmas day stephens day and new years day this year - so i'll get the allowances for that but another unit might not work any of those.

pah wrote: »
    The figures are a bit dated but the general jist of it is correct, the uniform and boot allowance is about €6 p.w. and rent allowance just under €80 p.w.

When I went for my mortgage in 2007 I calculated everything to a tee. i added nights/sat/sun/unsociable/rent/boot/uniform into one annual gross payment. it worked out at 26% on top of the basic figure, which wasn't bad at the time - around €37,500 before any public holidays or overtime. Hitting €40k gross wasn't looking too hard.

I guess it will depend on where you are based bu there will always be a little bit of overtime here and there but generally it's been scaled back so much you couldn't rely on it to calculate any potential earnings - public holidays depend on your roster - you could hit all or none of them. for instance i'll be working xmas day stephens day and new years day this year - so i'll get the allowances for that but another unit might not work any of those.

Cheers Pah, I was trying to sorta do the figures, I understand whilst in templemore you have a basic allowance, and that's okay due to the fact it's residential, and someone like myself 22 years old with no financial commitments or whatever it's grand, but was trying to figure out once sworn in upon attestation would there be more than just your basic salary on top of that, but that's good to know there is allowances to go on top, the big one for me was the rental allowance, and like you said it all depends on where your stationed

No problem Curly Judge, glad I could help and best of luck to your daughter too. Any further questions just ask!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭candidate2013

Cheers Pah, I was trying to sorta do the figures, I understand whilst in templemore you have a basic allowance, and that's okay due to the fact it's residential, and someone like myself 22 years old with no financial commitments or whatever it's grand, but was trying to figure out once sworn in upon attestation would there be more than just your basic salary on top of that, but that's good to know there is allowances to go on top, the big one for me was the rental allowance, and like you said it all depends on where your stationed

Would you consider commuting across the border or moving permanently?

Dundalk is about 50 miles from Belfast and I would have something similar to get to say Letterkenny or Buncrana.

I'm unsure how they would station people that are based in NI.

Dundalk is about 50 miles from Belfast and I would have something similar to get to say Letterkenny or Buncrana.

Wherever they want.

I would move permanently I contacted them about that and they said from the North I'm in the same boat as folks from the South but if I was successful I would have to move permanently down south, which I would be happy enough to do so

So they said that you couldn't live in NI and work across the border?

Surprised by that.

I'm sure it happens the other way + the English/Scottish, English/Welsh border.

So they said that you couldn't live in NI and work across the border?

Surprised by that.

I'm sure it happens the other way + the English/Scottish, English/Welsh border.

Well the lady I spoke to advised that I would move down, she said too that areas that need gardai the likes of dublin and what not would be where a lot of recruits would be heading, and it would be a brave distance to travel too, also security services in NI carry ppw's on and off duty were as most gardai don't and also the security threat in NI is pretty rife at the moment, more so than normal should I say lol, I heard of PSNI officers who travelled across the border who lived in for example Dundalk but worked in Armagh, but had to leave their ppw's at the last station before the border but what eventually happened was they were told to move North as it wasn't practical security wise, I think it's more to do with security than anything if I'm honest

You got a phone number?

I think I'd best give them a call.

If possible, I'd rather commute than relocate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭carzony

Lads, I just read the newspaper. They reckon 32,000 application already? surely not that many?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scouser

carzony wrote: »
    Lads, I just read the newspaper. They reckon 32,000 application already? surely not that many?

thats 32k expressions of interest

the papers keep churning out this figure and claiming its applicants

its not

Scouser wrote: »
    thats 32k expressions of interest

the papers keep churning out this figure and claiming its applicants

its not

thank god, competition like that would be impossible.. If that was the real figure by now it'd show how desperate people are for work lol

thank god, competition like that would be impossible..

it could get to that in fairness!

but at the moment i dont think it would be close to 32k

i think they should close the comp today and let all us boardsies duke it out :cool: :D

it could get to that in fairness!

but at the moment i dont think it would be close to 32k

i think they should close the comp today and let all us boardsies duke it out :cool: :D

It could get to that but not in the time-scale that's be given so far.. I read it and thought not a chance it's that much yet.

given the unemployment figure the number will be high. I reckon maybe 20,000 people? which is what journal.ie predicts..

It could get to that but not in the time-scale that's be given so far.. I read it and thought not a chance it's that much yet.

given the unemployment figure the number will be high. I reckon maybe 20,000 people? which is what journal.ie predicts..

yeah thats a bit more realistic

like i said - army cadetship had 9k

id expect double that for the popo

yeah thats a bit more realistic

like i said - army cadetship had 9k

id expect double that for the popo

Take into account the new terms and conditions I think it's unlikely anyone will be willing to leave a job they are in to join.

I'd say a huge part of that figure will be unemployed people,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 realitycheck24

I reckon the final figure will hit 32,000 if not higher especially with all the press recruitment has got in past few days..also I know of teaching vacancies where up to 1000 are applying for one job so whats it going to end up like for ags where you just need a basic education

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭djor88

Considering they mentioned that they're taking on 250-300 trainees, what do we reckon the total size of the panel will be? Maybe 400-500 to allow for future competitions and drop outs etc?

djor88 wrote: »
    Considering they mentioned that they're taking on 250-300 trainees, what do we reckon the total size of the panel will be? Maybe 400-500 to allow for future competitions and drop outs etc?

If 20,000 people sit the aptitude test and 19,000 people pass it then the panel will be 19,000. PAS will call people off the panel in batches based on the needs of AGS. Each interview board will be able to take about 10 candidates a day and from expreience you can have up to 4 - 5 boards sitting on one day for 3-4 weeks. Its really supply and demand. The bottle neck is really at the vetting stage and clarifying candidates qualifications can be a hindrence too!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

If 20,000 people sit the aptitude test and 19,000 people pass it then the panel will be 19,000. PAS will call people off the panel in batches based on the needs of AGS. Each interview board will be able to take about 10 candidates a day and from expreience you can have up to 4 - 5 boards sitting on one day for 3-4 weeks. Its really supply and demand. The bottle neck is really at the vetting stage and clarifying candidates qualifications can be a hindrence too!

is garda vetting not just finding out what convictions you may have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭djor88

It's not a case of passing the aptitudes, they'll go from the standard that's set by this bunch of applicants, in other words, they may take the top 5/10/20% etc, so the standard set really makes a difference, it's all about the competition around us.

jamesr123 wrote: »
    is garda vetting not just finding out what convictions you may have?

Not just you but your family members too. Not having sufficient info on close relatives dates of birth etc can cause delays

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

Not just you but your family members too. Not having sufficient info on close relatives dates of birth etc can cause delays

I thought I read any family member having conviction won't affect you?