Do you think Enda Kenny is doing a good job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

I can't believe nobody has posted a 20 year old quote of Kenny's about property tax yet (the whingers aren't here yet).

Anyway, he clearly is doing a reasonably decent job. He's not the most exciting leader we ever had; a capable administrator rather then a charismatic character - exactly what we need right now.

Barring catastrophe, he's a shoe-in for another term, if he wants one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Considering the ****e he was left with, and that, that continues to surface, he's doing an okay job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,560 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I know it's slow progress and all but the drop in unemployment figures (and more importanly increased employment figures) have increased his credibility enormously. Perception is everything in politics and Kenny is generally percieved as honest, hard-working and a steady leader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

It's like this, Fianna Fail run deals and schemes and to hide it they give lavish presents to all concerned and generous allowances to social welfare, thus avoiding the 'revolution' reaction to corruption.

This breaks the country, this is the third or fourth time this has happened.

Fine Gael step and impose draconian fiscal policies that ultimately destroys the country but does succeed in making the books balance, even if that means people die or emigrate.

This breaks the country as we must look at large borrowings and import workers to kick start a recovery.

Fianna Fail, who are now again making noises seize on this and recapture power and proceed to give us all a handout and borrows many times our GDP and embarks on lavish public white elephants and we all think they are great ~ we are about to enter this stage again ~

Kenny has only plugged a hole in a dyke sort of metaphor, oh look there is no leak now, aren't I great!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭TOMP

Make no mistake, Enda's speech to the country next weekend is the first salvo in the next election campaign. I expect Enda to offer a sweetener either this year or next year, such as restoring the social welfare christmas bonus.

TOMP wrote: »
    Make no mistake, Enda's speech to the country next weekend is the first salvo in the next election campaign. I expect Enda to offer a sweetener either this year or next year, such as restoring the social welfare christmas bonus.
    If we're doing so well that that idea flies then he deserves to win the next election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,560 ✭✭✭✭road_high

TOMP wrote: »

Really hope not. It's people who are working hard and contributely through huge taxation that need a break. Welfare needs to be curtailed further and real work incentivised.
    Agree the speech will do him no harm and one in the eye to FF (I've no doubt they'll be mentioned and rightly blamed in a round-about way).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭DanWall

He is not taking care of the corruption and scandals, Every day there is something highlighting the corruption, his golden circle still survives, he is as bad as the rest.

DanWall wrote: »
    He is not taking care of the corruption and scandals, Every day there is something highlighting the corruption, his golden circle still survives, he is as bad as the rest.

As bad as the rest of who?
    (is this just a bland 'all politicians are the same' rant)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,086 ✭✭✭irishfeen

road_high wrote: »
    I don't think they are any more. Their local structure across Ireland is actually pretty weak. There were many ordianry decent FF people that were none too happy with the centralisation of power to the Bertie mafia.

In Dublin in particular FF are non-existant in parts. No.4 party there.

P.S. I really hope they don't re-build or anything, we don't need anymore Cowens (still one on the dail) or Coughlans
    In rural Ireland they are probably still the number one party - most moderate FF voters didn't bother voting for anyone in protest at FF... don't worry they will be returning with vengeance in the next election. Imo Fine Gael will walk away and go very close to a single party government and Fianna Fail will return as the second largest party polling at about 23-25%.

Sinn Fein are just totally fcuking themselves over - its like they just visit the local playschool and ask the toddlers for economic advice and go with it... if they actually produced realistic proposals and not just going for the protest vote (getting rid of Water charge etc.) they they could make hay... Adams is also a total liability, they will never enter government in the south with him at the helm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I don't like him as a person or as a public figure. He lacks charisma, gumption, wit and often appears to lack basic intelligence (tripping up over flower pots and crying assault, making racist jokes and then begging journos not to repeat it). He also fails miserably at debating issues.. not just on TV and other media; but in the Dáil itself.. always deflecting criticism, making light of others concerns and so on.

That all said, I don't think he's doing a terrible job as Taoiseach. At least not compared to the goons that preceded him. I think FG (barring a couple of Depts.) are generally doing an alright job, moreso than Kenny is as leader. There's at least half a dozen ministers that would be better suited as party leader. It's a small miracle that Kenny is still there as it is. Even many FG'ers dislike him as leader of the party... but that's politics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

"Good" as in what exactly? Good as in carrying on the same policies initiated by FF? Good as in not reforming the Public sector instead just slashing front line services? Good as in being a beller and paying our money to a bunch of busted gamblers? Good as in slashing red tape and driving job creation with radical Business-friendly policies? Or Good in that he has taxed the backside out of the country and done sweet f.a else? Good me hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Fr. Ned

Kenny's constant use of 'Jean McConville/you were in the IRA' in response to any questions raised by Gerry Adams or SF is disgraceful.

The other day Adams asked him about the 'top up' scandal and the reply was along the lines of 'Were you in the IRA?, you were in the IRA, weren't you?.

I think that shows Enda's limitations up fully, unless he has a scripted answer to read, he flounders around and is totally out of his depth.

Fr. Ned wrote: »
    , he flounders around and is totally out of his depth.

He is a school teacher too, isn't he?

Fr. Ned wrote: »
    I think that shows Enda's limitations up fully, unless he has a scripted answer to read, he flounders around and is totally out of his depth.
    We witnessed almost 14 years of the Ahern's wittiness, smart remarks off the cuff, jokes and cute hoor-ism and just look how that turned out ... his quiet, relaxed demeanor is something for which I actually respect. A showman doesn't make you a good leader, a good leader manages a team of people to do their job the best they can ...

irishfeen wrote: »
    We witnessed almost 14 years of the Ahern's wittiness, smart remarks off the cuff, jokes and cute hoor-ism and just look how that turned out ... his quiet, relaxed demeanor is something for which I actually respect. A showman doesn't make you a good leader...

Well the Ahern era is clouded in innuendo, suspicion, corruption and so on and on endlessly, hardly fitting to compare to Enda, now is it.

Let Enda speak for himself, I think he'd thank you to not to associate his name with the previous incumbent, tbh.

Red Nissan wrote: »
    Let Enda speak for himself, I think he'd thank you to not to associate his name with the previous incumbent, tbh.
    I was just defending Enda from a poster who said "unless he has a scripted answer to read, he flounders around and is totally out of his depth" .. Ahern was a showman who could sell sand on a beach - Kenny is not, he is a different type of leader who seems to prefer a steady ship and doesn't like surprises, I like that about him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

No. They're all the same bunch of corrupt bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

zenno wrote: »
    No. They're all the same bunch of corrupt bastards.

That's why you'll be voting for the cleanest party of them all, Sinn Féin. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Hello_MrFox

Off topic but say Enda wants to go shopping or for a stroll around the an Irish city, does he have bodyguards with him?

I presume he'd have his Garda detail.

I would hardly say he does around Castlebar anyway but probably has a Garda escorting him in Dublin.

That's why you'll be voting for the cleanest party of them all, Sinn Féin. :rolleyes:

Well, I think we all, those of us who do vote SF, know the underlying philosophy of the whole organisation, we can wink and nod too you know.

Mainstream FF & FG nod at each other to identify idiot voters and they laugh at us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

In Ireland one man was more man than the rest. His name was Enda Kenny. He was like a god walking amongst mere mortals. He had a voice that could make a wolverine purr and suits so fine they made Sinatra look like a hobo. In other words, Enda Kenny was the balls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

No, I'll be voting Independent :rolleyes: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

New taxes and new charges for the working man.
    Emigration as bad as when he took over.
    The Job Bridge fiasco.
    The rise in education fees.
    Targeting the same people all the time.
    Businesses and shops empty and more closing all the time.
    The broken promises.
    The scandal that continues with the HSE.
    Cronyism still increasing.

Not a great job at all BUT still better than F.F.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

DanWall wrote: »
    I'm going to have to ask you to point out the four scandals from this week then...
    I don't like him as a person or as a public figure. He lacks charisma, gumption, wit and often appears to lack basic intelligence (tripping up over flower pots and crying assault, making racist jokes and then begging journos not to repeat it). He also fails miserably at debating issues.. not just on TV and other media; but in the Dáil itself.. always deflecting criticism, making light of others concerns and so on.

That all said, I don't think he's doing a terrible job as Taoiseach. At least not compared to the goons that preceded him. I think FG (barring a couple of Depts.) are generally doing an alright job, moreso than Kenny is as leader. There's at least half a dozen ministers that would be better suited as party leader. It's a small miracle that Kenny is still there as it is. Even many FG'ers dislike him as leader of the party... but that's politics.
    Seriously? With the history we have of 'witty, charismatic' leaders that's still one of the most important things to you?

Why, exactly?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Steady, calming influence who manages his team well. Not going to win any charisma awards but I think that sort of stuff is pretty tertiary when running a country like ours. He's doing a solid job. Can't say that for the last few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Kenny? Kenny is a puppet that does what he's told or Angela will get the wooden spoon out and redden his arse.

They copied FF's '4 point plan', they backtracked on water charges, giving the banks that extra 'red cent' etc. In years to come when the truth about NAMA comes out we'll see how good a leader Kenny is.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    In years to come when the truth about NAMA comes out we'll see how good a leader Kenny is.

Ah, go on - give us a sneak preview.