Gerry Adams : Terrorist or Freedom Fighter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    No Fred. It is your tinnitus

We are talking about whether Adams is a Freedom Fighter or Terrorist. Please read OP's headline :)

And what's with the (.) key in your keyboard? A secret code?

Why quote my post then?

It's Morse code. I also do signing at memorial services. And I have a dodgy phone.

Obviously, as has been pointed out he is neither as he was never in the IRA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

If BILE was in the commodities futures ...... ye would cause a crash by flooding the market.

Brush up on the auld history lads and don't be so blinkered.

Imperial masters have been kicked out a multitude of times in history.
    Were John Locke and Thomas Paine wrong in their writings?

Were the good burghers of Blighty right to fight back (and kill :)) the Romans when they invaded, the Germanic tribes when they came uninvited, the Vikings as they sailed gracefully around the coast, Scots, Normans et al.? Or should they have turned turtle like a host of (presumably Irish) posters in here?

Do ye hold the same venom for the US after they kicked ye out? Or to Pakistan, India, Afghanistan, China and the rest? Even The (now) Rusty Lady's idea of holding on to Hong Kong got the fingers and signalled the end of an evil empire that butchered so many people and enslaved countless millions. Something to be really proud of. However, you reap what you sow and the chickens are coming home, big time.
    I didn't understand a word of that. I'm not being funny but the post that no doubt sounded hilarious in your head is incomprehensible.
    No Fred. It is your tinnitus

We are talking about whether Adams is a Freedom Fighter or Terrorist. Please read OP's headline :)

And what's with the (.) key in your keyboard? A secret code?
    How could he be either when he wasn't in the IRA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    I didn't understand a word of that. I'm not being funny but the post that no doubt sounded hilarious in your head is incomprehensible.

Says more about yourself than the poster you're replying to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Says more about yourself than the poster you're replying to.
    Not really. It's full of needlessly ambiguous analogies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

the polimitician of his generation. Spoke irish to me in a chipper once, top fella.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Iwasfrozen wrote: »

How could he be either when he wasn't in the IRA?

Freedom Fighter = Fought for freedom. What part do you not understand. Lots of people fought for freedom and didn't raise a gun. I'm sure you could call Desmond Tutu a Freedom Fighter and as yet I have not heard of him ever being armed. Gandhi famously did. Have you not heard of him?

Or would you rather engage in semantics? This is a discussion forum. You may need to hit the Grammar Forum to sate your needs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Freedom fighter or terrorist, Not sure but certainly not Favourite Uncle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Given the choice Terrorist or freedom fighter, I would have to say Terrorist, or (ex Terrorist) and all round nasty piece of work. Republican idol and cheer leader for the PIRA "the Army" as he called them when they were around. Shame there isn't a poll on here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭jantheman91

Love seeing the imperialists liking each other's posts. Shows that they both share opinions devoid of logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,335 ✭✭✭wendell borton

What ever your opinions, I think we can all agree a politician is more dipised than those two options.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 323 ✭✭hungry hippo 4

LordSutch wrote: »
    Given the choice Terrorist or freedom fighter, I would have to say Terrorist, or (ex Terrorist) and all round nasty piece of work. Republican idol and cheer leader for the PIRA "the Army" as he called them when they were around. Shame there isn't a poll on here.

Shouldn't you be off burning a catholic out of his home?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Love seeing the imperialists liking each other's posts. Shows that they both share opinions devoid of logic.

Love seeing der uberpats claiming everyone who doesn't buy into their selective argument is an imperialist or west brit.

Mr Adams is a politician, he may well be seen in certain quarters as a freedom fighter. That's not for me to say. He redeemed himself in the peace process, for sure but other situations have blotted his copy book, somewhat.

old hippy wrote: »
    Love seeing der uberpats claiming everyone who doesn't buy into their selective argument is an imperialist or west brit.

Mr Adams is a politician, he may well be seen in certain quarters as a freedom fighter. That's not for me to say. He redeemed himself in the peace process, for sure but other situations have blotted his copy book, somewhat.

whatever,

ya bleedin tan ye :pac:

People seem to overlook the fact that Nelson Mandela was a prominent figure in the ANC, which was on a par with the IRA in the 80's in that it was deemed a terrorist organisation by many countries.

That's only considered acceptable if the children are there too.

Typical imperialist logic eh.

That's only considered acceptable if the children are there too.

I doubt he has children.. He borrows kids from the local lodge.

Now that really is an imbecilic and totally uncalled for thing to say about me, but seeing as you finished with a questionmark I'll let you off for now. For your information, just because I detest Adams & the IRA does not mean that I wish to burn 'a catholic' out of their home. Indeed only recently I have praised John Hume & Seamus Mallon (both Catholics) in their peaceful efforts during the Troubles. If Adams was half the man of either of those he'd be doing well.

So I attack Adams/PIRA and I get the "anti catholic" treatment, interesting :cool:

People seem to overlook the fact that Nelson Mandela was a prominent figure in the ANC, which was on a par with the IRA in the 80's in that it was deemed a terrorist organisation by many countries.

You must have missed the bit where he spent 27 years in prison.

Now that really is an imbecilic and totally uncalled for thing to say about me, but seeing as you finished with a questionmark I'll let you off for now. For your information, just because I detest Adams & the IRA does not mean that I wish to burn 'a catholic' out of their home. Indeed only recently I have praised John Hume & Seamus Mallon (both Catholics) in their peaceful efforts during the Troubles. If Adams was half the man of either of those he'd be doing well.

Continue to praise them all you like.

You're a Brit apologist. End of story.

Good to see a new generation has been assimilated.

So I attack Adams/PIRA and I get the "anti catholic" treatment, interseting :cool:

You can thank the british terrorists for the creation of the IRA.

Continue to praise them all you like.

You're a Brit apologist. End of story.

John Hume & Seamus Mallon were Nationalists, and I supported their peaceful movement in gaining equality for Catholics in Northern Ireland. Adams was always too hate filled and devisive for my liking.

What did you think of Paisley and Trimble?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

Posts#162,166 & 167 might cause problems for the posters.

Paisley & Lord Trimble are for another thread, this is all about Gerry Adams (Terrorist or Freedom fighter). I chose the former.

Posts#162,166 & 167 might cause problems for the posters.

Paisley & Lord Trimble are for another thread, this is all about Gerry Adams (Terrorist or Freedom fighter). I chose the former.

no no no, those two hate filled individuals should be mentioned here.

Hungry hippo4 & jantheman91.

OK then, Hungry hippo4 & jantheman91 seem to be the two hate filled individuals?

The fact that you labelled it lord trimble is enough for me. Adams and McGuinness got the last laugh! Say goodbye to your fleg lads :D

They took are fleg!

Loyalists made a holy show of themselves. Showed themselves up for the narrow-minded scum they are.

Hungry hippo4 & jantheman91.

Two great lads.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Our Imperialist-in-Chief and self-declared enemy of Irish independence here condemns Republican reactionary violence as terrorism while keeping his gob shut on Union/loyalist state violence that gave rise to it.