Publicans and 12 pubs of Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Jarrod wrote: »
    Anyway, I'm almost finished my pint, thinking 'I might have one more and head home', when some fcuking fun-nazi starts ringing a bell telling everyone to move to the next pub,

They had a fcuking bell? Are you sure the bell end wasn't just shaking his head? What a prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

Jarrod wrote: »
    A friend of mine was doing 12 pubs last weekend with his gf. I'd never done it but said I'd meet him for a pint in the first pub as I hadn't seen him in ages. I got there and it was exactly like others have described, Christmas jumpers, santa hats and more 'rules' than you could shake a stick at.

Anyway, I'm almost finished my pint, thinking 'I might have one more and head home', when some fcuking fun-nazi starts ringing a bell telling everyone to move to the next pub, remembering you're only allowed turn right because left handed turns aren't allowed and shots will be given as penalties. Anyway, I leaned to my mate and discussed how **** the 'craic and banter' was and we decided to split from the group. We went to 3 more pubs with 2 or 3 pints in each and had a great night.

TL;DR - Pub crawls: Great craic. 12 pubs: A load of sh1te run by fun-nazis having 'the banter' or some other sh1te.

I have to agree about the rules. Completely counter productive. You're there to have a laugh but someone telling you that you HAVE to do a shot because you took a drink with your left hand is too far.
    I don't HAVE to do anything my dear....and then you're apparently 'no craic' :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,946 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

They had a fcuking bell? Are you sure the bell end wasn't just shaking his head? What a prick.

It isn't unusual for this 12 pubs palaver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Jarrod

Yep, a fcuking bell. At first I thought she was doing it in a sort of light-hearted way but when I didn't immediately finish my drink on hearing the bell she confronted me on it for being a 'dry sh1te'. Because obviously enjoying a pint with a mate you haven't seen in a while is rubbish compared to moping around in the cold from pub to pub with fcuking rules involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Fair play to anybody banning them.

Was out Saturday night just gone and some of the 12 pubs groups - not all of course - were a nuisance to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

I used to work as a doorman and these muppets used to piss me off so bad. Got to a stage where I just wouldn't let them in as the trouble caused far outweighed the monetary value of their custom.

Where did the Publicans and their high horse over 12 pubs come from?

I know somebody that owns a pub and it's basically (regular) customer-driven.

If the groups are annoying their regulars, why would they let them?

Not saying all people in the groups are bad or that regular customers don't get messy (I was hardly sober myself) but my experience at the weekend was that the On The Clock vibe of the 12 pubs crawl leads to a bigger surge than usual at the bar and definitely a lot more people that seem not used to drinking large amounts. Plus there is some ringleader going around herding people in and out.

Essentially It struck me as usual Christmas drinking beahviour but basically speeded up. The groups definitely stand out even in the pissed up atmosphere of Christmas.

I actually left one of my regular spots (been drinking there for 20 odd years) after a pint because of it. Now if you're saying that a successful city centre pub is going to alienate regular customers to cater for groups for whom the majority will not be back again for a year, it's a no-brainer.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

If you rejected a group of us on one night, you wouldn't see us there for the rest of the year either

For the whole couple of weeks that are in it? :pac:

But think about it clearly though, what's a round of drinks worth to him, when a lot of these groups are just going to be moving on all the time. He's not going to be missing out on any big business rejecting these groups. He's looking to protect the business he has, by stating the type of pub he runs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Where the hell did this 12 pubs thing even come from?

I wouldn't let them in either, I wish more pubs would take this stance and try and stamp out this stupid thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Holsten wrote: »
    Where the hell did this 12 pubs thing even come from?

I wouldn't let them in either, I wish more pubs would take this stance and try and stamp out this stupid thing.

Right so where do you draw the line on groups and groups wanting to hit a few pubs then?
    Can they do 4 pubs with 3 drinks in each? 6x2, 3x4?

12 Pubs is just a pub crawl, if it's organised well it can be great fun, use a proper time i.e. 45 mins or so like someone said, food to break it up, it can be fine.
    It's the idiots that use these rules and bring bells and flashing lights that ruin it for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,484 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

For the whole couple of weeks that are in it? :pac:

But think about it clearly though, what's a round of drinks worth to him, when a lot of these groups are just going to be moving on all the time. He's not going to be missing out on any big business rejecting these groups. He's looking to protect the business he has, by stating the type of pub he runs.

Or any other year.

Group of 10 of us drinking weekly in a pub, 4-5 drinks each at 5 euro a pop.

10k - 12k potential loss a year for one group?

For the sake of not letting them in for one drink when they're out having some fun with Christmas jumpers on?

razorblunt wrote: »
    It's the idiots that use these rules and bring bells and flashing lights that ruin it for everyone.

As in the majority of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Right so where do you draw the line on groups and groups wanting to hit a few pubs then?
    Can they do 4 pubs with 3 drinks in each? 6x2, 3x4?

12 Pubs is just a pub crawl, if it's organised well it can be great fun, use a proper time i.e. 45 mins or so like someone said, food to break it up, it can be fine.

Yeah that would be the majority of people. Irish people just cannot deal with alcohol properly.

You draw the line wherever you want, it's your pub, although you could spot these people a mile away.

Or any other year.

For the sake of not letting them in for one drink when they're out having some fun with Christmas jumpers on?

I can just tell from the wounded outrage of your posts that you're the one that calls the bouncer a gorilla and threatens to sue the pub by Pub 9.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭conorhal

If you rejected a group of us on one night, you wouldn't see us there for the rest of the year either

I believe that the publicans point was that he doesn't see you the rest of the year anyway, so putting up with a group of ferociously drunk eejits dragging a semi concious mate in the door while slurring their way through 'On the 12th Day of Christmas' at the top of their lungs after their 10th pint isn't worth the hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

Why is everyone hating on Christmas jumpers? So if I go into a pub now this Christmas while wearing one they'll refuse me entry? Seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Super-Rush wrote: »
    how is he going to know they are on the 12 pubs?
    How does he know they're on 12 pubs?
    I think people are being to literal and going on in an almost legalistic way. He simply does not want gangs of drunks, just like some bars might refuse stag parties, of gangs of drunk people in general. He gets free media advertising for his bar which might attract people who want a quiet drink.

If a gang comes in and quietly have a drink and then leave and say "aha, we caught you out, we're actually doing the 12 days of christmas!" I doubt he is going to give a damn, its not what he wanted to prevent happening.

So the reply to "how will he tell" is, -if he cannot obviously tell then it's probably not an issue for him.

conorhal wrote: »
    I believe that the publicans point was that he doesn't see you the rest of the year anyway, so putting up with a group of ferociously drunk eejits dragging a semi concious mate in the door while slurring their way through 'On the 12th Day of Christmas' at the top of their lungs after their 10th pint isn't worth the hassle.

^^^^

Exactly!

If you see a group of your regular customers arriving then of course you allow them in. It's the group of random people (usually 1 or 2 being held up) that come to the pub shouting and bellowing who then proceed to the bar en mass shoving people out of the way to get served and then proceed to "sing" loudly and shout at the top of their voices. These are the ones any decent publican wouldn't want in.

Why is everyone hating on Christmas jumpers? So if I go into a pub now this Christmas while wearing one they'll refuse me entry? Seriously?

If you are pissed, shouting at the top of your lungs and basically being a nuisance then yes. If you are just out for a beer then no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

12 pubs groups are large groups of people who barely drink from one end of the year to another pretending they can drink like the rest of us for one night a year and failing miserably.
    I can't think of any people I know who would drink 12 pints and not be messy (which I presume is what you mean by "failing"). Frequent drinkers who would be regarded as heavy drinkers.

I suppose many resort to paying over the odds for 330ml bottles, which are little more than a half pint -but the bottle drinkers would probably ridicule a friend drinking a half pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

anncoates wrote: »
    As in the majority of them?

majority of people in pubs? yes, loud, drunk and idiots.
    There's only subtle differences between 12 Pubs and Birthdays, Work-dos, end of exams, post game city center nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

we had two different people show up in the last week wanting to know what we would give them to bring the 12 pubs into our pub. they were told they would get 'a slap' which they took as a joke. but they actually wanted some kind of kick back to bring 60-80 drunken people into our bar at 9.45 on a saturday evening as the regulars are coming in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

No you'll just look like a twat!

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    No you'll just look like a twat!

I'd rather look like a twat who doesn't care what others think about her than a boll0cks who wastes time caring about what other people are wearing. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Swan's is a really quiet, old-man type bar. The most exciting thing in there would be the telly. That's it. That's the bar it is so maybe he feels the atmosphere of his bar is being damaged when theses 12 pubs crowds come in. That's my guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

Or any other year.

If you and your 9 friends are drinking weekly in 12 pubs it may be time to consider cutting back.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I'd rather look like a twat who doesn't care what others think about her than a boll0cks who wastes time caring about what other people are wearing. :rolleyes:

Well isn't the whole idea of a naff xmas jumper to stand out as ironic and absolutely hilarious? Seems like you're the one making the effort and caring what people think, not the rest of us...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

majority of people in pubs? yes, loud, drunk and idiots.
    There's only subtle differences between 12 Pubs and Birthdays, Work-dos, end of exams, post game city center nights.

I would have thought the pertinent difference was that the drunkenness in the other cases was usually proportional to the amount of money spent in the current location.

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    Well isn't the whole idea of a naff xmas jumper to stand out as ironic and absolutely hilarious? Seems like you're the one making the effort and caring what people think, not the rest of us...

You're putting waaaay too much thought into a red and green jumper. :pac: You wear them cos it's seasonal and they're warm and they make me happy with all the colours! I don't wear them to make you vexed or pleased, I wear them because I like them!

May as well stop anyone wearing a green top on Paddy's day now... it might piss you off since you have to put so much thought into considering other people's fashion choices. :o