Gerry Adams : Terrorist or Freedom Fighter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Could we not start with the ethics/morals of so called "Politicans" and "Political Leaders" covering for a sex abuser for 9 years while said sex abuser was employed as a youth worker?

I'd be interested to know what you feel he should have done, considering police pretty much ignored the complaints of the girl when she first confided in them. They were more interested in asking the victim questions about Gerry than actually deal with the woman's abuse complaint.

I haven't really followed that story but I'm pretty sure he testified in court against his brother... once the case was finally treated with the gravity it deserved by authorities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Murderer, apologist for other murderers and pied piper of easily led idiots and thugs, would be a better description methinks...

Awwww.....that's sweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Murderer, apologist for other murderers and pied piper of easily led idiots and thugs, would be a better description methinks...

Are you describing the B Special's, RUC, Faulkner, the Wicket witch, Major, and do not forget Ronald Bunting, and the Rev Ian, Red hand commandos, and last but not least the black ops of the british army, who Harry Reid got the information for the Loyalists murder gangs. Ps. the romper room slaughter by the Shankill Butchers.

Jaysus no, those were decent skins all loyal to the Crown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,804 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

One man's terrorist is another man's patriot.

Nodin wrote: »
    Jaysus no, those were decent skins all loyal to the Crown.

Oh I forgot that bit, they were defending the crown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Who was he soldiering with during his freedom fighter days?

This guy?

http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=14acgk&s=5#.UqeGGVDFKBY

Who you presumably have no problems with:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,099 ✭✭✭CFlat

Freedom Fighter is an oxymoron.

CFlat wrote: »

OMG.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 323 ✭✭hungry hippo 4

Close thread.

The loyal subjects have given up.

CFlat wrote: »

I salute your passive resistance and hope its never against people who shoot the odd passive resister for the craic before dragging the rest off for a bit of torture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

He stood for election in belfast he got elected,
    He stood for election in louth and he got elected,

When he dident stand for elections people were still then giving out about him and his party.

I am outa here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Buzz84

Freedom fighter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Buzz84

Irony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Who then blew it all away by robbing the banks of the country they are fighting for, blowing up old men, dealing drugs and killing civilians etc.
    There was a just cause but their methods were utterly evil.

While noble men like Mick Collins and Dan Breen made Ireland free by robbing banks, blowing up old men and killing civilians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

One thing about his leadership, he and others brought the fighting to an end. That is something his critics get caught in their throat.

Well if he hadn't spent so much time and energy supporting death and destruction in the 1st half of his life, he wouldn't have found it so hard to drag himself & the rest of the republican neanderthals in the into the civilised political world. His two faced Armalite & Ballot box approach failed, and rightly so.

LordSutch wrote: »
    Well if he hadn't spent so much time and energy supporting death and destruction in the 1st half of his life, he wouldn't have found it so hard to drag himself & the rest of the republican neanderthals in the into the civilised political world. His two faced Armalite & Ballot box approach failed, and rightly so.

From where most's republicans stand on this issue, you seem to be lacking in your knowledge and understanding in the outcome of the GFA. Maybe that is where your post's and some of the Loyalists opinion are lacking in fact. Maybe you should read the details of the agreement, and try and get a better understanding on what happened. I am quite happy with the outcome being a Republican, maybe that is where your problem lies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

There's a hole in the bucket dear Liza dear Liza, there's a hole in the bucket, dear Liza, a hole.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

whupdedo wrote: »
    By the early 60s hume and other civil rights negotiators had done great work with the British government to ease hardship suffered by Catholics in the north, they had effectively done all this by dialogue and peaceful means,then along came Adams and scum like him and set the whole thing back 30 years, peaceful times doesn't sit well with the ira, their is more money to be made by practising oppression and terrorism

Sure ..cause they would have listened, they had a proven record of listening to the Catholic/Irish/Republican population didn't they.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

A terrorist in my book is somebody that intentionally targets civilians or civil servants (not included the Armed forces). If Gerry was indeed in the IRA then he is a terrorist in my book.

The only

I'm a Neanderthal now? That's nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

coolhull wrote: »
    He couldn't have been either a terrorist or a freedom fighter.
    Because he "was never a member of the IRA".
    Was he?

Depends on who's arguing what. It changes regularly :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,891 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

I remember in the 1980's when our only state broadcaster RTE , had a broadcasting ban on Sinn Fein .

So you look at the 6pm News , and you can see Gerry talking , but cannot hear what he is saying .

Gerry and Republican Sinn Fein did their utmost to get their message across to the nation in spite of this ridiculous rule .

Gerry always insisted he was a spokesperson for Republican Sinn Fein , and I agree . - Freedom Fighter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Former terrorist.

Current politician.

Terrible writer.

Fashion wise : trailblazer in unsettling, avuncular 70s pedo teacher chic.

If they had of gotten Thatcher we could add hero to the list!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

I remember in the 1980's when our only state broadcaster RTE , had a broadcasting ban on Sinn Fein .

So you look at the 6pm News , and you can see Gerry talking , but cannot hear what he is saying .

Gerry and Republican Sinn Fein did their utmost to get their message across to the nation in spite of this ridiculous rule .

Gerry always insisted he was a spokesperson for Republican Sinn Fein , and I agree . - Freedom Fighter

So if you looked at the 6pm News , you could see Adams talking, but could not hear what he was saying (thank God).

Adams and Sinn Fein/IRA did their utmost to get their message across to the nation in spite of this harsh but necessary rule.

Adams always insisted he was not a spokesperson for the IRA, but I disagree. He was a Terrorist apologist.

So if you looked at the 6pm News , you could see Adams talking, but could not hear what he was saying (thank God).

Adams and Sinn Fein/IRA did their utmost to get their message across to the nation in spite of this harsh but necessary rule.

Adams always insisted he was not a spokesperson for the IRA, but I disagree. He was a Terrorist apologist.

I'd say something witty to this, but as a Neanderthal I lack the necessary cognitive ability. Poor me, doomed to a life devoid of representative art and the written word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Red Pepper wrote: »
    There's a hole in the bucket dear Liza dear Liza, there's a hole in the bucket, dear Liza, a hole.

Bullet hole?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Terrorist, obviously.

Needs a poll to really bait the shinner-bots.

That was **** beyond belief!