Are you a dry shyte if you don't dance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

I don't see the harm in an ould dance.

It's better to be a shyte dancer with a sense of humor than a mediocre dancer that gets all serious and pouty about their moves.

It's supposed to be fun, so if your dancing fun comes from pulling slick moves and you can do them, then more luck to you.

I prefer to take the piss a bit, I've got rhythm and I can move pretty well, but I'd rather do some ridiculous shyte and have a laugh out there.

It's different if I've had a gutfull of pi$$ or a few yips though. Then big sweaty mong head comes in to play and anything can happen.

its great craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

I wouldn't consider someone a dry shyte for not dancing (no more than for not drinking) as long as they aren't trying to stop other people who want to dance from having fun. That's my attitude to pretty much everything on a night out - if you don't drink, don't make a big deal out of it and hassle those who do; if you don't dance, don't try to drag others away or stand there moaning at them; if you don't smoke, don't give out to those who do. There's a time and a place for everything and, well, the bar or club on a Saturday night is just not the time to further your anti-drinking/anti-dancing/anti-smoking agenda.

I used to haaate dancing on a night out - I don't drink and I think that made me a lot more self-concious on a night out - but if everyone was up dancing, I'd at least join them on the floor (or find someone else to talk to) rather than sit there with a sour face on, glaring at them and making them feel like they had to stop dancing and come sit with me. Nowadays, there are certain groups of friends I'd get up with without even thinking about it and others who I never dance with at all. Wouldn't think any less of someone who didn't get up, unless they sat there with a grumpy face and complained about everyone else dancing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

I wouldn't consider someone a dry shyte for not dancing (no more than for not drinking) as long as they aren't trying to stop other people who want to dance from having fun. That's my attitude to pretty much everything on a night out - if you don't drink, don't make a big deal out of it and hassle those who do; if you don't dance, don't try to drag others away or stand there moaning at them; if you don't smoke, don't give out to those who do. There's a time and a place for everything and, well, the bar or club on a Saturday night is just not the time to further your anti-drinking/anti-dancing/anti-smoking agenda.

I used to haaate dancing on a night out - I don't drink and I think that made me a lot more self-concious on a night out - but if everyone was up dancing, I'd at least join them on the floor (or find someone else to talk to) rather than sit there with a sour face on, glaring at them and making them feel like they had to stop dancing and come sit with me. Nowadays, there are certain groups of friends I'd get up with without even thinking about it and others who I never dance with at all. Wouldn't think any less of someone who didn't get up, unless they sat there with a grumpy face and complained about everyone else dancing.

This has never happened. Ever. It's always the other way around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

It all depends how drunk I am !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    What exactly is "dancing"? Are we talking John Travolta type stuff here?

Only when i'm well oiled. Trying to re-enact my moves from Grease in Transition Year 14 years ago! (Still feel the need to dance out each individual dance i learned for each song in the Grease Megamix!). No, the "dancing" i was referring to is the bare leg shuffle, upper arms more or less by your side, lower arms moving up and down or in and out, and hands making gestures from pointing, fists clenched, open hands, and the head looking down mostly for fear of people catching your eye and getting that look of "state of yer man!". The kinda dancing you'd do to Kernkraft 400, Time to Burn, Castles in the Sky, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,194 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

When I was a young fella I'd go out for the slow dance near the end of the night but that was with the aim of getting the shift.

If I'm at a wedding I just sit at the table or chat at the bar, some people love dancing and fair play to them but it aint for me.

I think the ladies would be more into dancing on average than most lads but maybe I'm wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

When I was a young fella I'd go out for the slow dance near the end of the night but that was with the aim of getting the shift.

If I'm at a wedding I just sit at the table or chat at the bar, some people love dancing and fair play to them but it aint for me.

I think the ladies would be more into dancing on average than most lads but maybe I'm wrong.

Ah now if AC/DC comes on you have to get out, roll up one pant leg and stick the tie on the head. No wedding is complete without it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

I think dance is a basic, primal human activity and people should really stop worrying how bad they look when they dance, the only way to get better is to practice. Plus, it's a good way to attract attention of the opposite sex

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭worded

Mostly dry ht1tes on this thread

This thread reminds of clubbing. Love dance. At clubs with pints of iced water for a cold shower and holding them upside down with my hand over the glass fingers slightly apart. That was to cool off from really going for it.

Dancing by the main speaker in the corner with friends. Lovin it !

Dancing all night long for hours on end. Furniture gymnastics at clubs. Never got thrown out of a club but I've been under the radar as a borderline case more than once.

Good music and dance or excercise is to me amongst the highest of highs I've ever experienced.

Is there a link between dancing / rhythm and being good in the scratcher ? Well fitness to start with help.

Dance people !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

I hate most clubs because the music isn't my thing at all, but I love having a dance. I wish I got to do it more.

I'm not the prettiest girl or the best dancer, but seriously I just love the freedom of dancing. Once you don't care what you look like you can just let go and have fun. I've dragged my boyfriend onto the dancefloor on occasion but I don't do it to anyone else. It's up to people if they want to dance or not, like everything else it comes down to personal taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

God I hate dancing, I just never got into it at all I feel like a complete bell end when on a dance floor flailing about like an idiot with a other idiots who have had way too much to drink, it's crinchworthy for me. Not that I don't have rhythm I've been a drummer for 14 years, but I am far more comfortable behind a drum kit than on a dance.

In saying that for people that can actually dance fair play to them and if they enjoy dancing drunk well good for that as well I just hate the one's that can't accept I don't want to dance and try drag you up there and dance around you like some sort of a drunken ceromony to induct you to the dance floor...

More than one young one has fallen on her ass trying to drag me dancing...

Caliden wrote: »
    Ah now if AC/DC comes on you have to get out, roll up one pant leg and stick the tie on the head. No wedding is complete without it.

AC/DC at a wedding!

If that screeching hyena came on I'd definately be going the other way.

worded wrote: »
    Mostly dry ht1tes on this thread

This thread reminds of clubbing. Love dance. At clubs with pints of iced water for a cold shower and holding them upside down with my hand over the glass fingers slightly apart. That was to cool off from really going for it.

Dancing by the main speaker in the corner with friends. Lovin it !

Dancing all night long for hours on end. Furniture gymnastics at clubs. Never got thrown out of a club but I've been under the radar as a borderline case more than once.

Good music and dance or excercise is to me amongst the highest of highs I've ever experienced.

Is there a link between dancing / rhythm and being good in the scratcher ? Well fitness to start with help.

Dance people !

So you're the fella who bumps into everyone while "dancing" and thinks he's cool doing it then are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

"Evolution of dance for the rest of us" (parody)

Yup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,254 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I wouldn't usually be the dancing type (unless a girl I was "in" with wanted to go for a dance) but the last wedding I was at I let loose and stole the show. Tie around my head dancing waltzes with ould ones, people clearing a space for me on the dance floor so I could do the worm, and finishing with a Hollywood-esque slide along the floor on my knees.

It felt like the eyes of the world were on me. And it was beautiful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I don't dance in public much anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Burky126

"Dance like there's no-one watching.

Camera phones put an end to that.Nothing's fun anymore unless someone has to record it and put it online.Put the god damn phone away for one bleeding evening and just chill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

You seem as judgemental towards people who dance as other people are towards those who don't dance.

Nope, I'm not judgemental towards either. Just an observation.
    The kinda dancing you'd do to Kernkraft 400, Time to Burn, Castles in the Sky, etc.

I thought that was exactly the sort of music you'd do the pointing towards the ceiling sort of dancing? Too bad they never play that sort of music in clubs anymore. I just can't bring myself to dance to Rihanna no matter how drunk I am.
    Burky126 wrote: »
    Camera phones put an end to that.Nothing's fun anymore unless someone has to record it and put it online.Put the god damn phone away for one bleeding evening and just chill.

+1, and the worst thing about that is, everyone can have a good laugh at you afterwards when they're sober. Years ago when there was good dance music and no camera phones, you could really let loose and dance to your hearts content without the fear of it ending up on facebook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭April O Neill II

Nope, I'm not judgemental towards either. Just an observation.

Referring to people as "sheep" - not considered very complimentary, in general. Some people love dancing but aren't confident enough to get the dance floor going themselves. Joining later when it's filling up doesn't make them sheep.

Ok I probably could have phrased it better, but that was exactly my point. There's such a big deal made out of it and some people will try to drag others onto the dance floor when a lot of them won't even get up themselves until the floor is full.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 byrnemaloney89

Nah! Im as wild as feck , and i dont dance! Ive two left feet anyway, get up and throw a few shapes if ya want but ur not a dry shyte if ya dont!! Hahahaha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭April O Neill II

As for me, I love dancing. And why wouldn't people like to see me dance? I'm really, REALLY sexy. :confused:

:pac::p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

So I was at the Christmas party over the weekend and when I arrived in work this morning, a few of my employees got a bit of a slagging because they didn't bother to venture onto the dance floor during the night. I've heard it so many times before and I've been on the receiving end of the slagging a few times myself.

I occasionally get up and dance on a night out if the mood strikes or if I'm drunk enough, but I'm just as happy to socialise with people or trying to chat up the new secretary. :D For some people however, the night is not complete without the obligatory dance. Not everyone wants to dance. It seems a bit stupid to me as there is usually a point somewhere in the evening where everyone is looking towards the dance floor, but nobody wants to be the first person to walk onto it. Then when there's enough people out dancing the rest usually follow like sheep.

Anyway, you can have a great night without dancing... or can you?

Dancing is for weaklings that cant handle their booze.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

As for me, I love dancing. And why wouldn't people like to see me dance? I'm really, REALLY sexy. :confused:

:pac::p

Only if you have your titties out at the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Dancing is a vertical expression of a horizontal desire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Don't know much about dancin'
    That's why I got this song
    One of my legs is shorter than the other
    'N' both my feet's too long
    'Course now right along with 'em
    I got no natural rhythm
    But I go dancin' every night
    Hopin' one day I might get it right
    I'm a dancin'fool, I'm a
    Dancin' fool
    I hear that beat; I jump outa my seat
    But I can't compete, cause I'm a
    Dancin' fool, I'm a
    Dancin' fool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

I love going for a dance in a club or at a gig. It can be so much fun after a few drinks but if I'm stone cold sober I get a bit self-conscious because I know I'm actually terrible at it.

But if I'm tipsy I think I'm feckin' Shakira :pac:

Ilyana 2.0 wrote: »
    I love going for a dance in a club or at a gig. It can be so much fun after a few drinks but if I'm stone cold sober I get a bit self-conscious because I know I'm actually terrible at it.

But if I'm tipsy I think I'm feckin' Shakira :pac:

As Tommy Tiernan said, "A sober person dancing is a fooking health hazard. They're high from drinking Fanta all night."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 323 ✭✭hungry hippo 4

im not dancing to some ****e music, fcuk that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭I-like-eggs,mmm

Take heed...