If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

HEC; Toulouse vs Connacht; 15:00 KO; SS red button

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,970 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

well done Connacht - superb achievement - delighted for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,742 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Unreal defense, made them earn every ****ing inch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

freyners wrote: »
    Michael Corcoran & Bernard Jackman commentary of the last minute

http://soundcloud.com/rtesport/toulouse-14-16-connacht-the

Jackman: "Its's like New Zealand to..."

Corcoran: "Don't say that to me"

Gas stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭Funk It

Still brings a smile to my face watching it back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

We all have them

As penance you msut now change your avatar to Michael Swift for 24 hours:D

Fair enuff...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭sydneybound

Funk It wrote: »

Bloody brilliant, great seeing someone like Dan Parks a 36 year old man jumping around like a school boy at the final whistle.

This match has pleased me the most out of all 4 irish wins this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Thinking about it, Our worst result as a nation was a bonus point win. Cant be bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭BrokenMan

Funk It wrote: »

I could just watch that all day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

BBDBB wrote: »
    Thinking about it, Our worst result as a nation was a bonus point win. Cant be bad

Connacht didn't get BP.

But still an amazing result. The best of the weekend (as a Leinster fan) and a fantastic weekend of rugby.

It's good to be Irish.

Especially delighted for the likes of Muldoon, Swift, Duffy, Wilkinson and Dan McFarland today. They have been there since the dark days of drubbings under Bradley and they have been absolute warriors over the years. Complete legends and they deserve it. They all played a significant part at one stage today. None of them, bar Duffy, will retire with any medals most likely so days like today are special.

When you think that our backline was average age of 22/23 (I think) without Parks and to get a win in Toulouse at such a young age is massive for improving ambitions. But we have to kick on and get our league position improved. Fionn Carr who for many years has had his defence questioned stepped up to the plate today and pulled out a performance as brave as anything I've seen. He was my MOTM. On the basis of Griffin in the huddle after, I don't think he is going anywhere.

McFarland is definitely an unsung hero too, our line out is so efficient these days that I'm pretty sure we have still only lost one line out throw after 3 rounds. When the Lam era ends at some stage (hopefully a while away), I do think Carolan-McFarland coaching ticket is the natural succession. Overall this year with Lam it has been incredibly s*** with regard results, but I think anyone who has watched us this year can see our ball handling skills have never been better and when our backline clicks it is dangerous. He is very much responsible for that. The pack has been taken up a level thanks to his influence in the shrewd signings of Clarke and Heenan. I think Connacht and Lam is an odd match but he comes with that underdog spirit from Samoa and it suits us. His biggest challenge is to get results out of players on a consistent basis.

Finally massive mention to Eric Elwood. The man restored massive pride in the Connacht jersey after Bradely and while the time was perhaps right to leave , he has played a major part in getting guys to bleed green once again like they did today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

Michael Corcoran & Bernard Jackman commentary of the last minute

http://soundcloud.com/rtesport/toulouse-14-16-connacht-the

BJ: Its like NZ......
    MC: Oh don't say that to me please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

BJ: Its like NZ......
    MC: Oh don't say that to me please

Got caught in traffic after the Munster match and ended up listening through with MC. Great commentator. I don't know why he doesn't do TV commentary, he would be so better than Cahill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,534 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Its a special skill to paint a picture with radio commentary, in most sports they rarely cross over either direction, Corky is one of the best though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,778 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

"You can shove the knock on, he's blown the full time whistle"

Class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

sullivlo wrote: »
    Connacht didn't get BP.

But still an amazing result. The best of the weekend (as a Leinster fan) and a fantastic weekend of rugby.

It's good to be Irish.

I know, but it was against Toulouse, totally unexpected and could be considered the best result of the four provinces. Hence the comment our worst result was a bonus point win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

BBDBB wrote: »
    I know, but it was against Toulouse, totally unexpected and could be considered the best result of the four provinces. Hence the comment our worst result was a bonus point win

Ah I get ya. Whooosh!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

what an incredible result. Connaght abu

Cant help but think of Eric Elwood tonight this victory is built on the foundations he created.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Still on cloud 9 after Connacht's win.

For those not clued into rugby it would be the equivalent of a home win for Man Utd. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Jaysus, fairplay to ye. Connacht are an example of why destroying this league, as the English are planning to do, is an utter sin. You cant write magic like that, the English teams can stuff their Rugby Champions cup. This is what european rugby is all about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

Lapin wrote: »
    Still on cloud 9 after Connacht's win.

For those not clued into rugby it would be the equivalent of a home win for Man Utd. :D
    Ah here that's not on now! Breaking my heart so ya are!

As a man who moved to Connacht after living in Leinster for most of my life, I have grown to love Connacht (except when they play Leinster). Love going to the matches, love watching a team show what hard-work, determination and putting your body on the line for the team can reap rewards. Fair play to ye, great result and here's hoping ye get a result next week in The Sportsground!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,298 ✭✭✭freyners

Parks interview after the game

http://www.irishrugby.ie/matchdaytv?play=media&id=17047

Good to see him back to old ways, was noticeably more talkative during the game. His reaction to the win was heart warming

http://www.irishrugby.ie/matchdaytv?play=media&id=17046

Duffy interview too

Griffin looks like a lad happy in his team at the end of this, heres hoping we keep him

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,205 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

where is he rumoured to be going?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭former legend

where is he rumoured to be going?

It was "rumoured" he was going to Munster, but I don't think it was anything more substantial than boards.ie speculation.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,630 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

keps wrote: »
    anyone know what the odds were at the start?

Fantastic win
    I saw a Paddy Power slip on twitter where a fella had 25/1.

That really happened didn't it? Oceans of gravy.

It's unfair to single out individual performances because the general standard was so high, everyone was gave everything. What was said during the week about senior players stepping up was exactly what happened. Easily Clarke's best game since he arrived and exactly what we hoped he'd be doing. Muldoon was back at his unhinged best. 21 tackles, ****ing hell.

Denis Buckley was a beast when he came on. Good carries, a handy turnover and a total menace. He looks fitter and more focussed than ever so maybe his time in exile was the best thing that ever happened to him.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,630 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

It was "rumoured" he was going to Munster, but I don't think it was anything more substantial than boards.ie speculation.
    Contract negotiation time and that he wants assurances about starting at 13 despite pressure from above to move Henshaw there full time.

George Hook today:
    However, like the assassination at Sarajevo in 1914, this result will be heard around the world.
    Well gents, it's 5 years of trenchfoot and wartime poetry we have ahead of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭former legend

Reaction from Poitrenaud. Expect Toulouse to try to steamroll Connacht up front this weekend...
    We were over-complicating things. We had been warned all week long, particularly by Jean-Baptiste (Elissalde). It's not a question of effort, it's more a question of intellect and discipline. Wanting to play too much rugby, particularly against a well organised team, you're going to lose and that's what happened.

http://www.rugbyrama.fr/rugby/coupe-d-europe/2013-2014/clement-poitrenaud-stade-toulousain-a-vouloir-trop-jouer-au-rugby-on-s-y-perd_sto4040058/story.shtml

Actually they wont get a lot of change out of that in my opinion, our pack has been immense this season. Wilko, Buckley, White and Ah You are very strong scrummagging props, our line out is on of the best in the comp and our back row is a menace this year.

They'll bring more intensity no doubt but we have to bring everything and more from the weekend on Saturday