The price of pints is too damn high

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

No no no, its pronounced lick-her.

Get it right wud ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Jäger bombs 9.20 each or 2 for 10 in Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,283 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

maryishere wrote: »
    the tax take alone here on a pint between all the various taxes must be a lot more than the whole pint costs in England. What does our government do with all these taxes?

UK beer excise duty, since March 2013

http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/rates/alcohol-duty.htm

19.12 GBP per hectolitre per % alcohol, so 19.12p per litre per %

So 45.6p per pint at 4.2%

Now using 84p exchange rate, that's equal to roughly 54.3 cent per pint.

Irish beer excise duty

http://www.revenue.ie/en/tax/excise/duties/excise-duty-rates.html

It says Oct 2013, so it seems to be before the recent rise.

Beer = 22.55 per hectolitre per % alc, so 22.55 cent per litre per %

That's 53.8 cent per 4.2% pint.

The perception is that beer tax is higher in Ireland, whereas during last few years, it is lower than the UK.

NB: the Budget 2014 rise adds maybe 8 cent to excise duty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Beavishead wrote: »
    The price of alcohol should go up. People should work more and consume less alcohol.

Jezz, some-one with no life :p

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

BeerFear wrote: »
    In my local outside of Dublin pints of Carling are three euro. Most pubs outside of dubin its 3 euro or 3.20. 7 pints for 21 euro is grand. Then pints of guiness is 4 euro and heineken, carlsberg, ale are all 4.10 which I don't find too bad.

How people continue to live in Dublin and getting ripped off rent wise, cost wise and the prices of houses are ridiculous.

Because the difference paid out in transportation costs to work if outside of Dublin don't make any sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

F uc k them. Our company had its xmas party last weekend in the office and everybody brought their own booze. The pubs and publicans have been taking the piss for years now the bars in temple bar in particular are mickey taking w a nker s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,396 ✭✭✭✭cena

Op you could just stop going to the pub. Think of the money you would save

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

djPSB wrote: »
    They need to close the price difference between buying alcohol in an off licence and buying it in a pub to meet somewhere in the middle. Buying alcohol in an off licence is too cheap at the minute, while the price of alcohol in a pub is ridiculous.

I'd be happy if the average can of beer cost €3 or so in an off licence and you could buy a pint in a pub for €3.50.

F uc k that.

24 cans of miller or carlsberg I can get for €24, yes one Euro a can, so imagine how much it would cost for 24 pints of this stuff in the pub :eek: It's no wonder pubs are doing bad, lower your bloody prices before you all go out of business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭jantheman91

Amn't I glad I don't drink...

I'm a dry bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭FREDNISMO

7.15 euro in the Temple Bar in Temple Bar during the week for a pint of Heino

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭Healy Rae Permit Holder

There is no comparison in drinking a pint in the pub and opening a can at home, yes it costs more to go out but there is where the craic is. ;)

1,ooo% more.

Not for me, I have great craic with the mates in the house. Who wants to go to the pub any-more when all you meet is drunkards talking tripe all night long, no thanks.

No taxi's, or buses, having a few dinks in with the friends is way better. I used to drink in the pubs many years ago, but it was rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Depends on the scenario and who's in the pub. Less chance of a random gobshíte ruining the night if you're drinking cans in a house with the same people you'd be with in the pub.

Lads go out and meet other people, chat up a woman, do normal socialising, drinking cans and telling stories of who did the most outrageous thing during the week or watching Fair City on the sky plus is not where the craic is.

People think of drinking cans at a home party as meh, but all you have to do is open the can and pour it into a pint glass and there you have a very nice pint of beer, no more cans, pint's all night :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Cd_doe wrote: »

I always find funny how people will complain about paying €1.50 for a litre of petrol, but then will go and pay about €12 for a litre of beer...

Thats true but I still prefer the taste of beer.

Lads go out and meet other people, chat up a woman, do normal socialising, drinking cans and telling stories of who did the most outrageous thing during the week or watching Fair City on the sky plus is not where the craic is.

Are you a psychic ? how would you know what people talk about on a beer night in the home ?. actually when we have a few drinks in on the weekend, we mostly talk about quantum mechanics and philosophy with good music and nice women we already know. Every-one to their own though.

I don't think socialising with a load of drunks in the same place is great craic.

we mostly talk about quantum mechanics and philosophy
    How much do the women charge for yer company for the weekend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I got absolutely f*ckfaced for €45 last night in a Dublin city centre pub. €3.50 a pint

How much do the women charge for yer company for the weekend?

Nothing, we are all Nerds :D they are the one's that do the most philosophical talking. They mostly keep talking about quarks, protons and electrons on the effect of other particles moving around a biosphere of other energy particles revolving on a quantum scale.

To be fair about it the pub is expensive, there is too much of a gap between off licensees and pubs, i do house party's but you cant beat going out and having the craic with the public.

I agree with most of you, as I did used to have great craic with meeting strangers and crazy people on a nights out in different places of Dublin. But the price of beers these days are just way too dear. €3 a pint and I wouldn't have a problem with but I think since the crash most of us here anyway have just got used to the weekend beer parties, and cheaper for everyone involved.

zenno wrote: »
    I agree with most of you, as I did used to have great craic with meeting strangers and crazy people on a nights out in different places of Dublin. But the price of beers these days are just way too dear. €3 a pint and I wouldn't have a problem with but I think since the crash most of us here anyway have just got used to the weekend beer parties, and cheaper for everyone involved.
    I know Dublin is expensive so i understand, different story living in the sticks you see ;)

Once I have music like this playing I don't care whether I'm in a pub, a house party or in a ditch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I got absolutely f*ckfaced for €45 last night in a Dublin city centre pub. €3.50 a pint

12 pints? Are you a worlds strongest man type?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

Problem: Pints cost too much
    Solution: Drink less/don't drink

Up next, how to create world peace...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

How can any consumer product be too cheap?
    A pub I used to work in did €3 entry and all drinks were €2.50 after that, the whole ****ing town were on the Waterford City Forum whinging that it was too cheap and the town would be gone to the dogs (more than it is). I was in a another Waterford city pub just before Hallowe'en. It was jammed yet the cheapest pint was €5.

In conclusion Irish people just like to whinge and there's no pleasing them.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,591 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

FREDNISMO wrote: »
    7.15 euro in the Temple Bar in Temple Bar during the week for a pint of Heino
    Aldi 6 Litres of Galahad is €9.4
    If you buy five packs and some munchies and use the €10 off voucher it works out at €7.49 for 10 pints

Most of the other super markets are doing similar deals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

the high tax on each pint doesnt help either.