Are Tesco finished in Ireland, do you shop there anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭marketty

multiple choice?

We do the rounds, Aldi, Lidl, Dunnes, Tesco and Centra(it's local).
    We search for the best offers.

Ain't nobody got time for that.

I go to aldi on the way home once a week, handy parking, in and out in half an hour, everythings always in the same place on the shelf, prices are consistent week to week, the basic essentials can be got for absolutely feck all, which means any 'fancy' stuff you want to get for dinner won't break the bank. Two of us eat very well for about €70 a week. Their Christmas food is brilliant this year and lidls Christmas range looks good too in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Combining Aldi/Lidl into one option in the poll is misleading, they should have had seperate votes, which would have Tesco winning.

Aldi/Lidl combined vote is 122, so that's roughly 61 votes each, and Tesco has 71 votes (at this moment) :))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

zenno wrote: »
    Sure Irish pig-meat is not Irish, and every-one thinks they are eating pure Irish meat but in fact it is from another EU country...

Source: http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/food-and-drink/dna-results-show-half-of-pigmeat-tested-is-not-irish-1.1601213

I buy sausages so rarely that it doesn't concern me. The supplier's name and location is printed on the packet of meat I get from superquinn. I trust them more than I trust the others.

A lot of people going on about the good value in aldi... This week a shop for 4 adults, all meals plus a 65 wash detergent, plus a Christmas cake, plus a leg of lamb for the freezer, plus a lot of cupboard stocking up, as in the whole weekly shop and the some, came to €132 in superquinn. Yet aldi is supposed to be cheaper? That's not even crap quality stuff, a lot of it is the good stuff, branded and all :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

I get the impression that many people shop in all of the above for different things and on different days. Thursdays is 'Specials day' in Lidl, so we will always go there on a Thursday, or to Aldi on their Specials day. We go to Tesco because we trust & like their range + there are certain items you can but in Tesco that you cannot buy in Aldi or Lidl (and vice versa). Spar and Super Value play their parts too, I just think that people shop around more these days, and that brand loyality is not what it was years ago . . .

Would be nice if we had Sainsbury & Waitrose here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭worded

Tesco chicken is always foreign low quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭worded

LordSutch wrote: »
    I get the impression that many people shop in all of the above for different things and on different days. Thursdays is 'Specials day' in Lidl, so we will always go there on a Thursday, or to Aldi on their Specials day. We go to Tesco because we trust & like their range + there are certain items you can but in Tesco that you cannot buy in Aldi or Lidl (and vice versa). Spar and Super Value play their parts too, I just think that people shop around more these days, and that brand loyality is not what it was years ago . . .

Would be nice if we had Sainsbury & Waitrose here.

Read a report that people are doing exactly that. Selectively shopping at different places

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Marty Whelans fault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭TheGunns

fussyonion wrote: »
    I used to only ever shop in Tesco but a few years ago I started shopping in Aldi, tried the majority of their stuff and loved it.
    I used to spend around €130 in Tesco on shopping every week for two adults, but since I've switched to Aldi, I only spend about €50 for two, and that's including meat and cheese and tinned stuff.

I'm really impressed with their stuff, including their burgers (in a black box, Angus I think), tinned tomatoes and orange juice, amongst other things.
    I do still shop in Tesco but only for a few things like Heineken and other branded stuff I can't get in Aldi.

One thing I don't like about Aldi is their veg. It's never fresh and never lasts more than a few days, whereas the Tesco veg lasts and lasts.
    All in all, my main shop is done in Aldi and a few bits in Tesco and it's really saved us a few bob this year.

BUT I was still buying those Tesco Savings Stamps during the year and have now completed four cards worth, which equals €200 so you can guess where I'll be doing my Christmas shop :)

you should go on the ad :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Sandwlch

fussyonion wrote: »
    I used to only ever shop in Tesco but a few years ago I started shopping in Aldi, tried the majority of their stuff and loved it.
    I used to spend around €130 in Tesco on shopping every week for two adults, but since I've switched to Aldi, I only spend about €50 for two, and that's including meat and cheese and tinned stuff.

I'm really impressed with their stuff, including their burgers (in a black box, Angus I think), tinned tomatoes and orange juice, amongst other things.
    I do still shop in Tesco but only for a few things like Heineken and other branded stuff I can't get in Aldi.

One thing I don't like about Aldi is their veg. It's never fresh and never lasts more than a few days, whereas the Tesco veg lasts and lasts.
    All in all, my main shop is done in Aldi and a few bits in Tesco and it's really saved us a few bob this year.

BUT I was still buying those Tesco Savings Stamps during the year and have now completed four cards worth, which equals €200 so you can guess where I'll be doing my Christmas shop :)

Its Aldi Aldi Aldi all the way now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

I'll do my main stuff in Aldi, a smaller few things in lidl. The only time I'll go to Tesco is if they have a really good veg deal on something I'll use immediately, or every once in a while for the tomato cous cous thing they do. Otherwise, nope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Banjoxed

Up here I now shop in a mixture of Sainsburys, Aldi and SuperValu. Had a sickener of Tesco when I lived closer to Dublin, with lines disappearing without explanation. Never want to go near them again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

Banjoxed wrote: »
    with lines disappearing without explanation. Never want to go near them again.

Jaysus I was at a house party where that was happening not so long ago, feel your pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Aldi for tinned stuff like tomatoes and chickpeas.

Local veg shop - fresh, local, gizzit.

Local butcher for meat.

Tesco for that crack cocaine jalapeno houmous /drool.

Superquinn for fresh bread and local milk once a week.

Health food shop for fresh honey from local suppliers.

I'm a local shopper from local people :p (for the most part)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭One_More_Mile

Tesco are scum
    Aldi & Lidl fair play

• Site Banned Posts: 263 ✭✭Rabelais

I'd wander into Tesco's if they had a nice discount on beer. But nothing apart from that. Their non-premium fruit and veg is grim. And it's expensive.

Wouldn't have Aldi and Lidl in the same category. Lidl can be a bit grim and yellow. Aldi stocks almost no well-known brands. But they are selling some premium Irish-produced products at very keen prices. Good beers, cheeses, meats and fresh pizzas. I like what Aldi is doing. It's very smart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,740 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

moxin wrote: »
    Today, some checkouts were closed, the maximum queue at the other checkouts was about 2 people :eek:

you do know that's policy in Tesco, it's called 'one in front' and it's designed to cut queueing for customers.
    worded wrote: »
    Tesco chicken is always foreign low quality.

it's nearly all from Northern Ireland, just like the other supermarkets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Tesco is terrible when it comes to fresh food. I've often seen mouldy fruit and vegetables on the shelves. Their carrots always have a weird chemical taste when eaten raw, even the organic ones. The sliced bread always seems to be going hard at the edges.

Price wise though they're not much different than Aldi. I used to think it was great that I could get a kilogram packet of pasta in Aldi for 95 cent until I saw that Tesco were selling them for the same price.

Aldi do have some nice junk food like chocolate and cakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,052 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Do most of my shopping in Aldi and the rest in SV.

What.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

SV = Supervalue ;-)

davycc wrote: »
    SV = Supervalue ;-)

I don't charge ott for my services but I'd never call them 'super'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Aren't Tesco still the market leader in Ireland? :confused:

Their only real competitor being Dunnes Stores.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

jeez Fred. Bit of a bomb scare/sex pest reek of this post:pac:
    sue_me wrote: »
    every section in Tesco is huge compared to every other supermarket

Yeah and that's reflected in the prices of goods in your trolley.

For me. Aldi mostly followed by tesco for a few niche items.

The wife's a vegetarian, so quorn products such as mince, lasagne, falafel etc. I also have to go in there for baby milk and nappies. (Can't beat pampers, we've tried the others)

Aldi do great steak. Cheese, tinned tomatoes, tuna, some of their ham is delicious.
    Chorizo is great, yoghurt, biscuits, love the wheat beer they sell (schoeffer I think it's called)

I can generally get the family shop there to cover us Mon to Fri at least for 40-50 euro.

Like every good dog, tesco has had its day. Sly price switching and gimmick marketing campaigns aren't working anymore.

Take the recent one where 'if' goods would have been cheaper in Aldi or lidl, the difference would be printed on your receipt:rolleyes:

Very selective as to what they compared. Even if you got a few bob back you had to go there and spend it.

here's an idea. Just cut your pricing tesco and less the gimmicky bollocking around. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

jeez Fred. Bit of a bomb scare/sex pest reek of this post:pac:
    :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,192 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Aldi and Lidl are supermarkets built with men in mind. You want jam? Certainly, red or yellow? The product you bought last week is in the same place this week. You go to a store somewhere else, everything is still in the same place. They don't do coupons and have women fiddling in their handbags at the counter. Take your goods and pack them over at the window, stop holding up the queue. Cool, an electric whatsimajig, I've always wanted one of them and how could I not buy it at 19.99. Oh look at that in the specials, snuckerbockers, it could be sweets, sardines or engine oil, I'll have a try anyway. In and out, weekly shop done in 10 minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

But tesco? No thanks. They're ****s to Ireland. Hike the prices up here, treat people like crap and try to pass off UK meat as Irish, probably because it was packed up north. The more Irish products you buy in Irish owned shops the better, cos if its imports in foreign shops then you're doing the country no favors.

Utter nonsense. There was an IFA investigation only recently that DNA tested pork and Tesco were one of the only retailers not to appear on the list passing off non Irish meat as Irish.

The great problem with threads like this all over boards is that people take stuff out of their ass, pass it off as fact, and others read it and then pass it on saying they read it somewhere. The vast majority of people have no idea how the retail or food industry works in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Utter nonsense. There was an IFA investigation only recently that DNA tested pork and Tesco were one of the only retailers not to appear on the list passing of non Irish meat as Irish.

The great problem with threads like this all over boards is that people take stuff out of their ass, pass it off as fact, and others read it and then pass it on saying they read it somewhere. The vast majority of people have no idea how the retail or food industry works in Ireland.

It's not nonsense. Look very closely at some of the labeling. Irish written all over it, then check the origin stamp and it says UK, probably northern Irish, hence allowed to market as Irish. None of the guaranteed Irish stickers, but enough to dupe people in a hurry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Part of the reason Aldi and Lidl cost less, is because there's far less choice than in Tesco, therefore people tend not to pick up impulse buys and extras in the same quantities. I find I have to 'top up' my weekly shop in other stores whenever I do my shopping in Lidl and Aldi too.

Also, I've found meat actually tends to cost the same, if not a good bit more in the German supermarkets than in Dunnes or Tesco and a lot of the fruit and veg tends to be hard and under ripe. Nowhere near as great as some people make out.

There's good and bad points with each supermarket - I honestly don't think Tesco deserves the lambasting it gets here sometimes and I think their customer service is still the best of any of the others. In my experience anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Banjoxed

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Utter nonsense. There was an IFA investigation only recently that DNA tested pork and Tesco were one of the only retailers not to appear on the list passing of non Irish meat as Irish.

True but pulling "facts" out of one's ass is the cornerstone of the internet. Stop that and it would shut down in a week :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭voz es

The funny thing is if we all shopped local the country would be a lot quicker getting its self back on its feet.

The major retailers in Ireland do not give two flying f's for Ireland. We are is a nation of consumers known for over paying for things so a good place to make money, the term 'Treasure Ireland' first came in with the mobile phones I think.

Also to compete the Irish owned companies have been ruthless, I have heard one particular national retailer are one of the worst companies to deal with for business relationship and fair payment for suppliers. Rep's hate going in and the buyers are said to be total bullies. Nothing like the Irish beating down on their own :-/
    I shop in supervalu their Irish and they look after the Irish a lot better, like that they have lots of local suppliers on display keeping money more local. mind some of their shops can be disasters.