Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are Tesco finished in Ireland, do you shop there anymore?

• 06-12-2013 6:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭

Read earlier in the week that Tesco sales were down 8% in Q3 2013 (:eek:) which is a massive drop. http://www.rte.ie/news/business/2013/1204/490767-tesco-trading-update/

Then just over an hour ago at peak evening hour on a Friday a few weeks before Xmas I popped into a large Tesco Extra in Dublin and the place was like a ghost town(well about 50 people max :)). I just could not believe my eyes as at this time last year it was so busy, I was sick of the queues then.

Today, some checkouts were closed, the maximum queue at the other checkouts was about 2 people :eek: Even 1 girl at a checkout was twiddling her thumbs waiting for a customer! Only 1 person out of a possible 12 shoppers was paying for their stuff at the unmanned ones!!
    As I was driving out, the petrol station hadn't a single car on its forecourt!! I guess no wonder as it was charging 1.61 for petrol instead of about 1.50 elsewhere. I promptly threw my 5cent off coupon receipt in the bin.

I know Tesco have been putting prices up on the sly for a good while, so where have ye all gone shopping to? Ze Germans, ze Dealz or your local convenience store? Perhaps Dunnes?

To sum up, wtf has happened to Tesco? :)

Where do you shop now? 643 votes

Tesco
    0% 0 votes
    Dunnes
    26% 171 votes
    Aldi\Lidl
    13% 87 votes
    Superquinn/super valu
    49% 316 votes
    Convenience store\Dealz
    10% 69 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

The horse scandal probably caused some people to leave.

Aldi/Lidl is cheaper anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Thread needs a pole, a tesco pole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Aldi and lidl basically. It pains me when I have to shop in tesco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

Aldi and Lidl are the places to go. Tesco is just far to expensive, and the quality of the products in their own brand is p*** poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭Gatame

Here in Galway City the 24hr tesco does very well, can't speak for anywhere else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

I did shop in Tesco today. But didn't buy much. Bought some bits on offer & some Parmesan. Don't shop there much as the prices are high & the quality crap.

Dunnes, Lidl & Aldi together with the local butcher for me!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Gatame wrote: »
    Here in Galway City the 24hr tesco does very well, can't speak for anywhere else.
    That's because its right beside a Lidl and an Aldi :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,243 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

I shop in Aldi, Lidl and Tesco and just at the moment, Dunnes as well as they are about the only place that still has Pink Lady apples at a reasonable price.

I will shop anywhere that has what I am after at a reasonable price, and there are quite a few items that you won't find anywhere other than in Tesco - in my neck of the woods anyway.

I have no problem with Tesco as they have dropped their prices to match the competition and i wouldn't touch the mince from Lidl with a barge pole.
    If the cost of the comparable groceries within your shopping is cheaper at Aldi or Lidl, we’ll give you a voucher for the difference (up to €10).

http://tescopricepromise.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Still use tesco for my main shopping. Dont find Aldi and Lidl as good as people make it out to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Nah Tesco calls Ireland Treasure Ireland. Their profits here are huge but they hide them in their consolidated accounts.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭rustedtrumpet

Bout time they left to be honest, leave Irish business alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

edgecutter wrote: »
    Aldi and Lidl are the places to go. Tesco is just far to expensive, and the quality of the products in their own brand is p*** poor.

Is piss a banned word?

I absolutely hate tesco. Have done for a long time. I'll use them for beer or something if I was passing but I would never go there to do "a shop".

Superquinn is nearest to where I work, and they have loads of offers on so I use them. There's no Aldi near me and I don't like lidl. I use Dunnes sometimes too.

I wouldn't ever buy fresh food in tesco.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Baked.noodle

I am usually disappointed with quality of Tesco's own brand, Simply Finest included. Here in Galway the Tesco Express is charging 85 Cent for a litre of Milk. It's cheaper everywhere else I looked. I often pay odd prices in Tesco, such as €1.06, which leaves me with loads of crappy change especially if you use the auto teller. Dunnes often have deals on branded stuff, but not so much in Tesco. Aldi and Dunnes for the win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Hate the. Never shop there. Go to lidl and superquinn or sometimes dunnes. Tescos fresh food is shockingly bad and I eat a lot of veg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

I dont go in there anymore really whereas I used to before.

I dont quiete know what put me off the place..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

Poll added.

Ah yeh the milk, its gone up to 1.69 for their own brand 2L. Everywhere else is still at 1.50.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

It's a horrible supermarket. I avoid it at all costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭RoutineBites

Personally I do, "the shop" in Aldi or Lidl purely because it's cheaper. Which is usually supplemented by a smaller, "shop" in Tesco's afterwards. Both Aldi, Lidl and Tesco are in close proximity to one another in Galway too, which is convenient. I don't notice a massive difference in the quality of products between stores really. I think there'll only be major differences in the food if you want to imagine that there is. I will say however, that some of Tesco's particular fruit and vegetables are nearly always of poor quality, but I could say the same for some of Aldi and Lidl's fresh produce too. The meat is grand in the three of them.
    I absolutely hate tesco.

Want to say as to why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭NWPat

Tesco has a 27% of all supermarket trade in Ireland, 5% ahead of its nearest rival Dunnes. To sugest, on these figures, that Tesco is finished in Ireland would be as far off the mark as you could get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Tescos ok I have no problem with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

I absolutely defeat the place, but my missus doesn't like the Dunne's in navan (which is bad) the thing I hate the most about tesco is the sell by date on 99℅ of their stuff is c!ose to being out of date the next day. Drives me ****in mental and they get rid if the popular brands and stock their own brand crap. Would rather take a spin to Jewry for sainsburys etc et .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Ah it's all about Aldi.

Lidl is not in the same category as Aldi, Lidl can feck off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

Do my shopping where the best value is tbh.

Atm I get all my meats from a farm shop. Prices are good, quality is great and they often do fantastic specials which puts the prices better than supermarkets. Then I get the rest in Aldi / Lidl with the odd 1 or 2 things in Tesco. Dunnes I barely visit once every 2 months or so. Super Valu is probably the worst of the lot imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Always used to go to tesco at the weekend and stock up on beer and junk food buy can't remember the last time. Always seems to be lidl or Aldi these days. Although saying that. Its unpredictable, went to tesco Clearwater one night about ten at night and it was jammed. Was a bit baffled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭colly_06

Tesco is like the new M&S, only the fancy people shop there now

Want to say as to why?

Their fruit and veg is tasteless. They're expensive. You have to examine everything you buy to make sure it's within date. You have to triple check your receipt to make sure you haven't been overcharged. The staff in the one closest to me, are for the mostpart horrible, ignorant, and wouldn't know how to spell customer service.

So yeh. That's why :)

Their fruit and veg is tasteless. They're expensive. You have to examine everything you buy to make sure it's within date. You have to triple check your receipt to make sure you haven't been overcharged. The staff in the one closest to me, are for the mostpart horrible, ignorant, and wouldn't know how to spell customer service.

So yeh. That's why :)

Also, they have exploited the jobsbridge scheme.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I like M&S

You've never had a sausage roll until you've had a M&S sausage roll

I like M&S

Also, I am dyslexic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

I like their Crunchy Nut Cornflakes. Way better than Kellogs in my opinion. But their version of Frosties, not so good.

Is there a way to make the poll multiple choice? I tend to go to two or three places for different things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Baked.noodle

Lowenstein (aldi beer) is great. 4 cans for €3.99. It used to be cheaper but we can blame the Governor for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

multiple choice?

We do the rounds, Aldi, Lidl, Dunnes, Tesco and Centra(it's local).
    We search for the best offers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

I used to shop in tesco all the time, but last week off to Aldi I went, wow, the amount of food I got for 30 euro was incredible, was just like the 90's. Tesco are gonna have to become more competitive for the future, and aldi could do with stocking more local goods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Tesco became very expensive a few years back. I shop around now, Tesco, Supervalu, local Centra, Aldi. Never Dunnes, their veg is poor and any offers amount to little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

NWPat wrote: »
    Tesco has a 27% of all supermarket trade in Ireland, 5% ahead of its nearest rival Dunnes. To sugest, on these figures, that Tesco is finished in Ireland would be as far off the mark as you could get.

I dunno but I kinda see that declining a bit. I just was flabbergasted at the lack of customers today and its supposed to be the peak hour of the peak season.

Their fish is very expensive, I do get it in Lidl\Aldi for example. I do like Tesco's own brand Chinese ready meals from the fridges though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

moxin wrote: »
    Poll added.

Ah yeh the milk, its gone up to 1.69 for their own brand 2L. Everywhere else is still at 1.50.

They sell a different brand of milk for 75c/l now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16 sue_me

Still use tesco for my main shopping. Dont find Aldi and Lidl as good as people make it out to be.

me neither , I think lidl and aldi have a sort of trendy - eccentric image which exaggerates how great they are ,( finding garden hoses next to the vegetables etc ), lidl in particular is a place I have little time for , aldi while way better than lidl is still over rated in my view , they don't sell any branded items

im one of the very few remaining who still likes dunnes , I find they are often no more expensive than any of the rest

Tesco I don't like all that much

They have a reasonable range of foods but the stuff you need is frequently not on the shelf. The fruit and veg in particular is always poor.

Made the mistake of buying my kitchenwear in tescos when I moved.

Never again.

Non stick pan: Non stick coating began to chip off with a month.
    Garlic masher: Never worked properly then eventually broke
    Can opener: Never worked properly
    Chefs knife: Dulled quickly, wouldn't sharpen correctly with knife steel or sharpener; binned it
    Sieve: Handle detached, replacement one did the the same.

To top it all off the same shop I do in Lidl or Aldi is always cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭The_Pretender

Anyone who can actually say that they shop in one/two specific shops then they're not going to get the most out of their money. Tesco do have good offers on at times, the same goes for SuperValu and Dunnes.

Lidl and Aldi are generally good for a large part of the shop, but I could never buy EVERYTHING there. I have certain foods that are luxuries, and the lidl either don't do them or they aren't the same.

EDIT: Do add, I don't think Tesco are going anywhere anytime soon. I've seen an unreal amount of new Tesco express stores opening up lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

Tesco can price match Lidl and Aldi on their own brand stuff all they want, but it just doesn't come close to quality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

keith16 wrote: »
    Also, they have exploited the jobsbridge scheme.

They have indeed. I haven't shopped in tesco in a year, and I don't plan on shopping there ever.

And the veg is terrible.

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    I absolutely defeat the place, but my missus doesn't like the Dunne's in navan (which is bad) the thing I hate the most about tesco is the sell by date on 99℅ of their stuff is c!ose to being out of date the next day. Drives me ****in mental and they get rid if the popular brands and stock their own brand crap. Would rather take a spin to Jewry for sainsburys etc et .

the use by date on bread etc in aldi is also usually two days ahead

the meat in aldi is not all its cracked up to be , I can get steaks in my local butcher for less than the angus steaks in aldi , nicer too , the chicken breasts and pork chops in aldi are horrible IMO , again I buy these of my local butcher

aldi is great for fruit and veg however , also love the greek yogurt they sell , their wheaten bread is nice too ( once your conscious of it being out of date rather quickly )

agree what has been said about veg and fruit in Tesco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭bigroad

I find my local supervalu is way better than Tescos.I also like the idea of shopping in a irishsupermarket.In saying that i do like the Lidl bakery section.Local butcher for meat and chicken not that rubbish Tesco sell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭hedgehog2

Absolutely hate Tesco,
    They are the poster child for faceless vile corporations,find their shops overpriced and I hate their aggressive thirst to monopolize every country in Asia presently.
    I refuse to shop in tesco,do most of our shopping in Lidl, go elsewhere for the meat to local butcher,fish from fish monger and ciggies/paper from local shop.

bigroad wrote: »
    I find my local supervalu is way better than Tescos.I also like the idea of shopping in a irishsupermarket.In saying that i do like the Lidl bakery section.Local butcher for meat and chicken not that rubbish Tesco sell.

I find the lidl bakery crap

super value is much more expensive than any of the major supermarkets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭RedFormanFITA

Shop around like everyone else these days, no such thing as store loyalty. Would shop in Lidl/Aldi, Dunnes and small convenience stores to find the best prices. Tesco's prices are sky high where I live and I can usually find a cheaper alternative elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

When I'm at home I'd shop at Supervalu out of convenience. I like some of their own brand products too, although they can be a little expensive. Depends on the Supervalu branch, but the one nearest me has a great cheese selection and a great fresh cooked meats and deli section.

Living in the UK I shop in Sainsbury's. As a student I'm tight with my money, so usually end up with the same groceries every week and I find Sainsbury's cheaper than Tesco now. They have better deals on meat. I just find I trust the Sainsbury's brand more than Tesco, and that precedes the horsemeat scandal.

I have often shopped in LIDL/Aldi and love some of their products but they are quite far away so it has never been convenient for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I personally think Crazy Prices should come back, they were wild times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭taxus_baccata

I just hate the corporateness of Tesco, all the advertising, clubcards, Tesco insurance, money, phones etc. It's like they want to own the customer. I foolishly joined their baby club and some of the so called advice in their booklet was shocking:eek:.

Admire the lidl and aldi model - no gimmicks,bar the special buys, but at least most of the products stay at the same price and there's no faffing about with clubcards and tokens for pots or pyrex!