Dossers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,562 ✭✭✭✭road_high

brevity wrote: »
    Flash back to working in Tesco while in college!

It's the micromanaging that gets me the most, just let me do my job please.

More a reflection on them tbh. A good manager instills capability and resourcefullness in employees to do the job in hand, however mundane. It's a mutual trust really. This allows them to deal with more important things that as a manager they should have to deal with.
    Standing over somone packing a shelf or such like is a total waste of time and poor use of a managers time.

rawn wrote: »
    Errr

No it's not. If you are working on a till in Dunnes and the customer has a lot of bags and there is a customer waiting to be served, you can help them pack to hurry along. But if a customer has only a few items that they are well able to pack themselves (i.e, are not holding a baby, loaded down with shopping bags, etc), they can pack their own bag. Maybe it's different in Spar or Centra but that's certainly not the case in Dunnes.

I worked there as temp Christmas staff last year, 3 month contract. Crappy hours, catty managers, crappy pay, the usual. Badly needed the job so was happy to have it. Was told if I worked hard I would be kept on permanently. Was given an additional 6 month contract. Was told that if I came in on time every day and worked extra hours when needed I would be given a permanent contract. HA. A week before my contract was up I was told that my till results were unsatisfactory (they were fine, certainly better than my permanently contracted co-worker, let's call him Bill, who usually worked on the floor but was called on tills if we were busy) So after my till results were over by €4.50, I was told there were no more hours for me cos it wasn't on, etc. Bill, on the other hand, 2 weeks previously had been short €70 on his till sooo... they moved him on to tills full time. Go figure. I think they're waiting for him to make a few more mistakes on the till so they can give him his 3 warnings and fire him. Have since found out that Dunnes can legally only give a person 2 temporary contracts, after that they must be let go or given a permanent one. It works out cheaper for them to keep retraining temps than hiring permanent staff. So they will always bullshít you about being given a permanent contract but in reality they don't give them out anymore. They are also using bullying tactics to try and force out the permanent staff that have been there years, as they cost them too much money.

Grrr.... Been a while since I had a good Dunnes rant.

That's what i figured they were up to. Give them a permanent contract and they get "rights"! Hope you got a new job btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

^ Its not superior. Its their job to pack your items into a bag,.

No it isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,487 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Spent years selling into all the supermarket chains. Dunnes managers really are a breed unto themselves. Utter c*nts for the most part.

Superquinn, now there was a company who knew how to hire actual humans as managers.

I worked in dunnes also for a few years

showers of ***** the management are , they think there gods in there

there a bunch of C you next Tuesday

Spent years selling into all the supermarket chains. Dunnes managers really are a breed unto themselves. Utter c*nts for the most part.

Superquinn, now there was a company who knew how to hire actual humans as managers.

They notoriously bad payers to suppliers and would put companies to the wall for the lowest price possible, leveraging their power at every oppurtunity. I remember hearing all this back in the day.
    I'm sure they're no better really, but glad Lidl/Aldi are wiping the floor with Dunnes as well as Tesco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

I hear Tesco's look after their staff reasonably well too. Never hear much about Superquinn myself, can't be as bad as Dunnes though. Seriously wanted to punch some of the male managers in Dunnes especially the younger ones, the older ones were sound enough. The tyrant female managers were the worst though. Insufferable cows!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

rawn wrote: »
    Errr

No it's not. If you are working on a till in Dunnes and the customer has a lot of bags and there is a customer waiting to be served, you can help them pack to hurry along. But if a customer has only a few items that they are well able to pack themselves (i.e, are not holding a baby, loaded down with shopping bags, etc), they can pack their own bag. Maybe it's different in Spar or Centra but that's certainly not the case in Dunnes.

I worked there as temp Christmas staff last year, 3 month contract. Crappy hours, catty managers, crappy pay, the usual. Badly needed the job so was happy to have it. Was told if I worked hard I would be kept on permanently. Was given an additional 6 month contract. Was told that if I came in on time every day and worked extra hours when needed I would be given a permanent contract. HA. A week before my contract was up I was told that my till results were unsatisfactory (they were fine, certainly better than my permanently contracted co-worker, let's call him Bill, who usually worked on the floor but was called on tills if we were busy) So after my till results were over by €4.50, I was told there were no more hours for me cos it wasn't on, etc. Bill, on the other hand, 2 weeks previously had been short €70 on his till sooo... they moved him on to tills full time. Go figure. I think they're waiting for him to make a few more mistakes on the till so they can give him his 3 warnings and fire him. Have since found out that Dunnes can legally only give a person 2 temporary contracts, after that they must be let go or given a permanent one. It works out cheaper for them to keep retraining temps than hiring permanent staff. So they will always bullshít you about being given a permanent contract but in reality they don't give them out anymore. They are also using bullying tactics to try and force out the permanent staff that have been there years, as they cost them too much money.

Grrr.... Been a while since I had a good Dunnes rant.

70 quid on one till? And they kept him on? Jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,325 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

road_high wrote: »
    More a reflection on them tbh. A good manager instills capability and resourcefullness in employees to do the job in hand, however mundane. It's a mutual trust really. This allows them to deal with more important things that as a manager they should have to deal with.
    Standing over somone packing a shelf or such like is a total waste of time and poor use of a managers time.

Its not only a waste of time, when someone is watching you as you work its makes you nervous and of course, will affect the way you work.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

A Neurotic wrote: »

They nearly castrated me for being 50 quid down one time, I'd hate to have even been 70 quid down! Have no idea how it happened. Can easily happen too, one of my co-workers gave me the wrong change one time when I got myself lunch, she gave me a 10 euro note instead of a 5 euro note. Lucky for her I gave it back, if it was anyone else they could have ran out the door with it.

Can easily happen with any of the notes if you are one of those panicky cashiers that hate looking at queues and not enough people on the other checkouts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

Hate shopping in Dunnes.

M&S gets a lot of stick for it's highfalutin sambo names and the like but one thing I have to say about them, their staff are always very friendly and courteous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

A Neurotic wrote: »

Yep. He told me as well that once when he was cashing up at closing time, he must have dropped the roll of notes he was putting into the cash bag cos when it got up to the cash office it wasn't there. They watched him cashing up on the camera but he had his back to them. Money never turned up. They couldn't prove he took it (I actually believe he didn't) so nothing happened. He was down €100 before too so he's prob on his second warning. No idea if he's still working there. It's all a bit... weird. I was let go over <€5 but I've seen worse results from other staff. In the staff area they stick up the results every day with no names, just your code number. Just before Christmas you'd see people over/under by huge amounts, but the same code number would be there week after week... I honestly don't know what the story is with that, there may have been uncounted vouchers that weren't tallied up but were later sorted. So if that was the case, maybe my till was just missing a few vouchers, no need to fire me yas grássholes :P road_high I didn't find a job after that, lost my apartment and all because of it, but am now studying in college, living in a new place so screw you Dunnes :pac:

Daqster wrote: »
    Hate shopping in Dunnes.

M&S gets a lot of stick for it's highfalutin sambo names and the like but one thing I have to say about them, their staff are always very friendly and courteous.

M&S staff are almost shockingly nice and courteous. Really well trained I'd say, and that ethos is promoted, unlike inDunnes where it sounds like a Stalinist regime all the way. They ask do you need help packing the bag, or just help regardless. Dunnes have no excuse, they're not that cheap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Site Banned Posts: 141 ✭✭BeerFear

Some people need a bucket of cop on. Its a job, get over it, everyone puts up with crap in their workplace. What do you expect to do in dunness? Sit down and do nothing and be treated like a King? Managers are an easy scapegoat to use. Do your work and you will be fine.

road_high wrote: »
    M&S staff are almost shockingly nice and courteous. Really well trained I'd say, and that ethos is promoted, unlike inDunnes where it sounds like a Stalinist regime all the way. They ask do you need help packing the bag, or just help regardless. Dunnes have no excuse, they're not that cheap.

I find that they are quite nice too, no M&S where I'm from but I've been to one in Dublin, the staff are very nice. Too bad not a lot of people can afford to shop there, seems to me, going by people I know, you have to be very well off to shop there. Seems kind of like the "poshish supermarket"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,609 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

"Have you got a clubcard?" :mad:

They should sell a card that you can wear saying "no I don't have a clubcard nor do I want one"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,702 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Dunnes was by far my worst ever job and I worked some **** ones. You spend half your time working and the other half deciding wether or not to smash the face of some sarcastic smartass dept manager. They really are a special type of ****.

I would go hungry before I would work there ever again.

The part time job I liked the most? Burger king were fantastic respectful people to work for. The job sucked but when you are treated like a person its easy to work anywhere.

BeerFear wrote: »
    Some people need a bucket of cop on. Its a job, get over it, everyone puts up with crap in their workplace. What do you expect to do in dunness? Sit down and do nothing and be treated like a King? Managers are an easy scapegoat to use. Do your work and you will be fine.

Well I wouldn't expect to be treated like a king if I was still there I'd expect to be at least respected and appreciated and not be a doormat for them, and not to have a newbie manager standing behind me throwing pointless criticism on "The fine art of stacking a shelf" while he stands there thinking it's beneath him to actually help out when there is a trolley full to the brim of stuff beside him to pack out. If you want to make an example of being a good manager, help out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭keano89

aujopimur wrote: »
    Within a week 8 packed it in

How many people loved a job after a week? Takes time to settle in. They should have stook it out for a month or two then make a decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,377 ✭✭✭Smithwicks Man

It's the poor style of autocratic leadership that is instilled from the top down. Pity really as Dunnes does tend to have better value than elsewhere. Couldn't hack being f***ed around as badly as some on here seem to have been, I'd tell 'em where to shove their job and be out the door. Didn't realise they were as bad to the staff as people say!

Life is tough too for the modern shopper. Some of them are not being handed their receipts. Next thing shops will install equipment to make shoppers scan their shopping and bag it themselves. And nobody will come along to tear off their receipt for them.

Your missing the point. Its not so much the physical effort exerted of having to pull your own receipt out that bugs people. Its the fact that the staff that serve you treat you the customer with zero importance. Its nice that the person on the opposite side of the till shows appreciation and some form of interest in the customer. Body language is a big part of this.

That said its understandable that unmotivated staff may not be as customer oriented.

BeerFear wrote: »

You have a bit of a theory x/theory y outlook. Its not always as easy as doing your work and being fine. There are no shortages of boll0ckses on a power trip. That said the other side of things is there are wasters in workplaces. The problem is that some idiot managers are prone to picking on quiet yet diligent staff in order to make an example of someone and assert their authority. Obnoxious loudmouths who do naff all on the other hand can get away with murder.

Your missing the point. Its not so much the physical effort exerted of having to pull your own receipt out that bugs people. Its the fact that the staff that serve you treat you the customer with zero importance. Its nice that the person on the opposite side of the till shows appreciation and some form of interest in the customer. Body language is a big part of this.

That said its understandable that unmotivated staff may not be as customer oriented.

The customer is always right :D

I have no doubt there is no shortage of unreasonable customers who give staff loads of shít but fact is they have to be grinned and beared because they dictate the market at the end of the day. Generally most customers are conscientious of the workload that staff have to do on a daily basis and try to show as much respect as possible but sadly you have cúnts too.

I think you misread my attempt to add a bit of humour to the conversation :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I work in retail, where I am pays a good wage, about 26k a year (when I say good wage, I mean in context, 26k is great for an unskilled job that anyone can walk into, for the most part), recently a guy started, and quit after 3 hours, another guy quit after 3 days, I honestly can't fathom it, when people are looking for jobs everywhere, how someone could find it so intolerable that they'd quit after a few hours or days?! Seems ridiculous, to just throw away that sort of salary as it were nothing. Don't get me wrong, I don't like my job, but when it pays so decently at a time when work is hard to come by, short of my boss asking me to literally lick his ass, whatever goes.

Dunnes is routinely mentioned whenever the worst place to work is brought up. I worked in one of the stores a few years back and it was by far, the worst time of my life. The trainee managers were all down to earth and great to get on with but the older managers, in particular the females were a nightmare. The worst kind of jumped up little Hitler that you'll ever come across.

They would routinely scream at staff in the middle of an aisle while customers looked on in shock. One girl got a right horrible tirade of abuse on her first day because she didn't being a biro with her. She wasn't employed by Dunnes for 15 minutes and had already received her first official warning. I worked from 2pm on December 23 until after 2am on the 24th and as I was leaving one of the trainee managers told me to take my 11 hours as I was legally entitled to and not to come at 8am as I was scheduled for. Arrived in at 1pm or so the next day and got screamed at and called every name under the sun by a female manager.

Would have quit there and then but I was saving for college and really needed the money so rather than simply walking out I told her to go **** herself and that i wouldgladly accept my official written warning. Didn't work there for very long after that and would never work in another of their stores. I'd sooner starve and even to this day I rarely, if ever set foot inside any of their stores.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

I work in retail, where I am pays a good wage, about 26k a year (when I say good wage, I mean in context, 26k is great for an unskilled job that anyone can walk into, for the most part), recently a guy started, and quit after 3 hours, another guy quit after 3 days, I honestly can't fathom it, when people are looking for jobs everywhere, how someone could find it so intolerable that they'd quit after a few hours or days?! Seems ridiculous, to just throw away that sort of salary as it were nothing. Don't get me wrong, I don't like my job, but when it pays so decently at a time when work is hard to come by, short of my boss asking me to literally lick his ass, whatever goes.

Surely this is supervisor or manager work ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I worked in Dunnes for 3 years part time during college. Easiest job I've ever had. Basically paid 11.84 to doss, Christmas was the toughest period mind but there were so many staff, it just basically meant you had to do a little bit of work instead of justlooking busy. Of course there's the odd power hungry manager but an 'Okay chief' would usually sort them out.

If you can't hack Dunnes then your working career is in serious trouble. Also anyone that leaves over the music should have their welfare money cut.