Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

pred racer wrote: »
    Damn, there goes the ground effect:D
    Cheaper than a set of lowering springs ;)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

And now for something completely different...
    :(

20131202_185533_zpsfb284326.jpg

20131202_185217_zpseec6625f.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

How good of you to join us again :)

If that's what i think it is.....yeouch :o

Tis depressing to see alright, but it's in very capable hands now.

Seems like the rotor was getting a battering for quite some time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

jenizzle wrote: »

At least now you know she'll be at peak health. What's the eta on a return?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

It's a bitch of a road for a couple of reasons. There are always TC with hairdryers every other day, and it seems to be where everyone tries to race you.

I know, because I live 10 mins from that road.

I only live about ten mins from that road myself ;), the other place they love is opposite the old Jacobs on the Belgard Road I work just around the corner from it and one the lads in work got stung there 3 times in the space of a month gobshiite.

Speaking of dirty cars I'm going into my last night of a 7 day 84 hour week in work tonight and I can't wait to have the day off tomorrow to clean the car it's so dirty you can see visible hand prints on the boot drives me mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Been eyeing rx's for the last few night's. Why do they **** themselves? Link me up if it's a long story :P

To alter a bane quote :P

No! They expect one of us to be dirty brother! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Dafuq happened that rotor?!
    With Eddie Doyle now?

To alter a bane quote :P

No! They expect one of us to be dirty brother! :pac:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IkMPZ7WeDck

FYP ;)

I only live about ten mins from that road myself ;), the other place they love is opposite the old Jacobs on the Belgard Road I work just around the corner from it and one the lads in work got stung there 3 times in the space of a month gobshiite.

Speaking of dirty cars I'm going into my last night of a 7 day 84 hour week in work tonight and I can't wait to have the day off tomorrow to clean the car it's so dirty you can see visible hand prints on the boot drives me mad.

I can spot that van at one end of the road to the other. :p
    Drive it most days, they've been away lately, only making the odd appearance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

CianRyan wrote: »
    I can spot that van at one end of the road to the other. :p
    Drive it most days, they've been away lately, only making the odd appearance.

:pac: I know yea I turn right onto the Belgard Road there at Burger King and can always spot it straight away so how he managed three times is beyond me.

Yea hadn't seen them there in a while but they have been there twice in the last week or so when I've been driving home at 7a.m

Gary ITR wrote: »
    At least now you know she'll be at peak health. What's the eta on a return?

A new block is being sourced at the moment. The mechanic has a source for this, but I'm not putting any time expectations on it as I'll only end up disappointing meself :o They do say 10 days for a rebuild, but that's if a new housing isn't needed.

And as you say, the investment will be worth the peace of mind, knowing that I'll be getting a good-as-gold Rexxy at the end of it.

Interslice wrote: »
    Been eyeing rx's for the last few night's. Why do they **** themselves? Link me up if it's a long story :P

Well, I think my one crapped itself after a gradually dodgy cat converter did something to the apex seal in one of the rotors, which broke apart and damaged the rest of the rotor as it was spinning around. You can investigate yourself as to how that whole process works, cos I've yet to understand it myself :p Could've been dodgy coils, crap oil or a number/combination of other things.

I could go on about how great RX8's are, but in reality, if you buy one, you best be prepared for the cost of a rebuild at some point in it's future unless it's been rebuilt already. I test drove some RX8's in a shockin' state when I was looking, but there is some great value for money out there now too if you put a bit of effort in.
    Dafuq happened that rotor?!
    With Eddie Doyle now?

It's with Eddie's sidekicks :D No better lads to be sorting it out, tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

Very bad to see :(
    Hope car makes you smile again in soon to come time :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭ottostreet

I'd seriously love an RX8.

Had a strange one today actually. I was at a garden centre (with work). and had parked outside.

When I came out, there was an older woman (about 65) standing in front of my car staring at it. Didn't know what she was doing, so I hit the remote to unlock it and went to get in. She says in a posh English accent 'It's very low to the ground isn't it'? I just said 'It certainly is, and a pain in the arse sometimes'.

What she said next blew me away…'Is it a Version R?' (It's an FTO Version R…hard enough to spot unless you're familiar with the car, let alone if you're not.)

Turns out her son owned three FTOs in England and was a big FTO head. She drove a Jaguar Sovereign something herself and then hopped into a gleaming red RX8 (231 version) and drove off. Legend. She should be on this forum ;)

cabb8ge wrote: »
    Very bad to see :(
    Hope car makes you smile again in soon to come time :)

So do I, believe me! I'm lucky that I don't actually *need* a car, but I haven't been the same since it died. Moping about the house, going to the nearest shop for milk instead of taking "the long way" via Sally Gap and then completely forgetting what I left the house for in the first place... all that good stuff!
    ottostreet wrote: »
    I'd seriously love an RX8.

Had a strange one today actually. I was at a garden centre (with work). and had parked outside.

When I came out, there was an older woman (about 65) standing in front of my car staring at it. Didn't know what she was doing, so I hit the remote to unlock it and went to get in. She says in a posh English accent 'It's very low to the ground isn't it'? I just said 'It certainly is, and a pain in the arse sometimes'.

What she said next blew me away…'Is it a Version R?' (It's an FTO Version R…hard enough to spot unless you're familiar with the car, let alone if you're not.)

Turns out her son owned three FTOs in England and was a big FTO head. She drove a Jaguar Sovereign something herself and then hopped into a gleaming red RX8 (231 version) and drove off. Legend. She should be on this forum ;)

Gimme another 35-ish years :p Ye must get another schpin in mine once it's up and running again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Sorry to hear about your car trouble Jen..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

So do I, believe me! I'm lucky that I don't actually *need* a car, but I haven't been the same since it died. Moping about the house, going to the nearest shop for milk instead of taking "the long way" via Sally Gap and then completely forgetting what I left the house for in the first place... all that good stuff!

Gimme another 35-ish years :p Ye must get another schpin in mine once it's up and running again!

God when I had the Teg on the road I loved that, going for milk across the gap. Some of the best spins I had were just random spins over the gap. Bumped into a lad in a skyline up there one night and we had some craic. When I got home he'd posted about it on dtd!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Stolen form YLYL

1452531_323359817834901_109296825_n.jpg

I do love a good sally gap run :) Might head up there now actually…

Embarrassing story on a drive I had up there, I was following a golf diesel back down from the cross roads towards Tallaght. I was on his arse the whole way (2 seconds back of course ;)) alone the flat and up hill section. Once we got to the down hill though he just left me for dead :o. I think he must have just been at full throttle the entire time and his lack of power was the only reason I was keeping up. Balls of steel he had :p

You need to watch Initial D, champ! Haha

Never heard of it but looks good on IMDB. I'll put it on my to-do list so I'll probably get around to seeing it in 2050 :D:(:rolleyes:

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Never heard of it but looks good on IMDB. I'll put it on my to-do list so I'll probably get around to seeing it in 2050 :D:(:rolleyes:

Ah you have one too? :pac: jolly good!

Ded_Zebra wrote: »

If not for that show my love of cars wouldn't be the same, nor my need to drive fast!

Pretty sure it's on American Netflix... If you're ever over there. ;)

If not for that show my love of cars wouldn't be the same, nor my need to drive fast!

Pretty sure it's on American Netflix... If you're ever over there. ;)

My laptop is over there right now ;) I'll give it a look tomorrow maybe :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Cannot be arsed unloading the car.... To college with a f*ckton of sh*te in the boot and whats left of the rear bench :p

Too lazy to watch the car too. Seems totally legit :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

Well today was interesting...finally got a gearbox for the gtv. Had to go up to ballycastle to get it. Totally underestimated how long it'd take to get up there.
    It's also the reason why dgt's car is full!:)
    The chap kept giving us everything and anything we could think off for very reasonable prices.

Also picked up 25l if millers 10w40 for 80 pound, should keep me going for a while anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭BillJ

Yellow brake callipers.

Yay or nay ?