Solution to the new breed of scumbags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,292 ✭✭✭Zamboni

Our society currently incentivises breeding to access funding and housing.

It does not however incentivise work, entrepreneurial skills, job creation, personal responsibility, education etc.

End result = scumbags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

Honestly, there's little to be done, short or nuking every city that the problem occurs in and wiping them off the map.
    Plenty of scumbags have working parents as has already been said, and plenty of good, functional members of society have scumbag parents.
    It's really down to what the individual makes of it, sure, the parents can influence it to an extent, but once the child becomes old enough to make their own decisions, they're going to do what they want. Hell, I had 3 friends, they didn't hang around most people in the area because they considered them scum, one day, they decided to smoke, being under 18, they stole tobacco, few weeks later they decided to get pissed in a field, few months later one of them decided to try weed, and now he's an outright stoner. And now they're not really any different from what they considered scum. They had practically no influence except from their parents who are all civilized human beings who would condemn this if they knew it was happening, so it just proves there doesn't even need to be considerable influence for a child to turn into a scumbag, it just happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Does Santa come to scumbags?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭Corvo

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    Not in wexford anyway, because is always "sure, they drove down from Dublin and done it".

Exactly :) Feckers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

rowanh wrote: »
    Im dyslexic and my spelling is awful, spell check didn't pick it up because curios is the plural of curio, a curious object.

So theres a possibility that you might fail a test, does this put you in a group that is judged to be scum because of your failure? I put it to you that its wrong to judge someone on the strength of a test.

• Site Banned Posts: 14 Beavishead

Forced abortions and forced sterilisation would work wonders here but in this day an age anyone should be allowed to have children. To hell with the consequences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

DALEKS EXTERMINATE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

Tougher laws. Where I live, it's illegal to loiter. That would be a step in the right direction. I NEVER have to walk past a group of teenagers hanging about. When I go home to Ireland you can be sure I'll come across groups of them all over the place, giving people grief and being general annoyances. Also removing the current wave of judges who hand out ridiculous non sentences would be another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,335 ✭✭✭wendell borton

5dpApE.png

According to google the scumbag emerged sometime in the late 70's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Corkbah

I think it was caused by developers giving councillors backhanders for YEARS to build massive estates with zero amenities riding rough shod over planning restrictions and development plans

Reap what you sow

oh yeah … has to be someone else's fault …. thats whats wrong with society …. no sense of personal responsibility….blame the bankers, lack of amenities, developers, planning authorities etc …. anyone but the hard done by scum that have just bred more scum.

there are multiple issues with the system
    - not least incompetent civil servants/political decisions,
    - the bleeding hearts society,
    - the media ,
    - the gardai (for lack of enforcement)
    - the government (for not giving the gardai the blank cheques so they don't have the "we have no resources" line),
    - the courts (for the judges not giving sentences which deter repeat criminals)
    - the government (for not providing enough prison spaces),
    - the EU (for not allowing us to hold convicted criminals in anything less than a 3star hotel)
    - The government (for breeding a culture of people with entitlements)

pointless giving any more reasons …but they are fairly endless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Mammanabammana

Rather than execution, William I of England preferred blinding criminals, as they would then remain in society as a visible deterrent to others.

Just saying, like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Burky126

Holsten wrote: »
    Education, discipline and correct parenting would work for most I reckon.

A little dose of self-respect wouldn't go amiss either.Concentrate on helping the youth out by giving them things to do in the community and hopefully they'll think for themselves before sinking into a cycle of anti social activity.

A fisherman becomes a fisherman because he is taught.Same applies to becoming an upstanding member of the public.Villainizing them makes them apathetic and gives them justification for their actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

On a completely related point - do the mods in AH actually have to read this nonsense before they close the thread down or do you have monkeys / robots to do that for you ?

It is in beta I'm told. Scumbag is one of the trigger words, thread gets auto-locked and OP gets auto-banned.

Few bugs to be ironed out though, it seems to trigger with the words "Bertie" "Cowen" and "Fingers" for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Rather than execution, William I of England preferred blinding criminals, as they would then remain in society as a visible deterrent to others.

Just saying, like.

Hence the expression "he played a blinder!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

I don't have the finer points of a scumbag manifesto but ZERO TOLERANCE should be added to every paragraph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

More social welfare bla bla bla bla

AH is really starting to lose its charm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭rowanh

So theres a possibility that you might fail a test, does this put you in a group that is judged to be scum because of your failure? I put it to you that its wrong to judge someone on the strength of a test.

I get your point but we are constantly tested and judged throughout our lives, i dont see an issue with asking people who want the government to support them and their children almost indefinitely to show they are capable of raising these children as functioning members of society. Also the idea would be more that they would be helped through education not judged as scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

5dpApE.png

According to google the scumbag emerged sometime in the late 70's.

I thought Paul Williams created it :p:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

I don't have the finer points of a scumbag manifesto but ZERO TOLERANCE should be added to every paragraph.

I remember playing that Zero Tolerance game on the megadrive... Dem Grafix...

Find it odd that people think on demand abortions will curb this. Just look at England for an example of why it wont make a difference.

People colloquially referred to as scum have no reason to respect the rest of society, as society generally would rather they didn't exist.

The only solution I can think of is education and more consistent policing. But then again not everyone can be bothered there bollix to work, so they should be incentivized to do someone work I.e. reduced dole and so forth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

Eugenics !
    Hurrah.

Or a zombie war.
    Or daleks.

A sharknado might sort them out

I'm afraid to say the only definite solution is Eugenics. It's not appealing considering the sorry state of the 20th centuries efforts in this area, but for the greater good...........:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

I'm afraid to say the only definite solution is Eugenics. It's not appealing considering the sorry state of the 20th centuries efforts in this area, but for the greater good...........

someone had to come out and say it, I have to admit to being somewhat surprised it's coming from you though.

Anyways, let's get down to making a plan shall we?
    I think a good way to start is poison the Dutch Gold and Devil's Bit. That should get a break the back of the problem and we can then start looking at narrowing it down a bit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

wexie wrote: »
    someone had to come out and say it, I have to admit to being somewhat surprised it's coming from you though.

Anyways, let's get down to making a plan shall we?
    I think a good way to start is poison the Dutch Gold and Devil's Bit. That should get a break the back of the problem and we can then start looking at narrowing it down a bit.

Yes yes yes now we're talking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭SamAK

[-0-] wrote: »
    Tougher laws. Where I live, it's illegal to loiter. That would be a step in the right direction. I NEVER have to walk past a group of teenagers hanging about. When I go home to Ireland you can be sure I'll come across groups of them all over the place, giving people grief and being general annoyances. Also removing the current wave of judges who hand out ridiculous non sentences would be another.

Ah yeah, great idea.

Typical 'out of sight, out of mind' way of looking at it. Anti-loitering laws do not just make bored teenagers vanish in a puff of smoke.

I'm amazed at some of these comments, such as "mandatory abortion for those who pro-create at will just to sponge off benefits"........

Fair play to any person that can devise a way of means-testing that.

Most of these ideas are flippant and unrealistic at best. Dodgy topic, OP!

I have to admit to being somewhat surprised it's coming from you though.

I have always been in favor of population control.

Its hard to see it from the inside, but Humans are this planet's biggest problem.

Less of us would be better.

Unfortunately those who are worst positioned to support them, breed the most.

Not sure why that is..... Hope I guess.

Two child rule. Stat.

Take only photographs, leave only footprints. etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,187 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Let's just all agree to get sterilised. Keep the plan simple I say.

SamAK wrote: »
    Ah yeah, great idea.

Typical 'out of sight, out of mind' way of looking at it. Anti-loitering laws do not just make bored teenagers vanish in a puff of smoke.

I'm amazed at some of these comments, such as "mandatory abortion for those who pro-create at will just to sponge off benefits"........

Fair play to any person that can devise a way of means-testing that.

Most of these ideas are flippant and unrealistic at best. Dodgy topic, OP!

The idea that the human race can continue to grow it's population at its current rate is fundamentally, arithmetically and logically flawed....at best.

OP, this is probably the most pertinent topic of our time. The more people on this planet, the lower the standard of living for all of them, ergo the poorer they become, the more vulnerable the become and the more opportunity for scum (be it corporate scum, or hoodlums) to victimize and abuse them. Just because the topic is unpalatable for the bleeding heart religious moralists to face doesn't mean that its a dodgy topic. Saying its too hard is just a cop out. It's not going away.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

The idea that the human race can continue to grow it's population at its current rate is fundamentally, arithmetically and logically flawed....at best.

OP, this is probably the most pertinent topic of our time. The more people on this planet, the lower the standard of living for all of them, ergo the poorer they become, the more vulnerable the become and the more opportunity for scum (be it corporate scum, or hoodlums) to victimize and abuse them. Just because the topic is unpalatable for the bleeding heart religious moralists to face doesn't mean that its a dodgy topic. Saying its too hard is just a cop out. It's not going away.:mad:

hmmm......while I don't think you're entirely wrong there is a flaw in your theory. In order for there to be rich people there will always be poor people, mostly by the mechanics of how they become rich.

So we can either all be poor, or we can have rich and poor. We can never all be rich*

* unless of course you mean spiritually rich in which case the legalise pot thread is over here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

simple, money means far more to these people than bringing a child into the world.Fathers name on the birth cert. Make sure that if the single person or a couple bring a child into the world, that they cannot adequately support, that they are worse off financially. With the savings, use it towards subsidized childcare and no other school related costs, for the people we actually want to have kids... this generalization that they will be paying my pension in the future is laughable, a significant percentage over their lifetimes, will be massive beneficiaries of the tax payers largess here...

basically leave them with very little to no discretionary expenditure, have it service rich and cash poor... This would also solve the problem of the welfare tourists that were well publicised in todays paper...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

Castration at birth for the offspring of existing scumbags. I think this would ease the problem long term.

hmmm......while I don't think you're entirely wrong there is a flaw in your theory. In order for there to be rich people there will always be poor people, mostly by the mechanics of how they become rich.

So we can either all be poor, or we can have rich and poor. We can never all be rich

That is my point though, we, as a race, will never be any better off than we are/have been (depending on opinion) at the peak of the oil based economy. We have a larger middle class than ever before, but there are Billions of people living in abject poverty with little to no hope of ever bettering their situation.
    http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/worldviews/wp/2013/05/07/map-more-than-half-of-humanity-lives-within-this-circle/
    These people aren't particularly scummy, or evil or have extraordinary crime rates etc. There are just so many of them, clamoring to get out of the cycle of poverty they are stuck in, subsistence wages, constant hunger, atrocious working and living conditions, and complete and utter vulnerability to changes of conditions (from economic decisions, to climatic events).
    Nobody wants to say it out loud, but they have no hope. It's the dumb and dumber moment..."so your saying there's a chance ?"
    The time will come when the people in that little circle are going to stop playing the game. When that comes, we are all in deep sh!t.
    Wouldn't it be better to stop the population growth, maintain an equilibrium and try and improve the lot of brother man ? Even if it is at the cost of having big families sitting around the Christmas table.... The vast majority of people don't get a turkey, many don't even have a table. Just a sense of desperation because they have 8 mouths to feed.
    We need a better plan. As a species.