Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Solution to the new breed of scumbags

• 02-12-2013 6:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭

I don't think there is a lot you can do about the existing scum but what about the ones that are going to be born over the next 20 years. I think the government need to look at what are the factors that make people become scumbags. I presume genetics has little to do with it. I would presume that its mostly down to bad parenting, lack of discipline and social circumstance etc.

I'm thinking there should be some kind of mandatory parenting school for young uneducated parents. They should be graded and they have to achieve grades to be able to get their social welfare. If they do not comply then they can only get their house/bills/food and are not given any money to buy cigarettes/booze/drugs or whatever else. Then once the children start going to school the teachers are marking the kids the appearance of their parenting and parents would be forced back into this "school".

I'm making this up as i go along but it sounds like it could work to me, just curios what people think. I was just reading about the kid shot in the foot after breaking into someones house in Bray and reading the comments on crime.ie it looks like people want to introduce the death penalty to fix the scum problem. Anyway i am curios if anyone has any ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

I saw "genetics" and immediately rang the Guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

rowanh wrote: »
    I'm making this up as i go along

great way to concrete in your point

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

Plenty of scumbags have working parents.. Just sayin is all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,831 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

These sound like the ramblings of a bored 15 yr old

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

I'm sure the parents of Bertie, Fingers Fingleton, Seanie Fitz, Thomas Byrne etc are just bereft that they didn't have the benefit of your advice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

we could start a sterilisation programme

lure them in with a six pack of dutch gold and 40 marlburrrrra

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

I'm sure the parents of Bertie, Fingers Fingleton, Seanie Fitz, Thomas Byrne etc are just bereft that they didn't have the benefit of your advice!

Ooooh,Bit of Politics...edgy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭StaticNoise

If anything (and I'm no snob), there needs to be something sorted about the strung-out junkies and general 'undesirables' that are present and acting the eejit on O'Connell Street, Mary/Jervis Street, etc.

It really isn't a good image for the capital, especially since that area is so popular with tourists. Also, the tourist centres are on O'Connell Street. I work in the area and not a day goes by that there aren't zombies wandering around there, causing problems, or groaning to themselves as they stare at their noses thanks to the drugs. The tourists do notice it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

I think it was caused by developers giving councillors backhanders for YEARS to build massive estates with zero amenities riding rough shod over planning restrictions and development plans

Reap what you sow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

Just nuke the whole of Dublin.

Problem solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

If anything (and I'm no snob), there needs to be something sorted about the strung-out junkies and general 'undesirables' that are present and acting the eejit on O'Connell Street, Mary/Jervis Street, etc.

It really isn't a good image for the capital, especially since that area is so popular with tourists. Also, the tourist centres are on O'Connell Street. I work in the area and not a day goes by that there aren't zombies wandering around there, causing problems, or groaning to themselves as they stare at their noses thanks to the drugs. The tourists do notice it.

yeah, Bray is in Wicklow though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Muise... wrote: »
    yeah, Bray is in Wicklow though.

Someone tell Bray that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

BNMC wrote: »
    Just nuke the whole of Dublin.

Problem solved.

sure, everybody knows there's no scumbags in Limerick, Cork, Galway, Mullingar,Sligo,Wexford.....or anywhere else.

Just Dublin....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,394 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Ive always wondered do scumbags know They're scum?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

Make abortion mandatory for those who procreate at will just to sponge off the welfare services, anyone who has a hard drug problem, has social problems or just won't toe the line and become a productive member of society, that should sort the scum problem in about 30 years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

"rowanh wrote: »
    I'm making this up as i go along

I'd never have guessed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithi1970

LEgalise on-demand abortion -in 15-20 years time you will see a noticeable lack of scumbags around as they wont have existed! Check out the 1st chapter of Freakanomics by Steven Leavitt for further details...

daithi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

I'm making this up as i go along but it sounds like it could work to me, just curios. Anyway i am curios if anyone has any ideas.

Would the scum have to pass spelling tests when they go back to school?
    Curious myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

Solution to the new breed of scumbags

Resisting the urge to label kids not even born yet as scumbags simply because their parents are social welfare recipients, would be a good start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

On a completely related point - do the mods in AH actually have to read this nonsense before they close the thread down or do you have monkeys / robots to do that for you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,381 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

I don't think there is a lot you can do about the existing scum but what about the ones that are going to be born over the next 20 years. I think the government need to look at what are the factors that make people become scumbags. I presume genetics has little to do with it. I would presume that its mostly down to bad parenting, lack of discipline and social circumstance etc.
    I'm thinking there should be some kind of mandatory parenting school for young uneducated parents. They should be graded and they have to achieve grades to be able to get their social welfare. If they do not comply then they can only get their house/bills/food and are not given any money to buy cigarettes/booze/drugs or whatever else. Then once the children start going to school the teachers are marking the kids the appearance of their parenting and parents would be forced back into this "school".
    I'm making this up as i go along but it sounds like it could work to me, just curios what people think.
    at least its an idea that has some thought put into it and that would actually benefit people unlike the usual tabloid type suggestions of death penalty and other delusianel nonsense, as to whether it would work i don't know, i do agree that bad parenting lack of discipline and social circumstance are probably the most likely reasons that these people run ferrel around the place.
    reading the comments on crime.ie it looks like people want to introduce the death penalty to fix the scum problem.
    i wouldn't take those comments seriously, those people haven't a clue and are delusianel, as you probably know we abolished the death penalty in 2001/2 and it isn't allowed under EU law, and it has failed in the countries that have it.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

wexie wrote: »
    sure, everybody knows there's no scumbags in Limerick, Cork, Galway, Mullingar,Sligo,Wexford.....or anywhere else.

Just Dublin....

Not in wexford anyway, because is always "sure, they drove down from Dublin and done it".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

On a completely related point - do the mods in AH actually have to read this nonsense before they close the thread down or do you have monkeys / robots to do that for you ?

Or robot monkeys?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    Ive always wondered do scumbags know They're scum?

How cute would a zen scumbag be? Imagine Yoda in a tracksuit. Squee!

I just realised i passed my 1000 post 3 post back! or is this 4 now.

• Site Banned Posts: 141 ✭✭BeerFear

I was in a shop the other day and around 7 or 8 15-16 year old scumbags came in. Foreigners own the shop and scumbags started squaring up to them. The others then started knocking over things and pretending to rob things to get a kick out of the owners. One of them took out the phone and scumbags knocked it out of there hands. Must have been in there for about 10 mins with me just standing in the corner. Eventually they left when they saw one of them get through to the gaurds on their phone. They all then strolled out. Owner told me then it has 5 times in the last three weeks and guards wont do anything.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

BeerFear wrote: »
    I was in a shop the other day and around 7 or 8 15-16 year old scumbags came in. Foreigners own the shop and scumbags started squaring up to them. The others then started knocking over things and pretending to rob things to get a kick out of the owners. One of them took out the phone and scumbags knocked it out of there hands. Must have been in there for about 10 mins with me just standing in the corner. Eventually they left when they saw one of them get through to the gaurds on their phone. They all then strolled out. Owner told me then it has 5 times in the last three weeks and guards wont do anything.

Maybe the guards are also scum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭SamAK

27 comments already and i haven't yet seen any sort of CLEAR definition for the term 'scumbag'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭rowanh

Would the scum have to pass spelling tests when they go back to school?
    Curious myself.

Im dyslexic and my spelling is awful, spell check didn't pick it up because curios is the plural of curio, a curious object.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Education, discipline and correct parenting would work for most I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

Our society currently incentivises breeding to access funding and housing.

It does not however incentivise work, entrepreneurial skills, job creation, personal responsibility, education etc.

End result = scumbags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

Honestly, there's little to be done, short or nuking every city that the problem occurs in and wiping them off the map.
    Plenty of scumbags have working parents as has already been said, and plenty of good, functional members of society have scumbag parents.
    It's really down to what the individual makes of it, sure, the parents can influence it to an extent, but once the child becomes old enough to make their own decisions, they're going to do what they want. Hell, I had 3 friends, they didn't hang around most people in the area because they considered them scum, one day, they decided to smoke, being under 18, they stole tobacco, few weeks later they decided to get pissed in a field, few months later one of them decided to try weed, and now he's an outright stoner. And now they're not really any different from what they considered scum. They had practically no influence except from their parents who are all civilized human beings who would condemn this if they knew it was happening, so it just proves there doesn't even need to be considerable influence for a child to turn into a scumbag, it just happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Does Santa come to scumbags?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    Not in wexford anyway, because is always "sure, they drove down from Dublin and done it".

Exactly :) Feckers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

Im dyslexic and my spelling is awful, spell check didn't pick it up because curios is the plural of curio, a curious object.

So theres a possibility that you might fail a test, does this put you in a group that is judged to be scum because of your failure? I put it to you that its wrong to judge someone on the strength of a test.

• Site Banned Posts: 14 Beavishead

Forced abortions and forced sterilisation would work wonders here but in this day an age anyone should be allowed to have children. To hell with the consequences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

DALEKS EXTERMINATE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

Tougher laws. Where I live, it's illegal to loiter. That would be a step in the right direction. I NEVER have to walk past a group of teenagers hanging about. When I go home to Ireland you can be sure I'll come across groups of them all over the place, giving people grief and being general annoyances. Also removing the current wave of judges who hand out ridiculous non sentences would be another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

5dpApE.png

According to google the scumbag emerged sometime in the late 70's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭Corkbah

I think it was caused by developers giving councillors backhanders for YEARS to build massive estates with zero amenities riding rough shod over planning restrictions and development plans

Reap what you sow

oh yeah … has to be someone else's fault …. thats whats wrong with society …. no sense of personal responsibility….blame the bankers, lack of amenities, developers, planning authorities etc …. anyone but the hard done by scum that have just bred more scum.

there are multiple issues with the system
    - not least incompetent civil servants/political decisions,
    - the bleeding hearts society,
    - the media ,
    - the gardai (for lack of enforcement)
    - the government (for not giving the gardai the blank cheques so they don't have the "we have no resources" line),
    - the courts (for the judges not giving sentences which deter repeat criminals)
    - the government (for not providing enough prison spaces),
    - the EU (for not allowing us to hold convicted criminals in anything less than a 3star hotel)
    - The government (for breeding a culture of people with entitlements)

pointless giving any more reasons …but they are fairly endless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Mammanabammana

Rather than execution, William I of England preferred blinding criminals, as they would then remain in society as a visible deterrent to others.

Just saying, like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Burky126

Holsten wrote: »
    Education, discipline and correct parenting would work for most I reckon.

A little dose of self-respect wouldn't go amiss either.Concentrate on helping the youth out by giving them things to do in the community and hopefully they'll think for themselves before sinking into a cycle of anti social activity.

A fisherman becomes a fisherman because he is taught.Same applies to becoming an upstanding member of the public.Villainizing them makes them apathetic and gives them justification for their actions.

It is in beta I'm told. Scumbag is one of the trigger words, thread gets auto-locked and OP gets auto-banned.

Few bugs to be ironed out though, it seems to trigger with the words "Bertie" "Cowen" and "Fingers" for some reason.

Rather than execution, William I of England preferred blinding criminals, as they would then remain in society as a visible deterrent to others.

Just saying, like.

Hence the expression "he played a blinder!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

I don't have the finer points of a scumbag manifesto but ZERO TOLERANCE should be added to every paragraph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

More social welfare bla bla bla bla

AH is really starting to lose its charm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭rowanh

So theres a possibility that you might fail a test, does this put you in a group that is judged to be scum because of your failure? I put it to you that its wrong to judge someone on the strength of a test.

I get your point but we are constantly tested and judged throughout our lives, i dont see an issue with asking people who want the government to support them and their children almost indefinitely to show they are capable of raising these children as functioning members of society. Also the idea would be more that they would be helped through education not judged as scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

5dpApE.png

According to google the scumbag emerged sometime in the late 70's.

I thought Paul Williams created it :p:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

I don't have the finer points of a scumbag manifesto but ZERO TOLERANCE should be added to every paragraph.

I remember playing that Zero Tolerance game on the megadrive... Dem Grafix...

Find it odd that people think on demand abortions will curb this. Just look at England for an example of why it wont make a difference.

People colloquially referred to as scum have no reason to respect the rest of society, as society generally would rather they didn't exist.

The only solution I can think of is education and more consistent policing. But then again not everyone can be bothered there bollix to work, so they should be incentivized to do someone work I.e. reduced dole and so forth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

Eugenics !
    Hurrah.

Or a zombie war.
    Or daleks.

A sharknado might sort them out

I'm afraid to say the only definite solution is Eugenics. It's not appealing considering the sorry state of the 20th centuries efforts in this area, but for the greater good...........:rolleyes: