The Glenroe Feeling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭It BeeMee

Not quite the same, but "The Rose of Tralee" always suggests the end of the summer holidays to me.

I have memories of being in a neighbour's house, bargaining over the prices of second-hand books, while Gay was telling some not-so-pretty young thing about his wife with her red head......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭lemansky

I'm 18 so I cann't remember what age I was when Glenroe was on...but yes it did also signify the end of the weekend for me.
    Two bits I remember clearly for some reason:
    On an episode shown on a Halloween night(I remember because I was sitting on the floor with my haul of sweets) Biddy and Miley had an argument.Miley got pissed off,said to her 'Biddy....I....I'm annoyed',smashed a plate over a table,and then showing how whipped he was proceeded to clean up the mess and apologise profusely.
    Other incident was when Biddy died.....a sad day for Irish television:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Duggy747 wrote:
    Eurgh!! Anyone remember the quiz show Where In The World that would be on before Glenroe? That awful sick feeling as well that your weekend was over and another week of school started in 10 hours......*shivers*

Anyone remember Mary cracking Dick's head on the fireplace?

I do remember Mary getting high on the magic mushrooms. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭mkennedy

great description of an impending school week/homework undone etc. I definitely recall that feeling associated with the glenroe theme tune.

tbh though I didn't think that such a specific association would be something so many others here also experienced.
    very interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭DO0GLE

Would make a great mobile phone ringtone!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

ntlbell wrote:
    Now your talking!

Would I be correct in saying the "glenroe" feeling was more of a "country" thing.

Even at that age i think i'd rather go to bed than watch glenroe

Yeah probably, wouldnt have been caught dead watching that class of thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭DaBreno

Argh, Yes! The sound of end credits, gives me a sick feeling in the pit of my stomach even now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Deadly thread, the memories all come flooding back.

Those f**king end credits! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Was just talking about this recently... God how I hated Glenroe! All these feelings are flooding back now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Cormic

I live just south of Kilcoole where Glenroe was shot. I moved here just before the show finished but I still find it weird when I drive through the village. The Church and the Molly Malone bring me back to those Sunday nights.

I love this pic of the sign in the village. It's the best bit of graffiti that I have ever seen.

glenroe.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Feeling this strongly tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

Six years later?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,923 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

All those things I thought to myself in work on Friday 'pff, feck it, it's the weekend, I'll deal with it on Monday' are now rushing back to me :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

I've got the glenroe theme tune ringing in my head now... holy godddddd!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,833 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Usually had Teresa Lowe (??) with Where in the World on before Glenroe.

Arragha , Sunday blues are setting in now, thanks for resurrecting this thread :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Has the dawning of the internet age meant that future generations will no longer experience that collective consciousness thing like this anymore. I mean kids these days dont sit down to watch something at 8.30 with their family, its all PS4's, IPad's, beating prostitutes to death in GTA. I think they are missing out on the chance to come on a forum in 20 years and reminise about some awful drama. I suppose they could watch Love/Hate.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,887 ✭✭✭dmc17

Have ye got your homework done for the morning :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,027 ✭✭✭The_B_Man
    Something about sandwiches

Jaysus I've had an awful dose of it all day. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭branie

Pardon me for being smug, but I usually did my weekend homework on a Saturday morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Agricola wrote: »
    Has the dawning of the internet age meant that future generations will no longer experience that collective consciousness thing like this anymore. I mean kids these days dont sit down to watch something at 8.30 with their family, its all PS4's, IPad's, beating prostitutes to death in GTA. I think they are missing out on the chance to come on a forum in 20 years and reminise about some awful drama. I suppose they could watch Love/Hate.......

Yep everybody is kind of going their own way these days and have more in common with some e-peeps 1000s of miles away in the states than anyone on their own street. The future seems very boring indeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 coinflip13

Anyone else get put to bed at like 8 or half 8 during the summer and lie there, not tired at all, too warm, bored out of your mind, watching the room get slowly darker ... childhood wasn't all fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

The weekend is over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Ah sure! There'll be another one round soon enough!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Thread is almost as old as Glenroe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,923 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

branie wrote: »
    Pardon me for being smug, but I usually did my weekend homework on a Saturday morning.

You either do it on a Friday when you get in from school to get it out of the way, or else Sunday just before going to bed, leaving it till the last minute.

Saturday morning has no place here :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

I used to love glenroe..my favourite episode was when miley got cross with biddy for ploughing the wrong field!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SsB6-GbpQxQ&feature=youtube_gdata_player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Blackie Connors was some man to fix a gate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

While we're on that theme, remember Murphy's Micro Quizim used to be on just before Glenroe
    http://www.rte.ie/archives/2013/1009/479266-murphys-micro-quiz-m-1983/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I always found Mary weirdly rideable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

While we're on that theme, remember Murphy's Micro Quizim used to be on just before Glenroe
    http://www.rte.ie/archives/2013/1009/479266-murphys-micro-quiz-m-1983/
    Wondered for years what the "m" tacked on at the end meant. Wordplay referring to "microcosm". Didn't work...