American accent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Finton90

cantdecide wrote: »
    Or when they use words like "side walk" instead of footpath...

or movie instead of film
    guys instead of lads or fellas
    calling someone whos attractive "pretty hot"
    hanging out instead of hanging around.

if you wear a GAA jersey you are a bogger and an embarrassment but if you wear an American baseball cap you are the coolest "dude" in town. The level of self hate we have in this country for our own ways is something i have never experience anywhere else in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Valentine1

for what its worth I find that the prevalence of American media and pop culture make it very easy to pick up terms and phrases. I have worked with Americans for years and have an american girlfriend too. the Result is that whilst I still have my standard South Dublin accent my vocabulary is a terrible mishmash of Irish words and phrases and typical American terms.

I haven't called it anything but trash or garbage in years and in a recent conversation with a fellow Irish person I caught myself calling crisps... chips. *hangs head in shame*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

when I think about it I must have watched 100s of hours of american cartoons and shows when i was a youngfella but i never started talking like a yank.

so the only conclusion i can come up with is that its a put-on accent. Its not like kids are watching more TV these days, probably less because they have social meeja now.

maybe its that people start to talk in real life as they would imagine their txtspk sounding like and because 'like omg totally lolz' sounds so ridiculous in a thick culchie accent they start to put on the american one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Finton90 wrote: »
    or movie instead of film

if you wear a GAA jersey you are a bogger and an embarrassment but if you wear an American baseball cap you are the coolest "dude" in town. The level of self hate we have in this country for our own ways is something i have never experience anywhere else in the world.

Don't forget the 'u' in 'filum'

or movie instead of film

Well you are definitely correct about the GAA jersey, not sure why you think baseball caps make people cool, your use of quotes around Dude makes me suspicious as to your understanding about what makes hip young things such as myself tick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

USA! USA!

Seriously, though... it's better than speaking like some boggy island monkey.

when I think about it I must have watched 100s of hours of american cartoons and shows when i was a youngfella but i never started talking like a yank.

so the only conclusion i can come up with is that its a put-on accent. Its not like kids are watching more TV these days, probably less because they have social meeja now.

maybe its that people start to talk in real life as they would imagine their txtspk sounding like and because 'like omg totally lolz' sounds so ridiculous in a thick culchie accent they start to put on the american one

Completely agree i watch as much if not more american tv than most people and i still have a strong west of ireland accent, which is nothing to be ashamed of by the way because any foreigner ive meet loves it. The only place i get grief about it is in Ireland.

Thats because the rest of us have to listen to you hamming it up for the foreigners all the time!:P:P:P

Valentine1 wrote: »
    Well you are definitely correct about the GAA jersey, not sure why you think baseball caps make people cool, your use of quotes around Dude makes me suspicious as to your understanding about what makes hip young things such as myself tick.

Im young as well by the way in only 22 and still in college, but i have enough sense and confidence in myself and where i come from to not try and ape someone elses culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,970 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

dgt wrote: »
    I normally wouldn't bother but this has me baffled. Why so many people speak with a put on american accent, I just can't figure it....

Because they're stupid. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭duchalla

Which Dublin accent is this then? Balbriggan? Swords? Ballymun? Ballyfermot? Sandyford? Foxrock? Tallaght? Hmm? Hmmmmmm? :pac:

All of em.... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Rochelle

People are on here decrying the American accent creeping into society, yet the quickest scan through after hours will come up with :

Freaking
    Sheesh
    Go Figure
    Goddam
    Guys
    Dumbass
    Mom
    cheating (for doing the dirt on someone)
    nada, zilch

and so on.

Then again, AH is like a handicap-magnet, I've never seen so many retards gathered together outside of the mental hospital.

Im young as well by the way in only 22 and still in college, but i have enough sense and confidence in myself and where i come from to not try and ape someone elses culture.

Taking words or even hats from a form of culture other than your own isn't aping it. Similarly talking like a Bog Warrior isn't preserving the Irish way of life or a display of confidence necessarily, its preserving talking like a Bog Warrior.

I don't give a sh1te what accent people use, I don't hear "put on" american accents often or at all. What I do hear on a daily basis is people sounding like complete spas because they are talking like a stereotypical South Dublin numpty.

But as I said I don't care. Unless of course when instead of saying, "May I please have..." they say "can I get..." when ordering a coffee/sandwich etc. When that happens they must pay the ultimate price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭R.D. aka MR.D

I'm from Donegal and i went to college in Dublin. For the first 3 weeks no one could understand a word i was saying. I had to start talking in what i thought was a neutral accent. It ended up sounding american i think because some words i had never heard pronounced by some one who wasn't from donegal e.g mirror. So i just copied what i heard on the telly!

It's been 9 years now and after much international travel and an american OH, i definitely sound american! But at home i still speak in my donegal accent with the shortened words etc. I find it easier because we speak quicker and shorten words so it's easier to get my point across to a fellow donegaler!

Taking words or even hats from a form of culture other than your own isn't aping it. Similarly talking like a Bog Warrior isn't preserving the Irish way of life or a display of confidence necessarily, its preserving talking like a Bog Warrior.

I don't give a sh1te what accent people use, I don't hear "put on" american accents often or at all. What I do hear on a daily basis is people sounding like complete spas because they are talking like a stereotypical South Dublin numpty.

But as I said I don't care. Unless of course when instead of saying, "May I please have..." they say "can I get..." when ordering a coffee/sandwich etc. When that happens they must pay the ultimate price.

The point is that nobody thinks that someone with a country accent sounds like a bog warrior except other Irish people who are generally pretentious and up themselves.

Just a minor generalization there *Sarcasm Klaxon*

The fact is that only Irish people think someone sounds like a Bog Warrior because Irish people are the only ones that can tell! I would it very difficult to tell the difference between a French City Slicker and a French County Bumpkin just from their French accent. Same goes for some parts of the UK and US and Australia.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Yellow121

The fact is that only Irish people think someone sounds like a Bog Warrior because Irish people are the only ones that can tell! I would it very difficult to tell the difference between a French City Slicker and a French County Bumpkin just from their French accent. Same goes for some parts of the UK and US and Australia.

Bog Warriors are the real Irish!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Yeah, fair point but what is wrong with being from the country. Its a lot better than some of the urban pop culture that people are trying to copy. Turn on your tv and watch jersey shore where Italian Americans go to tanning saloons to make themselves browner and then change the channel and see Nicki minaj or rihanna who bleach their skin to make themselves whiter. Nothing country people could do or say could possible be more stupid than that crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

or movie instead of film

Yeah, the anti GAA jersey wearing people on here are almost as vitriolic as the anti Celtic jersey wearing people, ah, they must be the same people!
    I don't own either jersey and haven't worn one since my teens but it's a strange and weird thing to read people on here saying how disgusted and ashamed they are by people who wear them.
    They're not going around wearing 'I hate the Jews' t-shirts ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,025 ✭✭✭grindle

If it was just a filler word such as "err", "um" or even "yeah, no" it wouldn't appear in writing.

Forums aren't filled with posts we're supposed to read as formal letters to eachother, they're filled with colloquialisms. 'Like' is one. We do see plenty of "ehhh", "errr", "um" and "mmmm" action on this (and all other forums) because of this.
    Formality and forums don't work together unless it's either an ultra-conservative Victorian-esque forum or it's an ultra-conservative Victorian-period role-playing forum.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭MilanPan!c

American living in Ireland for 7+ years (and in London for 3+ years before that).

I don't think most accents that people think "sound American" do in fact, sound American.

I also think many of the country accents are basically unintelligible, though I can guess most of the time, what people are saying.

I am not surprised that people try and change their accents. I did it as a kid in America, as did many of my friends.. It's not an insult to people with the accent you're ditching, automatically.

Anyway, accents come in and out of popularity... People here can't imagine why I ditched my southern accent, as they seem to think it's sexy... which is befuddling ;)

grindle wrote: »
    Forums aren't filled with posts we're supposed to read as formal letters to eachother, they're filled with colloquialisms. 'Like' is one. We do see plenty of "ehhh", "errr", "um" and "mmmm" action on this (and all other forums) because of this.
    Formality and forums don't work together unless it's either an ultra-conservative Victorian-esque forum or it's an ultra-conservative Victorian-period role-playing forum.

Its not formal to remove spoken filler words from written communication, there is no need for them so why go to the bother of typing them is what I don't understand.

Including "errr" and "ummm" etc does serve a purpose where the writer is trying to show that they were confused or had to pause when composing their response.

Incidentally I would love a Victorian style forum!

Also I hate when people wear sports jersey's of any description. the only time it is acceptable to wear jerseys is when actually playing some sort of sport or attending a sporting event involving the relevant team. A topic for another thread perhaps.

MilanPan!c wrote: »
    American living in Ireland for 7+ years (and in London for 3+ years before that).

I don't think most accents that people think "sound American" do in fact, sound American.

I also think many of the country accents are basically unintelligible, though I can guess most of the time, what people are saying.

I am not surprised that people try and change their accents. I did it as a kid in America, as did many of my friends.. It's not an insult to people with the accent you're ditching, automatically.

Anyway, accents come in and out of popularity... People here can't imagine why I ditched my southern accent, as they seem to think it's sexy... which is befuddling ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,025 ✭✭✭grindle

Its not formal to remove spoken filler words from written communication, there is no need for them so why go to the bother of typing them is what I don't understand.

It's a literary construct when written. At least I hope it is. That's what I thought it was.
    I'll continue doing it anyhow, tough shizzles to ma friendizzles* who don't like it. :cool::cool::cool:

*has no friendizzles due to Americanisms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,955 ✭✭✭beardybrewer

A lot of inferring an accent depends on phrases which single you out as different straight away. I also think some people are accent sponges and others aren't. In fact, I've seen the opposite be true where an irish accent in america becomes more pronounced. Of course, it's a bit of an identity thing plus works for you there. I'm sure if it worked against, it would be natural to soften it out.

On that point, nearly everyone softens out their accent in college/work in order to be best understood by the broadest set of people in an increasingly globalized world.

grindle wrote: »
    It's a literary construct when written. At least I hope it is. That's what I thought it was.
    I'll continue doing it anyhow, tough shizzles to ma friendizzles* who don't like it. :cool::cool::cool:

*has no friendizzles due to Americanisms

ah like, fair enough like. but like, you know like, I just don't get it like?

KungPao wrote: »
    It would be more fun if these people imitated a good Texan or North Datokan accent. But no, it has to be that ditzy O.M.G. Californian accent.

**** that, should send them to live with the Cajuns for a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Couple I know have 3 kids aged from about 10 or 11 down to 4 or 5, all born and reared in dundrum but if you had to guess based on their accents alone you'd probably say California.
    It's mental, the parents don't talk like that, only the kids, I don't know if they get it from telly or what but it's very strange to say the least!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

dgt wrote: »
    I normally wouldn't bother but this has me baffled. Why so many people speak with a put on american accent, I just can't figure it.... Like yer wan going into a lecture with a suitcase talking to some guy (probably in the friendzone) saying how she was from cork and lives up but in a put on accent :confused:

I take it you guys ain't going for a beer tonight.