12 pubs madness

Most lads I know would be able to drink 12 pints in a day of drinking and plenty of us could drink more. Actually I've often found id be in better condition after 12 or 14 pints over the course of 12 hours or so than after a 4 or 5 hour session.

Obviously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Lads we did this last year but instead of pints you had to drink a full bottle of Jameson, each, at each pub. The forfeit was to down a pint in 12 seconds. By the end of the night I had 12 bottles of Jameson and 16 pints (I was deliberately taking my time with the Jameson bottles so I'd have to have more pints). By the end of the night I was trying to get people to go to Coppers with me, but most of them were either sick or unconscious, and they hadn't even finished their 12 bottles. Wusses. Real men wouldn't have any trouble with the wussy version in the OP.

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Obviously

Well I didn't mean drinking the same quantity either in the shorter session.

The point being people look on a number like 12 pints and say that it's impossible or you would be leg less but spread it out over a day and it's not actually that bad.

Well I didn't mean drinking the same quantity either in the shorter session.

The point being people look on a number like 12 pints and say that it's impossible or you would be leg less but spread it out over a day and it's not actually that bad.

12 pints is doable over the day especially if there's food to break it up

rarnes1 wrote: »
    12 pints is doable over the day especially if there's food to break it up

12 is easily doable over the day (food breaks are a given), I've gone as high as 16ish myself a couple of times and have seen a friend reach if not exceed 20 pints and still be in decent condition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Everyone should experience the 12 pubs of Christmas. With the rules and the silly jumpers and the penalty shots.

It will let them come to an uncomfortable truth.

That they never want to experience it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

**** the rules MAAAAAAAAAANNNNNN!

beakerjoe wrote: »
    Ah if you dont like the rules simply dont go. Me and my mates do it with similar rules and forfeits and i think it makes it more craic. Usually the rules go out the window at pub 6/7 then its simply drink a pint in the remaining pubs.

We have rules liek "the question pub" (every sentence you speak has to be in question form) or foreign accent pub" (you must spend the half hour speaking in a foreign accent) , if you fail then a forfeit arises like walking backwards to next pub, hopping to next pub or a shot. I enjoy it and so do others. If ya dont, simply dont do it. Each to their own.

Sorry but that sounds hideous

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Most lads I know would be able to drink 12 pints in a day of drinking and plenty of us could drink more. Actually I've often found id be in better condition after 12 or 14 pints over the course of 12 hours or so than after a 4 or 5 hour session.

I was referring to drinking 12 pints in 6 hours, MOST people would not be in a great state

12 points over the course of a full day drinking 1pm to 3-4am following morning is easily done though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Uaru

Sorry but that sounds hideous

Sounds like Melbourne.

I was referring to drinking 12 pints in 6 hours, MOST people would not be in a great state

12 points over the course of a full day drinking 1pm to 3-4am following morning is easily done though

Fair enough, I thought you meant just drinking 12 pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

smurgen wrote: »
    I worked in bars and nightclubs during college,I know exactly what its like and yes,I've.cleaned up sick of people who drank too much,it didn't leave me mentally scared,its part of the job.

I work extremely hard all year,pay my taxes and keep my head down.I've never had any brushes with the law,never even had my name taken. I love to drink and so do my friends,we're fairly well rounded people so it's not or only social outlet. If I want to go out and get ****faced a few times a year,there ain't no one gonna stop me.
    Its one of the few times a year that all of.my friends will be home at the same time,most live in different countries and it's a great way for us all to get reacquainted with one another again. So to summarize , f#@k the begrudgers! If you don't want to see people having fun or.making noise go to a quieter bar or better still stay at home.

You may be able to handle that amount of drink without being a danger to yourself and others, and so might your friends. Ive worked in bars over 25 years and continue to do so. Drinking that amount of alcohol, that fast is asking for trouble. Id hardly begrudge anyone a beer or fun considering my line of work. Having fun and making noise is part and parcel of working in bars, calling an ambulance for someone who doesnt know thier limits is not. People react in different ways when refused drink, most dont just walk away and say ok ive had enough, its time to go home. This is where the fun starts, alot get very abusive and threatening or simply cant comprehend what your trying to tell them.

This 12 pubs at Xmas is foolhardy and irresponsible. Unless of course your saying you need to be **** faced to have a good time, in that case have at it, just dont expect me to give you a beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Uaru wrote: »
    Sounds like Melbourne.

Or Perth, if you so much as fart incorrectly there is a fee or a fine to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭adocholiday

I find it hard to believe a lot of the chest beating people are demonstrating here in this thread. I know that there are people out there who can drink more than 12 pints. I have on occasion drank much more than that equivalent amount of alcohol, say at a wedding or whatever. The difference is the time frame and consuming food during that session.

Take a wedding for example, the last one I was at I was a groomsman. We had a pint with the groom at 11am and when the service was over we drank solidly for the entire day until 5am.I was not a drunken mess, I didn't get sick, and I remember the majority of the night (few hazy spots!). That does not mean in any way that I could consume 12 pints in 6 hours and still be well for wear after it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭Hierro_4

If you're not able for 12 pints, you can always get a mineral or two in between. Just make sure there's vodka in it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 368 ✭✭Morph the Cat

Generic lads doing generic lads activities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

I find it hard to believe a lot of the chest beating people are demonstrating here in this thread. I know that there are people out there who can drink more than 12 pints. I have on occasion drank much more than that equivalent amount of alcohol, say at a wedding or whatever. The difference is the time frame and consuming food during that session.

Take a wedding for example, the last one I was at I was a groomsman. We had a pint with the groom at 11am and when the service was over we drank solidly for the entire day until 5am.I was not a drunken mess, I didn't get sick, and I remember the majority of the night (few hazy spots!). That does not mean in any way that I could consume 12 pints in 6 hours and still be well for wear after it.

Absolutely, that was my point. I don't really drink pints but if I was to head out on a normal night about 9 and stay drinking til 2ish and have 12 drinks (usually bottles or vodka for me), I'd be absolutely hammered. But when I do the twelve pubs I'm usually out for over 12 hours and I generally feel grand by the end of it. I'm not saying it's healthy, but I do it once a year and I'm never in a mess during it so I really enjoy it, both during and after because I'm not doing with a hangover. I'd be totally knackered, but not sick at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

Not so popular on boards it seems...

We do baggot street the Saturday before Xmas every year, this is our 4th year doing it. It's relaxed though, absolutely no rules. Drink whatever ye want, skip a drink in a pub grand, drink water, eat when ye want, no toilet rules. Without the rules it's just 12 pints in 12 pubs instead of one pub (you'd drink quicker in one pub anyway so the moving around means everyone can last till pub 12)

The only thing we do is all stick together, the first pubs are quick enough but it's at least 45 mins between pints.

I can see why people don't like it, but for us it's been the best night out of the year every time - no one has ever missed it, the only time we can all get together with people home from abroad.

As for arseholes in Xmas jumpers...mines homemade with 40 lights stitched into it and it sings when you squeeze the snowman...guess that means I'm a super gigantic Xmas arsehole but if that kind of stuff annoys you, you've little to worry about.

One other thing...if you want a quiet pint, why in gods name would you go to a city centre pub the Saturday before Xmas? Even without 12 pubs the places are manic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 lainey_ie

i do it with my netball team every christmas and honestly its so much fun:)i normally am the task master so along with a whistle (its part of the irony of being a sports team) i lead the troops normally about 15/20 girls to a selected route. Its up to you whether you want to have a drink in every pub and to be honest its hard to monitor but its great craic so dont be put off from the rules. We never make it really to all 12 pubs but its part of the fun trying to get there. Honestly give it a go:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,250 ✭✭✭ardinn

Did my first one last year and managed it - I started at like 2pm and was in the nightclub (pub 14) at around 3am!

So it took us the full day! The rules of your are stupid - no one cares what you do you just head out and by the time your in pub 6 you'll have lost half the crowd, pub 9 some will have been taken home and if you make the 12 your probably too hammered to know who your with anyway!

I am all for the 12 pubs it really is super fun, but maybe tell whoever is organizing it he is a muppet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

Nobody manages it anyway..

^^ Except this guy obviously! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Did 12 pubs last year but did it around the Ratoath/Ashbourne area. Got steak and had a beer which counted as the first pub and went from there. In truth, there was a bit of time management for the first few pubs but we got fairly settled once we got back home and took our time and could relax.

We employed some rules but didn't "punish" anybody with a shot. Was just a bit of a laugh.

Have one coming up with my college class in a couple of weeks but I'll be going easy myself. If I'm settled enough in a pub and enjoying a conversation with somebody I'll stick around and meet them in another pub later.

Me bollocks am I going to be herded out if I'm enjoying my drink/surroundings in one of the pubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I can't wait to go out and write myself off.

Ill be a vision in a puke stained, tinsel sewn onto, monstrosity of a Christmas jumper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Heckler

My ex-wife works in a pub thats a usual part of a 12 pubs trail in cork, Shes in about pub number 8 or 9. They know by now whos doing the challenge and don't let them in.

I'm all for a piss up but the abuse shes endured for stopping people is horrendous. Always stupid college students who can't hold their beer and think its ok to roar **** into a persons face for refusing them drink.

Not generalising too much to say drunk college students are ****wits.

Anyone whos lived around barrack street in Cork will agree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭April O Neill II

Lads we did this last year but instead of pints you had to drink a full bottle of Jameson, each, at each pub. The forfeit was to down a pint in 12 seconds. By the end of the night I had 12 bottles of Jameson and 16 pints (I was deliberately taking my time with the Jameson bottles so I'd have to have more pints). By the end of the night I was trying to get people to go to Coppers with me, but most of them were either sick or unconscious, and they hadn't even finished their 12 bottles. Wusses. Real men wouldn't have any trouble with the wussy version in the OP.

What, none of ye drank anti-freeze?

Pussies.

12 is easily doable over the day (food breaks are a given), I've gone as high as 16ish myself a couple of times and have seen a friend reach if not exceed 20 pints and still be in decent condition.

How do you not have Type II diabetes? :eek:

Heckler wrote: »
    My ex-wife works in a pub thats a usual part of a 12 pubs trail in cork, Shes in about pub number 8 or 9. They know by now whos doing the challenge and don't let them in.

Anyone whos lived around barrack street in Cork will agree.

This will be my 5th year in a row doing the 12 pubs on Bandon road/Barrack street and we have never been refused from any pub on the street.

In fact one of the pubs was closed one night and the bouncer opened the door and let us in especially as we were doing the 12 pubs and he didn't want us to have to miss a pub.

You wouldn't really know we were doing the 12 pubs though as we don't wear Christmas jumpers and do it in a fairly small group.
    How do you not have Type II diabetes? :eek:

What are you talking about?

All the pints you drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Generic lads doing generic lads activities.

"It's casual Friday! You know what that means? Enforced and strictly organised office fun! YAY!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

This will be my 5th year in a row doing the 12 pubs on Bandon road/Barrack street and we have never been refused from any pub on the street.

That's because most of the pubs on Barrack Street are decrepit sh*tholes full of alcoholic lunatics who wouldn't turn away an axe-murderer.